(2002) Brides of year 2002

AHHHH..... I'M STILL IN OFFICE!!!!!

Hi, gals!

I just came back from my second fitting
Really enjoyed the session
My WG is a simple gown but i really love the embroideries...
Think it will look even nicer when my designer adds more embroideries and sugar beadings
I oso tried my EG lining with the mock cheongsam organza overcoat ...so lovely
hehehe...my next fitting will be on 30 April...cant wait!!

Julia - I tried the link..it works!
Really a gd idea!!

Hi Everybody,

I'm back!!! Wow! Wow! Wow! So many postings.
Guess i have to buy another pair of "TRACK" shoes so as to RUN through all these postings.

Have a nice weekend to all of u!!!

I'm deciding between ted wu and silhoutte. Most of the other places I've been to are nice but not quite my style.

Sharon have you been to wedding present. patrick is a really cool guy to talk to and he has this male assistant I can't remember his name is very fun and helpful. He just kept going round the shop and pulling out gowns for me to look at and try. also been to bridal veil the service is good but I prefer embroidery to crystal.

Went to Tan Yoong and thought his gowns abit to modern and new age for me. He also came across to me as a really tuck up person when I visited the shop. Maybe he's just not used to people wearing jeans into his shop.

The lady at silhoutte amanda showed me this really nice gown that had grey embriodery all round the train and at the neck line region and I was very impressed. She let me try on some other gowns and even helped me pin on a veil so I could see the whole effect. I also fell in love with the embroidery gowns at ted wu. I really like the gowns I saw there. But then again both ted wu and silhoute are abit pricey so I can't make up my mind.

Sigh. After all that gown trying realized i must really try and loose some weight I had difficulty trying to get into most of them.

Hi snuggles,

I'm w Silhouette. my designer is not amada though. I find them v professional and whenever I try on a gown, Minda always put on the veil n accessories for me to have a complete picture.

Another thing that is impressed me is their gowns. very grand most of them. since my church is super grand, I decided to take my gown from them.

As for the price. think u can get a good deal if u get a few things from them. like evening gown, men's suit, flowers, etc. on top of ya wedding gown. oso, if u easily fit into gowns, mayb u can try off-the-rack then u can save quite a lot

I haven't been to Ted Wu though...

Hi Kat22,

So happy for you that you like your gowns. You must look very pretty in them!

I went to AWT today to confirm my cards and the one that I chose needed 3 weeks to arrive!!!
Probably need to rush the printing cos' my mum need them in June for my overseas guests...

Julia: Your site works very well and I think its a great idea! You can send it to all your friends and relatives who want a glimpse of your gowns!

Hi, Jolene

Are u there around 12pm? I was with my FH at AWT today to choose the cards too
There was a long hair lady choosing her cards too...I thot she looks like u but i dare not approach her in case i get the wrong person

Which design did u choose? It was really tough trying to select the cards..so many choices and so many different opinions (btw me and my Fh that is
)!! hehehe...luckily we finally managed to select one that we both like...mine will be a simple ivory envelope-like card with a double happiness on the cover and 4 flaps behind where u put the inserts inside and close up the 4 flaps with a ribbon...dunno if u know what i mean
My cards will be ready in 3 weeks time as well

Hi Fantasy,

Dun worry everything will turn up fine...

Just to share my experience with u, my make-up artist told me to wash my hair the nite before and not to apply anything to the hair. as for applying moisturier and eye cream, i think it's fine. remember to bring along your make-up remover if u do not wish to go home with the thick make-up. after the photoshoot, I guess u will have problem washing your hair....the auntie at my bridal shop was very kind, advising me to wash my hair with the hair conditioner first before shampooing. It works.... no worry.... u just relax and enjoy yourself on Monday. Sleep early on sunday nite.... keep us updated OK....

Hi Kat,

Ya, I was there about 12pm or so... haiya, I heard you telling Shirley that you were also having your dinner at Sheraton also and I tot maybe its someone from here... never expected it to be you!
Me had to go alone cos' hubby was working...

I chose the card with 2 hearts in front, printing will be in the centre only since there is 2 flaps to open the card. No chinese printing since hubby's family are Peranakans and my parents dunno how to read chinese...

Hey, when you go collect your cards, maybe we can meet there as well? Afterall, it will probably be about the same time since ours will take 3 weeks.

