(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi septembergal,
Thought that you MIA again!
(kidding) You have your first trial this week? Remember to tell us more once you confirm your gown design. And if putting on weight makes you look prettier, why not? In fact, it's a good thing when you're too skinny.

Hi Van,

To respond to your questions: I think your MIL is right... it would be a lugi if you take the stay on your actual day itself... fortunately, our hotel gave us 2 nites.. in any case.... what are the 5 star hotel recommended by them ?? Care to share? 5 Star is probably like Fullerton, Ritz Carlton, Conrad, etc. I am probably getting one of my friends to be my MC.... it would be too costly to engage one..and as for the printing of wedding cards... it is under the wedding cards forum thread... go through that and some of the gals did recommend a few good vendors around.

Hi Jastan,

I'll call him and check if he mind me giving his number away. If it's Ok. Maybe I can email you the contact. By the way, i might need your email address.

Hi Angelia,

I think I could make it this time. Coz I'm always not free on Friday Evening.
Also, either place is good. Just wanted to meet you all.

I still looking for house. Change of Location. I decided to give up Toa Payoh and Queenstown. Too expensive. Now looking at Serangoon

Hi Jen Jen,

No choice. My friend say he is very fully book one.

Maybe he could introduce some good photographer to you if you want. You could just look at their portfolio first before deciding.
According to my friend (a photographer), they have quite a few who graduate from the studio photography together and their groups are quite good.

Maybe I ask him also.You want? If yes, then I ask.

Which facial did you go?
I might need to go for one soon, at least a few times before photoshoot.
How much is it?

Irene

I'm now head over heel on the wedding preps! To manage 2 wedding is no joke. Lucky my parents are managing most of the things back in Malaysia but I still have to keep track of the progress. Hv not found my make up artist etc etc in Malaysia .... getting panicky. Things in Singapore are still looking good, at least one side is in order....some consolation.

Really looking forward 2 my first fitting in 2 weeks time.

Hi Van

I agreed with all other gals, a bit lugi to stay on yr wedding day. Tot Fullerton & Ritz is nice. Will be getting friend for MC as well,agreed, quite costly to engage one.

u know, all of you seem so efficient ! my hotel has called me twice to collect my cards and for food tasting. But i still very cho bo :p like so lazy like that. Have not selected photos also. sigh ... wonder how my wedding will turn our in the end ... hee hee ...

Btw Choco, can I have the contact for Hi-tech ? I would like to check with them prices. I also think hot-stamping is nicer, but it's more costly. sigh ... will have to check budget and see how.

Btw does anyone know, if it's ok to go to other printers for printing besides the ones that the hotel recommend ?

hi Jastan & Irene,

thanks for telling me, will check with them again

Irene, will request May to let me take a peek at your selected gown for foto-shooting

Appreciate to have your friend's photographer contact too.

Jastan, no problem, thanks

i find this latest issue HER WORLD BRIDES nothing much to see leh, regret buying
i even bought NU YOU, nothing to see too! ;(

hi angelia,

sure, no problem, others are welcome to join in our Paris discussion too

As for the gathering, do u think can arrange it on saturday afternoon? weekday dun tink i can make it

JenJen,

congrats, start renovating your flat liao!
how i wish i can start renovating mine too.

Hi Angeline,

I think maybe she will. She is quite good.
Sure. I try to contact him 1st.

Then I get all your address and email to you all.

Irene

julia andrew: dun worry...u r definitely not alone. to think i've to go through the same stress...

Hi gals:
u know rite..during banquet, we'd always prepare guest book for the guests to sign...bla bla... have ur have any other more interesting ideas instead of that conventional guest book?? I see no point in keeping that book of signatures...and i dun even recognise their signatures...

LMF: thanks for the tips...it definitely make me feel more at ease..

Kat22: u r rite...i'd definitely try as many WG as i can...but i'm kinda lazy....

Hi el,
Maybe you can try pasting their faces and make them sign beside their pictures. It will be easier for friends but not relatives. Oh... i have another idea. Get a polaroid camera and take the faces on the spot. Paste on the spot & sign beside on the spot. He He...

LMF & Chemson: ah ha...u triggered some idea in my mind.. I was initially thinking of doing a collage of photos, and blow it up to a poster size...frame it with a glass..and provide guests with oil-based marker to sign on...

u gals reminded me of Polaroid..which reminds me of the sticker kind..hmmm...maybe i'd do a collage still...but i shall have a blank spce whereby stickers of guest's faces are stick onto it...and they sign against the sticker... what do u think??

