(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi LMF

I've talk to my office tea lady. SHe have some friend that might be able to help you but she need more details such as: where is your friend staying, how is the arrangement, whether is day/ night or both, will your friend b sending the child to their place or they have to come to your friend's place etc etc. I would suggest you call her direct/ your friend could call her direct. Just mentioned that I am Julia's friend.

Her name is Sally & her pager no is 95467468.

Hi happy 98

Thanks......
don't worry about yours, all bride will look pretty on the dream gown.

Hi Cher,

Well, my preparation are ok .....quite smooth except the house that i have not found yet.

For you, mayhaps you could get a bridal shop now if you are holding the ceremony here in singapore only, you could get one here. If you are holding ceremony at both place, then i'm not so sure.

Things would goes well once your bridal and dinner are book and done.

Irene

Hi all Oct brides...

Hmmm... it has been a really long time since we had this tread moving.. nice to see you all again.

I just did my photoshoot yesterday... it was really fun and enjoyable. We both truly enjoyed the whole experience.

My shoes, all bought already. More or less quite settled in most things already. With the exception of the dinner preparations, of course. Hee hee. Now have to press our parents for the guest list and start scouting for the food caterer for our church function.

Things should be starting to move for us Oct brides, right? Yippee, only 6 months to go or less ... for most of us. Congrats gals.

okay... let's keep each other updated. Bye for now.

Hi Julian,

Thanks for your information. I will get my friend to call her. Thanks so much.

Hi Calla,

Didn't read yr posting till now ...

Hey, u really make me itch leh ... feel like going there straight away to buy the SHOES!
& books! Too bad I still have to wait till national day .... btw, I've booked Century KL liao
Seems like 3D2N is really not enough ....

joker,

Hey, so fast it's our 1 mth wedding anniversary liao ... did u & yr hubby celebrate yesteday?

Pegsfur,
ya lor, so fast 1 mth liao. Don really feel like time past so fast. Both me & hubby took leave yesterday. Initially wanted to celebrate but hor in the end brought my mom to see doc, went to see car, decided to sell car. In the end going to have no car liao

So how you celebrate? Got tekkan him jialet jialet again?

Joker

joker,

Hahaha ...
"> no lah ... didn't tekan him liao ... in fact, think I'm starting to feel 'stagnant' liao ... do u feel that way? I mean the 'sing xian gan' is not there already... hope my marriage life don't turn into a work, home, dinner & sleep kind of routine ... scared leh...

Hi Cher

I am also a Nov bride. I started early, just finished my photoshoot last week. Just collectd my flat keys and will be busy with the reno soon. As for the banquet, I will go for food tasting in Sep.

For u, like what Irene said, get a bridal studio and a place to hold your dinner. U may want to discuss with your FH how to approach this. Hopefully everything falls in place.

HI Lollipop,

Well I went to quite a number of places, like Changi area (along the beach), Marina South, Fullerton and Clarke Quay.

The weather was fantastic yesterday. Neither too hot nor too windy. In fact, the best part was it did not rain.

So when is your photoshoot due?

juz came back from my 1st fitting, have confirmed all of my gowns including for photoshootings
really took a long time before can make decision, thankfully i ask my 'jie mei' along
unfortunately they dont allow us to take pictures

i've selected almost all different cuttings:
actual day: white bustier ballgown & a lime-green a-line evening gown
indoor photoshooting: ivory a-line bustier WG, ivory straight-cut WG, sky-blue a-line EG & bronze ballgown-EG.

i'm still thinking if i shld wear the ballgown on actually day cos i'm having my ROM in the morning... (tho i really love that ballgown) looks abit funny @ ROM. so now either we invite the JOP to do our solemnisation @ function room instead, OR just be abit thick skin on that day, as what my "jie mei" suggest...

Hi Irene & Ginger,

Thanx for ur advice!
Yeap, I have in mind which bridal studio & hotel in mind already. Just that both of us are so busy with work. Have no time to go & sign on the dotted line.

As for our house, luckily we have it ready 2 yrs ago, dun need to worry abt it.

Only concern is the reception in Penang. We have no time to make a trip up to arrange at all....Guess, have to leave it to my in-laws lor.

BTW, can both of u share wif me which bridal studio & hotel did you choose?

hi pegsfur,

no problem....just thot how come all of you missing??

Just don't buy everything, leave some for me

Congrats on your 1 mth anniversary. You still got a long way to go. Lost your "sin xian gan" maybe can find a common hobby btw you and hubby so that you can find back that "gan jie"

hi cher,

Welcome to our gang

When's your big day?
Which bridal shop & hotel u have in mind, mind sharing more with us?

