(2002) Brides of year 2002

btw, gals I have confirmed my actual day photographer and videographer... only a couple of weeks back... but no time to post and tell u gals...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">JenJen</FONT>
ya lor, gathering was last thurs. so pai-seh, i forgot, tot it's this wk. i organiser still remember wrongly, very jia-lat.

i oso planning photoshoot late jun or mid-july. so when we collect our photos, can meet up and share share, kekeke....

yup, heard of detachable train on wedding gowns. u thinking of MTM that? think it'll be good lor, at least go outdoor can take out, not so leh-cheh.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Irene</FONT>
o i c. me also leh. but wish to hv hse quickly. maybe see how in July lor....

sorry lollipop, din see ur msg until Crayon replied you..maybe too long no posting liao so my eyes skip! heehee

haha..u gals so fast having wedding jitters liao? very funny dreams leh
i can't recall i've any dreams abt my wedding leh...???

hey..i had my trial makeup too! Crayon, how's yours? like the trial? Lollipop, how come ur trial is after photoshoot? wat do u mean by can try 2 makeup artistes? u mean the makeup artiste for ur photoshoot n trial is diff person?

My WG design also settled liao...I'm gg for first fitting in June and my photoshoot is in August. My actual day photographer also settle liao! Everything starts to be moving really fast liao!! I'm also v busy searching for reno contractors for my new flat...jialat..everything come altogether..scared i cannot cope...

Hi Och,
No, not at the bus interchange. I think it is more to the Marina Bay side already. I can roughly remember seeing the edge of some water...... sorry, was quite blur that day when the photographer suddenly decided to stop there to take photo
I will try to ask my hubby to locate that place on the map and I let you know the name of the road where we stop okay? Do remind me if I forget to do so......

The entire process was tiring but really fun!
Have not selected photos yet. The good weather followed us! Cos according to what we know, it was raining cats and dogs in the east and west that day, but we didn't meet up with the rain at all!
Dun worry too much. You will have good weather also. Just relax and have fun during the shoot

Hi Jolene,
Oopsie......I think you are mistaken. It is Chemson the Great who did the compilation for us....not me
The credit is definitely Chemson's!!!

Hi Jolene

Can you send me the picture of your apple candle and contact of your supplier please? My email is [email protected]. Thanks in advance!

Hi Julia

You are amazingly fast!! Wow "pei fu"!!
Hey, can I see your gowns and shoes too? email me, okie? Thanks.

As for the hotels alternative, I have a few to suggest. Allson, City Bayview, RELC (next to Shangri-la), Fort Canning Lodge and Copthorne King. Fantastic prices and good locations. I have some friends coming from UK for the wedding too, we have not decided the hotel, but it's likely to be one of these. If you and I select same hotel, let me know and maybe we can all negotiate a good rate. Email me when you have decided and we can discuss this, or maybe when I return in May.

Hi LMF, if you intend to buy a diamond ring, I suggest you try on all the shapes and different cuts. Go to many shops and try all designs available. If it is going to be gift from your FH and can wait till you get to London (you are coming to London for honeymoon right?), then buy from Hatton Gardens in London. You get very nice designs for same price you pay in Singapore. Hope this helps.

On shoes, I think silver shoes are nicer than white with your blue EG. Have not seen your blue EG, but white will be too stark contrast with your blue EG. My opinion only, so you don't have to take into account if you have decided on white.

Chemson, are there any more updates on the list? I remember there are a few more brides joining this Sept_brides forum. Don't forget me to send to me, okie?

Oh 1 more thing. Girls, anyone interested in some kind of gathering for all Sept brides sometime in May or early June? Julia and I talked about this before over email. Thought would be nice for those interested to meet up, after these months of chatting/providing emotional support. What say you??!!

Hey Gals !

Jolene: It's me
and not Cowie who did the compilation. I can send you the compilation list all over again now that we have got the new additions..
Thanks Cowie for reminding Jolene..

Hey mush9: That's a good idea. Shall we all set a date to meet up ? I think it will be fun... May should be a better time cos everyone will be BZ with the preps in June...right??

Hi Jolene,

Now that you have mentioned... maybe we should do a checklist for us brides-to-be.. let me go and think abt it and see wat I can do...
Stay tuned.. :P

Irene, angelia &amp; all,

Wa, juzt one day &amp; i missed so many postings ah!
Aiya, yesterday im on MC, kena food poisioning!

Pai-sey,i oso forgotten abt the gathering.

Enough time for u gals to renovate your house before wedding meh??

Angeline,

my FH check and say that HDB only allows renovation to take 1 month (exclude apply permit).
So should be enough time lor, but maybe not so much of furniture yet lah.... (provided I got my house and buy the house i going to see this week).

