(2002) Brides of year 2002

My photoshoot will b next week on 3 Jun....need to check with u gals that been to Sentosa. How much was the entrance fee & roughly what time did u get in to Sentosa?

Saw some pics for the Orchid Garden... looks so beautiful, Tot of going in there too.

Hi Och

Went to Hyatt to collect my card last weekend & also took the opportunity to view the bridal suite. I must say I was very dissappointed with the suite. Have u seen it?

HI Gemi,
Sure I'll mail you the pic of the car when I get home. The gown is not ready yet, the pictures are just those that I down loaded which looks in part like what I am having the designer do. Do you still want to see it?

hi twinkle ;p

both ur EG n WG r A-line ?

hi angeline ,

can send the pics of the WG ;p mi curious to c ;p
mi happy u r able to get ur gowns over at HK ;p at least u need not "fan nao" anymore

hi pinkapple !!

r u going to have anymore trials ? have u tried daniel than ?

hehe... Angelia... we haven't decided on the actual schedule yet... just tentative only... nearer the date then decide... u so kan cheong... urs later than mine leh...

Angelia,

My procedure's something like this.....

- Groom fetch Bride from Bride's place
- Outdoor photography
- Go back Groom's place (change into Kwa) for tea ceremony
- Go to Bride's place for tea ceremony
- Go to hotel

Share with u my actual day programme

I have to leave my house at 6.30AM ( Punggol )& reach my FPIL's house at 7.00AM ( Toa Payoh )which means my Fh will picks me up at ard 5.30AM ( an hour allowances for ah yees to play )My make up artist will be at my house ard 3.30AM!

- Fh departs from our new flat( Woodlands ) to pick me up
- Arrive at FPIL house for praying & tea ceremony
- Go to my new flat
- Fetch " ah ku " to my house, he will bring a basket with hair cream, oil.....
- Go outdoor for PS
- Go back to FPIL house for relative tea ceremony
- Go back to our new flat to change gowns
- Go back to my parents house for tea ceremony
- Proceed to hotel

I think shd be like that, hope i didnt miss out anything!

Any updates? Why has it quieten down again?
Any ideas where to get not-so-exp wrist corsages?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">JenJen</FONT>
hiya, now settle then later can "senang" a bit mah... must plan time and see how much time for photoshoot so can plan where to go mah... seems like most (all) of us will go photoshoot before going to Groom's place.

ya lor, i tot reach FPIL's place gotta serve tea liao... think a lot of pple say cannot wear WG to FPIL's place then to own place leh, <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Angeline</FONT>, u better dbl check wif ur mummy, juz in case...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin</FONT>
u mean u not serving tea to FPIL in WG?! better check wif FPIL whether can or not..

Angelia,

I dun get what u mean?? Why cant wear WG to PFIL place then to my new flat??? I tot pple always wear WG to PFIL place &amp; own flat but have to change gowns before going back to Bride's place for tea ceremony????

angelia, my photographer say will be too rush to go many places... maybe only 1 place... so I think no point to plan so early...

Hi Gemi / Jinette,

OK I'll send you both the photos later tonight. Yes I am so glad that that I managed to find the gown. I hope the workmanship is OK. There isn't any forums in HK like this one that I can ask for feedback. Let's keep my fingers and toes cross.

Still need recommendations on the make up artiste and photographer. Any suggestions.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angeline</FONT>
i oso dunno leh.. read in one of the threads, but forgot which one liao..

ya, i mean plan which 1 location to go, not to many locations
. if got time, can go further, if not, then gotta settle for somewhere near....

Hi Angeline Teo,

Can I take a look at the pics of your WG too? Very curious to see too as so many people had commented that it looks good.

And I am the one who asked for the price of a kua in HK. Does the kua comes with a pair of matching shoes as well? Thanks for making the efford to find out the price for me. Really appreciate it very much.

E-mail : [email protected]

hi julia,

if my memory din fail, the entrance fee to sentosa was $15 per car. we got in at abt 4pm n left by 6:30pm. i really enjoyed taking pictures in sentosa. there were lots of pple there who were congratulating us n taking pictures with us while the photographer was setting up. n there were tourists waving hellos fr the beach train. their friendliness just makes it easier for us to smile n enjoy ourselves while trudging along the sand.

i saw the bridal suite twice. which floor did u go to? what was it that u din like? i thot the suites weren't very big, it's smaller than four season's suites.

hey gals, r u serving wine at ur wedding? i'm looking at ordering wines now, but since i'm not an avid drinker, i hv no idea what to get n where to get the wines fr. anybody has advice?

Hi Corrie,
OK, I'll send the WG pic to you too later.

I kua does not come with the shoes, but if you are not too picky about the quality, some of those red embroidery shoes can be very cheap. No need to worry.

Oh yes Dec Brides,
I haven't thought about what design I should go for my EG. Now that you have seen my car decor and design for WG, any suggestions what kind of EG will go with the whole look?

Hi Angeline,

Wow...that was fast. Hmm.....I heard that some shops in HK does sell the kua with shoes leh....
Anyway, the kua which you mentioned is the traditionally red one is it?

