(2004) Brides of year 2004

fencnef

yah...mi interested too...izzit expensive at planet fitness?

yan

Jan,

if it really burst your budget, why dun you speak to David on tis?? tell him your budget is die die $x, so what he say lor... think he can compromise one la..

if not, maybe can ask him whether got lobang to sell off your gowns after your wedding.. he mentioned that he has a number of friends in the bridal business... so, if can sell the gown for a few hundred dollars, maybe can cover bit of cost...

i agree with you on his personalise service... i like the fact that he stays back and change your hair style for you for the second march in...

$200 for the sashes are not ex, but its additional cost... in any case, your guests wun find anything missing, if they dun have the sashes right?? maybe you can negotiate with your coordinator to waive it?? tell them, its small $$, so ask them not to be stingy...

yan

yvonne,

yapz, saw how calla lily look like liao... i tot its the usual lily i see outside... ya, its nice... but make sure that the florist "process" your lilies properly... lilies have this pollen which will stain clothes... wun have those to be on your ROM dresses or gowns... however, not sure whether does Calla lilies have those pollen or not.. remember to check with your florist ok..

jan

Hi Yan,

Ya, prob gotta speak to David abt it again and see wat he says, coz remember when i called him the first time, he said 3.5k possible, so maybe there's a restriction on materials used and no cocktail dress.. will ask him again abt it..
Yup, me also like that he will stay to change hairstyle! hehe..

yvonne

Hi Trixie,

Will let you know if there is any at M hotel. Sometime, you may went into their website to see if there is any. Try your luck. All the best.

fantasy

Almost wanted to cry out loud. Had a long message typed out but foolishly close the window before I get to post it.... gotto to redo it again!!

Mmmm.... can I request that everyone give a quick update again on the details?? There are abt over 200 postings before I joined and it's kinda too tedious to go through them one by one... thank you very much!!

Onee,

Of cos we are counting down the days. Guess how long I've been waiting for the day to come... We have dated for 12 years 3 months and 14 days by 6 June next year.

Questy,

In fact we have got a spare rm for our guests. Be it my parents, in-laws, relatives or frds. As long as it's a not a long term stay, all are welcome. My MIL has also hinted that she will be staying over occassionally but that doesnt worry me so much cos as far as I know her, she's still consider quite 'automatic' and she will have too much barang barang to bring if she's staying for more than 3 days

Personally I feel that it's very impt for the couple to be involved in the whole process of selectn. Be it the bridal pkg, banquet venue and menu, ID firms, renov ideas, etc etc as the ultimate results, be it good or bad will be bear by both. But most imptly, enjoy the whole process.
If ur FH is so choosy that none of the gown catches his eyes, get him to design one that he think suits you and then ve a designer to improvise from there. Imagine how prideful he will be when others compliment on your WG. That's exactly what my galfrd's hubby did.

By the way, where's the location of your new flat?? Is the renovation done??

Girlfrd,

Good to hear that you've got a pair of shoes that you like. Did you custom made it?? Is your WG pure white or ivory? if it's pure white, the pinkish beige might stand out a bit too much. On the other hand, it should looks okay if the WG is in ivory. Just my personal opinion no offence. Anyway, it's quite hard for us to comment as we have seen neither your WG or shoes.... just go with whatever that you both are comfortable with

Cubby,

Managed to find any hotel of your choice??

yan

oh Jan, i changed my appointment with david liao. Not meeting him tonight already. think i should go check out other photographers first before going to see him again... bf making appointments with Beetles tonight...

ladies, heard beetles@works studio is rather difficult to find.. can tell me how to get there?? any significant landmarks??

yvonne, me same as you... still hanging there with no flats... *sign* if i dun get a flat before i get married, i got to stay at my inlaws place... praying hard that i get my flat in the recent ballot...

ever

Hi gals!!

i'm here!! heehehehehee....
went for interviews, but not for job.... its to find a replacement for a staff that has resigned!! sigh....

so many msgs!! me spent at least 15 mins reading thru.... some even in archive!!!
hahahahaha......

the tongshu is out?!?!? wah, must hurry liao.... donno if my future MIL will go check the dates with us or not... if not, will get my mum to do it... FINALLY!! thought its coming out in lunar aug leh?!?!?

silver, thanks for the pic, but havent had time to see yet.... heehehehhee.... think i cant use calla lilies for my ROM liao... the flower arrangement that we're using for the table centrepiece is calla lilies with other small flowers.... dont want my bouquet to look like the flower arrangement leh....

jan, can keep your options open loh.... go to 1 or 2 all-in-one BS... then you can see if you prefer David or more "branded" BS or these average shops loh.... sometimes, their photography skills can be quite good too!! and if you already burst yr budget during the signing up, then you'll hav to restrict yourself when it comes to developing add'l photos.......

jan

hello!

