(2002) Brides of year 2002

opps, yup. i mean cowie...
14936.gif

muffins! wow! you are so capable!!! how did you do that?!

me here...

i got a colleague juz tender resignation, beri sad...altho i know he's resigning mani mani mths ago, but we work beri closely together, he's leaving and i would be lonely liao

Not capable lah..... just follow the recipe closely
I have always enjoyed baking.....but very difficult to find time to bake..... plus baking makes me put on weight cos I will tend to eat more butter and sugar as a result

Blossom,
Really?? Cannot bake even when reading from recipe?? Haha, lets try this then, when you want to bake, you let me know, I will read out the recipe to you over the phone or something, then you can bake already lor!!
......Hmmm, or should I do tape recording of recipes for you so that you can on the tape and start baking.....

cowie,
haha.... i am not familiar with the ingredients... will never go past that stage. im usually my sis's assistant. she will tell me to do this and do that when we bake.

Blossom,
With practice, you will be familiar with them
Try, try on your own and surprise your sis and your hubby
No harm what.... you are alone at home anyway, if successful, hubby will have a pleasant surprise
If not successful, just clear up the mess before hubby return so that he won't know what happened!!

cowie,
ok.... i will try....

but first thing, i want to clean my hse first..... u know the dust accumulated on the grouting of the tiles.... im trying to clean it but the thought of it getting dirty in no time drives me crazy...

Blossom,
Talking about grouting of the tiles.... those gaps between some of my toilet floor tiles are also darker then the rest..... looks a little unsightly, but it won't come off with scrubbing leh
..... and I am too lazy to do more cleaning

Hello..... i'm here too!

Nowadays i can't post msgs in the office liao..... and by the time i get home i'm really exhausted and need sufficient rest for baby's sake.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">mint,</FONT>

Saw your picture on the front page of Singapore Brides...... both of ya looked really happy and radiant!
Hope marriage life is wonderful for ya as well!

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">starfruit,</FONT>

Glad that u r returning in 2 weeks..... Hope to see ya soon but nowadays i get tired easily...... guess it's one of the symptons of pregnancy.

Baby is supposingly due in late August but may be earlier or later. Your birthday's on the 30th......

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Jowie,</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">*HuGs*</FONT> Dun be sad..... we r all here for you.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">angelia,</FONT>

Nick managed to sent your 8R album to you already?

cowie,
same here.... i just dun understand why. is it becos the worksmanship of HDB no good?

i tried to clean just now.... not very successful....

Jowie,

Ya, when colleague resigns, it's very sad and quite lonely too... sigh!! me also like that... never mind lor...make new friends...

Bluechin,

You must take care too... the first three months is very tiring... but after that will be ok... hehe!! me talk like expert but actually all these hear from friends...

Sorry all.
Recently gotten a couple of MC rite straight from new year and then busy with work.
So did not pop in.

Now I'm back.....

How's everyone?

Bluechin,

How's your baby coming along?
Take care ok.....

Irene

Blossom,
I also dun know
Not very successful ah....then I dun think I want to try already

So, what are your plans for today?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">gals,</FONT>
actually i've been popping in, but din see new posts so i din post too..

missing the days when everyone chatting over here...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
yup, managed to get my 8R, but now my 4R (morning) album still with Nick cos asked him to amend 1 of the cover pix. supposed to send me on 5th Jan, but still hvn't lor.
hubby kept bugging me cos his colleagues bugging him.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
hey, u still overseas? where? biz trip??

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">mint,</FONT>
so glad to see ur pix on the cover page... thanks <FONT COLOR="ff6000">bluechin</FONT> for announcing else i'll miss it cos i usu come directly into the threads..

oh, thanks so much for the maps.. it's really a great help, esp when deciding which hotels to stay.

intend to stay 6 nites at K.Samui then 2 nites at BKK. so breaking up the K.Samui stay to 3 nites @ a standard room, then 3 nites @ Bay Biew Village (BVV) grand villa...

so was deciding btw Chaweng Cove(CCR) &amp; Seascape Resort(SR) std rms. CCR is slightly more ex but comes with FOC airport transfer whereas need to pay 300 baht for SR transfer.

but later realised BVV seems pretty far (on map) from STICA (we intend to attend the Tue lesson) so i was thinking, perhaps reduce BVV to 2 nites.