Hi janfyp &amp; irene,

Good luck for ur exams and clear all papers... U still left how many yrs to go? I oso taking part time in EEE for 5 yrs, still left 3 yrs to go...
. now hving so-called "holiday".

Angelia,
Juz went to chk my mail box,din receive ur mail yet,can send again? thx.

Hi Corrie,
I'm in love with this site. I am checking it every hour or so. Actually, I didn't ask about the shoes for the Kua, since I've seen them all over the place, I thought one can buy them easily.

Yes the price is for the normal red one. The range is wide and can be expensive too. If you go for the complicated embroidery on silk with silver and gold thread kinda things, may cost up to 1K.

Hi Och...can't really remember which floor but I really don't like the dining table...seems so out of place. The room also look so old &amp; cheap! Of course on the photo it look great but....

just talk to my Dang...she mentioned that if I decided to goto Sentosa then that would mean that I will have only at 1 location &amp; she commented that most photos at Sentosa (for her brides) does not really turn out very nice. (May be the gown are now suitable for Sentosa)

Yes, I will be serving wine. Hyatt did provide us a list of wine starting from $17. you might want 2 consider.

Scouting around for wine too.Since our wedding is on the same day, we can order together, may be can bargain for better price. I'll inform you once I find anything.

Hi twinkle and kas

Thanks a million for your advice. Will scout around more. U know, I told my FH in future when I 've the capital, I'm going to set up a bridal HOUSE, i.e everything under one roof, all the big designer names, facials, slimming etc etc. IT's really big business, look at the amount they charge for our MTM gowns which we don't even keep!!

Angelene,

Tks for the car pics. It's cool and trendy. I'm definitely going to have that. BUt mine will be a london cab so not sure if it'll still look good.

Angelia,

I'm not too sure about all these procedures.... thot that i must change into kwa to serve tea.....perhaps i will ask my MIL tonite.... Then again i think the elders will finalise the procedures and give instructions when closer to date....
Thanks for informing me....

BTw, will u be going anywhere for PS on actual day?
And thanks for yr updates.....got it!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Ice</FONT>
sent oready..

MUST change to kwa/tea-dress then go back bride's place for tea ceremony.. but think groom side is in WG. i oso not sure. ya, think safest is to check to the elderly.. some not pandang than never mind, others will nag.. nag... nag...

haven't tot of anything for PS yet... hopefully can settle that one soon.........

Angeline,

was thinking i will go home tonite and snap a digital shot of my pair of embroidery red shoes to match my kwa and email it for yr reference so u will have a better idea....

hi julia,

yep, same for me. i could only go to sentosa. within sentosa, we went to abt 3 different stops. i can see why pictures in sentosa may not turn out so well, since the backgrds can be kind of plain in pictures. i guess it depends on the type of pictures u want. labrador park is v. popular too.

i saw the wine list fr hyatt, but i'm not sure if buying on consignment will be more worthwhile. do share any lobangs u hv ok. i definitely dun mind ordering together to get bulk discount.

as for the rooms... the pictures showed only the bedrm, which doesn't look too bad. but i agree with u... the living rm can look better.

hey, u've bought shoes for kwa oready?? me juz brought back the kwa (loan from SIL) and it's really nice leh.. but now dunno what shoes to go with it... hiaz...

asked hubby to borrow digi-cam from his fren, hope can take a few shots then post it for u gals to see..
i so vain hor?!?!

Angelia,

i wanna see yr kwa.... mail me or post it here when u got the picture taken. Thanks in advance!

will check with the elderly about the actual procedures..... my parents r quite young so they dun really bother about such customs....my PIL r the ones that pantang this and that. In fact my parents was very open to a honeymoon wedding.... but my in laws insist on a customary wedding as my hubby's the only son.

Yah, me kiasu....so i got the shoes way in advance
hee....

Hi Tomyam,
Did you check with ure florist? Whether getting them to do the wrist corsages is exp.. otherwise, like what thedevil said, you can consider making it yourself. Get a rose, with some fern and baby's breath, and attach these pcs with a ribbon.. and voila! a wrist corsage. I think it's fun and cheaper to make your own.

Guess this thread is not as active as the rest.. mebbe the brides in this thread are busily preparing for their wedding? I know I am

Right now, we have yet to receive quotations from the distributors of invites and wedding favours, other than that, the seating arrangements, the arranging of duties, etc...

as I mentioned, I will be seeing my photos this friday. hopefully they will turn out ok, and that we won't spend a bomb topping up the amt of photos we want.