Yup, Yan, we shld do everything slowly since we still have time, check all options out first..
Your bf very on, if only my hubby is on too..
So difficult, he doesn't like to visit bridal but at same time he wants to know whether other bridal has got better package.. aiyo!

Well, correct, lots of small little things to spend on wedding too, that's why last nite, when we were working out the budget again, seems like there's so many hidden costs here and there..

pebbles

Hi doreamon,
oic, i thought u decided to get Nick in the end that's why had all these problem with him..
im glad it's all sorted out and im truely glad that u didn't get him...i mean maybe he's very "pro" like what he claims but i guess we are just not comfortable with his services and way of speech lor...
Good luck in the rest of your prep

jan

Hey ever!

haha, we all tot u went for interviews but it's the other way round instead huh! hehe..

Yup, keeping my options open again! No if take david, unlikely we'll develop more photos! So which all in one bridal shops do u gals recommend?? They're usually ard 3.5k for MTM package rite?

ever

Jan, you can try Jazreel Low's BS at tanjong pagar.... read good comments from that thread... of cos, i'll recommend my BS too!! hahahahaha... guess the packages are usually more comprehensive, like they'll throw in car & driver, more photos, etc... and you can exchange the unnecessary items for more photos or discounts loh....
for mine, they gave a montage frame free!!

guess your hubby is more bo-chap kind when it comes to BS... why dont you go with galfrens instead?? if you really like the shop, then you bring him down again loh.... in that way, he doesnt need to visit so many shops and you can visit as many as you want to!! (",)

yvonne

Hi Ever,
Wow... since when you bcom interviewer!!! Must be very experienced in interviewing and interview others liao ya... haa haa!

So table flower is Calla Lily with small flower! You know "CHA HUA"??? U putting it in a vase or bowl? Not dos floating on water kinda with candle & rose pedals?

Hi Jul,
Correct... dos angbao, buffet lunch, extra cost for wedding dinner...etc will add up quite abit and ALL IN CASH!!! Everything is $$$ now......

Hi Jan,
You so sure u wont take EXTRA pixs? What if the pixs come out ALL VERY NICE!!! Are you goin for journalistic album? Hee hee...

jan

ever, Jazreel Low not that cheap also rite, their price close to 4k rite?
hehehe.. i knew u will recommend J&M.. hehe..
Well, ok will see how again!

Well, tough to bring my GFs down leh, coz currently none getting married yet, so dun wan to bother them lah..

ever

Hi yvonne, me kana arrowed cos boss not free loh... so sian....

no lah, me not so smart.... me bought the flower arrangement.... artificial flowers.... next time, can put on my dining table!! heehehehheee.... me very lazy to do the candles and rose petals stuff... think will forget about it... scared very busy on that day doing deco, cant enjoy myself.... might as well make it simple and juz concentrate on making myself look pretty and happy!!! heehehehehehee.....

ya ya ya!!!! everything is $$$$$$$$$$$$.......

hahahahha.... yvonne, trying to make jan "itch" for add'l photos?? but true lah, my fren also insist she wouldnt develop add'l photos and so, didnt check the prices properly.... but when the photos turn out so nice, she got a shock when her BS charge $65 for each add'l photo!!! in the end, she didnt develop a lot of add'l photos and find it a pity cos the PS session was very fun....

rabbitwsk

good day ladies

I go for yoga at Califor. Very good for flexibility. Its challenging and it helps create positive mind set. Sometime u cant do the posture this time but if u try next time, u can do it! I like this kind of sport
I used to be in Hi-Low and Step but switch as i feel my knee now pain at times.

wow, u all like a bit afraid of water lei... hey no scare la! Swimming is a very good exercise to keep fit without hurting any part of the body.

Ya, i m pretty active to maintain a healthy body and fitness. u know, Singapore not so much to do thus exercise is one of our (me and hubby) main activties.

U all got exercise regularly too?

Cheers...

yvonne

Hi Ever,
Why not just order table flower from florist and put it there... save time and effort... haa haa! Some can be quite nice ya and not that expensive also!

Yday was talking to my sis to be my photographer on my ROM! So i tell her what i want... JOURNALIST TYPE! She give me the FUNNY LOOK.... OK "CANDID CAMERA TYPE"!!! Haa haa...

