(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Crayon,

If your rest can only hold max 40 tables, then try to cut down your guest list. If not, then you have to look for other places. Then again, haven't you paid for the deposit yet? It might have to be forfeited if you back out now.

but i think getting ure guests to rsvp earlier works too

hi twinkle,

have sent liao ;p it's ok

angeline, any idea where to get those fairy tale/cinderella kind of WG ? surfing online but can' find any

jinette,

if you're free tonite, you can join me at The Delphi!

Oops, my office mgr's gonna get the bounced mail... she's the office bitch.

email me your mobile no and i'll contact you!

Angeline,
yeah, that's a good idea, on the gathering!
Dec, so late? thot u'd be coming back in Jul?

Let me give you Shangri-la's co-ordinator's details... she's very helpful
Name: Tsou Ling
Tel: 65-6730 2242
email: [email protected]

jinette,

i know what kind you'd like... try Divine Couture at The Mandarin Shopping Arcade. You need to book appmnt first.

To get a glimsp of their designs... go to www.femalebridesonline.com look for category: wedding resources.

I'm keen on The Edge's photography.

have u done your homework?

I've actually been to several boutiques and done my comparison.

Hi Twinkle,

Princesslin here, so glad to hear tt u signed up yr bridal package alrwady. Btw, The Edge photography is booked on our wedding date.

Nicole

hi jinette, i think u can go to shops to try on those designs u have in mind first to get a look and feel and see if u like. sometimes u may like a design but then it may not suited for u

angeline, do we need to wear a girdle inside? i thot of going braless since there's already padding in the gown. do u all think it's ok? me also same as u, flat, but i still go ahead to do something like bustier gown. which cut does ur shop recommend? for empire dresses, i think as long as u dont have a tummy that comes out, it's ok, and it's like straight down. Gynette didnt look like she was pregnant when wearing those dress also mah

twinkle, nice of u to have found ur gown already, how's ur gown like? can i see ur pics too? my email is [email protected] thks

angeline, are u having ur wedding in singapore or HK?

jinette,

Nice, very flowy fabric! wow.... feel so dreamy.

I'm on the tan side too, actually feel that skin is kinda patchy, maybe should go for self- tanning lotion to even out skin tone?

hi twinkle !!

i dun mind but what time is ur appt coz my work end at 6pm ( having a meeting so might end later )

have compared the various ppl's photography - my fav
- hilarion's photography
- robin's photography
- the edge ( andrew tay )

hmm.. divine couture ? r their gowns gd ?

Hi Jinette,

Like u and Angeline, I am going for fairytale theme. Anyway I booked my birdal package with BV, and I reccomend them to u. U can read abt BV in the BV thread.

Can u email me the pics of yr gowns? Thanks!

Just click on my user name for my email. Thanks!

Nicole

Jinette,
I got an Italian mag and it has lots of the couture gowns. I will send you a mail tonight with the addresses when I get home. The other 3 american websites are
www.theknot.com
www.weddingchannel.com
www.weddingchat.com
all three have a large list of gown designers and links to their samples. But you have to take time to go through one by one. Last Sat, I was up till 4am, just looking at all the gowns on site.

Twinkle,
Original plan was to go back and find boutique, but now since I can get the gown in HK, so no more trouble. But I think I should go check out the dinner venues before making a decision. Perhaps Jul / Aug I can get some leave from work.

Dec Brides,
if you need anything from HK, better tell me quick so I can help you get them.

hi nicole,

you're here too! Gee, sad to hear Andrew's not available... who are you going with?

I'm flochoe from FBO! did u realize?

Twinkle, Yes I know tt u are Flo from FBO, if not won't say tt we have same wedding dates mah

I have 3 photographers on my wedding day, Caleb from Colonjay stuidos, Yan Tuck Hong from Novex Media and another is a Mr Thien.

CheerS!

Pinky,
when I try the gown in SGP, they just used the sewn on cups in the gown. But when I try in HK, they ask me to wear girdle. Braless is more comfy I must say. But girdle got protection also, in case the bustier start slipping down. :-p

BTW I am having my church wedding in SGP.

Hi Lollipop
I had paid the deposit already but quite small amt less than 1k. My MIL is not willingly to cut down the guests list..I had just been to brilliant garden to view the ballroom..it is very big and nice..can accomodate up to 100 tables.

