(2002) Brides of year 2002

How's your weekend. Spent the weekend recovering from my migraine. Old prblem. Hopefully on my wedding day, I won't get it.

For me, both sets parents didn't discuss on the Ping Jing. So up to hubby's side to give lor. But my hubby is giving my parents some tables.

Hi Val, only my EGs can be taken back. WG, got to top up by a few hundred to take back.

As for the traditional stuffs, although not requested by either side of parents, I think I'll buy some traditional stuffs to decorate the bridal home. Looks nice for photography hee hee!!
Like the shuangxi sewing box, lamps, etc

Hi catzball,
Your hubby veri funny leh..luckily his coat didn't catch fire..if not, more like a acrobat show thing..

Hi Sancai,
Was pretty upset abt the photos..as for the videocam, stil not out yet..hopefully it wold be beter lor..keeping my fingers crossed as they are taken by his friends.
Will be going for honeymoon in Thailand..early Nov..

Hi Sancai & Catzball,
Were your hubby drunk on the wedding nite?

Hi carribean,

me just wrote you a email to email your wedding photo.

My wedding was on Sept 12 just one week after yours.

Hope you email to me.

Hi gemi,

Chk with you huh? U mention that you took up the gown package by erm...american wedding something..right? sorry din catch the name
How much is it huh? My sister is interested to take up another gown package also cos her exising bridal shop's EG is quite Pte Ltd...altho not so soon but just fd out some background info..

Btw, gals any of you short sighted but not wearing glasses? I am 250 degrees on both sides...I norm dun wear contact lenses but wear specs when I can't see clealy. I've tried wearing contact lenses before but it dries up my eyes such that by evening time my eyes very tired...and I tend to shut my eyes when taking photos..I dunno whether I shld wear them on my wedding day leh...can see w/out them but I feel like having a clear view of everything leh...

For those 1-day disposable lenses if I wear in am, and take off in the afternoon and evening time can re-wear again...but the thing is I fd difficulty in putting them in the 2nd time in the day sigh...Advice?

hi corie,
wah, so many postings!! see until i blur liao..
i enjoyed my photoshoot very much, wished could go again..

i've confirmed select as my caterer, i think its wise to confirm earlier becos you will then have a choice for the nicer deco, skirting.

GMC not moving to sengkang lah...i've not yet decided on the worship songs, but am using D Canon for my march in. i'm only having one bridesmaid, how abt u?

hi gemi,
yah i agree with you that by the time i wait for hubby to get his smile right, my smile becomes plastic liao. anyway, hope it turns out nice.

wow, u really like got a lot of choices og gown leh. i think if you want to teilor-made for ur mum, better do it quick!!! if not, no time already.

sorry i can't help much in the discussion of preparations for guo da li. cos i'm not having one, find it too many things to do..

hi berypig,
me went to t-dragon and also confirmed printing from them. i've asked for you already, they said yes, you'll be collecting the free gift from them when you go and collect the cards!!!.happy?? hehehe...when will you be collecting ur cards?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
thanks for the pix..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jastan,</FONT>
enjoy ur honeymoon!! i think our next gathering most of us will hv a lot of albums to share.. kekekeke...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
as spoken on the phone, so dun need to reply u here oready hor..

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">last nite the bridal shop called &amp; told us our photo album ready for collection liao..
dunno shld go collect or not leh, no place to put at home..</FONT>

u r Welcome!

Btw, did u girls read or heard about the explosions in Bali..... yesterday when i knew about it...... i think i had better not go Bali. Then my mil also said <FONT COLOR="119911">"See See... Wat i mean, Indonesia is dangerous!"</FONT>

Looks like my plans to go Bali before i return to office has to be cancelled!

oh, so it's u.. i told hubby last nite i kind of tot i remembered someone mentioning wanting to go Bali!!

hmm.. maybe u can go koh samui or phi phi island or krabi lor.. i thinking of going krabi (before it gets too commercialised) but oso not cheap leh.. 3D2N per pax abt $399/$499 leh...

me back fm my honeymoon in Sydney/Melbourne
!!! Now at hm resting as i oni touch down yesterday nite, so still taking a short break b4 i start wk 2molo. Well, Sydney/Melbourne was fun, and most impt of all, weather was prefect!!! Enjoy utimately!!! For those tat are planning for honeymoon, Australia definitely a good place, at ur own pace &amp; beautiful.... But i like Sydney more, though Melbourne was equally gd!!!

Well, definitely a SHI LUO, esp since everytink for me was over, WEDDING &amp; HONEYMOON, maybe BABY!!!