Since your wedding is in Nov, i advise u to book your bridal package & banquet first.
If your bridal package include mtm gowns, u need ard 2 months time to mtm. As for album, they need ard 2 - 3 mths to process your photos.

Mine is on 19 Nov 2002 ( Tuesday ), i have booked my bridal package with Paris @ Tanjong Pagar & my banquet is at Orient Ocean @ Miramar Hotel.

Hey! I was thinking of Marina South, Clarke Quay and Changi Beach too! Great minds think alike, ya?

My photoshoot will be held next month, 10th. I had my hair cut yesterday. My designer said I suit short hair and told me to keep it till the cheek area :D

Hi, gals!

Din come in here for quite a while..how are you gals?

Happy98 - how did your 2nd fitting went? Tell us k?

LMF - hope ur fren managed to find a part-time maid..sorrie cant help u out here...any luck with your shoes?? Tangs seems to have a pretty decent range but the heels are quite high lor..very difficult to get nice low heels leh..sigh...oh yes, did u try out Hue at Scotts Shopping Centre? Their shoes are quite pretty. There are 1-2 more other shoe shops there too...

Van - happy to know u hv confirmed all your gowns..wow..u really hv many! hehehe...so gd! me only hv WG n EG for both actual and photoshoot
hey, if u like the ballgown, go for it! It's ur big day mah...wont look funny one...dun be shy...be the centre of attraction at rom that day!

julia - hey, thanks for the revised list!

Pegsfur,
I really get wat you mean. In fact even in the beginning, the whole feeling is not very 'sin xian'. Maybe it's becos me & my hubby have been together for too long and we used to meet almost everyday when dating.

The only difference is tat he don have to send me home then go home himself.

My marriage life now also go home, eat watch TV then sleep. Reallly unhealthy but lazy to go out leh. How ah? Me also scare me become 'huang lian po'.

Hmm...... must plan tour liao la

Calla,
When's yr wedding? or is it over liao?

Joker

Hi Cher,

My bridal is with paris, same as Angeline.
And I'm holding the banquet at Grand City Restaurant at City Hall.

I guess you need to take the time down and sign now cos a lot are being book. Even my actual day photographer, he called and double check my date again coz someone wants to book him for 19 Nov......

So got to act fast.....

Irene

calla,

Hahaha...
We all very kiah suh hor ... always want to buy everything ...

Find a common hobby? He now has a new hobby ... rearing fish ... don't understand any fun of it ... can even see my dog getting jealous cos he's spending more time on the fish than my dog... poor peggy. I'm also getting a little fed up cos instead of spending time together watching tv like how we used to, he spends his time watching the fish tank
... I always tell peggy,'Peggy, we two must siang yi wei ming liao ...'

joker,

Hey, that sounds like me & my hubby too
We have also been dating for very long & like u, we also meet each other almost everyday
So how long have u 2 been together b4 tying the knot?

Huang lian po? Hehehe... i guess as long as we don't do housework or look after kids, we won't be huang lian po lah ... at least not so fast

Hi Cher,

You are lucky to have your in-laws to take care of the reception in Penang. So that is one worry less for you.

It is good that u know which bridal studio and hotel u want. So act fast before the date has been snapped up by other people. U never know especially when the date is very auspicious.

My bridal studio is GHA (Tampines) and I have booked with Concorde Hotel. My actual wedding day is 17 Nov.

Irene,

Oooppps, forgotten to tell u, yesterday Jennifer called me, she has got the coloured lace for me, ask me go down tomolo to choose the design

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cher</FONT>

welcom aboard!! me also like u, need to go to 2 places, Singapore &amp; Seremban!! We've already booked our bridal &amp; banquet venue, going for gown selection this coming Sunday.... *very excited*.

As for our dinner at Seremban, we also leaving it to hubby's Dad &amp; sisters to settle for us, since we also not familiar with that place, and they're also arranging for his brother's (currently in UK) wedding next mth..

As for the gown, we're still deciding cos i very lazy. but our bridal boutique said can loan us for a week when we told them our case - need to wed at both sides.. but since we're only going back the following wkend for the dinner at Seremban, think 1 wk is not enuff... so this coming Sunday, i'll ask if it's possible to loan for longer period, or we return the gowns on the next day of our wedding, then the following wkend, go collect again. Basically, i foresee no problem cos they're very accomodating..

so which bridal and venue have u decided on?? when u intend to have ur photoshoot?? do remember from 9 Aug - 6 Sep is the lunar 7th mth....