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">JenJen</FONT>
the date i set is in April leh (2 - 3 wks away), by then shld be not so busy oready rite?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angeline</FONT>
not sure if many will come out on wkend cos it's usu. "dating" day!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">hi all</FONT>
pls post ur preference leh... wkday or wkend?!?!?!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">B&amp;W ROM photos by Leslie</FONT>
for those interested, pls go to Angelia's ROM to view the B&amp;W photos by Leslie.

still hv another set of color photos waiting to be uploaded. will let u know when it's up.

Sticker is a very good idea, never give any tot to guest book. I guess I will just stick to the guest book since I have bought it.

Hi el

need to check on the package offered by Divine...If I only take their photography, how much do they charge.

Any idea what is the website to view their portfolio?

Do you have the direction for all other bridal places at JB?

Hi Van,
Like the rest, I think you should not use the voucher on your wedding day.....but just a suggestion: what about booking one nite on your own with them? That is your own wedding nite. Even though it means you still have to pay, but hey, it is only half price for two nites! Moreoever, it is not everyday that we give ourselves a treat to stay at a 5 star hotel rite?......... So do you think it is worth it?...

As for MCs, I think it will be more personal to get friends to do it rather than get a stranger....

Hi Jastan &amp; Angeline,

Can i have your email number so as to email you my actual day photographer telephone number.

Irene

Thanks for all of your suggestions! will check with my FH how he wants it to be... since he will be the 1 paying

Care to share if you gals did invite your friends to your ROM ceremony. Is it necessary? My family alone is already about 20 pax, so if include my FH's and my friends, it will be very squeezy in the ROM room. Please advise.

hi LMF,

for my case ROM &amp; wedding day will be the same... but juz to check with u if u will b organising any high-tea / reception / buffet for your ROM? if yes maybe y dun u arrange for the JOP to solemnise @ the place of your choice (the reception area), so the room will be sufficient for your frds &amp; relatives.
if not, i think maybe juz ask your closest frds, maybe jus 2 or 3 to attend the ceremony.

this is just my suggestion, cos i've frds having the same problem like yours.

Hi LMF

I've invited only my good friends for ROM. However, they didn't turn up as it was a Monday. Just a note, when u invite your family, must be fair. My MIL invited her sisters &amp; brother but did not include my FIL's side so he got angry and we gotta invite my FIL sibling. We feel very paiseh as it is quite root to invite ppl last minute. I hv about 60 guest for my ROM but it was not at ROM, I did it at the function room of my apartment.

Hi LMF,
I didn't invite any friends to my ROM, we restricted it to just our families. One of his buddy joined us though. 11 people in total. We booked a table at a restaurant in the Fort Canning Country Club. I think it's not necessary to invite friends since you'll be holding the wedding dinner soon. Besides being squeezy in the ROM room, you'll end up spending a lot having to take them out for a celebration. Why not save these money so that you can give your friends a BIG angbao on your actual day.

Hi LMF,

Only 3 of my gal frens turned up.. the rest were family and relatives.... for me.. would have preferred my frens to be around.. but having so many relatives around.. it was indeed a happy occasion.. we had 2 tables in total when we had our ROM lunch...

Hi Julia &amp; Van,
I will be solemnising at ROM itself. After that will have lunch. Still searching for good and cheap places near ROM. As for which relatives to invite, I'll leave it to my parents and my FH's parents. Therefore, there will not be any arguments on who i did not invite.

As what you gals advised, probably get a few close friends to attend will do. How do you put up an invitation? Verbal or send them an invitation card?

Hi LMF,

Mine was verbal and as for the relatives and family members... my parents did the invites... for venues close to ROM.. can try Fort Canning Club as well as Liang Court.

hi LMF,
i think for the invitation, i guess depends on how close u r to your frds, cos some frds would normally attend without even invitations... if i'm u, most likely i will send them an e-invitation card

my frds did send me their ROM invitation cards cos they have actually arranged the JOP to go one of the hotel's cafe for the ceremony &amp; buffet, so the hotel provides the invitation cards...

Hi LMF

My MIL &amp; FIL invite the relative verbally. As for friends and those that we think is necessary, we sent invitation card. If it is not many, you could just buy it off the rack. Those from precious moments are very nice. I guess you would need to judge for that.

For lunch reception, somewhere nearby would be parkmall, Raffles City or Plaza Singapura, If it is a weekend you could try noble house- they have quite nice spread of a lar carte Chinese buffet @ about $23+++ gotta confirm the price again.

It's a good idea to send e-invitation card. But most of the method is to ask verbally. So maybe can send an e-invitation as well as verbal invitation. How about that?

