(2002) Brides of year 2002

hi LMF,
sorry, really dunno where the place is. why dun u call milan and ask? hmm.. maybe u can comment that their photos are very nice....
or anything that makes them happy...they may be willing to tell u.

hi chemson,

thanks a lot for your help.
there's no rush to it, so take ur time with it.

i went for my trial makeup today. i like the colours that sharon, the makeup artiste, picked.
she did a french twist for me too, which i thot went well with the wg. dun think i need sandy's number overall. thanks for offering though.

my gowns r completed!
the crystals hv been sewn on. i'm getting margaret to add more crystals. now i can go for my trip without worrying.

Och, wow! your gowns are ready? Will you be going for a last fitting closer before the wedding? Otherwise you have to work hard and make sure you maintain your figure (cannot add nor lose weight)

Who is this Sharon and how much does she charge?

Brides of 21 Sept, I just contacted Choon Huat and he said he will be engaged on 21 Sept. Has anyone signed him up recently?

Angeline, Irene

Hee.. me a bit kiasu, but I think the timing for 2nd appointment is okay as I need to have the MTM gowns design confirmed by end'March so that it will be ready for the photoshoot in June. Will keep you update for any new discovery in my 2nd appointment.

Thanks for telling me that we can try the gowns for a few rounds. I will want to see others MTM gowns on my next appointment. Have not book a date for the photography. Since I will be selecting a weekday, then I will definately request for Delon then.

Angeline, you will only need to pay the 2nd deposit when you have confirm the design of the MTM gowns to start the making of gowns. For me, I will not pay the 2nd deposit till I am satisfied with the design.

Have not decided to take their actual photography. Intend to look for my friend's photographer, pretty good works. I have to check with her the charges. However, the bridal actual day photograph charges is cheaper as compared to those that I have asked outside (cost of per roll - 4R).

I am not sure who will be my make-up artist, but it seems to be Ann too. Have to confirm with Carmen.

Hi och & mush9,

Wow... you are the first in our list to complete you gowns ! So lucky !! When are you leaving for your trip ?

Hi Mush9: Have you engaged your actual day make-up artist yet ? Nope.... did not sign up with Choon Huat... I engaged Monica Eng.

hi Jastan,

okie, do update us on your 2nd appointment

u welcome

u sure we only pay 2nd deposit when we confirm our gowns design? Why May keeps telling us to pay another $800 when we come for our 2nd appointment? How should i tell her that we will only pay after we have confirm our design?

Can u tell me your friend's photographer price too? i have check with Choon Huat, Monica Eng & Hilarion Goh, cant decide yet

What abt make-up artist? Do u know that actual day make-up artist will be Ann or they will get some part-time one? im oso thinking of engaging others to be my actual day make-up artist. what so u gals think?

Hi happy98,
I agree with you. Don't keep thinking about it, if not, when the day really comes, it is not a surprise anymore. So I'll wait patiently for the day to come.

Blossom, thanks for your suggestion. Will do that later.

I'm very happy bcos I've chosen and confirmed the design for my WG, EG & ROM gown. Isn't that great? "One arrow shoot three"
The feeling is like a big stone jumping out of my heart. What a relieve!

Keep hving this feeling that I might missed something out during the planning. Anyone hv a brief list/ checklist that we need to do. Beginning to feel nervous already.

Och

wah...........U make very "kancong" and excited about my own gown as well. Really looking forward to the first trial.

Mush9

Thanks, received the file.

Chemson & Chin Leng

That is really really lots of work done after I've seen the file.....cheers

Pegsfur,
Actually I just feel that it doesn't sound right for your MIL to request for things. Then you all also req. back loh. Did she buy you si dian jin? abalone? liquor? Pin jin? Is she the one paying for it?

For my case, it's all paid by my ah lao & myself, tat's why we make it simple.

Actually I also don know eventually whether I will be staying with my MIL. you see, my ah lao is the only son wif a sister. At this moment his mom is staying wif his sis helping to look after her kids. Initially I have no objetion if his mom decides to stay wif us. But somehow a lot of things happened, and now the lst thing that I wan is to stay wif her. But you know lah, sometimes it's easier said to be done. Will see how.

Ya lor, we got so many helpers and right now my budget already reach $800 liao, excluding addons. See how lor

Joker

Hi, gals!