then Chaweng Villa (CV) was hving a pretty good 3D2N pkg, but it's location is really CENTRAL of Chaweng beach which i'm worried that it might be too noisy at nite. so, still can't decide between Chaweng Cove &amp; Seascape &amp; Chaweng Villa then hubby says, why not 2 nites each at Chaweng Cove &amp; Chaweng Villa. then the last 2 nites at Bay View Village. wow, that's like we hv to check-in, check-out 3 times!!!!! but he said okie lah, also a bit boring to stay at the same room for 4 nites........

btw, how far is Tongsai Bay from the bustling Chaweng Town?? u rented the jeep for the whole of ur trip there? are the jeeps auto or manual geared? hubby is not confident of manual cars, so........

also, need to check how much is the cab fare from Airport to Chaweng Beach? then, how far is Seascape from STICA????

thx..

cowie,
i think the detergent i use not strong enough. im going to get a stronger one. there's bound to be something for this kind of cleaning rite?

im going to tidy up the spare room. talked to hubby last nite. he said i can do it. i think better tidy up, can see mosquitoes flying inside.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
u muz take care leh.. esp the weather is not so good nowadays, &amp; also CNY coming so a lot of heaty goodies....

Blossom,
Erhm, maybe can try looking for the appropriate cleaner at DIY shops like Home-fix.... the usually have very innovative stuff

Mosquitoes flying inside.......

cowie,
i think the mosquitoes may have flew in to hide in the boxes we have in the spare room. i ganna bitten by mosquitoes these few days... must be the rainy season....

okie, will take note
i'll be flying off tomorrow for my honeymoon and photos will only get them perhaps when i return from NZ. probably on 20th Jan afterwards.

u can send me ur pics too, my addr is [email protected]

Oh I see..... cos I stay on the 11th floor and there is not much problem with mosquitoes leh.... For the spare room, maybe you want to get those patches whereby you just stick on the wall and they can keep off mosquitoes and cockroaches.....

Blossom,
Erhm, they come in a flat plastic container which has a double adhesive at the back. You just have to paste it on the wall at the corner of the room, or just outside your window to prevent them from coming in. Can be gotten from supermarkets at the section where they sell insecticides.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">mint,</FONT>

Yah.... can be quite tiring.... but i believe it's worth it!

I'm also more prone to burping (something which i detest cos i find it rude) i think it's becos of the folic acid that i take daily.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Irene,</FONT>

Baby should be doing well since mummy has been eating more than usual and also prone to wanting to sleep more..... like a pig.....

Huh..... u r sick again ah..... Must take care okay..... I cannot be sick now cos i must take good care of myself......

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">angelia,</FONT>

Like that u must ask Nick to try to speed up a little if time allows him to..... I understand how it feels to have ppl chasing after you for photos.

Now that everyone saw the pictures they zip their mouths.
Then i can have my peace!

cowie,

yes, everything is good on my side, thank you.

Blossom &amp; cowie,

did you gals go for a check up before or after marriage? When are you planning to have baby?

Blossom,
Erhm....dunno, I have not taken off the first piece which I pasted on yet
But try to paste it at an inconspicious spot, like at a corner lor..... Then each time you change a new patch (like every 3 - 4 months), try to stick it at the same spot

Liz,
Nope, I didn't go for any check-ups. Not so soon.... if everything goes well, we will only consider having a baby in 2 years time
What about yourself? Gone for any check-ups? Planning for a little one already?

hi liz,
hey, how come you can come in today? what a pleasant surprise.
15077.gif

i din go for check up also. baby?? i dunno leh.... hubby and my parents have been hinting for a little one... but i think im not prepared for it yet.

Angelia,

Thanks.....me trying to take care.
Now doctor give me more anti-biotic and stronger Cough Syrup..... Hope to get well soon and then got to maintain health so that i could think if i could start trying for baby in a few months time when my health is in pink...

bluechin,

Ya you cannot be sick now .... must be strong and healthy.....

need help?
I can ask my cousin she got 3 kids......
Think they got very good recipe...maybe...

Irene

angelia,

No prob at all....
Chaweng Villa sounds quite good...since it's central... if your hotel is facing the beach, then it won't be noisy...the only sound you'll hear is the waves from the sea...If you are planning to take Seascape's std room, I would suggest you try either Chaweng Villa or Cove instead cos the Seascape std room not very nice... we stayed at the deluxe one so it was better.... but from your description, Chaweng Villa sounds good leh...

me also attended the Tues SITCA class...you going for the lunch or dinner session? You get to eat what you cook so after that will be quite full to eat another meal...SITCA is a walking distance from Seascape...about 5 mins walk...

Tongsai Bay is very far from Chaweng...you can't walk there...the journey by car is about 10 mins...

We rented the jeep only for a day to tour around the island...it's manual drive and no power steering...

