(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Thank you gals for all the advices and info!

Wow... you mean so many Ang Paos to give out ... that would make my HB broke... :-( better check with my in laws how many ppl need to give and prepare,, otherwise that day pai say if not enough.

I got no tea set.. can use japanese tea set?? or must use only specific type....

I love Aussino stuff too!!

Summer:
Poor u.. but so lucky got 5 days MC... I also want!
What's this wedding biscuit? interesting! where to buy and how much?
Honeymoon supposed to be mid OCT in California and San Franciso. But my stupid boss don't let me take 2 weeks off. Want me to either postpone or cut short my leave. So mad! My HB says go somewhere else then..

Odae:
Better speed up! you don't have much time left..

YiYi:
Thanks! The programme & lists are prepared by my MC. He is overall in charge and will make the neccessary executions on my AD, while I relax and have fun! Hee hee!
Regrets.. I don't have the lists with me...
You should also appoint a friend to host/MC the show n oversee everything for you, otherwise you will always be worrying about this not right.. and that needs to be done...N more...last minute things might crop up.. I have also appointed another friend to be my wedding co-ordinator. She makes sure that the area deco is properly done and intact. She also make sure that the person in charge of the varies areas, eg. reception, refreshments, wedding favors, parking coupons..etc..etc.. are well prepared, taken care of. Otherwise... it will be a mess if noone monitor these areas for you! :-) I'm a perfectionist and rather demanding, since I have no control on my WD, I have to rely on my friends to take control..
It isn't easy for me to relief myself from it cuz I like to manage it myself too... but sometimes we just have no choice, but must learn not to grap everything but let go, learn to trust other people, lest we over burden ourselves and get frustrated on our Big Day.

STORY:
One of my girlfriends, she is a perfectionist and demanding too... on her big day, she was so grouchy, shouting and directing every other person she could in her beautiful wedding gown, trying to make her big day perfect and ppl to do all the right things.. but she ended up frustrated and all upset with a prune face the whole day. I was so pissed with her that day cuz she was fussing over everything she could. She even shouted at her HB. By the way... her ball gown had a 13 feet round n full trail with beads and lace. and she couldn't move a step if her sister and I do not hold it up for her. We spent the whole time carrying and arranging her gown! Lesson no 1: Pls don't make gown with 13 ft long trail!
Lesson 2: Let go and you will be happy, don't get uptight and you will look beautiful!

Ha Ha ha :-) hope you gals enjoyed my story.

Jwen

ah ger,
hahah.. same thinking as u.. my WG never wear for OD shots so AD must take and then thinking to change into tea dress at the venue and take somemore.. at least my EG can take photo during the dinner so still ok

I haben got Tea Dress yet leh............ still thinking if I shld release 1 EG to change for a TD. Cos I tot of coming out in the evening during the cocktail then can wear one.

C hw lah - must sharpen my neg skills b4 gng to BS again.

melbz: compensate? lol no... she was real nasty... in one forum she called ppl names and claims to the whole world how good she was to offer the compensation, and in another she told ppl her dog got problem.. kekeke... let the authorities to deal with her.

jwen: all brides wanna their big day to be perfect. but some will just not too bothered with the details.. kekeke like me lor.. wan everything to go smoothly but knowing there will be some flaws... She just wan to look the best in her gown, but forgetting that she might just trouble someone to hold the train for her.

Hi Jwen,
Tks..m trying to but certain things gota wait for the elders leh..so control r not in my hands

O..so u planned to haf a pre-hm? wah..can find the time to do so ah, tot will be very bz with wed preps?

Ling: Yes indeed. good that you are not bothered with details. :-) I admire u but I can't not bother...but I'm prepared for flaws too..

Not the trouble to hold train.. friends are there to help but just that if we can avoid getting all upset on our WD over a long train that does not allow us to even move or walk without 2/3 ppl's help.. nothing against long train.. just that I learnt a lesson after someone else's experience.

