(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi Doremon,

We asked the lady when we were collecting the keys. We told her about the "7th mth" thinge and she said as long as u report BEFORE we start our renovation, it should be no problem. U starting ur renovation in Oct? So which coy have u and ur FH decided to engage?

7th sept is which day of the 8th month huh?

CC2
8258.gif

HI doremon,

Still the same..now thinking where to go for lunch after ROM...any suggestions?

Hi Wendy,
How was the ROM dress selection? Did you managed to find something that u like? Update us ok!!!

HI CC2,
7th Sept is the first day of the 8th month. We getting my friend's contractor to do the reno. I feel safer this way after reading so much neg. comments abt ID companies in the forum.

By Oct, start reno, end Nov/mid Dec, reno completed so by end Dec, furnishing should be in. If HDB completed the repair work earlier, will start the renov in Sept.

Blusher, Any budget, venue or food constraint? Let me know before i can recommend.

Hi Doremon,

Do you have the quotation of ur fren's contractor? Can share with me?

Hi blusher,

Let's us know ur budget and preference and we will brainstorm some places.

CC2

Blusher,

I went to Crown Prince Hotel for an a ala carte buffet in their Long Jiang Restaurant. it's not that expenive think it about 20++ per pax. The food is quite good. if you want to try the food beforehand, you may want to join me and Hubby for lunch this coming Saturday. :P

hi durian...
thanks for ur consolation... I tried very hard to tell myself "shui2 yuan2" (up to fate)...
My prayer wasn't answered...u know, my bf said bcos god is computer illiterate, so can't help me during the computer balloting in hdb, tt's why i ended up queuing way behind.

I am back!!! So much to read ar...Busy this morning & now then got time to go some postings...

My ROM dress selection was FUN!!! Tried abt more than 10 pieces. Felt like a princess when my co-ordinator help me with this help me that..."fu2 shi4" me very well. Finally tasted their services & feel that it is ok.
Have KIV 2 gowns(both red) but have not confirm yet. Will go down again by end Sep as more stock are coming...Spend abt 2 hours there.

Blusher
Congrats!!! Finally you have confirm your BIG day!!! Btw, I also went down to Registry to verify my document yesterday so that on your ROM day, u just have to go straight to Level 2 to report at the reception. Not so rush mah...
Hey, my rings are also from Aspial(Lee Hwa), Kizuko design as well. I like it simple & nice as we will be wearing it forever. Do go there & take a look...

Chat with you gals later...

Hi blusher,
This time he cooked dinner, bought me a bouquet of lilies and knelt down to ask! He cooked steak! I sabotaged his plan again, cos I went home earlier than planned and caught him in my kitchen figuring what to do with that two pieces of beef
Kind of spoilt the suprise element. Aspial 30%? I was just going to tell you that I saw a 25% voucher on the website http://femalebridesonline.com/newsletter/leehwanewsletter.htm

Doremon,
we are thinking of 26th now. Thanks for the offer to help
I will go down to check Tian Po at west mall for the bands. Will call you if we decide to buy any.

Like blusher, now also headache about the lunch/high tea. We were thinking of something chinese to suit his parents. Trying to get something less than SGD25 per person.

Wendy,
Where are you getting your ROM dress? I headache now with the dress cos, I am on the big side. size 14, I think.

Leafy,
YOur hubby is definitely very funny.
God may be computer illiterate, bu I think can still help you to 'chop' a good unit.

i took a quick look at the postings thought i make a short postings before i start work after lunch..

Blusher,
Congs.!!! finally the big day !!! everything confirmed..
which is good, unlike me ah...oh well, just have to wait..

Wendy26,
wow...u try on so many gowns ah, i guess i won't have that problem when it's my turn cos me so big so have limited choice one...so must tell us more about the gown ok..

Durian,
hey your FH really romantic ah, propose again ah...so sweet of him to do that ah..

