(2002) Brides of year 2002

hi gals!
bleuz, u having it at rasa huh? i think it's a relly romantic place...one point to take note tho.
if it rains it's really very chia lat.
but otherwise, very very romantic.

kat, sheraton sounds like a really cool place ! i think even tho their package sounds more expensive, it's actually cheaper than those others cuz theirs is table of 12 leh.

cowie, will write to u, thanks!

about caterers, i recently attended a church wedding where the caterer really sucked. have yet to find out which one it is. they were so late that by the time the service ended, they were still setting up the table! grooms party had to help em set up. and teh food was misarranged as a result, so food was not evenly spaced out along 2 rows. seems that cake didnt arrive, and dessert disappered. in the end, noticed that the poor bride didnt seem to have time to chg into her reception gown!

LMF, got it already thanks so much!!! i'm staying in bt batok, new place also in bt batok...how abt u? my big day's 21, but dinner shld be on 24.

venue not confirmed yet. choosing btwn Merchant Court, Oriental, Pan Pac and M Hotel. how abt u? sorry if u've already mentioned earlier in the thread cuz i cldnt find it.. :-P

Hi Septembergal,
I'm staying near Tiong Bahru but will moved to bukit batok after marriage. Who knows we might be neighbours! My big day is on 22 sept 02. All in one. It's ok to repeat as this tread is too big. Sometimes very difficult to find. I cannot afford to book for hotels so I go for restaurants, Yunnan Garden at IMM Convention Hall. In fact, it looks like a hotel ballroom. So lucky to get it! Now you know who's the poorest here..hihihi!!! How many tables you have in mind?

hi lmf, septembergal,

hey such a coincidence. i'm also moving to bt batok.

septembergal, merchant court is a good choice, 1-1 waiter to table ratio, supposed good food n nice windows. which function rm in m hotel r u considering? i attended a wedding on the 2nd floor recently, thot the layout was kind of strange, not ideal if u hv to fill up the rm.

lmf: dun always say u r poor mah. u know, by hving ur banquet at a restaurant, u hv the highest chance of breaking even. so at the end of the wedding, u may jolly well end up being the richest!

hi LMF, septembergal, och

me staying at bt. batok, too.
hopefully can still stay there after marriage (if we managed to get a resale unit)

wow, oct brides really active, too bad mine's a mth later, Nov 2002.

Daisy, crayon2512,
me currently staying at bt batok. looking for resale flat, too. like Daisy, me looking at 188-193 or 63x blks, but can't find. Daisy, how's ur search so far? u looking at 4/5-rm or EA/EM?

when heard of BE, so happi cos tot those blks near WM also included. but alas..

Hello angelia and och,
Actually BB is not my new house. It's me sister's house but now vacant. So I stayed in hers for a while until my new flat is ready. My new flat is at Bukit Panjang, will be ready in early 2004, so got to stay in BB for about a year.

I am using Andrew Tay for my actual day photography. Reading your postings really made me feel so...
I know he is expensive, and we would have to save on other things to engage him. But my FH still agrees to using him, coz I really like the pictures he takes...

btw, can anyone recommend any good way of removing hair from the underarms? I have never done it before (seldom wear sleeveless too...) My photoshoot will be in early Feb, when do I have to remove them? Can anyone advise?

Hi Jowie and JenJen,

Was reading the story that you post on the bridal shop. Actually, my fren's cousin also had bad experiences with it. Hope you dun mind me asking... did you continue with their packages or did you choose another bridal shop instead?

Cheers, Jazz

Hi Septembergal, LMF, Och and Angelia,
I'll be staying in Bukit Batok too!!!!! Even if we're not neighbours, we may bump into one another some day... hehehe...

Hi Och and Bleuz,
I may engage a videographer too. I haven't done any researching on that. Don't mind, share a little of your info if you have any, ok?

Hi Chemson,
Don't tell me you know about videographer also hor...

Hi artic hare,

Glad you could engage Andrew. It is really a personal preference thing lor. No need

I personally prefer to pluck cos the end result is cleaner and you won't get day old 'stubbles' resulting in 'dirty' armpits.....

