(2002) Brides of year 2002

hI Tomyam,

wat kind of mat'l are u looking for? do u intend to use fresh flowers (which i think will b alittle more troublesome) or silk flowers?

spot light has silk flowers tt look vry sweet..the type made using our WG mat'l, looks fake at 1 look but sweet looking. but if u prefer silk flowers tt look reall...try FarEast Flora at thomson, they hv a big selection of silk flowers. as for ribbons, spotlight has a wide selection, but $ wise ok only. fareas flora's ribbon are really beautiful too hv if i m not wrong only abt 1/2 the price of spotlight's. Arab st also hv, i'v not been there but heard even cheaper than fareast flora!!

yes like wat lollipop mention, choose the type of flowers u prefer (wif or wifout leaves), bundle them and use a nice ribbon to secure the bundle...leave a certain length of ribbons so it can b tied on the wrist....another way is sew the fabric flowers (the ones tt i say uses WG mat'l) on the ribbon itself, but i think it'll b more troublesome.......n they gif a slightly different look. to be honest i'v not tried it yet, but hee thick skin abit, my art is good so i m confident of trial n error. ok, when i really do it, will tell u again ok? ooh if use fresh flowers, better to buy the stick kind of type to wrap the stem (i read in a website)....actually i think there's alot of ways to make a wrist corsage, even if u juz tie them using a ribbon, i believe some touch-ups are needed to secure them in a nice position....ok, will update u again
...ohh when do u need to know latest?

Hi crayon2512,

wat dialect grp r u n FH? from wat i learn during my bro wedding early this yr, if diff dialect grp, gou da li will be rojak...haha but i not sure if its the right custom!!! coz my mum not so particular.

i m hokkien, my mum say tt its not my FPIL's obligation to buy me "4 dian jin", if they do, its juz out of goodwill...hokkien only ask for "2 bangles"...but i'v a friend who's hokkien, her mother ask for 4dinjin from her FPIL!! she knew its not right, so my friend's mother explain its for her daughter's security, n FPIL's face....

then got the canned pig's trotter....btw, wat is it tt u need to find out? haha so i wont gif u the wrong info!!!

hi rachel,

there r duty free wines. duty is the government tax imposed on alcohol drinks, if u buy fr dfs shops, there r no duty charges on wines. corkage is imposed by individual hotels/restaurants on guests who bring in wines or hard liquor fr other stores/hotels. for e.g. hyatt doens't charge corkage, but they will insist on duty paid wines/hard liqour. n yes, sometimes, corkage charges r negotiable.
but whether duty-free drinks r allowed depends on how strict the hotels r. legally the food n beverage license do not allow restaurants/hotels to serve duty free drinks, but some places close one eye.

HI Kas,
Didn't know you couldn't speak canto. So you FH speaks to you in english? Nice that the family is flying over. Mine probably will save themselves the hassle. I don't mind anyway.

My email address is [email protected]. Please do send me the contact for your makeup artiste. PS. any photo samples for viewing?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Jas03</FONT>
welcome to the Nov02 gang. first things first, do drop me a mail with the following ok?!
- real name
- ROM date
- wedding date
- bridal (read that u'r from Paris as well
- actual day photographer
- PS date
- banquet venue
- email
- mobile and/or office number
- photo of urself if u hv

gals, anything else i left out?!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angeline</FONT>
i kpo, go Paris thread and read abt the "born in Tiger year" restrictions....

i born in yr of tiger leh, and my ah yees (most are my sec sch frenz) are also tigers leh... guess either i dun hv ah yees, or i ignore the restrictions for this one

Hi Crayon,
How did your fitting go? What kind of gown will you be wearing? Lost touch already. Bustier issit?
19 Jul, still quite long way to go. Where do you intend to go for your photoshoot?

hi jinette,

my WG would be semi 'A' line, with a mini can can to support underneath, you won't feel the weight at all!

As for EG, haven't decided nor work on the designs yet!

Hi angeline,

I haven't seen Emma the movie yet... In fact, thot of re-watching movies such as Runaway Bride, My Best Fren's wedding to get more inspirations too!

Will try to get emma....

Hi crayon
I think thedevil's guo da li is quite similar. also cakes for the bride's relatives. my mother is asking for teochew pia for my grandaunts and granduncles. the uncles and aunts will get the 'modern' cakes. if you have any elder bros that aren't married (customary), your husband also have to prepare 'da jiu' pants (can be given in ang pow and your bro buy on his own), if the bride has living 'wai po' (maternal grandmother), husband also got to give ang pow to her. these are more towards the teochew tradition.
also, husband got to fetch the bride and leave the bride's place before 9am. so many teochew weddings always very early in the morning... so incur more charges for make-up artist and photographers surcharge...hahahah

Angelia,

received yr revised chart....thanks....was so busie this am.....
my hubby also tiger and was told it doesn't matter for the couple but it seems most of my hubby's close friends r Tigers.....