Btw, I think you and your hubby got "Fu(1) Qi(1) Xiang(4)". Very compatible. : þ

Hi snuggles

My designer is amanda fm Silhouette. Agree that they r very professional. They will put on the veil for me to hv a overall picture of how i wld look like.

Amanda's design skills are very good too..so far, she has designed my WG n EG to my satisfaction..looking forward to my frist fitting..

Hi Gemi

How's American Wedding Treasures? Heard their design r very grand too..How's the promo price with Sheraton like?

Hi Cynthia,

Heard from mother-in-law that fruit tarts cannot last till end of the day. I also thought of getting them from Choz but seems to forgo. Any experience?

Anyone knows if the emicakes nice? Any web page? I think the ah yees blocking the doors are for Cantonese. My mum says cannot have that b'cos the "ji shi" is more important.

Hi trihok,
Are u a teochew? B'cos, my mum oso tell me actually must give sewing m/c and wardrobe last time. Now, simpler.

Hi JenJen,

Seems like you working too hard. take care and rest well..

Irene

Hi Angeline,

I'm so sad today.
Yesterday,I went to have a 2nd viewing of the flat and we confirm with owner we want to buy and the agent on the spot prepare the documents. However, due to the fact that the owner did not have their documents ready (the valuation report receipt etc), we say we go down and sign today and pay the deposit.
Who knows, last minute, they call the agent today and say her parents not selling to us, they want to sell to their relatives who just came back.
So angry about it. So unfair. somemore the son is in an army regular and the daughter is an interior designer. How can they just back out like this.

So angry and so sad. Now I've got to search again.

Irene

Hi Girls

i'm back from my photoshoot...
it was very fun! i enjoyed myself very much..
the photographer n his assistant r very 'gao3 xiao4'

i've made a long posting under JWN thread..
overall me very happy..
now just hope tat the photos will turn out nice..
shall update u girls again k..

Hi Herimone,

Choz will be making those fruit tarts on the morning itself. My FH can only collect them earliest at 9am. Yah... they cannot last very long, maybe put in fridge can last two to three days lah... Anyway, if we cannot distribute all on the day itself (which is a Sat), then will have to "work overtime" on Sunday loh

Choz also have marble cake, but only one type lah... I like Bengawan Solo's walnut cake, but cannot eat too much of it. Too oily, sick of it after more than 2 pcs.

What kind of cakes are you thinking of getting?

4521.gif
cynthia

Hi, Jolene

So it's really u!!
not too sure it's u lor 'cos u mention u are going down during the weekdays
yup, yup, we can meet when we go down to collect the cards
Shirley said that she will call me in 2-3 weeks time but i dun know the exact date for the collection of cards...will let u know when she calls...hehehe..thanks for your compliments...guess it's b'cos we both hv chubby cheeks..

Yvonne - Glad u had a fun time
I am sure ur photos will turn out well...i like tanjong beach
did u just take the photos at sentosa? did u go anywhere else?

I need to find a good moisturiser. I have dry skin but oily T zone and so far all the moisturisers that I have used just don't seem to do much for me. What brands will you recommend?

And my dark eye circles are darkening!!!!! So frustrating, none of the products I use seem to help.

Almost forgot. Julia, your link works and it's a great idea. Clever!!

Kat, I know what you mean by the design. I think that is the design that Alkaff provides too. Nice.

Thanks Chemson for sending the wedding checklist and the update. You are an angel. I can't wait to thank you in person.

Irene,

Sad to hear that, how come can like that one?
Got such people, promised to sell liao then back out! Looks like u have to start searching again

Btw, which area r u looking at?

chemson, thanks so much for the files. u hv been a great help to all of us in this thread.

cowie, thanx! i think i know where u had the photography liao.

yvonne, glad u had a gd time.
where did u go for the outdoor shots? how long did u take?

