(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi angph38,
I have booked the 10.35am slot, so I think it is quite impossible, but just in case, I stay in Choa Chu Kang.

Janice

Hi Jan and Shunkuey!

Long time no join in the forum board liao...

Me will be taking my pictures this saturday! So excited! My make up artiste won't be XiaoQing.. It is the other regular make up artiste...Li lien or Liren... din really catch her name..

Jan, where have you selected for your outdoor shoots?

hi kk and sheep,

my photo shoot will be sometime in may... haven't thot about places to go yet... like somewhere with lots of greenary and sea too... so maybe labrador park and somewhere else. anyone with any good suggestions?

yes, the place is called esplanade. the dome shaped building is pretty interesting so hopefully it'll be ready when you're doing your photo shoot

Hi JenJen,

well, I definitely would encourage you to go for facials. Even once a month is good treat for your face. btw, what skincare products are you using at the moment?

I was using the pore refining series from Neutrogrena before i changed to sothys products. Can see a great difference in my skin - clearer now and not so much acne as before.

Why don't you try out a trial facial first and ask for some sample to see if you like the products? for me, I can feel the difference from using the samples daphne gave me... which made me signed up with her.

If you live in Yishun or somewhere near Yishun, there is also a Sothys there. Seemed like their facial prices are cheaper than daphne's. You can check up the thread on June brides... think Linda mentioned something about going to them...

Hi kk,

I am 99.9% sure that i am taking JWN. U may e-mail to me at [email protected] for the detail of your bridal package can? Up to now what have u prepare? As for me i only book the venue that all. I think i m a bit slow liao, do u think so?

*I'm spinning around....*

Did anyone miss me?? *lollipop flashes her "sweetest" smile*

Hi Daisy, good luck for your 1st appt this Sat. Dun worry about it, just enjoy yourself wearing their beautiful gowns and decide what is most suitable for you.. your designer is going to be Helen right? Doesn't matter if you have no idea yet. They will pick a few gowns for you and from there, they should be able to tell what kind of personality you have and therefore, what gown suit you. Tell us how it went, okie?

And yes, I so agree with Crayon. Age doesn't matter. You will be married to the person you love and can't live without. It's your big day!

Your pkg does seem a little ex. The photography is the studio and outdoor shoots right? Robin... is he Robin Goh?

Snowflake, you tried gowns already? How did it go? What kind of design will your gown be? Spaghetti-strapped gowns? What about your EG? Will you have any tea dress?

Has any one of you decided on your wedding favours yet? What about photography locations? How many outdoor locations are you given?

Hi My Melodys
i've oso sent an email to u as per request. pls check

Btw, is ur date on 21Sept? do u know tt jk is oso on this date n wif JWN too? we hv the same coordinator(Xiangyu), makeup artist (Xiaoqi) n photographer(Alan). maybe u'll end up having the same one as us

The only thing i can do now is wait...waiting for a day to communication wif JWN which is tis mth, waiting to choose the gowns, waiting for the day to come. Infact, i hvnt prepared anything since last september cos' i oredi made major reservations like venue, bridal package n actual day photographer.
Hmm...i think ur timing is still alrite. @ least u hv done the most important one ie.venue, n now u oso know which bridal shop u want (only hv to know fm them on the actual weddg day svc if u prefer their makeup artist to do for u). And as for photograhper, i feel there's still some time for u to source lor...
OH! almost forgot...mayb u wanna check wif JWN b4 u sign whether will there be any problem if 2-3couples r to wed on the same day (duno besides u n jk, wil there be another one...)

Hi bleuz
yup, i heard of labrador park is a nice plc wif lots of greens. think u might want to consider marina south park? i saw a wedding photo taken in tt plc somewhere near a river was beautifully taken. or wat abt bontanic garden where u hv to go by the main entrance n there r lots of nice spots for photos. other than tt, i shall let u know if i know somewhere else ;p

Hi crayon2512 ,

My package is incl of e photography. Ya. U'r rite, so long we like e design, nothing else matters.

Hi lollipop,

U'r back. So how's yr mum? Hope she's fine. Ya, my package is very ex not a little. Me dunno whether e photography is it Robin Goh. His name card only put robin photography. But he do both studio & outdoor. I choose him bcos end of the day, he'll return all proof print photos 2 us. So i tink it's still worth it.

Hi Hazel,
Mine is on the 9th and dinner ont he 10th! Wow! there is really A LOT of us getting married in JUNE!!! My dinner is going to held in Marina Mandarin. I will be taking my photos on 1 Feb....hahahaha I am scared that I put on weight during CNY with all the bua kua and pineapple cakes

Hi Daisy,

My mum's fine. In fact after we had our lunch at the hospital, she suggested going to Bugis! She's gone to work today. Thank you for asking.