Jas03,

glad u finally found this thread....welcome....

Angelia,

All these restrictions are heard from my shifu, up to u gals to believe or not. As for couple born in the year of Tiger, its okay, dun worry

hi angeline !!

i recv ur email !! the WG is very very lovely especially the bustier !!

hi twinkle !!

mi also wearing a can-can

hi gals ... i luv bustier style .... if the WG is a bustier n the EG is a bustier with straps .. will it be weird...?? mi bit confused over this..

i have a off shoulder ivory WG for my outdoor shoots. but i saw a another WG(bustier) and simply fell in love with it.. hmmm.. *confused*

Hi angeline,

Sent you the pics of Shangri La's garden terrace and pavilion... gotta trouble my colleague to scan... sorry no time to scan the pic of the waterfall terrace.

but frankly speaking, the actual look and feel speaks more volume than the pics....

hi twinkle !!

mi very tan so chose ivory what bout u ?

saw it online .. forgot the website but i have the pix .. ur email so mi can email u ;p

HI Jinette &amp; Twinkle,

Can share pictures of your gowns with me too pleaseee...

Princess cut is A-line issit??

Is ball gown very outdated?? I getting worried now. Seems like everyone having A-line nowadays.

Dear Twinkle,

I've just checked my mail. Don't seemed to have received the garden / pool pictures. Sorry to trouble you. Would you mind sending again. Thanks.

HI Jinette,

Thanks I've received it. Looks so elegant. I am sure you would look very pretty in it. Bustier is very fashionable now. Will your WG have all the embroidery too?

For my EG I am thinking of something other than bustier so there is difference from the WG. Let's share ideas.

Hi Nov02 brides, yah i know Angeline and Bluechin frm the Paris thread.
Angelia, i hv emailed over to you my details - except for my photo, need to scan one first. (heh heh slowly go and choose a nice one then scan!)

Anyone here hvg their wedding beginning Nov? Mine's Nov8. Hv not done anything to prepare for it yet, except to select WG at Paris.

Hi, Jas03

U wedding is on 8 Nov 02 same as me. Where is your wedding venue? Mine is at Concorde Hotel. Meanwhile, also don know what to prepare.

Thanks for all the reply on the guodali stuff..
I got a big problem which i need u gals to advise me...we wil be having 45-50 tables. my rest. can accomodate max 40 tables( veri cramp, recommend 35 tables)..the rest of the tables will be placed outside the restaurant..under aircon as well. but with walls blocking their views. they can only see thru the TV..

I am not sure who to put outside..didn't really want to outcast anyone.MIL insist these no.of tables. now not sure if i should look for new places..

hi crayon
not all invited will turn up for the dinner. i think you have 2 options: if your guests are the 'on' type, you better book another place (who likes to sit outside, you know got the 'second class' feeling, the 2nd is to do your guest list fast and do RSVP earlier

angeline, tink of having a replica of it, dunno whether it's possible...

hmmm... maybe i might take up a bridal package ..

as for the EG, still looking around the web for ideas ;p

Jinette,
You if are thinking of having the exact same thing. You can actually order the gown off the web, or have the boutique purchase from the States and send over to SGP for alterations. This way should be cheaper than MTM.

Hi gals, mi also getting married in dec. can i join-in? mi also having my gown mtm. seeing all of u tok abt gowns is great, then we can share ideas :P

hi angeline &amp; jinette, can i see ur gowns too? my gown also bustier with straps &amp; off-white color. it's a-line with a small can-can, which is simple.

angeline, i think for ball gown it can be quite grand and also look good, depends on what u want.

did u all saw the new clothings from star-wars. i thot one of the gowns looks beautiful, flowing and mystical.

HI Pinky,
Welcome to the group. I will send you my pic tonight. Do you have a pic of yours? I haven't watched starwars yet. but will do so now to get some ideas.
Which boutique did you used? What is your design for EG?

angeline..... i dunno whether it will be cheaper..
there's the shipping cost and still need to convert to SGD..

hi pinky,

i have sent u the pix of the gown i wish to have..
i luv the dresses from Star wars too !! especially the picnic

Hi angeline, my bridal shop is Yvonne creative. is urs from Allure? i think YC is great, i've taken some photos with the gown structure (w/o beadings, etc.) but i've not develop yet cos still got some negatives left untaken. i intend to use the rest during my 2nd fitting to take :P, when it's ready i'll send to u. actually my dress is not really a bustier, cos it's abit bare-back also.

i hve't decide on the EG yet as it's not mtm, so i'm waiting to see their new designs next fitting. i think i have no idea what i like but last time i'm quite attracted to those empire cut.