Pegsfur,
I know my hubby in Poly 1st yr, but together after my poly which is 3 yrs after. Hmm...... so together about 5 yrs b4 marriage. So scary to know tat I can tahan a man for so long

Heehee..... if I become 'huang lian po', I also wan to be a modern one

So yu &amp; yr hubby also everyday go home? Wat you all do over the weekend? So sian leh.

Joker

my 2nd fitting turned up fine. my mtm EG fits me perfectly. i like the cutting very much cos it really enhances my figure!!! my FH thinks so too. will see whether they allow me to take pic on my photo-taking day. if so, i'll try to scan and sent to u all. ;-) i think i'm abit lucky cos a fren of mine also took the same package from the same bridal shop said hers turned up to be very loose.

i've also confirmed all my gowns. but there is a prob. as i'm not very tall, some of the gowns seem abit too long for me. my designer said it is ok for studio photos, so it means that he is not going to alter for me. but to tell the truth, i think it may be diff for him to so for one of the gowns as it has a drag, if u know what i mean. ;-(

oh, another things is that i've chosen a white jacket for my FH, but the designer suggested him to match with a black pant. i think it looks funnie, what do u gals think? i wanted him to get a matching pant and we bot one from metro. it turned up to be quite ugly as the material is diff. still wondering should i get another one by shopping around or ask the designer to tailor make one for him or just make do with a black pant. but the funni thing is that the designer did not suggest to tailor make one for my FH?! hmmmm..........

HI Girls

i managed to scan the poloroids.
shall send them to u tonite coz ur email add r all in my home pc.

happy98
glad tat ur fitting turned out fine.

must share with us ur photos leh..
personal opinion : white jacket with black pants like v. funny leh..
hhm....i tot men's suit comes with jacket n pants?
how come they only give u the jacket?

i only took shots at the greenery n Tanjong Beach.
think there is an old colonial building (not sure abt the location) we wanted to go have a look but the weather is not v. good.so we din go there loh.
err..quite a lot of ppl look at us..but we bo chap oso..i was too busy having fun to bother.
hehehe

Van

i agree with happy98.
its ur special day mah..'supposed' to b the centre of attraction!

hi gals!

My wedding date is on 16 Nov. For my bridal pkg, i want to use flamingo bridal &amp; montage studio. As for banquet, i have made tentative block at mandarin hotel.

ginger: although my in-laws can help, but i am worry that they will blow our budget. fyi, we will be paying for everything &amp; u know lah..quite difficult to tell them to spend wisely.

angelia: r u talking about the WG, EG or both? i m just going to bring my EG to penang. r u going to have trad chinese ceremony or church ceremony?

Hi Lollipop,

The Marina South part I went was with the office building skyline behind me... Changi area... well, not exactly the Changi Beach where most pple will go to.. Very ulu but nice... also very difficult to explain where exactly.

Clarke Quay is just below my bridal studio... so that's why lah..

Oh...10th is a Friday..Good lah... at least can take a good rest after that. For me, my studio photographer recommended a weekday just in case we got a little uneasy if pple are staring at us when we take photos. That's why I chose a Tuesday. Hee Hee. And I took a day's leave after that to fully rest. But it was really really fun and enjoyable.. I hope you will enjoy yours too.

My hair... I'm keeping it long so got more styles to play with. if your designer says short hair is suitable for you... then should listen lor.. their advice can be good.. experts after all.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cher</FONT>

i'm talking abt both. so, Flamingo agreed to let u bring ur EG back to Penang?! so how long are u holding on to the EG?? 2 wks?

we only hving traditional, no church. for Seremban, will prob only be having dinner. we got 1 less problem than u cos FIL voluteered to pay for the dinner, kekeke....
but dun worry lor, heard many people said hv dinner at M'sia sure will "make profit" one.

joker,

Hahaha...
...eh, hello ... 5 yrs u said long ah ... I 10 yrs leh ...
It's exactly like a marathon....

Yeah, go back home after work ... cos pretty tired liao ... unless sometime my mil don't cook &amp; I have to work overtime, he'll come &amp; fetch me then we go out &amp; makan lor ...

Hahaha ... weekend even more boring ... we go for breakfast outside, then he send me home b4 heading for work. Then I stay at home to do housework (cos mil not around
) ... wash clothes... vacumm &amp; mop floor .... iron clothes ... then wait for him to come back b4 deciding whether we want to go gai-gai or not ... if not, stay at home &amp; watch tv... pretty boring rite? I've been thru this routine for abt 3 weekends liao &amp; I'm starting to feel bored ...