Hi Jan,
Jazreel Low's package is quite comprehensive but I dun like their photographs & photographer's skill! You just shop along Tanjong Pagar Rd you can get some ideas liao... that's what my bf & I did at 1st for BS hunting... haa haa!!!

yan

Hi Jan,

I guess the ladies are right.. if what david has quoted now has already exceeded your budget, you may have to consider other alternatives... talk to him first, and see what he can offer...

if you wanna those all in one bridal, maybe you can consider Fame Bridal @ Yishun.. I have done quite a fair bit of research, and Fame is one of the better ones.. they do a little bit of hardselling though... but can easily brush them off...

comments from the forum and some of the their couples I know are very good.. The last time i was there at their shop, i met one of their couple who went to collect their flowers. They were all praise for the shop.. say that their service is superb..

price wise, i think they quoted me $3,188. Its before bargaining lor.. so can get better offer than this.

1 MTM WG or EG (either one, the other one is new one)
1 man suit, Pants MTM, to keep
2 man suits for PS
20 pcs of 15R,
i no of 8R table top
24" x 30" portrait with frame
free rental of tea dress
fresh flowers for PS and actual day
4 times makeup
car deco (no car, just decor)

jan

Thank you ladies!

Ok, first, i'll call David first to check, but yan, will he be irritated if we call him often to ask this ask that huh? hehe..

Fame bridal,yup did hear good comments too.. hmm, price seems good..

fencnef

hmm...got anybody go for kickboxing or nt har?
i heard its a very nice and gd toning exercise..right nw, i got carry weights to tone up my muscles esp. the arms part and doing stomach crunches at hm, duno consider as exercising or nt cos' its nt the very siong type..hee..

jul

Hi gals! Explosion of msgs again, I see

Yan,
Beetles is opp an Indian Temple. Unfortunately, there are 2 or 3 Indian temples along that rd! Had a hard time finding my way there, but it'll be ok if u print out the map from the Beetles website.

Ever,
Wah, someone has become the interviewer instead of interviewee! *hee* Well, it's gd that u bought fake flowers for ROM centerpiece. Can reuse. The fresh flower centerpieces are such a waste of $$$

Jan,
David's package doesn't include car right? Must set aside some budget for car rental then. Think it costs something like $300 - 400?

Yvonne,
Everything abt the wedding is money!
Can only pray that the relatives will 'zidong' more. Dun need them to give generously, just give enought to cover cost!

jul

Jan,
Can try my bridal shop. This is what they quoted me :

1 OTR WG
1 OTR EG (MTM either one, add $250)
1 man suit, Pants MTM, to keep
Unlimited outfits for PS
16 pcs of 15R,
1 no of 8R table top
24" x 30" portrait with frame
4 times makeup
car deco & car
car deco for accompanying cars
corsages for groom, & parents
4R photos (36 pcs)
mini-album (duplicate of large album)

cubby

hi questy,

i think u just concentrade on your the bridal things and be a happy bride,dun care abt planning for dinner liao. anyway u dun have to fork out a single cent hehe u thin she allow u to wear black meh?

so u gotto stay with MIL ah...heehee she somemore can book the toilet funny...keke anyway so long as she barge into your rm can liao...

hi onee,
ya loh...i also very scared my FMIL interfere too much later what i wan also cannot..then my dreams pop! lucky she very chin chai...so i count myself fortunate loh!
so hows ROM preparation?

hi girlfriend,
so long as u like it i think no prob for the color. however dun choose the evenin gown bcos of the shoe loh..not worth ;)
how much for to videography huh?

hi fantasy,
me somethimes also type long msg then accidentally press wronly then got to re-key! very frustrating right?
me selected a few hotels..and made tentative booking at pan pac liao. gonna see goodwoodpark, mandarin and trader on fri too.
wat details u need for the update? me new here leh

evon

well...rabbitwsk me not able to apply for the card yet...salary too low...

fencnef, i didnt go for my kickboxing after signing up...

onee

Girlfriend : You like the pair can liao lor. I'm sure at the point of purchase, it must have cleared your mental hurdle in matching your gown and it will not go far off your expectation one? Can e-mail lobang to me at [email protected]?

Fantasy : Wah what a marathon
You both must have met when u were very young lor...

Questy : I agree with Fantasy that it's important that your FH like and is proud of his beautiful bride
Ultimately the wedding is truly a celebration for both of you mah..