LMF - sorry ..me oso dunno where that place is...maybe ur photographer can tell u since he had prob been to all corners of Singapore
Great! Glad u managed to settle all ur gowns oredi
U fast leh
Tell us how ur gowns look like can...me very the kaypoh :P

Julia - i did sent the gals a wedding planner from my fren previously. I can send to u if u are interested...it is more applicable for actual day rather than the the whole wedding preparation process...if u want the planner for the whole wedding preparation..i know the current HW Brides comes with a free CD-ROM that includes such planner...maybe u can get a copy??

ok gals, i will oso be away on business to HKG for the next few days. Will rejoin u gals as soon as i am back..it has become a habit to come in and chat

mush9, there's a 3rd fitting a wk b4 my photoshoot in may for last minute alterations.
sharon is a makeup artiste assigned to me by margaret. her services r included in the package. i dun know her rates now, but i can check if up for u.

chemson,
i'm v. happy n relieved now. all that's left b4 photoshoot is the tailoring of men's suit. i'm leaving tomorrow. now i'm rushing like mad to clear all tasks b4 departure.

lmf, congrats on getting ur gown designs settled! share with us leh.

julia, cl posted a link for a wedding planner b4. it's here. i used it to come up with a schedule for myself. http://www.singaporebrides.com/tools/wedding_planner.htm

Hi! Mush9,

I m looking frwd to c your gown leh...
Have u send the email to me?? i login my hotmail so many times,....but so disappointed didn't c your email.
Can send the link to me? My email is beautiful_bride@ hotmail.com

Thk U! ! !

Hi OCH

Thanks. Went to c. I think I've covered most of it. Just call Hyatt, they encourage us to choose our own song even for the first dish presentation.

Hi LMF

Hmmm.....u hv decided.......must be a good one. Must share ok.

Hi Kat22

Yes, I would like to hv a copy. Thank you.

Everyone's getting nervous this month ya....me too!! My wedding's in 2 weeks time & I'm feeling very stressful with the guest-list....some people are taking their own sweet time to RSVP me...*sign*...anyway, I'm still looking forward to my wedding day...

Juz like to say "Gong Xi Gong Xi" to all March 02 bride-to-be. Stay Cool & Pretty!

Kat22 & och,
Glad to share with you gals about my gown design.

My WG is a bustier, white in colour. Satin top with 4 "fish bone" in front and 2 "fish bone" behind. Surrounding the bust area are some baby blue beads and crystals. My skirt is also satin with pleats and train. At the end of the train, there are some baby blue beads and crystals flower prints sewn onto it.

My EG is a spaghetti strap satin gown in dark blue colour with 2 layers of matching blue organza for the skirt. The left side of the skirt (organza)is in waves or so called "ruffle", there are some embroidery and crystal sewn onto the ruffle from the waist to the end of the train. Front view: The semi-round neckline is sightly low cut so that it will have the push up effect. Back view: It's a bare back but not totally as there is organza forming a V-shaped to "show off" my back. I love it so much! Feels a bit mystery, abit can see, abit cannot see.

Last but not least, my ROM gown is the simplest of all. It's sleeveless with a thick strap and have crystals on the neckline and strap. It's in cream colour. I think it's elegant for ROM gown.

Hope i have describe my gowns well and hope that you gals understand what I'm writing.
Btw, does your gowns have bra padding? Not too sure whether to have it with the gown or wear my own bra? Please advise.

Hi Chin Leng,
Is there anyway you can help me to find out the location which I've posted earlier? Please......!!!

LMF: a gf told me, go bra-less in your WG is the best. its more natural...unless u r not used to it.

Hi LMF,
Hehehe... you gave a fantastic description of your gowns. All 3 gowns seemed lovely, I like your EG most. I like the ruffles at the side, must be really sweet! I personally prefer bra padding on the gown itself. Firstly, you can be sure there won't be any bra-straps showing. Secondly, more comfortable.