Hi Jenjen,

I went to paris yesterday.
Not that bad actually, though the OTR wedding gown are not that facinating.
I'm serve by May. She is friendly and she really has a very good memory. She remembers the gown I've tried before (in the last appointment).

When I ask her to show me other persons M.T.M. gowns, she brough some (those who has already had their wedding over) to show me and let me try.
Their workmanship are acceptable though not as good as TED WU. The M.T.M. gown looks so much nicer than those OTR.

She also let me try a few other evening gown OTR and some tea-dress.

The Kua look very nice but I don't like to wear RED. So I can forget about it.

She also let me try the gowns which I said I would like to try.

It seems that she is very patient.

I ask her to show me the photos, she show me the album too (unfortunately, it model, anyway, it's getting late at that time).

She also help me plan the timing for me to go down along the way (approximately the months).

Quite OK lah. She can talk one lor.

The last time when I speak to Jennifer, she only allowed me to change the bedtop photo to 2 pcs album, when I ask May again, she say she can try give me 3. And by time to choose photo, maybe can still discuss.

And, the teadress, when I told her I want to change to bridesmaid dress. She did say can but needs to depends if my bridemaid like the dress or not.

Basically, that's it.

I ask her to show me who Andrew is and who is better comparing Andrew and Jennifer.

She say both OK. The problem with Andrew is that he talks loud lor. Maybe some of the people don't like.

So hopefully I could get Jennifer to help me when I need to select photos.

Hi angelia

So glad there's someone choosing e same area as me. At least can get some opinion. Me also tot the BE incl e WM area. But 2 bad. it's at Bt Gombak MRT there. & it'll only complete in nov 2003.

Now in dilema. Dunno whether 2 continue looking 4 resale flat or 2 go 4 balloting. I'm so tired of looking resale flat. u might not believe, i've view over 70 units. A lot rite?

But seems like Blk 188-193, not much people selling lei. I wanted there also cos it's veri near my MIL place & MRT. But blk 62x i dun like. Cos it's 2 cramp & ex...

hallo gals!!
i am pleasantly surprised to see so many in BB! thot u all live in bt timah those sort of areas!!
:-P

LMF, i poorer than u lah...the reason why we cld go for hotel is cuz we juz decided on sanmike!
deal was good, so since FH is really keen on hotel (i was more keen on restaurnt, cuz i'm the one with the fear of being in debt) decided we cld still make it for hotel.

u all so fortunate, everything same day!!

och, i wasnt able to book the one for M hotel on 10th floor, seems i kenah the lousier 2nd floor one. most likely giving M hotel a miss.
oriental, if the sales person isnt too flexible, also forget it. so now btwn pan pac and merchant court.

btw, of the 4, oriental called up to 'push' us into making deposit saying that another couple is keen to book that date...sigh...there goes our chance of bargaining.

we viewing the ballrms this wkend. have in mind 30-35...any comments abt pan pac?

attended a wedding there in dec 2000, and thot it was quite gd. only prob. is that the ballrms are side by side, so guests get confused and some got lost and nearly went to the wrong dinner, know what i mean..?

tell u all this joke. i will never forget my experience at pan pac cuz when i went there for wedding dinner after work, i was wearing this business suit with mandarin collar (u know, those dkny style type) ...guess what , i looked EXACTLY like the waiters! somemore i had short hair!!! urgh1!!

another experience i had at a wedding dinner at four seasons was worse. one waiter spilled 3 glasses of beer on me and ran away!! wanted to complain and make a big fuss but cuz the groom was my fren didn't wanna embarrase them, sommore, all the oldies (think his relatives or her relatives) sitting next table cld not stop staring or pointing fingers at me. i left cuz of embarrassment in the end! and my dress stank of beer!

och, presume u moving to those 3 new blocks of flats right in front of the MRT ? that's cool!!