Leafy,
dun worry so much about yr flat selection lah, i believe all these is fated one lah, if it's meant to be yours u dun even need to chose cos there will be the one that is rite in front of u..

ok girls, got to go now, oh, sorry for the delay ah, will have to send u all the updated list for personal detials when im b ack and think FH uploaded the photos already, will see if i can get him to send it out else will have to delay till im back..
sorry about the delay ah..

HI doremon, CC2, annmelody,

Chinese food, in town area, budget not more than $25 person..have or not? Or my budget too little? I heard the Xuan Inn at International Plaza(next to Lido), not bad food, also ala carte buffet lunch, only at aro $17+++ per person. Will call them and check out too!

Hi annmelody,
Thanks for the invitation...I have tried the food at Long Jiang..during my sis ROM lunch..not bad, thot of trying another place. You both lovebirds enjoy ur lunch this sat! Thanks for the suggestion...

Blusher,

In that case you can try the restaurant at Hotel New Otani. they have ala carte buffet and think fits your budget. The food there is good as well.

Blusher,

I was thinking of Long Jiang too! But since u want to try something else,may be u can try those chinese restaurants in Taka, Level 5. Not too sure about their price,but I think should not be too expensive.

Hi Wendy,
wow..almost 10 dresses to try on..must be really fun. Me plan to check out Paris next weekend. Hey, good tip, I will go down to Registry to verify the docs coming few weekends, then no need to rush that day..safer also, just incase! Must bring Birth Cert?

Hi durian,
Wow, so sweet, cooked dinner, flowers plus kneel down..win already..best proposal among us 2004 brides. It's leewah-30%, not aspial. I'm getting my dress from Paris, included in the package.

HI pebbles,
Hey, glad u still pop over during ur biz trip..looks like we are very impt to u too!! Don't worry, good things comes later...very sure ur proposal will be very romantic. Take ur time to prepare the spreadsheet and pics...no worries. U take care...

Hi blusher

No need birth cert. Both of you just bring your IC & the confirmation letter will do.
Let me know if you need anything else.

Hi Blusher,

If u want a more convenient place, u can check out this restaurant in a building (sorry, cannot remember the name) beside "Bai Sheng Lou". The one with Macdonald. WHen my younger sis got ROMed, we went there for Dian Sum. The food is good and service also ok. I will ask her to confirm the restaurant name.

Hi Durian,...wow....u must be very happy, so romantic proposal. For ROM dresses, u can try Fickle in Parco Bugis Junction, my friend of your size also can get dresses there. So no worries.

Hi CC2, once i receive the quotation, will share with u. Meeting him this sat to take measurement in the hse for a more accurate quotation.

Hi Leafy, Cheer up! Don't worry too much okie, things will turn out well...

Hi Wendy, WOW!! 2 hrs of fu shi must be very shiok. Btw, can check something w u? Yr co-ordinator got tell u when setting of hair must add in $$$??

Hi Pebbles, no worries on the photos and list. We will be patient for them...take care!

Blusher,

Me thot of another place. You may try dianxin lunch at River City restaurant at Excelsior Hotel just a walk away from ROM.

Yoi!!! All pretty 2004brides,
Good morning!!
8287.gif

wendy, blusher,
I can feel ur excitment...
wendy,
Does the registry ask both of u to vow, in presence of a witness, that u've never been married in singapore or in other countries? I went thru this lor...my friend would like to confirm whether this practice is still ongoing.

Hi doremon
My bridal pkg does not include makeup & hairup. Got to get it from elsewhere.

Yup blusher, like what annmelody has just mentioned, you can try the Tim Sum Buffet at River City restaurant at Excelsior Hotel as I will be going there too after my ROM.

leafy
Yup, we were ask to to vow, in presence of a witness, that u've never been married in singapore or in other countries? I went thru this as well when I verify my document.

Blusher n Wendy,

Better decide wat language you want and confirm so you 2 are not at a loss like me.