Irene

Novbride,

I was told the trial make-up would be after the photoshoot. They will be using 2 different make-up artistes so I can choose which one I'd much prefer. I have seen their port-folio. The make-up used on brides and models are quite natural, none too heavy, which I like

You sign up with BV right? so, what design is it? Bustier? What about your EG?

My flat will only be ready next April, but they said most likely 6 mths before, they will be ready, so perhaps Nov or Dec... I dun even want to think about tt right now. Just concentrate on one thing at a time.. anyways, mine is a premium unit so not much renovation needed

Have you shortlisted some contractors yet? Perhaps you can ask around and get suggestions, that would make your shortlisting easier.

gd luck!

Hi Chemson,

Sorry, sorry, sorry.... got you and Cowie mixed up again!!!! Dun angry, ya?
But, really grateful for your effort in the new updated list!!!

I think mush9 has a great idea! Maybe we can meet for high-tea/lunch? Then we can put a face to all the nicks we use here.... afterall, now we pace each other for the wedding, the next time we may pace each other during the first baby????? hahahahaha

I'm going for my photoshoot next Monday (15 Apr), can I wash my hair in the morning and can I apply anything to the hair and face?

hey gals, i thought this thread is dead.

i'm due for the trial make up and fitting on 1st weekend of May. I'm very excited too.

Supposed to get 3 inch high heels but i have no idea where to get.... so far i didn't like what i have seen..... any ideas ?

i don't really like my tea dress. any suggestion where i can buy something nice ?

I am a Oct bride too and will be going for myu 1st fitting of MTM gowns 1/5 and photo taking on 26/5.

Wah....very fast leh....time really flies....we are all getting married in around 6 months time.....and seems like I din do much except to pay and pay...heeheehee....

I will also be confirming my actual day photographer by end of this month and to arrange for both set of parents to meet up in Jul/Aug to discuss abt the dowry and whatever things they want to discuss.

My food tasting will be arranged in the 1st week of Sept.

Now quite busy with getting the guest lists done up with all the address and contact no entered into my Excel worksheet.....me so kaisu....

So how all ur preparation?hectic....or me the most kaisu???

Hope to hear from u all soon

Jolene.. not at all angry..
I have also compiled a wedding day checklist for you guys.. just add the items which you deem appropriate for your wedding day. I just improvise and started a list from there. Hope the checklist will help you gals..

Hi fantasy, What were your make-up artist's advices?

I am told not to use conditioner on my hair, and not to apply moisturiser on my face.

Hi Mush9, Jolene

ya ya.......so when shall we meet? Mush9, when will u b back 2 Spore?

Hi fantasy,

I was advised to wash my hair. (i use conditioner too) &amp; I did put moisturiser on my face. When I ask my make up artist, she says it's even better. Maybe u would like to check with them. I was only told not to do rebonding coz the hair will be too straight to do any styling.

However u sure need loads of conditioner after the photoshoot coz ur hair will be so stiff. So do nourish them with loads of conditioner after that.

Thank for your advices ..... me haven't asked her yet .... i remember when she did the trial for me, she asked me to apply moisturiser and eye cream ...... blur liao, I think i better ask her first. Thanks!

Hullo AC!

So you have decided which make-up artiste to use already.. you are a Margaret bride right? My friend didn't sign up with Margaret, but Silhoutte.

What color is your EG? My designer told me to get shoes to match my EG rather than my WG because the WG is pretty long, and it covers up, so ppls won't get to see how your shoes is like. The EG, being shorter, exposes your feet, so in the end I bought myself a pair of champagne gold slip-ons from Taka which costs only $49.90, and I can wear it again.

If you are not looking for something fanciful, you can try Taka too. The brand which I bought is Lucieno. The others which I have seen are very nice, and so is their price.

How does your tea dress look like? Is it provided by Margaret? I am using GHA's but I have yet to see how it looks like. Perhaps you can loan a kua, or wear a simple gown with no train.. or a cheongsam.

There's a shop in Chijmes, which custom-made cheongsam and other dresses. The shop's name is Am Amor Meus. The clothes are beautiful, but the prices are quite steep too.

Hi Cleo,
Which bridal studio did you sign up with? You are getting married in Oct 4th right? Have you decided where to take your pictures?

I didn't go for food-tasting. Even though we can get a 40% discount (methinks), it is very cumbersome, because they cook for 10 ppl, and we have to provide feedback (write down on a pc of card) to every dish the chef has made...

For me, I have yet to settle our seating arrangements, printing of invites and wedding favours. Everything's been settled, more or less.

Let's try to keep this thread alive again, shall we?

hi lollipop,

yup! I'm wif BV. My WG will be a bustier in princess cut. Princess cut make me look slimmer compared to ballgown

EG design have to wait till June...so in the meantime, i'll look at magazines for nice designs first...