Hi Cleo,

I think generally guys won't appreciate mules. Recently I bought a pair from Pretty Fit and FH mentioned it looks funny. But I love it! As long as I think I look and feel good in it, it's ok.
But $123 is very steep, you may not wear it after your wedding. Unless the design allows you to. Anyways, look around, who knows you may be able to find something similar and yet cheaper?

eye cream, no idea. As for whitening of dark spots, I am using Biotherm's White Detox range. The spot corrector costs about $72 for 15ml, and the essence around $90.. it's pretty exp, and the spot is still there.. but I think it can be covered up by make-up. *cross fingers*

Hi, mush9

I am using Sothys' Oxyliance Fluid...a non greasy moisturiser that suppose to give you radiance...I have normal to combination skin...like u, i have oily T-zone...the product works for me..maybe you might like to try it

gd morning everyone!

hi cleo, u may like to check out the "Any recommendations for facial" for eye cream recommendation.. From wat i gather, All About Eyes from Clinque and another one from Prescriptives are good!

Hi Kat22

we just went Sentosa for the outdoor shots coz we wanted a 'green green blue blue' effect..
took shots at the big ficus tree (we climbed up the tree!)
then some surrounding greenery n have the glof course as the background.
then headed for Tanjong Beach..
hubby removed jacket n rolled up sleeves n pants to have a more casual n relaxed look..quite cute actually.

hi och
we went out at abt 4+..finished ard 7+
we spend a lot of 'gila' time there with the photographer n his assistant..heheheh
maybe we were at the beach so everyone v relaxed mood..it seems like a 'having fun' session than photography session!

Just dropped by Toa Payoh yesterday. Sad to say that i have not find any shoes from there.
I find it very difficult to find mules shoes in silver colour. If really no choice, think i have to buy open toed shoes!

Yvonne: Hi, you must have a great time! Remember to share your pictures with us once it's ready!

Hi mush9 and och,

U r most welcome... just doing my part to help everyone here..

mush9: Do confirm with us when you are coming back, okie?

Hi Flowy,

During the show at Sheraton, there was a 20% off purchase of gown, or $500 off rental of gown. I am taking the latter. The final price depends on which gown you choose. After the discount, prices can start from 1700+. I got a free MTM evening gown too as I booked during the show.

Silhoutte is good. They were very nice although I didn't make any prior appointment. The gowns are lovely.

Good morning!

Did you girls have to get new clothes (working clothes, casual clothes, pyjamas, lingerie) for the wedding? My mum and sis insists that I need to get at least 8 sets by guo da li day. Think it's supposed to be part of my dowry.

Anyway, Robinsons is having a sale now - I bought some clothes - every piece at only $29. Quite a good buy, you girls may want to check it out.

cynthia

Angeline,

Ya lor,
I'm thinking if i should write to streats...
Yap got to search again.
I'm looking at Serangoon Ave 2/3

Irene

HI gals

wah.......this thread really move so fast... couldn't really catch up.

Thanks. Glad that my webpage works!

Yvonne

Me also thinking of going Sentosa. Andrew Choi told me that it is a bit inconvenience as you are not allowed to stop & take pic whenever you want, just at designated carpark you can park your car. Any feedback on tis.

LMF

Saw some silver shoes (mule) at lucky plaza, not sure whether you will like it. May b u can take a look there. I think open toes are more sexy.

LMF

wats ur budget 4 the shoes?
if u r willing to spend $$, mayb u can try Leaping Lizards for custom made mules?
well, i dun have a scanner...when the photos r out, maybe try n get my colleague to scan for me then show u all..
btw, the photographer will take poloroids after each change of gown n make-over..
they let me bring home 3 poloroids..

me on leave 2day...c if i can use the scanner in the office tomorow n then scan n let u all c..

Julia
we didnt park at designated carparks..
we just parked somewhere nearby the place tat we wanna take..tats all.
hhmm..mayb not allowed but we din get caught.

then we drove to tanjong beach..same thing, just parked somewhere inner towards the beach (u noe the bare batches in between the 'road' n the turfed/sandy area)

i've tried out the link tat u sent us..it works..
actually its good to 'capture' the whole process of the prep. for the wedding..

hhmm..r u going to do a montage for tat?

Hi Mush9,
I also have combination skin. I'm currently using the Simple range Shine Control Moisturiser. It is non-greasy hence can use on oily part of face, and for dryer part of the face, I just slap in more
So far, quite cheap and effective

Hi Och,
No problem

Thanks Yvonne.........still thinking of the photography location....many nice place, I am quite fickle but Dang were saying my gown would be nice at background such as fullerton hotel & the high court something back to the colonial time. Still thiking.