For my wedding, eveything went beri smoothly, eveybody was happy except the food presentation was too fast....the next dish came out b4 they finish the current dish....

Crayon2512, u are rite!!! My parents' hse number came out on my actual day wedding!!! My parents &amp; us did not buy, coz too buzy to buy...instead my Ah Yees &amp; some relatives strike!!! So they won $$$ instead of us, we are giving ppl luck!!! So to all u guys must remember to buy!!! Will somehow strike, u know!!! UR BIG DAY MAH!!!

My hubby did not get drunk, oni a bit high...But still ok....Buzi "YAM SENG"!!! Well, quite rowdy gang i guess!!! Aniway, we managed to breakeven for our dinner...How abt u guys???

Well, for the rest of the coming brides-to-be, juz relax, everytink will definitely fall in place, slight hiccups here &amp; there is definitely a sure thing, juz stay cool oni!!! U GUYS WILL DEFINITELY MAKE IT!!!

phew, finally solved a bug... so got time to post liao

wah... Li May &amp; Corie, both ur "guo da li" so early. Mine is two weeks b4 my wedding day... so i also can't give much advice as both my parents have not meet up yet.

I have bought my furniture on sat oredi. Guess wat? i bought mine in malaysia :p Save a lot of $$ leh... heee

strawberry, glad u enjoyed ur photoshoot. I also enjoyed mine but it's a pity it rained on tt day, so i dun get to have blue sky which i liked for outdoor ... so sad. :|
Hey, thanks for asking.. so u get them to customized the card or u choose 1 from the existing cards? How many cards u printing?

i hope thailand will be safe

i supposed to collect my album yesterday, when i go down, it's not ready

willbe going again next week

GALS, wat is the time frame u all have between leaving the house and going to ILs hoouse?
Now my mom wan us to leave the house by <FONT COLOR="ff0000">8am</FONT>
and according to fortune teller, we can onli go into ILs place after <FONT COLOR="ff0000">11am</FONT>...got 3hrs in between!!! how?? where got photoshoot for so long...

starfruit &amp; angelia,
Thanks for the suggestions.... will speak to hubby asap and come up with a decision. Did think of alternative locations for my short trip eg.phuket which i've been there twice so i'm considering, or krabi (sounds interesting) Anyone been there?

My colleagues were telling me that they thot of reminding me not to go Bali when they see me in the office today.

Jowie,
How r u? Never seen u online lately.

Did your bridal called u up before hand to inform u to collect your albums? How about did u call them before u went down?

Wow.... why dun u try explaining to your mum that u will a big gap in between and suggest that u can leave later?

berypig,
u very hardworking, go malaysia to look for furniture...but its good lor, save a lot right?
when u shifting in ur new house? where is it?

you're welcome!!! i choose from the exisiting cards, didn't want to spend too much on printing, so i choose printing on the normal inserts. i print 200 inserts loh, cards hotel giving.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
huh? did the bridal called u or the tell u long time ago ur album will be out yesterday??

ur place &amp; IL's place near or far? if far, then gotta take into consideration the travelling time lor.. else u go take outdoor, then go changi take outdoor.. then can stay at changi airport enjoy the aircon lor.. boh bian if ur fortune teller gives u that kind of timing..

mine is between 7am-9am.. if miss, then hv to wait till 3pm.. so i definitely muz leave my hse @ 8:30am.. 20mins drive from Bt Batok to Yew Tee mah..

Hi Val,

Actually I think American Wedding Treasure dun do packages. They normally sell gowns imported from the US. The gowns are very nice, but can be quite costly. I got mine at promotion so quite reasonable. Why dun you give me your e-mail and we can discuss further on this.

Strawberry,
Glad tat you enjoyed your shoots..It must be one of the most fun part of the wedding. This Robin made me laugh so much that I think he caught many shots with my mouth so BIG laughin!!! Can see the photos this week so very excited.

Hi Berypig,
I also got furniture from JB, there's this place with really nice furniture near Tmn Molek. A lot of resort like furniture like teak, wood, antiques, etc. Where did you get yours? Actually not that cheap buying from there, but can negotiate for more freebies.

strawberry, i forgot to answer one of ur qns.. I'am still in the process of vetting through the card template loh... cos my FIL wants to change something... but sld be able to confirm the printing by this week. I think they will take abt 2 weeks 2 print. Roughly will be able to get my card ard 3rd wk or end oct.

gemi, yeap, it's that place. I went to the one called colour (The colour collection). The place was recommended by my husband's cousin. I bought a big sofa for RM 2400 only. also got buy other things like mattress , tv console, small shoe rack, small coffee table. Spent RM4600 in total. The sofa which i saw in s'pore (similar ones) cost abt $1.6 k leh.