LMF, sheep, angelia, och, wah!!! u all might be my neighbours!!

angelia, of course u can get resale unit! what do u mean hopefully?? dunno if u've bot already but i compiled this elaborate list of 30 factors to consider in choosing resale flat..if u interested i can eml u... heheheh gals, same to the rest of u if u all buying resale.

gals, which block u staying in? or are u all staying in some condo in BB?? me juz a HDB heartlander lah.

my block is 115, we may really be neighbours!! heheheh

Hi Septembergal,
Everybody's staying in BB. We might bang into each other one day. How's your trip to Fame? Good? Aiya, thought you can be the same as me, become Fame Brides. Now you already confirm Sanmike. Have you been to Sanmike yet? How much they offer you or how much difference is both of them?

I'll be moving to my new house Blk 121 which is nearby the MRT.

Hi Jazz

I tink u got the wrong person. Until now, I do not have any problems wif my bridal shop yet. I signed up wif Moments in Life, done wif the design of my WG and EG, and going to 1st fitting in Feb

Try epilating! The new Phillip's Satin Ice is great. I dun use it for underarms, but it's good for legs. Think you can try it for underarms with some other model from the same line. Concept is the same as plucking, but it's got an "iced compartment" (kept cold by leaving in the freezer) that numbs your skin so that you won't feel the pain.

June02/Linda: I've engaged Mabel Lee. Dunno if u guys heard of her. Actually I got her contact from this website! Went down and looked at her journalistic and traditional photos. She seems pretty good and since she's not so "famous" yet, her pricing is still reasonable. Have u heard anything abt her?

Hazel: u actually went and did the real finding of date with your birthdays and all? Wow... I just checked it off the net. Anyways, I'm not really superstitious. Thing that's buggin' me is that my gd pal is also having her wedding ard the same time and I'm NOT allowed to attend her wedding. Opposition from both my side and bf's. Sigh.

hi everyone!

really shocked by the amount of postings here during my absence. guess sept is a popular month for marriage. 8 mths left....

i have been very busy. working til 1am. just came back from work. cnt really sleep so thought of coming here for a look. miss u all!

Hi Artic Hare,
I grip my flesh when I pull the hair, not much pain. Better than eyebrow plucking cos eye area sensitive. And hair takes longer time to grow back and is finer than shaved hair.

Hi Lori,
How much is Mabel charging? I have a teeny problem, my wedding is on 2 days and I dun paying $100 for the separate days thingy is worth it. I was thinking of engaging day only photographer. And BTW, if you can only choose btw a videographer and photographer, which will you choose? I am contemplating on a videographer cos can save the memories 'live' on VCD and normally when you are SO busy on that day you kind of miss out a lot of things which can be capture on vidoe for savouring later.

I had a dream on my wedding day and it was horrible. By the time I change into my gown and went down, everything started and no one wants to talk to me! What a horrid thot!

Hi Dance40, from your recently experience with Paris, seems not so bad. However, still don't feel very safe with much higher percentage against Paris. I will be going down this or next weekend to take a look around, without any appointment. Thinking of giving them a 'surprise' spot check... Heehee..

By the way, regarding the gathering, weekday is fine with me. Actually, I am more in favour of weekday evening.

angph38, the venue I tentatively set on it Qian Xi Resturant.

By the way, I will be having my wedding in 5 Oct instead. Reason being .... it's a long story... So no longer quality as a Nov'02 bride

However, I hope that I still can join in thread.

Sorry for being 'quiet' past week, due to busy with work and dinner venue issue to settle. Now at least relax a bit as the venue I think will more or less be confirm subjected to this Sunday approval by FH and my parents. Will be bringing them to visit and have a meal there to test out their quality of the food.

hi septembergal, LMF,

wow, we really stay very near leh. me at blk 137.
maybe can meet up for dinner some time
what abt u sheep? whh blk u in?

septembergal, can i hv the compiled notes, pls? thanks.

Any December 2002 couples/ brides? Lets share our preparation together. About 11 months to go till our wedding day.

Dec bride

hi dance40, glad that u are fine with them... hopefully u dun have to change...

hi jastan, weekends go they might not entertain coz a lot of couples made appointments...

hi jazz, i changed my bridal shop...