BTW, I have a long train too!!! It's satin n about 1.5m long. But...... Mine is detachable!!! Ha Ha! so that after the march in, I can detach it immediately N run 2.4 KM also can! HAHA :-)

Jwen

Hi rainnie
OIC lucky my working hrs start fr 11am :P too bad they close on Sunday if not I rather go down on sunday.....

Are you girls ordering buffet for yr tea ceremony?

cooldevil....yup i will be ordering buffet..coz my mom side .. might have about 40 ppl coming in the morning so ... have to order =)

Oh.. cuz my HB going to his head office in Maryland 2wk of OCT, So I tot might as well extend another 2 weeks... save on air ticket... heee!
After wedding got to shift house also... very busy... so many things to do...

lala !!! miss u ah !!
166478.gif

aiyoh.. at first i tot wat happened to u.. wanted to sms oso.. but scared will disturb u.....

oh oh.. dun b so stressed yah? me voice still not quite back yet.... sumtimes ok.. sumtimes tok zao siah again.. kekekeke...

ya ya.. we can go visit smurfette !
166479.gif
shh... hehehe.. i can oso see her in the morning fm my place..

hi odae,

ay, i doubt i can find the rationale for that ang bao... hahaha... i was hoping someone can enlighten me on that!! hahaha.. ;p

but anyway, if i cannot, we just give lah... ultimately still need to give the ang bao also.... aiyo, i find myself getting more and more demands from mum everyday leh.... sometimes really frustrated. sian..

must hv 2 sets of teasets?? ooops, i hvn't buy ours... ;p

hi jwen,

well, i guess your friend was very particular on details of her wedding and wanted everything to be her way, abit of a control freak ... ;p

i think i am not that particular.... hahaha... i hvn't even do slideshow for the banquet.... ;p i understand the importance of being a happy bride on the AD, hence i will prepare the to-do list for my helpers, so as to let them hv a guideline. then i will just concentrate to be pretty that day. ;p

rannie thanks ..... wil take a look. I like my friend's caterer but we must have at least 35paxs.... got to see how many relatives are coming on that day.......

hi odae
my rom and ad also on 13nov. still blur blur dunno wat to do n not to do. all leave to the elderly to handle. my parent are more modern whereby fh's mother is very traditional. headache...

ah ger, thanks! i called them liaoz ;)
compare Star Cellar and theirs ..... Parker's is cheaper......i will go down and taste the wine before ordering ;)

Rainnie

U r most welcomed! She is honest & will advice u which is more suitable for banquet. She will also nt call u to buy exp ones.

Some dealers will say it's very impt to to get better wine, bt then so long as it's drinkable then it's ok.......

Hi Jwen,
Oic...that's very nice leh! Think Maryland is a very nice place ya?? Can trvl to Washington D.C. too..pretty near! luv the bldg facades in US.

Hi Mist,
Ya lor..we can't say dun give mah.. Nvm..I try to ask my mum again wen I c her this wkend but I doubt she knows too..perhaps is juz 'monkey c monkey do' kinda of thingy..haha...

Hi lee ann,
O..so 13 Nov is a significant day for u ya? my rom was 09 Nov but I missed the wkend for last yr so no choice gota pick 13 as the closest liao lor.. So where's ur wed venue? Think we haf more in commons too..i.e. my parents more modern & chin chye while his - traditionists
Guess wat..this wkend still muz go pray pray his ancestors ah... hai..my parents din even ask me to do that for my deceased grandparents.

honeymoon will be BKK for 4D3N on late nov... can't spend so much $$$$, after AD, broke liao... got to save $$$, then next apr - japan, 2 c the cherry blossoms..

2moro go JB to buy XI table lamps... one of the shop there sell lovely designs and GDL stuffs.. will go early in the morning to do some shopping n makan...