But had to wait for hubby to come back on Monday then can decide. the rest. will hold for 1 week.

I was quite glad tat I managed to find one that is available on the date I wanted. Heng ah!

HI Nicole,

Wow 3 photographer! I haven't even decided who I am having. Issit all 3 different styles so you need to use 3 persons?

Hi Angeline,

I have emailed u.
And yup 3 photographers for 3 diff styles. Caleb is purely journalistic, Tuck Hong will be doing digital and Mr Thien is purely traditional photographer (using film).

Hope to hear from u soon!

nicole,

how much did u sign up with each? Can I have their contacts?

thank you!

jinette,
you can also visit bridal veil, they're just across from the boutique i'm using. But better that you make prior appointments with them. If you come tonight with me, you can see various studios' photography styles (albums), window shop for your gowns...

at Delphi, there's Bridal Veil, Irene's Creation, Blush Blush, Ivory Aisle, Inspiration Collection.....

HI Nicole,
Got you mail. Thank you very much for all the info. I will check the hotels out. I am having a very small party about 80 - 100 pax. Probably going for outdoor / poolside. I was think Hyatt's garden or Conrad's poolside. But both a bit expensive. What do you think of Oaks Grill at Tanglin mall. The outdoor part with the christmas lights seems quite OK. I thought of hiding presents in the bushes for the guests to find. Will having the dinner in a restaurant be too 'cheapo'?

angeline, that's a marvelous idea! I like that place too. No, it's not cheapo at all.

You can try Chijmes as well. There's a french restaurant in Far East Square with a nice coutyard,it has a huge orange round lantern in the middle, very interesting. So you'll get the option of both indoor (air-con) and outdoor. It's very private... the exterior looks like an old Chinese mansion.

I have the contact :
L'ECOLE GOURMANDE
Kelly Teoh
Tel: 9763 9054

The menu is about S$70 per head includes wine, outdoor BBQ station... good with their cakes too

Hi gracious,

Are you referring to the fruit cakes on the wedding dinner? Mine is chocolate..
Me too also thought of giving dumpling..very special, should check with the hotel whether they have dumpling.

Hi Twinkle,
I thought of Chijmes too. Particularly meaningful cos I am an IJ girl. But the rental + catering maybe too ex.

I have to do my sums. I am thinking about budgeting about $70 after tax per pax. For not more than 100 pax. I liked the hotels, but price seems to be on the high side. Do you think can bargain for $70?

hi nicole !!

have sent u the pix ;p hmm.. dun tink bridal veil can fit my budget.

twinkle ;p u haven't tell the time ;p can email me what time u going down ;p

gals, i have a package here. but dunno is it worth it. pls check it out for me

=================================================
Our basic package of S$2588 will get you a wedding gown all made-to-measure
on rental. The dry cleaning charges are included for the gowns - even those
which are your own. You also get 4 sessions of hair & make up plus 2 hand
bouquets + 08 corsages. All accessories and miscellaneous apparel (01 pair
of shoes - to keep, gloves, veil, FOC rental of the Chinese kua or a knee
length tea dress etc) are included as well.

You also get silk flower car decor plus follow up car/s decor.

==================================================

hi angeline,

if you choose to have high-tea instead of dinner, then the hotels such as Grand Hyatt, Shangri-la can accomodate, but not the dinners.

The restaurants are just as cosy and nice!

Thanks Twinkle,
I will check around for more resturants then. There burst my bubble for the hotel dinner.

Who else offers western semi buffets for such price?

Me so jealous Jinette and you going out together

Hi Angelia, sure.. can add my yahoo add as well. Thks.

Cherly, mine wedding banquet venue is at Amara. I oso duno what is there to do.. just know that in July to go and select my EG and finalise all other outfits. Then Aug go for PS.

Alot of customs to follow. Some of my colleagues say if got new hse but hvnt go thru customary, cannot use the master bedroom.

hi ange,

finally we start dec BTB's going out....

more to come!

You can try Raffles hotel, they do nice western long table seating... dunno abt the actual price.