Oops! Jowie, so sorry... I've must mixed up with another person. :p

JenJen, I'm in a dilema too. I too paid the deposit (quite a bit of money) and kind of regret for paying too early for that bridal shop. Will see how it goes. If it's not good, I think I will forgo my deposit and switch shops.

hallo gals!!
lmf, my trip to fame was good, tell u more about it later, can't eml u now cuz yahoo mail is down again!!!will eml u soonest once yahoo is up.

how come ur sis flat is vacant?
blossom, u must be a consultant, work until so late!! hope u have a great wkend of rest!

anglia, wow! we rrreally live v. near each other!!
yeah! dinner wld be great! i'll send u the compiled notes once yahoo is up ok?

och, which block is urs? how was the sale? saw anything good?
\

hi och,

thanx for sharing with me.... do keep me informed when you find out more about the videographers yah?

hi chemson,

thanx for ur list of caterers, will start doing some research soon...

hi kat22,

thot of pulau ubin too but it's really rather inconvenient.

hi septembergal,

both my finace and i simply love the view at rasa... will be praying hard that is doesn't rain so at least our guests will be able to mingle around at the lawn area (*keeps fingers crossed)

hi septembergal, lmf, sheep, angelia,

i'm not in the new flats.
my hubby n i always refer to our resale as our new home, so my terminology may confuse.
bought resale as well in the 3 flats near the swimming pool. the flat is abt 5-10 min walk away fr the mrt.

hi bluez n sheep,

hope u gals catch this message on sunday. i visited the inaugaral bridal fair. there was a stanley lim colour centre that was offering several packages. the most comprehensive one costs $1680. it includes:
1) actual day videography
whole day filming using 3 ccd digital videocam (no time restrictions)
copy of unedited original footage in minidv, hi8 or vhs.
copy of edited footage with effects, animations, 15 photos, background music n songs
1 vcd of edited footage
1 dvd of edited footage
2) extras
photomontage of 30 pix
5 minutes express wedding highlights for banquet
rental n setup of projector
3) offers during fair
an additional vcd
free live broadcast during wedding dinner
$100 off

they also hv actual day videography only packages using either 3 ccd ($1080) or 1 ccd ($680). the 1ccd package will not hv any dvd included. but during the fair, they will still give 1 additional vcd n $100 off.

the tapes i saw at the fair r very clear. but i think the manipulation of photos during montage n the angles that the videographer took were pretty std, not exactly the jazzy mtv style.

i hvn't seen the samples fr the free lancers i got quotes fr, but they were quoting something like $1000+/- for actual day videography alone. photomontage costs $200-$350 extra. conversion to dvd is like $200-$300. no rental of projector or live broadcast too.

the cost of this videography deal is really inhibitive.

Went to Paris yesterday with my FH. The shop is not so pack as we reach there at around 4.30pm. Had seen through their gowns, those that are display outside are not very nice. But those imported gowns kept behind (need to remove shoes), are not bad. I like some of them but will need to have some modification.

Spoken to Andrew, have clarify some areas of concerns. Basically, inital communication looks okay to me. Have made the 1st appointment with them in March'02. My coordinator will be Carmen. Have not seen her yet. Any further comments will have to depend on the first appointment. We decide to stay put with Paris for the time being.

I am now a Oct'2002 bride. Inital planning was that I will be a Nov'2002 bride. Had also join in the Nov'02 thread.

angph38, good to see you popping in to this thread as well. At least not so 'lonely'...

I will be having my wedding on 5 Oct as well. Hi Snowflake, will be same as you. A day after crayon2512.

My first appointment with the bridal shop will be 1st week of Mar'02. Is it too late? Quite scare not able to get what I like and will not look nice in the gowns as I am not the slim type. Round face, big arms etc...

Hi Linda, thanks for your advice. Guess it doesn't hurt that much when i gripped the root rather than the ends

We have settled for either Scotland or England for our honeymoon. Wonder if June is a good month to go?? Do you have any idea how's the European weather is like in June?

Hi June02bride, when's the military tattoo? and where did you book the performance tickets from?

Thanks, ladies.