Hi el & sheep,
Me too! think that bra padding on the gown will be better. Just a little bit indecisive. Now with you gals' support, i'll go for this decision.

el, i know how you feel bcos i also have a hard time for gown selection. May be you try my method. Confirm the type for your WG & EG first. Type means bustier, strap, halter neck, off shoulder, bare back, etc. After choosing the type, then choose the outlook of the gown, eg. heart-shaped neckline, fish bone, plain, pleats, etc. Then colour followed by the details like embroidery and beads pattern. Don't know whether it helps but just to contribute a bit of my experience.

hi julia, thanks for the info. so far as i know, all hotels/restaurants will ask u to provide them with a cd of songs to play during the dinner. r u hving the 1st dish presentation? i'm only hving a simple one, no lights dimming, just some cheerful music and the waiters coming in with 1st dish.

hi lmf, u gowns sound v. sweet.
i think bra pads give brides more shape, especially since asian brides tend to be ... um... less well endowed. if u hv bra pads, ask ur bridal shop to sew the bra pads on the inside of the gown, onto the lining. otherwise, the bra pads can be seen, even in photos.

Jastan and Angeline,

I've book my actual day photograph.
It is one my friend (a photographer) friend (a senior photographer)
I saw the portfolio (client). It looks very good.
I like it. It's for my taste.
The cost is quite reasonable.

I could ask him if I can give his mobile number to you if you want. But must be quick to book.
He seem to be fully book till september already and i've book him for my 10th Nov.

And also, so far May has not chase me for the 2nd Deposit. She ever told me that I will have to pay another 20% when I choose my Studio gown.

And also, I having photoshoot in June too. Hope my gown could be ready by then.

I got Delon and if you want him, better be quick. I saw his schedule, those date i want he not free.
So act fast.

Irene

Hi gals, thanks for the compliments on my gown.

och, i will highlight to my bridal shop. Thanks for highlighting to me.

hi Irene,

How? should i pay them or not??

Both u & Jastan will be taking your foto in June, mine likely to be in July.
Hv u decide your design for your gowns? can share with us?

Thanks for telling us ,will book appointment with Delon during my 2nd appointment

Hi LMF,
Wow, love your gown designs
I have only confirmed my WG so far...... think my EG may be quite simple compared to yours

I asked for paddings to be sawn onto my ROM gown the other time and I did not regret it
In fact, if you feel awkard being bra-less, you can always get those stick on support bras that they sell at lingerie counters at departmental stores like Metro or Robinsons. Maybe you will feel more "secure" that way

Hi LMF,

Thanks for sharing your gown designs with us..
I love the idea of blue beads and crystals.. you must so excited now....
I am not getting paddins sewn to my gowns... find it weird. Reminds me of a swim suit with the paddings sewn in... :P I had instead got paddings sewn onto my corset.

Hi Angeline,

yet to decide my gown.
Probably have a spagetti strap and a bustier.
Still waiting for Female bride to be out to get some new ideas.

However, I've book one of the photoshoot gown already.
You can mention my name to May and she can show you the one I chosen. I really like that peice.

As for the Money, you could check with May again and ask her if you could pay when you chose the studio gown.
I will probably be chosing mine on the 24 Mar when I go down to talk to the designer or in Apr/May.

Irene

Hi, ladies

LMF - Thanks for sharing your gown designs with us..wow...they sound so lovely! I like ur EG best too
I am really into organza..hehehe
..Yup, personally i would go for the padding on the gown too

El - dun worry..just try as many different gowns as possible...u will be able to tell what neckline, cut, colour, etc suits u
maybe bring along a close friend as well for comments

Julia - will send u the planner when i reached home tonite

och - hv a gd trip to US!

Gals - hv a gd weekend!!!

Hi Kat22,

Have a good trip to HK.... will miss having your around.... hope you can do lots of shopping while over there.. dun forget to visit the ladies St market...

hallo gals,
long time no see!! very sorry that i didnt write earlier cuz i have been juz busy with my job. it's juz so xiong. there's a lot of training sessions and too many tea breaks with junk food - i hv been busy putting on weight!

can't write much cuz i am running around all the time...so can only visit the thread as often as i can...

no progress on anything yet...chemson, i am still here...mush9, can send me the link to ur gown? it sounds so fabulous...i really v. interested!

chemson, can send me the compiled file too?

my detials are:
date: sep 21 and sep 24
hotel:merchant court
boutique - feline bridal
others - can't remmber...

lmf - think ur gowns sound so romantic...
och - ready to pass u ur martha stewart mags already...i think i'll focus on the local mags afterall...

take care gals!

hi kat,

hv a gd trip urself.
do lots of shopping.

hi septembergal,

gd to see u here again. i wun be around for the next 3 wks, so i cannot collect the magazines fr u. but i will like the martha stewart magazines when i return. need to sought ideas for the banquet.

