Too early to start planning?

I've a couple of questions that has been bogging me down and I'm hiding behind this veil of anonymity to ask because I feel that I will get judged if I ask my friends about this.

So the SO and I have BTO-ed for a SOB flat which will be ready in Q4 2017, and with that, it expedited our decisions to get married. I'm not complaining, to be honest, I'm glad cos I always wanted to marry young.

Anw, so right now, we are in the midst of looking for a proposal ring together, and I hope to be able to ROM around Sept- Dec 2016. Most ladies I know do not start planning before the proposal. I once told myself that I will only start planning after he proposed too.

Now, we have already signed a pre-wed photoshoot, and we (okay, mostly me) are looking around for bridal packages, and auspicious/significant dates to ROM, and even planning to consult a fengshui master about this already.

Is this normal? I mean, I feel like we are planning based on a workback schedule (instead of looking ahead) and that all these planning are done even before he propose! I dare not ask my married friends, or soon-to-get married friends because I feel that I'll get judged? Like they may think that I'm rushing?

There's no harm actually, if you and your SO don't mind. Ultimately both of you need to be comfortable with the process!

I've also started visiting bridal studios and scouted for the different vendors (& he just paid for the ring). Initially I was very apprehensive as well, because it seems that the sequence is totally off haha

But I've since come to peace with myself! And my htb is also v supportive of me planning ahead

There's no harm actually, if you and your SO don't mind. Ultimately both of you need to be comfortable with the process!

I've also started visiting bridal studios and scouted for the different vendors (& he just paid for the ring). Initially I was very apprehensive as well, because it seems that the sequence is totally off haha

But I've since come to peace with myself! And my htb is also v supportive of me planning ahead

Thank you! He's been quite contradicting when it comes to planning. Sometimes he's like yeah go ahead and research, and then on some days he's like "why not wait till I propose?"

?????

Are you planning to have your ROM/AD soon? (:

Maybe he's also wondering if he's getting ahead of himself? Haha just take it at a pace you're both comfortable with.

Nope. Mine is in 2017 Hahahaha

Haha. I just explained to him why I'm a bit eager.

1. Need to book JP
2. Various vendors such as venue, MUA
3. Need time to customize wedding bands.

I think he totally forgot about the last point and was like "oh yes...." And then he was like "ok I'll get the available dates settled soon"

I think he gets my point already!

Well, don't stress him too much because proposing can be quite daunting.

Alternatively you can have a ROM ceremony when you get your house keys, then take your time and plan for a banquet. I feel that things should not be rushed as you might forget to enjoy the process. Moreover I believe that most popular venues should be booked for Sept - Dec 2016, judging from the responses of the various threads. :)

I've a couple of questions that has been bogging me down and I'm hiding behind this veil of anonymity to ask because I feel that I will get judged if I ask my friends about this.

So the SO and I have BTO-ed for a SOB flat which will be ready in Q4 2017, and with that, it expedited our decisions to get married. I'm not complaining, to be honest, I'm glad cos I always wanted to marry young.

Anw, so right now, we are in the midst of looking for a proposal ring together, and I hope to be able to ROM around Sept- Dec 2016. Most ladies I know do not start planning before the proposal. I once told myself that I will only start planning after he proposed too.

Now, we have already signed a pre-wed photoshoot, and we (okay, mostly me) are looking around for bridal packages, and auspicious/significant dates to ROM, and even planning to consult a fengshui master about this already.

Is this normal? I mean, I feel like we are planning based on a workback schedule (instead of looking ahead) and that all these planning are done even before he propose! I dare not ask my married friends, or soon-to-get married friends because I feel that I'll get judged? Like they may think that I'm rushing?
Hi im not sure if its even necessity to propose since both of u got an hdb already.. Me and htb went pass that and now already planning for wedding. We skipped alot of process haha.. Dun need to follow the usual process of getting married.. Follow ur heart. Since already hv a house there's no surprise element if he's proposing. In fact it may be awkward for him. But i guess there are guys who enjoy the process. Unfortunately my htb is not. Not that he's not romantic. If u're buying sob i guess it may complete before stipulated date. U may wan to consider having both rom and banquet together..

Well, don't stress him too much because proposing can be quite daunting.

Alternatively you can have a ROM ceremony when you get your house keys, then take your time and plan for a banquet. I feel that things should not be rushed as you might forget to enjoy the process. Moreover I believe that most popular venues should be booked for Sept - Dec 2016, judging from the responses of the various threads. :)

Yup we are just doing a ROM ceremony first next year. Perhaps at Peony Jade @ Keppel Club with a meal with our families only. AD should be 1-2 years down the road!

Hi im not sure if its even necessity to propose since both of u got an hdb already.. Me and htb went pass that and now already planning for wedding. We skipped alot of process haha.. Dun need to follow the usual process of getting married.. Follow ur heart. Since already hv a house there's no surprise element if he's proposing. In fact it may be awkward for him. But i guess there are guys who enjoy the process. Unfortunately my htb is not. Not that he's not romantic. If u're buying sob i guess it may complete before stipulated date. U may wan to consider having both rom and banquet together..

Haha, I think he still believe in the proposing part, and he wants to do it nicely, which is quite thoughtful of him, I have to say! Financial planning wise, we are going to separate both ROM and banquet.

Thank you girls for all your input! I'm not 'abnormal' then! :D

Haha, I think he still believe in the proposing part, and he wants to do it nicely, which is quite thoughtful of him, I have to say! Financial planning wise, we are going to separate both ROM and banquet.

Thank you girls for all your input! I'm not 'abnormal' then! :D
Haha envy u la.. Enjoy the process :) meanwhile i suggest rom at singapore flyer if u're planning to do separate.. But if u're inviting 30 over ppl then skip this venue...

If both party fine with sep-dec 2016 marry then no issue to plan before he propose. And should be start doing research and book hotel banquet as some of the popular hotels might not be available. He will definitely propose to you when the wedding date is nearer.. Actually already applied BTO meaning you both had accepted each other love and live together until die. So propose might not be necessary liao...