gemi,
yah, robin's a nice friendly guy. i wanted to use him for my actual day photography but he's booked liao. i particularly like his journalistic style very much. yah i guess its a exciting feeling to see your photos right, me also can't wait, mine is next week.

berypig,
how's your dieting coming along? ok, must vet thru properly, no mistakes. correct, they take 2 to 3 weeks, i should be getting my cards end this month.

there's this "auspicious" time for stepping out &amp; stepping in.. guess different fortune might give different timings &amp; versions lah..

for us, it's a "range". anytime between 7am - 9am can do whatever.. for some, they hv separate timing for "going out" &amp; "coming in". for others, it may be either the "going out" OR "coming in" timing that's important!

strawberry, which photographer did u book for ur actual day ?

Dieting ah... went JB to pig out ... then my food tasting coming soon... aiyo, dunno how to diet leh. Went to choose my actual day gowns yesterday... and i think it's time to go jogging and do sit ups again. My coordinator said can see extra "ba" on my back shoulders.. arghhh....

Hi gemi,

Just click on my name for the email addie..
Btw, gals have u decided on the march-in song? Have you all heard of the song Always? Seems to be the 80s kind of song...not very sure...I also dunno who sang it think it's a duet..anyone heard of it..the song goes "Girl you are to me..."

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">i sent my cards for printing last Sat.. my uncle dun wanna print for me the format i've done.. he says muz in "traditional" format!! muz hv parents name, then i cannot use those like <FONT COLOR="119911">we, xxx &amp; xxx together with our parents, xxx &amp; xxx</FONT>.. says parents names muz come first, muz show respect &amp; gratitute,.. like those traditional <FONT COLOR="119911">"Mr &amp; Mrs xxx and Mr &amp; Mrs xxx request the pleasure.... of their son/daugther...</FONT>
i so sad... think all my effort went to waste!!

the chinese wordings i oready use standard template liao, the english one still also muz follow the "traditional"!! hiaz... think now i everything oso chin-chai liao lah.. even wedding card wordings oso cannot design ourselves.</FONT>

hi berypig,
my photographer is free lance. his name alex, he's introduced to me by andrew tay of the edge photography. think they're friends.

jia you loh, if can can, if cannot, i'm sure your hubby won't mind and its still going to be the most happiest and prettiest day of your life.
me also not much progress, i got so hungry after my photoshoot that me and hubby reward ourselves by going buffet *sigh*

Hi all Dec2002 brides-to-be,

I'm planning to have my wedding in DEC next year, in fact on X'mas day.

I'm in a dilemna right now cos the 'reaction' i get from others isn't that great when i told them it's gonna be on christmas. So I came to this thread to check if anyone here has a christmas wedding too.

I've gone thru' this thread and found no one with that date... So ladies, can i pls have your comments/opinions??? I really dun wanna make a wrong choice here.

bluechin...whole wkend laze around, din even spring clean after "fight" wif my mom, onli sleep and read comic, so din online

the appt to collect album was fixed quite a while liao, but i did remind them sometime beginning of the week again, yesterday when i went, they juz received the photos from the lab, haven't do touch up yet

my mom say teochew leave early, actually i can dun bother about her but she will give me dat kind of pathetic face
like i bully her! so no choice have to follow her <FONT COLOR="ff0000">instructions</FONT>

she is the one to tell us look for fortune teller, and the fortune teller say no need bother about going out time, onli going in time is important. Now she set her own rule about going out time!

Angelia..the house we rent for my ILs is onli 10mins drive from my house...
i am tinking of going macdonald for breakfast, but my frends suggested dim sum...where got so much budget

and after breakfast how can they eat the buffet?? <FONT COLOR="ff0000">*FAINT*</FONT>

angelia...dats wat my mom said also! after she saw my card, she said why other people's card got parents name on it, then i tell her coz other people's parents paid for it!

and i feel bad after dat
and tell her coz those traditional cards got the parents name so big and can't even see whose the one getting married! anyway it's printed

sunshine.. have u consulted the "tong shu" or fortune teller whether 25/12/2003 is an auspicious day? Actually i dun see what's wrong on christmas day since it's a holiday right? Unless there are ppl who want to celebrate christmas (esp christians) ya?

hahaha.. think all mums like to "alter" rules a bit when the "modern" rules dun suit them.

hmmm... or u go hotel to take pix first lah, else will hv to wait till night then wear WG liao.. then by nite, it's different hairdo liao.. cos after going back ILs' place, gotta change to kwa/tea dress then go back ur mum's place.. after that, maybe u can go PS in kwa/tea dress again

hey, after u eat, take photos not nice nice liao..