How abt u har? Don't tell me same as me hor???

i went cycling with frens to the Tanjong beach b4 during weekend and it was very empty there, not much pp at all. so, i tot if during weekday it should be even better. regarding those old buildings there, actually do feel abit errie there. so, still thinking whether to go there or not.

so, any idea is it a common practice out there that rental of man suit should come with the pant also??? maybe b'cos they know they don't hv the matching pant, so they lied and said that it is better matched with a black one. hmmmm..... come to think of it, i think the pant should come with it cos they said they are renting my FH the black pant to match the black jacket. we didnt ask for it, they offered it! also, they did say they'll see whether they can get a matching white pant for him. hmmmmmmmm.... think abit fishy man. i think i'll check with them again.

Pegsfur,
Me hor really admire yr 10 yrs. My BFs b4 my hubby longest is only 3 mths, tat's why the 5 yrs to me is very long already.

Ah yo Pegsfur our lifestyle is so similar leh!!! for the past 3 week, we also headed home every day after work. He will fetch me from work, then we 'ta bao' dinner back home to eat after then we will watch TV then go to bed.

Sat &amp; Sun, he will bring me &amp; my family go BF if he's not working. After which he will do hsework while I iron clothes. I think haven go gai gai yet for this 3 weeks becos wan to cut cost and scare of crowd plus the weather so bad.

Wonder whether life style will change after we sell the car becos our financial will loosen but cannot happy happy go anywhere liao.

Boring hor, my life?

Joker

Thanks Kat22 &amp; Yvonne,

looks like i will go ahead to ROM with my ballgown
since this will be only once in a life-time...

joker,

Serious??? Longest only 3 mths .... wah, then u must have had alot of boyfriends b4 yr hubby rite?

Hahaha...
Not only do we have the same wedding date, we even have the same lifestyle!
It's so similar ....

Aiyoh, only 1 mth &amp; marriage life become like dat ... how can?
U know, 2 wks ago we went parkway to buy something ... then I thot maybe can go shopping a bit but guess wat? The moment we finished buying, he said go back ta-bao &amp; eat! I was so angry I didn't want to speak to him ... &amp; to think i even dressed up ... buay ta han leh .....

But now I have 1 way to solve this, since he'll be tired after work on Sat, I think I'll let him rest &amp; sleep then we'll go out at 11+ or 12+ in the nite for supper or dessert ... tried it the other time &amp; it's quite romantic

We went to hagen daz for ice cream at abt 11+, then went 'dou feng' at ECP, then went to changi to see the aeroplanes taking off ... then go see ah Guah .... then go up the remote areas to see 'haunted house'.... we only went off when we started to feel tired &amp; that was already abt 2am liao

Pegsfur,
Don have many BFs lah. I think the most 3 to 4 lah. All very fast me xian liao. Maybe my hubby can tahan my bad temper last time, so very touch loh

Actually all those things tat suggest hor, me last time dating all do liao. So now married, got nothing else to do. I also ever tot of going supper, but go home after bath change to pyjamas liao lazy to go out.

Hmm.... actually unhealthy for cases of 'xin huen'. Really don know how.
WOrse still if we decide not to buy car, then we will be more lazt to go out liao.

Joker

hi Joker,

my wedding is in Nov 02. So far, haven't really prepare anything except booked my bridal package and banquet. May need to seek your advices from July onwards

Hey Pegfur and Joker,

I think goin out at nite is very exciting..maybe can catch a midnite show?? or pack some food and head for the nearest park or reservoir for picnic?
Try going to Upper Pierce reservoir, it is a very nice place. You can feed the monkeys there too

Take up some course in the CC? maybe a dancing course?

hi angelia!

seems like we r very much the same...to wed @ 2 places!

the pkg that flamingo offers comes wif a MTM EG to keep. Not so much of a prob for me. I maybe making/buying another EG for Penang's dinner.

to be honest wif u...weddings in m'sia is not as glam as s'pore. if your dinner is held in a restaurant, sometimes there may not hv a changing room for u. if u r having only dinner and maybe tea ceremony for your FIL's relatives who r unable to attend the s'pore one...u can also wear kwa/cheongsam/tea dress for tea ceremony and EG for dinner. better still..u can arrange the tea ceremony at the restaurant just b4 dinner starts, then EG will do.