Other hotels do offer cheaper rates, such as Oriental at Marina Square S$68+++ for int'l buffet.
Marina Mandarin is S$50/S$60 per pax.
Traders Hotel is S$55 per pax
Goodwood is S$42+++ hightea per pax for poolside, they have a white marquee... not sure abt dinner.

hope these info helps!!

whao, Twinkle ,
You sure have alot of research materials. I will have to punch on my calculator and send you a mail later for help. Thanks.

Enjoy yourselves tonight!

Hi Jinette, does ur package includes photography? for me, i've got a budget, so i chose everything inclusive which costs aro $3k

Angeline, i think most hotels will be able to accomodate for $70/pax for buffet or high-tea so should not have problem finding. me actually going for weekday wedding dinner to save costs.

HI Jinette,
actually I have ROMed for 5 years now. But never held a wedding in SGP. So now have to do it after we purchased our home.

Pinky,
Can advise which hotel got nice buffet dinner for $70/pax all inclusive?

Finalising the guest list is always cumbersome. Glad you have an alternative

So your photoshoot is in July. Have you tried on your EG yet? How's your preparations now?

Angeline, where u intend to stay when u're married? in SGD?

u're looking for buffet dinner, is it? actually i dont know where got, but most hotels will have mah. do u intend to hold it in a ballroom kind or poolside?

i think Shangri-La poolside is not bad. Traders function room also not bad if u having small reception aro 15 tables. i din source as much as Twinkle so i guess she more able to advise u.

Hi Jinette, if without photography then it's abit ex. but most high-end shops with photography all costs aro 3-4k plus. somemore if taking additional photos will be add-on costs, so we decided on a reasonable package first so that we can order more photos later, otherwise we will surely go out of budget. i already find myself spenting alot, since we just booked for a actual day photographer and videographer for $1.2K.. quite heart-pain. but if ur budget allows, then do what pleases u most, since it's once in a lifetime mah.

i am a june02 brides too. mine is pineapple tat.
me & FH find it special.

getiing marry on 8-june-02, gua da li this sunday 2-june-02. any 8-june-02 brides?

Hi Jinette, u're so pretty, tall & slim and got those sporty look. n ur hubby look like those honest goody type, both of u look compatible
unlike me and my hubby, my face bigger than my hubby whenever we take photos, cos he's very skinny

u're outdoor places very unqiue, where u found those animals? and the canister also very nice, we used those old orange type, so 'out-dated'. wonder if we can change with the ROM Board anot?

hi pinky n jinette,

if both of u want a budget one - try J&M at Tanjong Pagar Road, all comprehensive in one package and the photography is not bad. The last time I checked, they were offering S$300 voucher for registration before end May!

I gave all my price quotes to another BTB... will try to get the details from her again if you're keen.

Hi, Jas03,

Is it? I am not so "Pang Tang" one and nobody tell us abt this, my hubby is sleeping in the master bedroom lei.

hi ange,

did u receive my email on Shang?

Gals, I'm having my solemnisation, dinner, tea ceremony all on same day...

dun like too leh cheh...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherly</FONT>
i heard of that one.. that's why i told hubby if our new flat is ready b4 our customary and he wants to move in, he CANNOT sleep in the master bedroom's bed..

HI Jinette,

Finally get to see you. You and your hubby have 'Fu-1 Qi-1 Xiang-4". The dress looks very good, did you MTM or OTR?

Pinky,
You are not the only one lar. My hubby very short. Only 162cm, same height as me. So upset I cannot wear heels for the wedding. Now he even growing a pot belly.. Yucks!

Twinkle,
Yes I got your mails. Thanks alot. I really like Shangri La and Grand Hyatt. Just worried whether they will fit my budget and small crowd. I'm also having everything in one day. Save the trouble.
- Church Wedding
- outdoor photography (if possible)
- tea ceromony
- buffet dinner

Hi Pinky,

You can get the new canister at the ROM Board. I think selling at $26 per piece. Just bought one a few weeks ago during my brother ROM. Sorry cannot remember the price.

There is also a choice of color - Gold or Silver.

Both are very nice-looking. Have trouble choosing between the two.

Hi Angeline,

I deleted my mails already. Can you send me your pics again. Hope the files are not too large cos hotmail doesn't give me a lot of space. Thanks a million. [email protected]

Wow, this thread is really getting very active...Keep it going!!!