Hi Linda,
Y'know, I dun really remember how much exactly. I have this problem remembering costs. Fr memory, I think it's about $680 for the morning until 2pm or something and evening dinner. It includes a certain number of rolls of film afterwhich you have to top-up per extra role. Black and white is also a diff cost, I think.

I'm not getting a videographer cos my sis had the video camera going ard (relatives did it) and we never watched it more than twice after the wedding. Too much trouble to watch it from beg to end everytime you want to relive the memories. Easier to pick out the album and flip the pages. Also easier to "show off" to frens mah!! ;)Kiddin'. But really, I'm sure your colleagues wld wanna see your photos rather than sit through an hour of your video show.

Of course, ideally both would be just wonderful! Sigh... I can just hear my FH going, "ching ching" (sound of cash register going off!)

So sorry, wasn't able to come into the forum lately cos' I currently am very involved in a work project. Probably will have to pop by once in a while only.

This year's going to be a really busy busy year for me ... with work, wedding preparations etc. Luckily, my flat will come later....2004 end. Anyway, can make full use of the time inbetween of the wedding and the hand over of the flat to save $$$$.

Welcome welcome all the new Oct brides. I haven't come in for so long that I got rather lost in this forum.

Hey, I'm a horse too. Crayon and Snowflake... my fellow horses! But I'm a Sept baby.

Did anyone pop by Four Seasons today for the bridal show? Quite small leh... But I went there for the intention to say hi to my bridal studio pple.

Any suggestions where can I find nice and affordable dresses for my bridesmaid. Am having a little finding them. Is $120 a reasonable amt to spent on their dress...too much too little? I have 2 BMs so have to budget the spending.

I was shopping around for shoes and found a nice pair but still considering. It cost $139 for 4 inch sandles. Don't know whether to buy or not... it has a nice off-white colour with diamonds like beads. Probably may wear for both day and night cos' my WG is off white and EG is Champagne gold. What do you gals think? Can off white shoes go with a Champagne gold gown? The off white material of the sandals is just on the heels and also the straps, of course... but the straps are quite thin, not much material showing .. that's why I am considering wearing for both day and night.... Can Save some $$$ too...!

Hope to get some opinions from you gals.

Gotta go.

Artic,

I was in London middle of May a few years back. The winds were chilly. It was about 12 deg in the day. Think June will be better.=)

hi septembergal,

what a smart guess!
well, i am currently rushing out an assignment for my client. therefore, very poor thing loh. must out-station there for these 2 weeks. i am rather sick of my job. so tiring and stressful. hopefully, i will switch to a less hectic job when i get married. or else, how to take care of my house and hubby?

hi och!
thanks for the info! wow! $1680! it's very comprehensive but over my budget. any idea when's the latest we have to confirm a videographer? i thought i'll leave it till july/august.

hi artic
i've booked the most expensive (once in a lifetime) 1st day performance on 2/8/02. this is held at the edinburgh castle. the performance will last abt 2hrs.
now, we are also considering going to paris via the eurostar fm london. the last time i was in paris with my mum, we took the eurostar to london for a 1 day tour, ie took the 6.30am train, arrived in london ard 11am, joined the local tour for a day, and catch the evening train back to paris. i guess the timing for london-paris would be pretty similiar, but we intend to stay in paris for at least 3 nites, we want to go to paris disneyland

hope our dreams come true

Good morning gals!

kk- we might just bump into one another n not knowing it!!
where will u be staying after u got married? me staying with in-laws at Bukit merah 'cos my new flat in p21 is not ready yet. after hdb's announcement that they wont be building new flats for a while, i hope they r building facilities for p21 man!

septembergal - i think merchant court is really nice..go for it!

Blossom - hi hi! great to hear from u again
yeh, consultancy work is very hectic n stressful but it pays very well too!! hehehe u must be very rich hor
anyway, i agree wiz u that u shld switch to a less hectic job if u find that this is not ur cup of tea.
my job is project based n requires me to travel too so i can understand how u feel. well, meanwhile, take care n dun let the stress get u down!

cheers, kat

Welcome JasTan!
As for the first appointment, you may want to express your concern to your studio, because it takes some time to design a gown. Suggest you have it fixed earlier, that way, you dun have to find yourself rushing the studio and getting worried.