Angeline,
Carmen told me that I will have to pay for the 2nd deposit when the gowns design are confirm which for my case will be earlier than choosing the gown for photoshooting. I think you should only pay when the gown design is more or less confirm.

I will update you when I receive the reply from my friend.

What I understand from Carmen and Andrew that the make-up artist will be the same throughout starting from the trial, photoshooting and actual day.

Irene, would appreciate to have your friend's friend contact for the photoshooting if he don't mind to give us the contact. Thanks.

I will request for Delon and book a date on my 2nd appointment.

I have not confirm my design yet but more or less have something in mind. I cannot have a bustier as my arms are pretty big and looks ugly unless I have a shawl to cover them. For my WG, I intend to have a heart-shape neckline with a v-shape bareback (maybe with few straps across), with some form of sleeve to cover a portion of the arms. For EG, intend to have a half bareback with hook on the neck.

The latest HER WORLD BRIDE is out now. Is FEMALE BRIDE a better magazine than HER WORLD? I intend to go to BORDERS to check out if they have any magazine on BRIDAL GOWNS FASHION.

Hi septembergal,

Long time no see... will be sending the file to you.... do visit us often, ok ? Miss having you around...
How's your prep coming along? Your first fitting should be coming up soon, right? Come and chat with us whenever you can, ok ? Cheers !

Kat22 & och, hope the both of you enjoy your business trip. Not forgetting to do some personal shopping at the same time. Don't waste the trip mah!

Hi gals, actually after that night, i wonder if my design is ok. Keep worrying about that. Now, with all your comments and support, i think it's foolish for me to worry about. Once again, thank you for your compliments.

Septembergal, welcome back! Be careful on your weight. I bet you don't want to change the size of your gowns.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">wow</FONT>, the paris brides are very active, that's good.
keep the thread going. hopefully the rest of us can join in soon...

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">2nd Gathering!!</FONT>
so how abt a 2nd meet up in April?
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">
Date : 4 April 2002, Thursday
Time : 6:45pm
Venue : <UL><LI>- Teahouse at China Square #03-02; Tel: 5330660 <LI>- Xuan Noodle &amp; Bar @ Far East Sq #01-01; Tel: 538 8815 <LI>- Nook Int'l Noodle Bar @ Suntec City #01-187; Tel: 333 5550</LI>[/list]</FONT> pls state ur preference &amp; indicate if u'r not free on certain days (e.g every tue, fri, etc)

3909.gif

wah... irene... u booked photographer oredi ah?? so early... too bad I cannot use ur contact coz we are on the same date...

angelia... so good of u to organise again... but I dunno if I can make it this time coz I'm very busy now and everyday do OT...

btw, I went for facial this morning, cynthia recommended one... but must say that it was quite shiok... I never experience so good one...
signed up package leh... dunno whether will regret or not??

my house renovating now...

Hellooooo... Me selected my photos today liao! Got another 14 pcs more... total 36 pcs.. Pretty pleased with the turnout of the photos... One thing settled... Next is the dinner details and the guo li things liao...

How's everyone's preparation coming along???

Will be collecting my invitation cards from the printer tomorrow
Very kiasu hoh :P But its better to get the cards sooner and take our own sweet time to write the guest's name than last min write fast fast mah(my opinion lah :P) just bought my wedding favours for my ah yees and bridesmaid yesterday cos pelinis having sale at the moment so might as well buy now

How's everyone's preparation???

Chemson - thanks for ur list...gosh..make me so paiseh..me MIA from this thread for soooo long!
this thread is very active n difficult for me to catch up...actually i did some posting under my bridal JWN thread but not here..sorry hor..

well, glad that this thread is growing n very active..the list is very good..at least i can 'keep track' of Sep brides.
i dunno if i have forgotten or din noe at all..tat SSL n me share the same date!

oh btw, me going for my gown selection tomorrow..hope tat i can find something suitable for me..wish me luck...
oh..happy to hear tat i have 2 other brides here tat r with JWN>> My_Melody &amp; jk! think i saw My_Melody's posting under the JWN thread b4..but jk...hmmmm....shall take a look later.

the rest of Sep brides here tat i've not spoken to b4...a great hello to all of u!

ok..shall post again after my gown selection.