The person ask me then which i wanted English but so angry that his dad mentioned Mandarin. So in the end, it's conducted in mandarin!!!!!

I dun really mind but thought his dad should follow our wishes as it's our wedding and well i say : "wo yuan yi" instead of " I do ".... feel a bit something missing somehow.

ok, thanks wendy! my friend asked cos she's ROMing next month. if i'm not wrong, CC mentioned tt she was not ask to take this vow...confuse me ahh....

I was asked to take the vow leh! I din go down a few weeks before hand to check th documents. We check the documents on the day itself.
No vows leh, just need to sign here and there.

Gal, I have sent u all something. Go check out ur email account.

Blusher,

You many want to check out Hai Siang Restaurant at New Park Hotel? I attended my colleague's ROM there. The food was good, price wise quite reasonable too.
8296.gif

CC2

Hi Blusher,

My sis took her vows in Mandarin too becos' her friends told her that the content would be much more touching than the English vows.

Personally, i feel so too as i attended twice ROM ceremony, one in Mandarin and the other in English.

Hi annmelody,

Were u touched when u took it in Mandarin or u still prefer english vows?

Hi Wendy,
I thot have to bring BC, cos someone mentioned to me that they need to ensure that the couple is real male and woman, hahaha! Not an AH Gua.. Wah..still must take vow..should be quite an experience. Will drop by registry soon..coming few weekends. Thanks for the info.

Hi Annmelody,
Thanks for the recommendation..will check out the restaurant. Heard from wendy that the price is very reasonable. Will definitely take English version..my chinese very lousy..can't understand lor.

Hi CC2,
Thanks for the recommendation.. hey, very nice Qoo pics...I simply luv Qoo.

Hi doremon,
Do let me know where is "bai Sheng lou". I will shortlist a few places then ask my fiance for final decision.

Thanks for all the advice and help..without u gals..really mati....

leafy
Maybe I verify my document early before ROM day so got "time" to take the vow. CC2 may be different as she go down on ROM day itself.
How abt u did you take the vow? Btw when did u ROM?

annmelody
We will be taking the ROM vow in Mandarin. Feel more closer. On that day then when JP ask then tell her right?

hello all,
so happening ah ...

Blusher
of course u all are important to me too what...
we are all ladies in the same boat..ehehehe...
As for proposal ah, i guess the more i hope for it the more i dun see it so like he always tell me, must trust my timing so i let it be lor, but really gald for u..
u must be so busy now rite..eehhehe..
hey u need company to Paris next weekend or not or going with FH, i can go with u cos will be back by next thur..

Annmelogy,
so your ROM was in mandarin ah, i dun think i can make it lor but lucky for my both parents speak english so think i won't have that problem lah..

Doremon,

Actually keep having in mind that i wanted to hear " I do" but thinking back...the mandarin one really do sounds more touching and everyone in the room also understand.

The phrases like" Yong Bu Fen Li" and " Yi Shen Yi Shi".....

Now I dun feel that bad :P

Wah, quite happening today. So pebbles, how come so free can log in even at BKK? But luckily have us for company rite? Hee hee

So glad that wendy & blusher making good progress already, and even durian got her proposal too! So now left Pebbles, Doremon & I left waiting for the confirmation of our ROM date...

By the way, can't wait for the pics that we took to be out... last week was fun, but sorry that I didn't get to speak to leafy, doremon & durian more... promise will catch up with you guys at our next meeting.

hi wendy,
I romed on 171101.
Not sure why CC can escape that funny vow. Do u have any friends who rom recently? Can ask them ahh...

I definitely choose to solemize my marriage in mandarin, cos both our family, including ourselves, don't speak english. The marriage vow is mushy, I simply murmured thru, trying very hard to retract my goosepimples.

ai yah... I've the tendency to use technical words ahh...sound funny to say "retract"...i meant to write "hold back"...sounds better? gheeeeee.....