This is just my thots, bcos u know lah quite a hassle to put on the WG and weather in msia is ratehr hot &amp; humid.

Hullo Dawn,

I was thinking, if we were to take pictures in Marina South, we can see the sea, we can fly a kite (!) or rent a bike (think they do renting svcs there)

Actually in Clarke Quay, it would be much interesting to take them on Sundays when the flea mkts take plae. But then again, we wouln't be comfy with so many ppl staring at us..

All along I have short hair. It's true with long hair you can play around with many designs but it makes me look hagard. The last thing I want to do is look older than FH on my happy day :P

Hi Calla
Sure, no problem. Jux feel free to approach us if we can be of help.

Hmm... I think my biggest problem is tat I very lazy &amp; very 'nua'. Always plan plan but never do. Will try harder....

JOker

joker,

Yah lah ... think u r lazy lah .... actually all those things I mentioned we've also done it during our pat-tor days ...
but it's a differnt feeling doing it all over again ... esp. when we went to the 'haunted' house ... so scary &amp; exciting!

But i understand how u feel, cos i sometimes also feel very 'nua' ... just want to lie on the bed &amp; watch tv all day ... think 1 of these days, we'r going to turn into a da fei poh liao ...

calla,

Yeah, I'm trying to work that out ... think we'll spend some time in the nite instead of the day cos it's more romantic ... &amp; not so hot too!

So yr wedding is in Nov ... now u still relax ... come Sep &amp; Oct ... then u'll know ....

Ah ya Pegsfur,
don be so frank leh......

True lah, maybe should start doing all those things tat we used do last time. But somehow I feel tat the 'xin1 tai4' old liao leh. Last time I used to hang Arcade a lot, but now step in like too old for the place liao.

Me don wan to be da fei po leh.....
I wan to be modern ah soh

Joker

Hi cher and angelia

I'm also having dinner in SG and Msia in Nov but tink mine is the furthest, in Sabah.
This coming May we will be going there to find hotel, photographer and makeup artiset. Actually can ask my FH's frends or sister in law to help but well..hmm..err..if i find myself, turn out no good i can onli blame myself, if they choose and no good, how can i blame them??

My bridal shop allow me to bring 1 pc over, but I need to send it for cleaning after the dinner in SG...beri rush coz Sabah dinner is 3 days later.
My dinner is on Sunday, next day is public holiday, and Tuesday have to fly off to Sabah...now i dunno where to find laundry shop, hope hotel can do for us, but will be exp liao

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cher</FONT>
wah, ur pkg got MTM EG to keep, so gd. mine both OTR.

i attended my hubby's sister's wedding last yr, held at a country club ballroom. dunno if they'll book the same place this time.

not sure if tea-ceremony is needed, but don't think there'll be any prob. will see what happen for my BIL's wedding this May, then we can more or less plan base on that.

actually my SIL has a very nice kwa, which i'm thinking of borrowing. but gotta check whether can alter or not cos i'm smaller build than her. if it's ok, then maybe i can wear the kwa as well, for tea-ceremony!! hehehe...

so what abt makeup? r u getting someone from Penang or u doing it urself? i prob gotta source for 1 cos i dunno how to apply make up!!

juz to clarify, ur banquet u mean u made tentative booking with Marina Mandarin Hotel??

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Jowie</FONT>
hahaha, welcome to the club!! ur wedding on 3rd nov rite? got ur date on record....

so how's ur prep coming along? gone for gown selection?? photoshoot?

why u wanna rush over to Sabah? why not wait till following weekend? not so rush mah... or u rushing off for honeymoon?? decided where to go?

think got no choice but to get hotel to dry-clean cos ur schedule very tight. but can they get it done i 1 day? cos i ever sent suits for dry-cleaning, needs 2 days leh.. btw, which gown u wanted to bring over to Sabah? WG or EG?

i think i'll also need to look out for makeup artist at seremban. as for photographer, dunno yet... ya lor, u'r rite. if possible, find ourselves so that we blame ourselves if anything goes wrong.

for our case, we dun really bother abt the dinner at Seremban, cos it's my FIL who wants it, the rest of us, if possible, would want to do away with the hassel, cos it's for relatives and FIL frenz only. hubby dun hv frenz in Seremban, his frenz more in other states of m'sia, s'pore, and overseas.... that's why when FIL said he's take care of the dinner expenses in Seremban, we also keep quiet lor.... he's the kind who want "face" one, so we juz show up that day lor.... got free dinner, juz eat lah... kekekeke.....
i very bad hor!!!!!