Cubby : ROM prep blend in with wedding prep liao. We'll opt for a simpler celebration for ROM since it's 6mths apart from customary wedding
. Hopefully will be able to book the desired ROM date lor. What about yourself?

fencnef

hey evon..

how come you didnt go for the kickboxing..??

haaizz..i scared no time 2 go for such exercising sessions cos' i got evening classes loh, so i try to do some simple toning at hm..

yvonne

Hi Jan,
Can consider my BS also... hee hee???

1 OTR WG & EG (MTM either one)
2 man suits, 1 Pants MTM, to keep
4/5 outfits for PS
24 pcs of 18R,
1pc 8R table top
24" x 30" portrait with frame OR 3-in-1 frame
4 times makeup (Trial, PS, Actual Day & Night)
Car deco
Car deco for accompanying cars
Corsages for groom, & parents
4R photos (24 pcs)
Mini-album (Duplicate of large album)

jul

Yvonne,

For a moment, I thought u're getting 18R photos. So huge!
Anyway, Jan wouldn't be able to use the free ROM dress

How much did you pay for ur package again? I forgot.

cyn

ladies who ve opt for the hdb balloting...
the result is out... so did anyone get it? me so kan cheong for u gals =P

jul

Hi Jan,

Just trying to let u c the prices to compare

Yvonne,

Gd deal! Got free tea dress & ROM dress some more

jul

LADIES...

I heard from my colleague just now that the results for HDB balloting is OUT!!!!

Yvonne, Yan, any gd news????

rabbitwsk

Good day ladies,

Who is balloting AMK to be my neigbour.... let me know lei...

Dore & silver, i sent a mail to u. maybe u can reply me.

yvonne

Hi Jul,
Errrhhh... hw do we noe e balloting is out? Prob HDB will mail the letter out to us rite? Ok, will ask my bf check his mailbox this evening... hee hee! SO EXCITING......

Yeah quite good la! But both tea dress & ROM dress are OTR... hee hee! Also, the workmanship is pretty expensive $600 for journalist album which doesnt incld the additional pix leh! Thk add. pix is abt $55-65 per pc but can negotiate one la! I thk prob I'll spent EXTRA 1K-1.2K for add. pix!

yvonne

Hi Jul & Yan,
I thk is OUT leh! Cos I've checked HDB Websites got the balloting results liao!!! Hmm... too bad i dun hv the Sales Reference Code No. with me.

yvonne

Hi Yan,

Really??? Hmm... no choice look for alternatives lor! Not sure whether I got it anot? Will let you gals noe 2molow!!!

ever

hahahaha....... jan, now you're at a loss, rite?? all of us promoting our own BS!! me wouldnt tell you what's in my package... heehehehee.... not trying to be mysterious, juz too lazy to type... think one of the EARLIEST archive has my package details.... my package is $2888 with one MTM gown and one OTR gown and FREE montage!! heehehehee... promoting my BS again!!

yvonne, we decided to save some $$, so got an artificial flower arrangement instead... somemore, my bf very lazy to run around and collect the real flower arrangement on the ROM day... we saw some very nice artificial flower arrangements at Concourse... you gals can go see see when decorating your house.... thought of buying some bamboo for my new house!! when planted in a "box", it will look very nice!! hard to explain again!! the "box" is made of wood and is about 2m long and 0.3m tall.... can "hide" the living room partially from the front door.... dont understand?? oops.....

yvonne

Hi Yan,
AMK is HOTTEST FAV among the mature estate balloting exercise! I also got put too much HOPE on Queenstown area.

Hi Jul,
Your news pretty fast leh... from HDB goes to yr side! Haa haa......

Hi Jan,
Dun mention! Jus for yr comparision and hope it helps abit...

ever

yan, dont be so sad, k?? cheer up!! try the WIS coming up soon loh.... jul will let you gals know if there's a huge dentage at SK!!

fantasy

Updates such as ROM already?? Bridal pkg, banquet venue blaar blar blar... the things that we introduce ourselves when participating in this thread...

Fm the last 2 messages, I understand that Onee and chubby are not ROM yet... (Sorry but it's really too tedious to read back on all the old messages).

Chubby,

I bked mine with Raffles the plaza, was considering between Pan Pac and Raffles the Plaza but ultimately settle for the lather. You may want to contact Eunice or Dannis for more information. Is there a budget that u r looking at?? Total no. of tables??

Onee,

Ya, we met in secondary school, he was one yr my junior. Same ECA, know each other for a year before we started going out beginning of Sec 3 (He was sec 2 then).