Cab fare not sure leh...cos took the Seascape transport...maybe can ask Jowie on this... hehe!!
Hope this helps!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">mint,</FONT>
finally finished booking all resorts, now waiting for them to reply. but then return flight from BKK is on wait list lor.
Sunday flight all full, so maybe gotta take Sat flight back

we've made slight amendments to itineriary, so no matter how we schdule the nites of stay at which hotel, will hv to check in at BVV on Tue, thus will hv to travel all the way to SITCA for cooking lessons
wanted to learn how to cook Phat Thai (hubby fave), that's why gotta attend the Tues afternoon lesson

decided on Seascape Std cos it's cheaper than Chaweng Cove. hmm.. how bad is the room? if really that bad then i'll change to Chaweng Cove.

our plan as follows :
07 Feb (Fri) SIN-BKK stay @ Chaweng Villa 3D2N
09 Feb (Sun) stay @ Seascape Std Rm 3D2N
11 Feb (Tue) stay @ BVV Grand Villa 3D2N
13 Feb (Thu) USM-BKK (1:20pm flight)stay @ Asia Bkk Hotel 4D3N
(if Sun 3pm flight not avail then reduce to 3D2N, coming back on Sat, 1pm)

1D is enuff to tour around the island? then the rest of the days u stay at the resort??

submit bookings another round cos change of plan.. now doing 3-3 instead of 2-2-2 liao.

so planning on Chaweng Cove Resortel &amp; Bay View Village since i dun wanna risk staying at the central beach area &amp; got "disturb" by the vehicles

&amp;, the more i find, the cheaper the rate goes!!!!!

Hi angelia,

ya, 1D is enuff to tour round the island...but must plan your route properly...dun attempt to see every waterfall lor... quite waste time...the rest of our days spent lazing by the beach...hehe!!

the seascape std room are all joined together whereas the deluxe ones are like an individual bungalow by itself...so std rms quite cramped...

better idea to do 3-3...

SITCA is really fun...enjoy yourself...

do remember to leave your hotel early for the airport as the jam in BKK is horrible... also must go to suan-lom nite bazaar...

hi cowie &amp; blossom,

me din go for a check up also, when do you tink is the best time to go for a check and what kind of check up actaully do we need?

Luckily my mum &amp; MIL din hint anything and i also din want to have one so soon coz must tour and have er ren shi jie first before being tie down by children.

I'm going to Taiwan next mth wif hubby and two close friend. Actually is honeymoon but dun know leh, wat normally honeymoon is after wedding day and i drag till now due to my health so dun have that kind of honeymoon mood already.

Blossom,

What happen to Loreal, din see her coming into the forum already?

Hi Liz,
Actually I do not know much about the check up also. If you are really interested to go for one, maybe you can go to a gynae and tell him/her that you are thinking of doing a check-up and see what is recommended lor........

Honeymoon need not be right after the wedding lah
Any trip with your hubby can be deemed as a honeymoon so long as you think it is one!

angelia...mint is rite, actually the waterfalls are nothing spectacular, so can do wifout...there's one need to climb 15min(if not taking elephant trekking)...when we are panting up there, it's onli a small nothing much waterfall

liz,
it's true.... many of my frens din have honeymoon rite after wedding..... work commitments.

you know i went for honeymoon rite after my wedding.... so tiring... after coming back immediately start work.... so sian....

cowie,
how's your day?

i think i may not start work next week... no news. sigh!

my hubby applied leave to keep me company. we should be going out later if we finally decide where to go.
15252.gif

Blossom,
That is so sweet of your hubby
Decided where to go already?

I am getting busier. Have to help out with undergraduate practical teaching again this semester
....sigh, enormous marking loads to come on top of my own project work.

hi! liz/blossom,

finally i'm back..
i'm not MIA.. just came back from USA for work purposes. I was there for the past weeks..
Being summoned by boss last min to go there for some unsettled issues.. tats why didn't login for so long..Apologise for the missing..

So ladies, how have u been?..
Blossom by now u shld hv started your new job yah?..Wow.. Chinese new yr coming huh.. got to prepare ang-bao for the 1st time liao..
Aiyoh..pocket gonna burn hole man!

Heard from my friend that first year after marriage don't have to give ang-bao. Anyone heard of such saying? I mean for me, we'll still give our parents but for relative's children &amp; friends' children, do we still need to? Sigh.. being married really comes at a price huh?

no lah.. still have to give but 1st yr got the privilege to collect as well..But not all would give. Some act blur that they don't know about this "rule" and just "siam".

So collect as much as you could this year okay!