Hi LMF

Understand that you videography is from Mirage, any website that I can see & how much does it cost? Thanks

Mush9,

I like product by Estee Lauder, the oil free moisterisor is great. Why not u ask for a sample from the counter.

Yvonne: Yah, yah, yah!! Please show me if there are some photos. Me also prefer to have open toes shoes and is easier to match. Might consider.

Julia: The contact number for Mirage (Eric Tan) is 97615104. At the time when I booked, they still got no website. But he did mentioned to me that they are planning to have one. So you can actually try to call him for their website. The package i have is $680, with some photos presentation at the beginning of the video plus some effects such as b&w, scrolling, wiping, etc. Hope it helps!

Hi pinkapple,
Venue is at RTC - might as well take advantage of the membership!! Anyway the place is rather grand so not bad choice lah. But if I have choice, I will hold my wedding dinner at 4 Seasons, the ballroom chandeliers so opulent - but must wait to strike TOTO 1st...haha

Wedding Present is definitely my choice for bridal boutique. I went to see them and even tho I am on the bigger frame type (fat lah :-P) - they were very nice to me. They were very careful with their words to describe which styles suit me and at the end of the day, I felt very comfortable with them. Definitely good service. And the shop is so nice and cozy.

I juz have to bring my MIL to approve - that's all. Cannot wait.

Cynthia,

Me too ....have to get new clothes for my wedding.
$$$ again!!!

Haizz...

I am also a Nov02 bride-to-be. Just wonder how are all your preparations coming along.

Unfortunately, I do not have the luxury to plan my wedding earlier. Now, it's a bit rush for me and not only we are holding our wedding in Spore...there's another one in my hubby's hometown, Penang.

Any suggestions, please?

My Wedding's in mid June but I've not yet printed my wedding cards and haven't gotten my church service in order yet. Am I very late ?

Btw, anyone here interested in wedding favours ? I got some for my wedding and have some extras left cos my table numbers have shrunk by quite a lot. Really hope to let anyone who's interested to have them at cost price.

Hi Inki,

Have u sourced for your printer??? If not, I can recommend mine to u... u might want to consider them. Sorry, not getting any wedding favour for the guest...me oredi exceed budget....but out of curiousity, what will u be giving to your guests?

Just to check... can we give out the wedding cards before "Gou Da Li" cos' I have not fixed a date for my Gou Da Li... Thought of giving out the cards as early as possible... btw, when is the best time to give the cards???? 1 month before the wedding????

Hi Passion,

We will be receiving the bridal cakes on the Guo Da Li day, and these will be distributed to relatives together with the invites. Ermm... I suppose you can give out the cards for friends first (since it doesn't come with bridal cakes) if you want to start as early as possible. The norm is 2 weeks. But it's not a hard and fast rule.

cynthia

Need you gals for help. I have a friend who needs to have a part time maid specialised in taking care of kids with sickness, especially FITS! Do you gals have anyone to recommend? He need it by this Thursday for 1 week, so it's kind of urgent things. ANYONE CAN HELP ME OR MY FRIEND???

Hi Passion,

Perhaps you can recommend me your printer ?
I tried to look around and there's so many out there it's getting confusing. And what's the lead time ? I've not settled my Church Order of Service either. Got to crack head to think what to sing, who to lead etc.. also haven't scout for dinner march in songs. Sigh ...

I'm giving my guests Soaps from Australia. Comes packaged in a nice box. Got them at a good price, but now my guest list has shrunk and left with extras.

I'm back, after missing for so long. Me hv been bery busy with my house........ washing, renovating, shopping, etc..... and it's still renovating!

Hi Julia

saw ur pics and your gowns are very nice, esp the blue one. me going for my 2nd fitting tonight, wonder how it will turn out to be??? getting abit excited. well, it's a good idea to take some pics during the fitting, but i didnt bring my camera out today.

Hi Yvonne

u went sentosa for your outdoor? i'm thinking of that too. which spots did u went to? i'm thinking of tanjong beach and those old buildings there. is there alot of pp staring at u guys?

hi chemson
thanks for the list. u r really great.

Had my photoshoot yesterday, it was really fun, my FH and myself enjoyed so much ....

Inki, dun worry, i haven't received my invites too, just finished my photoshoot only. Now going to plan my church service and print my program sheet liao ....