U want to know y i m not so active in this thread? Is because as what u say, this thread is so active till i also cannot catch up. So I just enjoy reading.

Hope you all don't mind!

Hi LMF,

I think the location is at a kelong in Singapore. I'll try to locate the exact location. Give me a few days. If I didn't get back to you. Please send me an e-mail.

Hi Yvonne and My Melodys...

Welcome back.. nope I did not forget both of you... cos you gals are one of the pioneers to this thread and so.. I searched all the way to the beginning for your profiles.. hope that I have not gotten the facts incorrect..
In fact SSL had been active in other threads but not this one though... guess she could not catch up as well..
Do join in the chat whenever you can... and Yvonne.. enjoy your gown selection, ok ?

heheee..me jus sent my wedd card for printing. foto?? selected liow..have to wait Apr than can c the whole album. now busy with the guest list...by the way, how many ah yee ur have?? and how many ppl u standby at the reception area??

Need some advice from you ladies again... The Executives' Club gave me an option for the complimentary hotel stay.

1) any recommendations for a 5-star hotel? though i've requested a list of the hotel choice, but would like to get some recommendation on this.

2) i can have the choice to keep the hotel voucher to be use for later dates. i tot of using it on my wedding day... at least if i'm free during the afternoon, can juz check-in &amp; take a nap
BUT my future MIL said that if we use the voucher on the very days seems abit 'lugi' cos we will return to the hotel very late tat nite... so hardly can enjoy ourselves...

Feel free to give your comments.

Hi Yvonne, i believe i've never spoken to you b4. As what Chemson said, you're one of the pioneers here. Anyway, glad that you're back with us. Do join us more if time allows. Wish you have a pleasant day for your gown selection.

Chin Leng, my email address is [email protected]. Do email me if you have any news. Thanks!

Van, Great! Complimentary hotel stay, somemore it's 5 star hotel. I've not been to much hotels stay but i do like Pan Pacific Hotel. It's spacious especially the toilet and the bed. Do request for the balcony room whereby you can enjoy the night scene, dance at the balcony with the music on, so romantic!

I do agree with your MIL. It seems very "lugi" if you booked on your wedding day. Do consider having some other day so that both of you really can enjoy the facilities and stay relaxed. Since it's free, so make full use of it!

ops! 4got to add on...

- any idea / recommendation for printing of invitation cards? i remembered i came across this topic b4 but cant remember exactly where &amp; from whom...

- any 1 having the problem of getting the speaker (MC)? at 1st tot of asking my frds, but i hope that they can relax &amp; enjoy instead of being the entertainers...

sorry for being so "mah fan"

Hi Van,
I agree with your MIL and LMF, making use of the voucher for the actual day will be wasting it. My suggestion is to check in the day after your wedding. Both of you can relax in there for the whole day and just order room service.

My hubby will be getting one of his friends to be the emcee. We don't want to spend money getting a professional. Get someone who doesn't suffer from stage-frights. He'll enjoy it as much as the rest!

Van, Me too! Getting my friends to be emcee. One problem is the script of the emcee. Any suggestions?

hallo gals, chemson, och, LMF,
hallo hallo!!! thanks for sending me the stuff,
and och, call me when u come back. i'll get them all ready for u...

and btw gals, i hv not selected any gown design yet!! so, no first fitting yet..!! altho i hv come up with a design for my two gowns, think will only see feline this week..... :-P

yvonne, i think there are many who are getting married on same day as u!

van, i think it's a bit lugi too...is oriental a 5-star? me had a very good expreience with oriental last christmas eve and i had a romantic room service dinner and FH proposed with the ring!
their rm svc is fantastic!! even taught me how to cook the mushrms.!

kat, och, hv a good trip!
lmf, thanks for advice on weight!! frens and FH say i actaully look better with more 'meat' and not so skinny....so, see how it goes lor...

my melodys i agree with u!! gals, this thread is so active that i cannot keep up!! it's become worse since i am alwys running ard and not in the office!