I'm still in the process of meeting up contractors and getting quotations, have not shortlisted any of them yet...but i dun have much time liao...have to settle this by this mth!

hello cleo,

care to share which bridal boutique u signup wif? where's ur wedding venue? wah..your preparation very fast leh...photoshoot in May??!! when's your actual day? who's your actual day photographer?

hello AC,

what's your WG design like?

Hi Novbride,

My photoshoot is in May as well. I guess, it's better to have it earlier, so that they will have ample time to develop the photos. Heard they need about two months.

Yes, cleo, tell us more about you!

Hi lollipop,
Rite, my big day is 4/10/02, u got good memory!Most likely, I will be taking my photo at the studio and my hotel. I hate outdoor as very hot and also quite pai seh also. I felt that I have to feel comfortable in order to be more natural and also no particular preference for photos.

Hi Novbride,
I signed up with Wedding News and big day on 4/10/02. My wedding dinner venue is at Conrad. WN told me they needs at least 3-4 months to process the photos so I take earlier juz in case anything goes wrong then I don't know show what photos during the dinner.

As for actual day photographer, I met up with Nick Goh and Monica Eng and they both have good quality works but more comfortable with Monica so will probably settle on her. She's not taken on my date so it is ok with her too.

I'm quite excited abt my WG and EG design and can't wait to try them on 1/5...but scared will look fat...now still trying to keep trim and tone my flabby arms, thighs and buttocks(ooHH!!!)and drinking at least 8-10 glasses of water every day, take fruits, vit c, do facial &amp; body massage regularly, keep out of the sun(my friend thought i become vampire, see sun only i hide..hahaha!!!)

Anyway, my WG is off-white with halter neck(A-line) and low back, EG is gold in colour (slight A-line) and bare back. Both got long train.

Now beside getting all the addresses for wedding list, also busy looking around for shoes. Can only get those 2 inches and below heels as me without wearing any shoes is same height as hubby.....sigh.....

So any good place (reasonable as well) to get such low heels shoes?

Whoa Cleo,
That was one long introduction!

I get what you mean when you said you feel embarrassed about having your pictures taken outside with lots of eyes looking. My photoshoot will be on a Friday morning, so I guess there won't be many ppl during tt time. I would like to have the sea as my background, and yes I do worry about my make-up being cakey and feeling sweaty and hot and sticky.. but we'd prefer having more outdoor shots than indoor's.

Monica Eng's works is quite good! I guess you just have to feel comfortable with your photog, that is the most impt thing.

Lucky you! Can get to wear 2 inch heels which I'd most definitely go for if only I was taller. I think lower heels are easier to shop for than 3 inched, 4 inched ones. What's your budget? I saw one pair of slip-ons from Nine West which costs about, erm, I forgot, perhaps 80+. Golden brown in colour with sequins, very simple design, looks quite pretty.

But if you get heels this low, you have to be prepared that your gown might "go into" your shoes... causing you difficulty in walking.

Hey gals

I am planning my trip at the moment. I will either be back on 18 May or 3 June for 2 weeks.
Sorry I can't be more confirmed yet, but maybe right now we can all brainstorm and agree on some places to meet first? Since I won't be working when I come back to S'pore, I don't mind meeting anyday. So you girls shall decide whether to meet on weekday or weedend.

Hi mush9,

I guess.. most of us will be bz on weekends.. I would personally prefer a weekday nite..
I guess after you have confirmed your date coming back.. we will co-ordinate from here and let the rest know..

Hi Cyn,

Ok i'll definitely rem this time cos me is 22 june u is 2 june, just - one 2 hee hee ... that's ez enough ...

Fantasy, going for photoshoot liow huh ... Enjoy ! That time I just washed my hair in the am tho my makeup artiste asked me to wash the nite before cos she afraid can't dry in time if i wash in am. but i just heck and wash in e am hee hee. as for my face, i just left it blank. Nothing on at all.

Hi Och,
Have asked my hubby to check the road name. It is somewhere around Republic Boulevard and Republic Avenue I think

Lollipop :

I am with MB. I didn't specify any make up artiste. I let MB decide. Told her my face condition is not so good, so she must assign a better artiste else i won't look presentable. Grin.

My EG is baby blue layered with darker shade of blue, with sparkles and embroidery. It's empire cut with frilly organza. Nice but i don't think it is spectacular.
I'm told to get silver heels.

My tea dress is MTM too. I gave MB a sample, but it didn't turn out like how i thought it would be. May be getting another dress.

I intend to loan a kwa and another simple gown from MB for phototaking.
--------

Novbride :

My WG is not easy to describe.
It has spaghetti straps with diamantees, soft and slightly frilly neckline, embroidery and some sparkles all over the gown. It has a low V back with little roses at the back of the V and a slight train. There's also organza layers streaming from the side of my waist. No mid cut at waist though.
-------

Anyone had trial makeup yet ? Must i go there with a freshly scrubbed face ? How detailed is the trial makeup ? Will it be the full makeup like actual wedding ?