Wendy,

On that day the JP will ask if your witness is ard and then ask for the language for the cermony to be conducted of.

Remember to show us gals your wedding photos the next outing!!!

When I was verifying the documents, there were other couples there too, whom I think are not going thr the ROM on the day itself. I dun see them taking the vows leh! We were only asked to read a certain paragraph in silence, understand it and signed. That's it!

Maybe ROM change their mind every now and then. Remember I told u gals that my colleague and her FH has to watch that video on divorce? Any of ur frens has to watch that too?

I had my vows in English. I attended one of my colleagues ROM and the JP was talking so softly that she wouldn't hear what the JP was mumbling. So she turned her head ard and look at the JP, trying to catch what she is saying from the mouth, then the JP scolded her and asked her to look at her husband!!!

My hubby and I were afraid that the same thing happen to us, so we watched his brother's ROM video and copied down the vows and memorise by hard. We 2 very KS hor?

CC2,

Wow you actually memorize it? IThe JP I had was a lady and her voice pretty loud and clear...think your friend real unlucky leh.

BTW my phone spoiled.....very sad so now me a poor gal; need to buy a new mobile but cannot upgrade as my line was recentl;y signed up in April:< Anyone got lobangs for reasonable phones?

annmelody,

The JP I had is also a lady. My fren's JP was also a lady but can see that her face black black one.

U mean u just bought the phone and is spoilt already? Still under guarantee or not? Can repair?

Hi CC2,
Wow u actually memorised the words..solid...like schooling time 'ting(1) xie(3)'(spelling). Hahaha! But the words are very meaningful right. I remenbered when I attended my sis and fiance's bro's ROM, felt so so touched, with tears in my eyes. Always thinking when I it be my turn...haha!

Hi, Blusher.

'Bai Sheng Lou' is Bras Basah Complex. think the building that Doremon referring to is called Odeon Towers.

Blusher,

Ya... even though I memorised.. but hor, now I also forgetten what have I said! Only remember the last sentence which is "......with this ring, I marry u."

Hi Shooby06,

Thanks for the info...you new here? Welcome!!

Hi CC2,
Hahaha..those words that u remembered, are good enough.

HI Annmelody,
My HP also something wrong now...Just realised that my hp casing chipped off,now one hole...hahaha! HP still in ok condition..will not be buying a new one now..maybe next year.

Blusher &amp; Annmelody,

Thanks for welcoming me. I've been in this forum for sometime, juz came to this thread recently.

Hi pebbles/leafy/bubbles/blusher/annmelody/doremon

Just send the pix of our gathering last week to your emaill address. Go check it out!

Hi durian
Dun have your email address. Can give it to me so that I can send it to you as well.

Haloo gals,
I still have not seen the photos yet... got jammed the few time I down load it. Looks like I will only get to see it i I use the broad band.

Hi wendy,
My email is [email protected]. Thanks.

welcome welcome shoby06.

Hi annmelody/leafy,
Can you still remember what is said in the chinese version?
what will it be like? we repeat after the Jp or read from something? I dunno how to read chinese at all.I might use the chinese version as his family dun speak english...

gtg...
downed by a nasty flu bug.

Yoi girls! Good morning!

Durian,
Are u feeling better now? Seen the doctor? Rest well n take care!

I'll send the photos to u, annmelody n blusher either tonight/tomolo.

You recite the marriage vow after the JP, so don't worry 'bt reading chinese. But pray hard tt u won't get a JP who mumbled (like what CC2 mentioned earlier on)

So have u decided on rom date? found your rings?

HI CC2,

27 SEP is fine with me....hey, the rest very quiet today...me very busy with work too. Going home now..

Chat with u gals tomorrow...

HI, CC2

I probably to be a 2004 bride 'cos we haven't made up our mind yet due to other commitments.

Durian. Thanx for welcoming me. (Yummy, I like durians.)