So, where will your banquet be held?

Hi Dawn,
You may want to try Just Nice at Roxy Square. You can mtm your bridesmaids' gowns. Heard the lady there provides good workmanship. You just need to choose the designs you like, and buy the fabric. All in all, under $100 per dress.

The address is 50 East Coast Road #02-97 Roxy Sq
Tel no. 247 7083, ask for Peck Suan.

As for the shoes, shouldn't think it is a problem to match off-white with champagne gold. If I were you, I would just get a pair of shoes to match my day wear and everning wear. Speaking of which, I haven't gotten mine yet because I'd like to see how my actual gown looks like. My next appt will be next month. Can't wait!

Take care, kiddo. Drop by as and when you are free.

Hi LoriWong & June02Bride,

Thanks for the info. For us, we would prob be using Edinburgh as a base, for day-walking trips (3~4 hrs type) and visiting the city on our own.

Was looking for some cheap accomodation on the Net. Their guest houses are actually cheaper than B&B
funny! I tot it's the other way round?? Anyway, finally found a place that cost 17 pounds per person per night (twin sharing). Cheapest I can find...

Hi Jas Tan,

How is Andrew?
Is he good, fierce or rude?

Mine appointment with designer will start in Mar/Apr 02 too.
I'm going to request Jennifer to be my designer.
But May say, Andrew will be handling my photo selecting after I take photo.
I'm kind of scared. Wonder what type of people he is (too many bad comments on him).

By the way, is your gown M.T.M?

Their M.T.M seems better and more well kept as compared to the OTR wedding gown.
What you think?

hi artic
whoa, 17pounds??? that's dirt cheap, can u give me the name and website of that establishment???

haven't been in here for a few days....glad to see we haf more gals joining us !!!!!

welcome JasTan !

yup....finally there's someone here wif the same date as mine.....so where will ur dinner be held ???

which bridal r u tied up wif ???????? u hafing mtm ? tink if u do in early mar shld b quite okie still....y dun u check wif them ?????

hi dawn1002,

hhahah....finally we found another horsie
.....so i'm younger...me an oct baby....da jie !!!!

sigh....me not as lucky as u .... my flat coming soon....tink haf to tink of ways to squeeze out $$$ liao

June02Bride, u mentioned taking a bus from London to Edinburgh before. Can u give me more information on that? btw, do u know if there's any other mode of transport into Edinburgh (besides planes - ex leh..)?

I just had problems looking for this topic..coz think it had been relocated...finally managed to get back to this forum again.so glad to see u gals again... When did this topic moved??

Hi Dawn
Lollipop is rite, 1 pair of shoes is good enough to match the EG and WG..think wouldn't be able to
see the shoes designs since they are covered..by gown most of the time

Hi Lollipop,

Thanks for the recommendation... Hmmm... I think I may just give that a try since the price is reasonable too. Thanks!

Lollipop & Crayon2512
Thanks for your suggestions/answer on the issue of shoes. I think I'll just pick that pair then. I really like that very much!
And Crayon, you are right abt it being covered most of the time. Yeah!!!!

Hi mei mei Horsie Snowflake,

This is jie jie horsie speaking... Hee Hee...
Well, where $$$ is concerned... we just have to take one step as a time and minimise unnecessary spending where we can. I have kinda reduce my spendings and increase my savings so much so that I'm impressed by my change cos' I can be quite a spendthrift!!

JasTan,

Try if you can, to do the fitting early so that you have more time to work with.
Good Luck!

Crayon, no idea when the thread was being moved. But you can read Chin Leng's posting about the shift.

Hi Dawn,
When you visit that place, perhaps you'd like to tell me your experience? I'd want to go there with my bridesmaid too.

BTW, where did you find your ideal shoes? I have looked everywhere, and most of the shopping centres offer silver, gold shoes with "diamonds". I haven't quite decided on what design I want but I know I won't want to spend too much on a pair of white shoes when I know I would only wear it once.