Ah ger,

i just rememebered that i have met Al** D** in at least four of the wedding dinner i ahve attended.He always have 1 paper monkey on his camera.

Linda,

i think if time permits i will also go for OD shooting on that day.I want to have some memory wearing my WG,takeing photos with my friends...

Jean, can lah...but hor i dont noe when i going down for the tasting leh ... coz next week my bf working evening shift so cant go with him.
But I intend to get consignment....would that make any difference?

hey jus to check ah... will any one be using their own 'MC' instead of the hotel one....
need to prepare what to let the 'mc' tok right...

linda,
my mil went to a person to c the dates, the ti qin, GDL, an chuan, blah, blah, blah.... most probably it suits our ba zi

I won't b going for AD photo shoots cos cannot think of any place to go :p
anyway, i'll b wearing the wedding gown for outdoor PS, so me & hubby think not necessary... heehee...
juz be careful wif the gown on AD will do, anyway, not many will notice it dirty in the evening

rannie,
i'll b getting my jie meis to b the mc... they'll help to prepare the speech themselves... mayb u can check if yr friend can do it for u

Hakida:
Paper monkey? Is it? Is tat y so many ppl can laugh when taking pics?

I dun rem his monkey ley, hw u know it's him?

Rainnie:
If u get consignment basis, then u dun hv to b afraid tat u will over order or under order. They can bring xtra & anything unconsumed will just rtn them, u dun hv to pay. If u buy frm supermkts, if u buy 2 many btls & u dun drink, u still hv to find ways to get rid of.

MC - I will b getting my gals to b the MC. Will prob get some scripts, if nt let them do those imprompt ones lor.

Sorry for late reply. Cos my company bar us from accessing yahoo website. So can't send the link to my album to u all during office hrs.

Babysheep, cookie's gal & angie

I've just sent the link to u.

Hi Mei Mei, Kikilala

Thks for your comments.

All compliments should be given to my MUA & the photographer who's really got good sense of humour.

Hi Adidas,
I'm ok liao. hehe....
Juz that eyes pain, cos no handsome guys to look at.

U prepared for ur wedding? Everything done?
Enjoy.

Hi Melbz,
hmm.... Then I'll go visit u then. haha.... make u not free. No worries abt the Clean & Clear. Dun have oso nvm. Thanks for trying.

I think for the tea set, one set is to be sent to Hub's side during GDL hor?

Anyone any idea on AD nite. Do we nid to specially arrange a car to pick PIL to restaurant?

This morning my hubby told me that his mum said I must move back to my mum's hse 3 days before our wedding. I dun mind moving home now.

poohie,
ur mil veri traditional pple hor.. still got ti qin

as for me, my mum jus see the tong shu and see which day auspicious then can liao coz mil bo chap.. it is necessary to an chuan?? coz i never do.. thinking to an chuan in my new flat

Hi little ger.

Nope, not me! just out of curiosity, does nativity allow weddings on sundays? i thought that is normally frowned upon cos they need the church on sunday for sunday Mass.

Morning gals,

We need to prepare 2 sets of tea pot + cups?
I am using my mum's ones same as LIng. he he..
Hmm...

Summerscenz, poor u...5 days MC for wisdom tooth extraction...at the same time, u can go around prepare your wedding..
Jap style tea sets? how does it look like?
So where exactly in JB u going to get your traditional lamps etc???

Amy, for my case, my FH's sisters will pick my PIL to hotel ...

Hi Lee ann, my AD is one day after yours...my ROM is on 9/9/03, but this year the same date happens to fall in the 7th mth...so we decided to have it on 14th Nov. becos got guests from Malaysia..long weekend, easier for them dont need to take so much leave.

Purple, why 3 days before ur wedding, need to move back to your mum's place?
Me currently still staying at my parents place. New hse, still left touch up work...shopping for sidetable + electrical applicanes this weekend..
Have been chasing my FH for this & tht..till now he hve't give me his guests list!