i oso told my uncle i dun put parents' names (initially) cos we paying ourselve.. but he say nowadays couples all pay themselves, but still need to put.. then i say chinese one i put liao, but okie lor, stick to the one i hv, but add in parents' name after ours lah, he say no respect... relatives &amp; frenz will scold when they see ur card.. he say only those whoses parents passed away or those who're christians will omit parents' name or phrase it the way i do!!

hiaz.. in the end i oso forget it lah.. since i can't outtalk him and he's the elder one.. hiaz.. so sian.. i spent so many days looking for verses &amp; 3 days designing the cards &amp; look for fonts!!!

ai yah.... seems like we all suffer the same fate of having to print the cards with parent's name hor.....
<FONT COLOR="119911">angelia.... *Sayang*</FONT>

Like my daddy always says..... <FONT COLOR="0000ff">"it's the affair of two, why create so much touble for the rest of the world"</FONT> This i totally agree with him.....Seems like i should have kept to the decision of not having a wedding banquet and just kept to a honeymoon wedding as suggested by my daddy!

My mil also came up with her own timing till i decided to make hubby go with me to that fortune teller to check it out. It turned out that he didn't mentined anything about returning home in one hour's time after my hubby steps into my place but my in law came up with her own timing...... after we told her the fortune teller didn't mention such a thing, she merely say she heard wrongly!!!

Jowie,
u may want to go as wat angelia suggested.... go to the hotel first for your photo shoot..... Or u can also check with your coordinator if u can have an early check in..... so u can also take pics or rest in the room.

Thanks berypig,

I'm not that particular about the auspicious thingy. But according to the calender i checked on the femalebrides website, it is supposed to be auspicious... however according to the geomancer ( read in the papers ), although it is a very good day ( which happens only once every 60 years ),it clashes with my animal sign. But I'm not that affected by this lah.

Well, it just seems that everytime i tell them it's on christmas, the first question asked is " why x'mas??". Even my wedding coorindator at the hotel also commented that christmas is very unpopular day for weddings and so far, she has not handled any. So now, I'm really at a lost.

Also, I tot most christmas celebrations are held on the eve???

dun worry abt me.. if i not okie tmr morning, will go to see doctor &amp; ask for 2 days MC.. then i go new hse "supervise" the workers doing cleaning tmr.. kekeke...

hey, u shld be the one to take care leh...

aiyah.. i am chasing my bridal shop for my photo leh.. she keep saying she is chasing the pple.. told her I want to scan my photos leh... to think that i took them almost 3 mths ahead..

i think they r just choosing those who take last min one to do first.. and pple like me have to wait.. so unfair..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">pk,</FONT>
they initially told me early nov, then later end oct, then called me last evening.. maybe they'll call u next week lah..

maybe u ask them to give u the proofs first lor? i oso, was thinking call them today to ask them when my fotos ready cos i wanna print on my invites (bluff one lah).. but heng they called last nite... kekeke...

angelia,
u hor.... ask you to rest..... you go and supervise the workers.
i'm seldom angry now i angry liao!

yah.... i think my body went mad already.... must really relax to fix it back to good health.....

pk,
perhaps u let them know that u need the pics for your card printing as suggested by angelia and also that u need them for your video presentation..... See wat they can do for you.

Hi Berypig,

RM4600 seems like a good deal for so many things. Yup, I bot my mattress there too. Cheap. Basically, I bot my dining and living room set there.

Strawberry, sorry cannot help you with the song, not sure leh. I haven't thot of songs yet, but I like Canon too. But my march-in is quite short, so Canon may be too slow for that.

Going to be an interesting week, getting my photos and wedding invites. Next week, will be in Japan (on businss trip actually) to start distributing cards to my overseas guests.

aiya, cos by the time i get my MC oready abt 9:30am.. reach home 10+am.. go breakfast/lunch then rest, oready 2-3pm.. cannot sleep lah, else at nite cannot sleep lagi worst!! somemore, the (company) doctor at CCK mah, juz few stops to my new flat.. hahah..

i need to go company doctor else MC not recognised leh..

hi blossom,
excited bride here. yr pix are very lovely and you are very photogenic.....=)) you look great and sexy with her hair let down....

may you &amp; hubby have a blessed wedding!

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">all</FONT>:
can i check with u girls, i got the auspicious timing of 9am to 11 am. <-- does this mean that i must leave the house after 9am and get to my hubby place anytime before 11 am. I tot this only applies to me stepping into my hubby place. between 9 am to 11 p.m. It does not apply to me leaving the house right?? can anyone help me on this.