What are proof prints? Will they return negatives to you also?

hi linda
i m wondering have you found a photographer for yr wedding???? i m in the midst of sourcing for 1 now.

Hi Lollipop,
Seems like u r really "on" ah..so early log onto this forum liao!!

I haven't decide on wedding favours yet..as for photography locations, i wil be going to Fullerton area and the Labrador Park to take photos.. i can choose 2-3 places if time permits

Hello crayon,

I told you before, this forum is addictive, and it is through this forum I get to know pple like you guys! It's great!

These two places which you mentioned, are "hot" places. Saw quite a lot of recommendations. But have absolutely no idea where Labrador Park is.
For me, I will be given only two outdoor locations. Since we will be having my wedding at Chijmes, that's one place down. I love the stained glass panels!

hi lollipop,

u r back *snowflake give u a hug*

glad that ur mum is fine.....see told u not to worry liao !!!!!!

me haf not really deceide the design for my WG n EG.....me like the bustier in fact tats wat the designer advise me to take but as i told u b4 there's my mum problem so most prob i'm gonna take the bustier cut but add spaghetti strap (tot of using the crystal beads as spaghetti - u tink it will look nice ?).....dun wan make my mum puke blood on my wedding.....

yup...i haf a tea-dress but it's otr so haf not gone to choose yet.....my next appt is on 18th so mayb i'll try some-more gowns n dresses lah...tink my designer's gonna kill me

Hi June02Brides,

Hope u dun mind me kpo, I think u should place sourcing of actual day photographer your top priority now. I had a hard time looking for actual day photographers, some of them have been booked since a yr ago, besides june is a hot mth for weddings... u really gotta start fast....

fyi, i have visited a few photographers who do actual day photography, such as Benny Ang, Monica Eng and Imagegarden... and these photographers are all veri nice pple and they do journalistic photography as well... the others I can think of are Ray Ong, Andrew Tay... whoever u decide, i suggest the 1st thing u do is to check whether they're still available on your wedding day, then if they are, arrange to meet up fast and confirm them as soon as u can make up ur mind...

hallo gang!
sorry i never wrote for couple days. went hunting bridal shops for these couple of days!
chemson, LMF, kk, jk, och, thanks for all ur assurance! really appreciate it!

i think my wedding day same as jk, tweety and my melodys. 21/9

kk, LMF, can eml me ur packages ? my email is [email protected] would like to take a look. thanks hor.

LMF, with me on board, i figure i am the poorest amongst u all now...hahaha...and yes, 2988 is w/i my budget. i'm willing to spend only abt 3K on the thing, so, places like JWN is definitely out for me (their gowns make me drool!!) want to reserve more money for other things like honeymoon etc.

abt JWN, i'm confused. jk, kk, u mean both of u hving same makeup artist adn photographer on ur wedding day? how to ? presume the makeup artist shuttle from one place to the next is it?

my melodys, i think venue is quite enuff. u having church wedding? that was the nightmare part for me, and as a matter of fact, that was the reason why i ended up pushing the wedding from jun to sept.

btw gals, i saw sanmike. quite attracted to them. any comments from u all about sanmike? chked out the sanmike thread. looks OK so far. but i hvnt been in this forum long enuff to know the history. can gimme pointers?

i am going for OTR cuz no idea what i really want. and, i m terribly underweight and havent been able to put on weight since i had an op soemtime back....so, i looked kinda skeletal in some of those spaghetti straps stuff.

Hi Lollipop
I am also quite addicted to this forum.Always log in to see new msgs.
The Labrador Park is near the PSA Bldg..instead of going toward WTC..go straight (toward a big oil tank) ..and u wil see the Labrador Park Sign.
For Chjmes, if u having wedding there..think dun have to pay.

Hi Snowflake,
Why dun u get a "shawl" over your tube gown? think it will look nice.. (FOR EG)

Hi septembergal,

Dun be stressed. Sanmike is a good choice and the reviews are so far good. A couple to consider as well... Lezen Creations (Excelsior Shopping Centre) and J & C Wedding Collections (Riverside Point) They are within your budget and the services are personalised. They don't hard-sell as well. Give them a try !

Hi Snowflake,

I have a fetish for beads! You may like to inform Yvonne about your suggestion and see what she says. I haven't seen the gown myself so I can't really comment if it looks ok. But beads, they are so lovely, they will look nice on anything if done correctly. If you are having beaded spaghetti straps, make sure they are sewed on to the gown tight, this will prevent the straps from giving way, and strong enough to hold your whole gown throughout the day.

Your mum won't puke blood on 05/10/2002, I think she'd be so proud of her daughter walking down the aisle...

How come you keep going down to YC to try gowns leh?

Tks for the huggie!