Pretty excited on the May appointment.

Hi Mushroom,

Yah finally going for my photoshoot, so excited now. Just went for my 2nd fitting last nite .... interesting experience. Quite worried abt the photoshoot on Mon, i seldom take photos and of course do not know how to pose .... so stress up!

Hi AC,
I think it is better to go for the trial make-up w/o makeup. Saves the hassle to remove it and then to reapply again.. skin may not breathe well.
Think the trial make-up is just a prelude to the actual one, so you can get a rough idea how you look like on your wedding day. Got any doubts, clarify with MB.

I haven't selected my tea dress yet. Was thinking of a spaghetti-strapped gown... dun think I would look good in a cheong sam, I have tt "baby" face...

There are lotsa silver shoes around. what's your budget? how high will your heels be?

hi joie

my dinner is at rizt carlton. where are you having yours. Have you decided on your wedding gown yet?

hi gemi,

you sound really excited about your gown. what does it look like and where did you see it. i'm still deciding on which bridal shop to go with i know I'm really slow and i have to make up my mind soon but i'm very fickle minded. How about you?

Fantasy,

Don't stress, the photographer will tell you what to do. No worries
Just remember to enjoy and rem the experience. Once in a lifetime only ...

wah..i think i'm the slowest..till now, i only settle my WG design..photoshoot in August...

AC, from wat u desc, ur WG got alot details ya? sound soft and dreamy to me
I had my trial makeup in march, ie during my first appt where i got to try alot of gowns...some pple had their trial during their first fitting...i think it's more appropriate bcos you're wearing your WG, the makeup artiste can then work up sthg that go wif your WG style...it's really fun doing makeup, enjoy the process! if possible, bring along some pics of hairstyles or makeup that u like..makeup artiste can probably advise whether it's suitable for you...
of cse, go wif a clean face, that's wat my makeup artiste instruct me, dun put anything on your hair also...

cleo, thks for ur intro...wah..u're very fast leh...i also trying to slim down.haha..esp my waist...v hard to slim down on this area..sigh...hey my actual day photogrpaher is Choon Huat, have u seen his work? I think his work is comparable to Nick..wat u thk?

I'm having my dinner at Paramount Restaurant on 14th Dec. Haven't been able to decide on the bridal shop but considering Flamingo.....

Hi Snuggles,

Actually I found my gown in the 2nd boutique I chose - American Wedding Treasures. I actually signed up for 2 packages as I have separate banquets in Singapore and M'sia. The 1st boutique I signed up wif was a comprehensive package, which I haven't decided on the gowns (Allure Charix). The 2nd one was just for the gowns. It is a bustier, fully beaded. So it's quite a glittering gown.

Dun worry, I suppose you still have some time to decide. Anyway there are so many bridal shows now, why not join some and take a look at the gowns b4 you decide. I signed mine with AWT during the Sheraton Bridal Fair, so they had a promotion.

Me new here :-) and actually posted in The Wedding Present thread before realising so many comments about them here.

kerropi, is the designer easy to talk to? I do not know much about fashion and am afraid I cannot speak my ideas well. I saw their adverts in the bridal magazine and also one of their gowns at Takashimaya so considering them.

Another place I am considering is Ted Wu since past bride in my office is talking about him. Anyway 2 of my colleagues are with Wedding Present so they keep pestering me to go with them. I juz want to see a few more before deciding.

But so far, I like the gowns from Wedding Present featured in the bridal magazines which my colleagues lent me. So most likely lah...

Aiyo - I very lor soh :-P

hi lollipop,
I think I saw the gold slip on by Nine West and was actually aiming at that too...but holding back as quite exp...$89 or something like that....hoping to get something nice and cheaper...
As for my wedding shoes, well, i saw 1 pair at Mango which is almost flat but off-white and will go extremely well with my WG but it is those pointed shoes...so when I showed it to my hubby...he said not very nice...but I found it ok leh...and fits me ok too....but quite exp...around $123...still looking around...sigh

btw, u have any good eye treatment products for dark eye rings and fines to recommend?or any good products for lightening of dark spots ie left by acne?searching for these 2 items desperately...

Hi Novbride,
I think I super kiasu bride-2-be...but I just want all those things to get done and over with...try not to drag loh...

I contacted Choon Huat but he was taken so he recommended Harilon to me..but very exp...so I went on to meet Nick and Monica...both good but more comfortable with Monica....thinking of meeting up with a 2 more photographers....who can do a reasonably good combination of photojournalist and traditional style of photo...u got any good recommendation?My budget is about $700-$1000 for 8-10 rolls.