Hi LMF,
I had both relatives and friends at my ROM. All in all 26 of us. Since the friends we invited were close ones, we invited via phone or e-mail. They did not mind at all since they know this is ROM and they will get a formal invitation later on for the wedding dinner.

wah wah... so efficient har angelia...
anyway, I will try to make it... but it's hard... I will be busy till July period...

irene, I think it's ok lah... at the moment I dun have the time to go and look around yet... thanx anyway... will email u if I need...
I went to Amore to do the facial... kanna talked into signing the package... hopefully will not regret lor...

hi LMF,
i also sent verbal invitations only. we wanted to keep the function simple so only family members and close friends were invited. they dun mind verbal invitations at all.

Hi trihok,
I selected my photos in mid feb cos my photo taking session was in late jan this year
Already prepare the guest list but still need to finalise the details. I have 2 bridesmaid and 4 ah yees while my husband has 4 ah gus
Already prepare the task list for them to do but still need to add in some unexpected stuff later on b4 photocopying for each of them and arrange for rehearsal at the hotel. I will be having 4 ah yees and 1 bridesmaid at the reception area

Hi mushroom,
The contact number is 4589455. You can look for mei yen,she was the one who took my order. I find her very patient and nice though i ask her million of questions :P Dun worry abt the cost of hot-stamping cos they are charging at a very very reasonable price. In fact, the cost for hot-stamping over there is juz slightly more ex than printing on inserts and u dun have to tie the strings after that

i think i know what i shall do now. Thanks for your advice. Any places to recommend cheap and good food after ROM? Budget is about $20 per pax. "Pai Seh" Trying to save money.

Hi LMF

I think Allson Hotel have quite a good spread of local food buffet but I am not sure whether they served on weekdays. The price should be about 16.80+++ Why not you check it out. If you have about more than 20+ guest your could also reserve the whole fouteine bleu cafe (spelling??) It is a small cafe. Went there last Sat for Tunch.

Hi Julia,
Btw, my ROM date will be on a Saturday. What kind of food are they serving for buffet? Do you have their contacts?

Hi LMF,

How abt Grand Plaza Hotel ? I heard that the buffet is quite nice.. but it may be over your $20 per pax budget. And there is the dim sum buffet at River City Restaurant over at Excelsior Hotel.

Dim Sum Buffet (20 Items)
at only S$9.80+++ (Mon - Fri)
S$12.80+++ (Sat, Sun, Eve of PHs &amp; PHs)
(Minimum 2 pax)

Then there is the ala carte buffet lunch over at Spice Gardens (Fort Canning Club)

wow Choco, u have done almost everything ! how nice. when's ur wedding date and which hotel will ur dinner be at ?
most likely i will be having 4 ah yees and 1 bridesmaid, like you. but 'bros' still don't know. actually got alot of things undone ! my wedding date is 22 june and going to be a full day affair with church ceremony and dinner on e same day :P

Thks for the contact ! I'll give them a call.
so nice to have this forum, at least got loads of lobang for everyone ! hee hee

Chemson, Spice Garden at Fort Canning Club??? Sounds good. Near and convenient. Do you know what's the price range?

Hi LMF

Allson Hotel are serving local food from laksa to roti prata. They also serve dim sum, carrot cake, bee hoon, otah, fried chicken etc etc. Why not u head down there for tunch tis coming sat? try out first.

Morning Pegsfur,
How ah? Any other things that we need to do last minute huh? me getting very nervous liao leh. Worse thing is that both me &amp; my hubby fall sick at this kind of crucial timing.

Hi Cindy,
So how's yr preparation laio? Can you believe that my guest list is not up yet? Still trying arrange the sitting in a way that everyone will be happy. Some more got to be prepared for last minute shifting if some last minute cannot turn up. Real headache.

So you are one week after me &amp; Pegsfur. Equally nervous liao, right?

Joker

Hi LMF,

I am not too sure how much is it... is the ala carte buffet but you may want to call them to enquire? Think this location is convenient for all to adjourn to after the ceremony... esp the relatives.. while you are taking photos..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">JenJen</FONT>
i efficient no use lah, if response is no good!! some say busy with reno, some prefer to "talk" here, some says haven't really start preparation so nothing to say n dun wanna join, etc....

maybe shld set the meeting sometime <FONT COLOR="ff6000">end April</FONT> or <FONT COLOR="ff6000">mid-May</FONT>. maybe at that time, everyone will say <FONT COLOR="0000ff">"busy with wedding prep so no time to join</FONT>

anyway, hope everyone is having a good time here.
3944.gif

Chemson, I agree with you. I can take some photos while my friends and relative can proceed to the air-con room and have some tea. Rather than wait for us to complete the photo shooting.