Crayon,
Erm, I think I know where Labrador Park is liao. My office is just opposite PSA

So one day before your photoshoot, you tell me then I go down and miao

artic_hare : i think my face getting better & worse at the same time
the pdt is making my skin better, not so dry, but my hands getting more itchy and now i hv a lot more marks on my face..
better fix a session with Daphne.

dance40 : thx. aiyo, now my fren also changed her nick to IreneL liao
u two go and thrash it out ok!!

janfyp : hv decided not to wait. cos i dunno how to DIY. if i wait & can't get her,(whh most prob will be the case since i on waiting list) and last min can't find anyone, then i jia-lat liao!!

JenJen : yup, true to what artic_hare is saying, it's gd to pamper ur face, even once a mth (but a but ex lah

oh, to get the name and nick, juz log in lor. e.g. enter nick and password; and remember to goto profile and set the cookie thing on (then dun hv to re-key everytime). oh, remember to put ur real name on the profile-> "name" textbox.

happy testing...

hi hazel
thks for reminding me

all these photographers u mentioned r way beyond my budget

i managed to find 1, but still need more assurance b4 i make up my mind

janfyp,

forgot to mention we'r quite near leh, i at bukit batok.

maybe we can catch each other at ROM on 16 Feb, since our time is only 10 mins away.

where u going for reception?

Hi Chemson,
I'm beginning to suspect you're a wedding planner!!!
How can you know so much? Not only you know what kind of gowns the different boutiques offer, you also know where the shops are and their price range! Or maybe you're a supplier of organza??? Hehehe... or beads, laces, veils??!?
You're in the fashion industry?

Hi Lollipop
Wah..your workplace so near labrador park yet u dun know where isi it?

Aiyah..u dun have to miao lah .. i will scan u the photos once i have taken it!!..
but dun make too high expectation on me..hor!

Hey Lollipop,

Pai sei that I 'bio' your msg. The PSA at Labrador Park is different from the PSA you are working lah. It is the one near Technopark.

Don blur blur hor.

Regards from
You know who!

Hi Crayon,

Er, after reading You Know Who's posting, I'm a little blur liao.
Not sure if I got the right place. And yes, my sense of direction's very, very jiak luck one.

Yah! That's a good girl! Scan the pictures for us to take a look-see. Yeah!

Erm, you know who, I think I know who you are. Cfm the Labrador Park is not near the PSA? You mean there's another Labrador Park? Where on earth now? *scratch head*

Hey dear,

You are right as to know who I am. There is only one Labrador Park but there are a few PSA mah. SO the PSA near your office is not the one near Labrador Park. If you take 97 further down your office, after by-passing World Trade, you will realise that there is another PSA.

One of these days when I free I bring you there lah. It's a great place, you know.

From
You Really Know Who

Hi sheep,

No lah.... I am a regular in this forum since beginning of last year...I read and learnt from this forum (and others) plus have friends who have gotten married.. so I learnt from their experiences and I did not bother to check out a huge variety of bridal shops but merely narrowed them down to 5-6.. checked them out... found the right one (Flamingo) and stopped from there. For me.. it is simple.. the gown must suit me, I must click with the designer, the designer must not hard-sell, provides good services and most importantly, won't ask me to grow my hair long or lose weight ! hehehehehe... I wish I was from the fashion industry. Oh yes.. reading the wedding mags local and from States help me too!

Hey You Know Who,

I know there are many PSA around but somehow I thought I saw the sign Labrador Park couple of times when I take 97 to work.... hmmm....

Have to really check out that place.

Hi Crayon, in case you are wondering, both You Know Who and I know each other

Hi Jan,
Yah.... my photographer was recommended to me by my sister-in-law.... the pics are ok, the traditional ones.... after budgeting olredi cannot afford journalistic... still negotiating wif my hubby!
Take ur time when shopping for ur ideal home since now it's the buyers' market. Hope u can find ur ideal home soon!

Hi Vee Kee,
Enjoy ur photography session hor! Remember to smile and bring tissue paper during ur outdoor!
Have lots of fun!

Hi June02,
Me too. I have not found one and those mentioned are way out of budget. Maybe I will just get my frens to do it. What to do?

Hi lollipop,

Thanks for the Body shaper information. I haven't go and get it yet but I will!!! I think I need to tone up soon! If not, become FAT bride!

I am able to select 2 outdoor locations and I like to have my photo taking at the beach. Did you brides had any idea which beach is nice and less crowded???

Regarding negatives - did GHA allows you to take back selected negatives? If yes, take note! Only 1 year later! My goodness!

Hi snowflake - looking for me? don't worry lah! will never disappear lah! New year getting more busy can only login when boss is not around. Happy that you have also tried some gowns. Well, after hearing from lollipop and you, I really can't wait liao!