Hi jinette, thks for sending, will check my email later. ya, i think it's called the pinic dress, and there's another one which is quite nice too, but dont know the name.

Hi Tomyam
Thanks for the advice..i think we need to get a new place, i had asked some of my friends..they felt the same way as u too..think got to look out fast..

By the way, have anyone tried the Brilliant Garden at Chevrons before?

hi angeline,

the files were bounced 2x from your netvigator acc as well as hotmail. I'll try to zipped them and resend again.

Princess cut, refers to the 2 darts in front of the skirt panels that start from upper waist and dips down slightly below waist... this cut will make shortees like moi look taller and slimmer!

It you're tall and slim, go ahead and flaunt! I can't take the ballgowns cos I'm only 1.55 and has a shorter upper body so with ballgown, it will further 'chopped' my height!

My WG is semi-A line... going to the boutique to sign up tonite! so excited

gals, any website to look at EG designs?

Like Jinette, I also do not want bustier again for EG.

Hi Anna,
i'm also on a strict diet, ie, no ice creams, keropok, junk foods..ehehe..can't wait for the big day is over...

hey, tot of giving 'kee chang' to the guests as a replacement to those fruit cakes?

i signed up with El Shaddai.

Hi jinette, saw ur gown already, it's lovely. r u going to do exactly the same designs? actually for me, i also give the designs i have to my bridal shop, but they cant do exactly the same, as i think got some copyrights issue? anyway they only says will change some of the beadings &amp; embrodiery designs. overall the structure is abt there.

hi twinkle, maybe u can try www.theknot.com, has alot of lovely gowns. their EG is more american-style, which is simple w/o much embodery, some may like. which bridal shop u signing up with?

Hi Twinkle, pls send again to the netvigator account. It should be OK now. I think my height is OK. Only that I very 'flat'. So the first time I wear the bustier, the girl helping me dress, suggested that perhaps I should try a different cut. :-(. But me stubborn one, I have to look for a good girdle that can help me 'push it up'. Also the bustier must not be too low, so can hide the cups inside.

Jinette,
Why don't you give me the name of the designer that you downloaded the picture from. I help you ask in HK if they have it hear and what they charge to order from the States. Also I have friends in NY now, going to SGP end June, can also ask them to bring for you.

Now the headache is the EG, don't know where to start from. Let chat more about it and share ideas.

hi twinkle , which bridal did u sign up with ?

hi pinky , i don't tink i will doing the same..
;p saw the close ups of the bustier, so-so only..
but i luv the bottom half so might be incorporating that part for my WG...
thought of having a scoop neckline and cupped sleeves ?? any comments...

like those cinderella / fairy tale style ;p

mi now a bit bz deciding which bridal to go with ..

Dec brides !! pls offer ur advise pls ... thanks

Pinky,
I am getting my gowns from HK. I am SGP girl, working in HK. I like the empire cut too and thinking about using it for the EG, but afriad looks like maternity dress, then people will talk. What do you think?

Hi Pinky,

thanks for the info! I'm signing up with Inspiration Collection, at Delphi. Very personal service .... nice gowns.

I'm lucky cos I managed to fit in one of their new bustier gown on display. So can get OTR. And it's just used for their bridal show, so i'll be the first bride to use it!!

hi angeline,

it's www.mcbridals.com

my frenz's cousin is in canada so it's ok ;p
thanks !!

hmm... i already have a evening gown (bought it on impulse) dunno whether can sell it ...

my colleagues say i very fickle-minded , hiazz..

Cinderella is definately the way to go for a wedding. Isn't it every girl's dream for the price charming to come rescue and make her a princess and live happily ever after!

It's the woman perogative to be fickle minded. Don't worry about it. Better change if you are not sure if you like it now. Otherwise regret later.

My package:
@$2,200

OTR WG
MTM EG (to keep)
MTM Suit (to keep)
2 hand bouquets
4 make-up sessions (trial, photography, actual day &amp; evening)
6 corsages

photography separate is separate, but they tie-up with Robin, The Edge, Studio 8.... usual package is S$1,400. ( the no and size of pics differ)

I owe everyone on this thread. The support has really made a difference for me. I see that the Nov brides are very 'ON'. They go for outdoor gathering and accompany each other to fittings. Perhaps we should arrange something like that too. But I will only be back in Dec. Maybe most of you will be too busy with the last minute preps then. :-(