Hi Angelia,

got ur email. I oso want to see ur kua and the shoes. Ur wedding shoes is mtm or buy? I never think of the shoes to match with my kua only focus on the wedding shoes... now hv to search the red shoes liao. My hubby will scold me again...Recently i sign a facial course he oso scold me.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Ice, bluechin</FONT>
sure, will share with u gals after i snapshot a few pix..

hiya, if ur hubby is their only son, then cannot blame them lah... so, u'll have a heavy responsiblity after marriage - to continue the family line!!!

i oso juz signed up "another" facial course. but, i'm gonna get him to come along oso..

aiya, if u'r paying for the facial urself (and oso paying a fair share of the wedding expenses) he shouldn't scold u mah.. ask him "u dun want ur bride to be mei mei meh?"

no lah, me hvn't bought the shoes, <FONT COLOR="ff6000">bluechine's</FONT> the one. me oso wonder is it possible to buy juz 1 pair of shoes to match WG, EG and kwa?!

Hi Angelia,

I also want to see too although i not wearing kua for customary.

Hi Janjyp,

wow the final stage. Good luck to you. Best wishes and study hard.

Hi Ice,

ACCA restart the counting of years when they change syllabus last year so, can start recounting again.
And it seems that they change syllabus every 7 years and whenever they change syllabus, they redo the counting of years.

Irene

Hi Fish,
What a great idea. Don't forget about me if you need a joint venture. :-)

Maybe you can try to bargain with the boutique to let you keep the gown. (that is if you haven't already signed). They just might.

I've just bought some European bridal magazines. Let me see if I can find any London Cabs in there. Let you know.

try lucky plaza lah.. think they got plenty of shoes suitable for weddings.. but hor, go 1 or 2 shops can liao, cos they all carries the same brands and designs ....

oso, i think metro is good too...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Irene</FONT>
no problem..

Angelia,

To continue the family line is no problem on my part..... i love children.... the only problem is whether i can concieve...*touch wood* In fact all of us including my hubby, in laws and i prefer girls....so i hope my no 1 will be a girl.... will probably try after 2002.

JenJen,

i also think Metro's a good choice for normal range....

Jinette,
I am 1.62m at 47 kgs. Do you have some pic of how Daniel did your make up?
As for Hilarion, I was some comments about him on the site. What is your own experience with him?

hi thedevil
I can't find the materials for making it. Can you let me know where I can get the materials and if possible describe how you make it? is it like lollipop describe?

my aunt's niece who had her wedding in Hyatt got her wine from them and was quite disappointed. it was also not cheap. My good friends who had their wedding there in Mar sourced for their own wine. They managed to get pretty good wine for about $17 per bottle, 1997 Merdot from Bourdeaux. It's no point getting too expensive wine for dinners cos it's like Chinese banquet, people can't really appreciate that much, unlike if it was some posh western dinner where people aren't glugging down the wine...that's what the wine people advised my friends. Can't quite remember where they got theirs from but I'll try and find out and let you know.

Hi Irene,

Does that means each course take 7 yrs to complete?

Angelia,
He say natural can liao dun need to supposely go and do lor...I use my money to pay yet he feel heart pain. He rather i spent on him. So ki xi...

Hi everybody

I am getting married on 17 Oct 02 and signed up with GHA Yishun branch.. banquet in Hotel Inter-continental and engaged Nick Goh as my actual day wedding photograher.

Lollipop
I read thru all the postings in this thread and read that you choose Ben to be your actual day photographer.. I've seen Sam's work from my childhood friend's album and it's ok. I've heard really good review on Ben's work but my coordinator, Ling Hoon from Yishun showed me some photos taken by Ben (so she claimed) and they weren't very good. I don't really believe that they are taken by Ben and it's just a tactic of convincing me to engage Steven... (dun understand why either). Could I take a look at your photos once they are ready?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angeline</FONT>
dun worry, i'll post the link here after i manage to take some pix using the digi-cam, then everyone can see...

but hor, u all dun place too high expectations hor, if not, later turn out not nice then i "malu" lah.. i'll only take a few pix in the kwa, without makeup one ok?!

wah, so prob u'll be the 1st one to hv kids
actually i oso prefer girl 1st, then boy, then can hv a "hao".. but hor, if boy 1st then girl, then the brother can protect the sister mah... hiya... lucky this one we can't really "manipulate", if not, oso got headache which one come first

btw, i got a chart (using lunar age and lunar mth u conceive) from some site where u can find out is it a girl or boy u carrying leh.. but i dunno how accurate lah.. anyone interested?

Hi Ice,

not really, it depends on how fast you could pass the papers.
They normally say within 10 years, you have to pass all the papers.
But then, they will change syllabus and then recount the years again.

Irene

i suppose ur face shld be in pretty good condition, that's why ur hubby got no complaints lor.. mine is not so good, that's why he didn't say anything, but ask me to make sure it's worth it than sign lor..

actually this one that i signed is quite good in a sense it's like a "prepayment" thing (e.g pay $1000 get $1500 worth), and u dun need to stick to facial, can choose from their range of treatments.. i actually bargained till they allow me and hubby to share 1 pkg (cos hubby keeps complaining abt his "panda" eyes) then i sign...
maybe i shld ask hubby to pay half hor... hmmm....

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene</FONT>
think my BIL is doing ACCA in london, for many yrs (hubby mentioned abt 7 - 9 yr).. till he's oready a PR now.. not sure if he's finished his course, very pai-sei to ask.