Ladies, I read from a local bride magazine sometime ago and it mentioned that Labrador park has lots of mosquitoes so prepare to bring anti-repellent along, should you decide to go there for outdoor shooting.

May not be able to login as frequently liao! Will try!

hi,kk!
wow! great to hear that we are getting married on the same day! pass by JWN yesterday..thot it's a very nice n cosy place. Lovely gowns!

Hi, septembergal!
I am having my dinner at Sheraton Towers. Hv u been there for wedding dinner before? Heard any comments, gals? Doesn't seem like a very popular choice for wedding leh....

Hi, chemson
tks for compiling the info for us...u r so sweet! oh, i saw Andrew Tay yesterday. really nice and jovial guy. hv decided to use The Edge for my outdoor
so how, is ur hubby going to another tailor? my colleague was suggesting that our hubbies can oso buy off-the-rack from shops like Hugo boss which provides very good alteration svcs. dunno now got sale or not

any one of u going for the designer bridal sale at four seasons this weekend?

i'm going to the sale. any one else going?

btw, r u gals engaging an actual day videographer or doing ur own montage? any recommendations?

hi kk,

thanks for your suggestions... when you think of more, must let me know okie?

hi kat22,

I think sheraton towers is a lovely place. went to view the ballroom and fell in love with it. however, the date i'm after has already been taken up
the food should be good too as it's prepared by li bai. no wories there

hi och,

i'm contemplating engaging a videography as well... if u know of any good ones who are reasonably priced, do keep me informed yah? thanx in advance.

i'm starting to gather information on caterers, anyone with recommendations?

Hi Shunkuey!

I will! I was just fitting my gown this afternoon, luckily went to try...but unlike your case mine was too tight! Like wrapped dumpling like that so have to loosen...:P

Hopefully it will fit properly on Sat! One question though, my gown is so huge, how to sit properly? Did you have the same problem?

Hi bleuz,

Some good caterers:
1. CJS Catering
2. Select Catering Services
3. Jiale Catering
4. Kriston Food & Beverages
5. Java Dine
6. Angeli Catering
7. Continental Delight

hi, bleuz
Thanks for the reassurance
i think rasa sentosa is a lovely place too! wanted to have it at sentosa too but FILs not keen

since u like lots of sea n greenery, how abt hving photoshoot at pulau ubin? only concern is that it is quite out of the way loh..

Hey Gals,

Will be on leave Friday till Monday. Back again on Tuesday. U gals have a great weekend ahead...
Septembergal, good luck to your bridal search..

hi bleuz,

i just called up a few today. i dun hv the quotes with me yet. seems like the videographers r mostly on overseas assignments leh. i hv to wait till they return to see their products. but no worry. seems like their calendar for september is still empty, so we hv time to shop around.

hey chemson, hv a good holiday!

angelia, my Rom i held my lunch at my hubby's fren's father's restaurant... food not bad lah... but not high class... u want any contacts can mail me...

Hi Septembergal,
Just want to share this with you. I am on about the same budget as you when I was shopping for my bridal. In the end, I settled for Yvonne Creative.
The gowns there are quite nice and if you have a design in mind, the designer Yvonne can also replicate it for you. If you need any other info, feel free to e-mail me
. [email protected]

Hi Kat22
do u think we wld meet each other on the same day in our gowns ;p ? *ha* cun imagine how's it like if happen

Hi bleuz
no prob...shall keep u informed

Hi Chemson
u r really something...whatever type of services u oso know...really take my hat off u. anyway, u too enjoy ur wkend too

Hi angelia,
how can your face be getting better and worse at the same time?

have only been using Sothys for 2 and 1/2 months... and moisturiser has run out liao...
*sigh* got to visit Daphne to get new bottle... wonder if I am using too much of it... tot it could last at least 3 months...

btw, which range are you using?

Hi Septembergal,
Have you got my package? Let me know if you didn't. BTW, where are you staying? when's your big day? Have you confirmed your wedding venue?

JenJen : thx. think i got the contact from u before. but we tot to minimise travel leh.

artic_hare : aiya, my skin texture got better (not so dry), but i keep "picking & pressing & peeling" that now got so many marks

me using the morning cleanser, naturalising toner (i think so) and oxyliance only
me too lazy so don't wanna buy so many pdts first

Hi m2m,

Glad to hear from you!

If you have decided to get the Body Shaper, better act fast. The last time they were sold, after a few days, Watson's ran out of stock. This time round, am not sure, but there are still plenty in Bugis and Taka.

As for locations, perhaps you go during a weekday, the beaches will be less crowded? What about Changi? Or East Coast? Or Raffles Marina?
But the latter is very far.

No, I didn't ask GHA regarding the negatives. I should take note during my next appt. Have you called them yet to make an appt? When your appt is firm, let me know ok?

Have you also decided on your banquet venue?

Hear from you again.