(2015/10) October 2015 BTBs

jjjk

just a curious question. how did you ladies choose your dates? are you concerned abt good dates?

For us, we chose 24/10 cos we wanted a weekend in oct and we like even numbers. 1024 resonates well with us so we decided to stick to it despite being slightly swayed by it apparently not being a 'good' date for marriage.

G&Z

just a curious question. how did you ladies choose your dates? are you concerned abt good dates?

For us, we chose 24/10 cos we wanted a weekend in oct and we like even numbers. 1024 resonates well with us so we decided to stick to it despite being slightly swayed by it apparently not being a 'good' date for marriage.

I went online, saw this calendar thingy that mentioned which date is good for wedding and which animal to avoid.. I chose 10 oct becoz it's easy to rem( I'm forgetful n bad with dates) and the lunar date is 28/8 (which fits the FMIL'S even numbers) and becoz it's a Saturday.. Some frens commented that I too anyhow.. Oh well

My hair stylist said to me, "there are couples who chose a date with the fortune teller and yet they still divorce... So as long as it's not a bad date it's fine lah!" ;)

jjjk

10/10 is a good date right? We were considering it too but like 1024 better.

Yea I got the same advice about paying (hundreds!) to get a date from the masters but thought we'd rather be celebrating a date we both like than not.

Haha we also very anyhow. Machiam buying 4D. XD

G&Z

My hair stylist said to me, "there are couples who chose a date with the fortune teller and yet they still divorce... So as long as it's not a bad date it's fine lah!" ;)

haha my mum said the same thing too...

10/10 is a good date right? We were considering it too but like 1024 better.

Yea I got the same advice about paying (hundreds!) to get a date from the masters but thought we'd rather be celebrating a date we both like than not.

Haha we also very anyhow. Machiam buying 4D. XD

i have a good fren who paid 800 plus or sth to choose a date, then i heard that date is a super good date for wedding... it's like a known fact coz it stated in the tong shu... but sometime i think they just wan to "buy" the assurance that it's a good date..

yea apparently 10/10 is a good date and i didnt knw until recently... we should go buy our numbers and see will strike 4D anot

I got my dates calculated! And out of the dates they gave 17/10(sat), 27/10(tus), 14/11(sat) and 4/12(fri), 9/12(weds), 03/01(sun). My mom says no to dates with 4 cus she's pantang kind and we wanted it to be on a Saturday so tts how we got 17/10. Haha.

Using SingaporeBrides app

xjace

I didn't get any one to count any dates.. Neither did I search online whether which date is gd or which date is not suitable.. I was pretty set on holding it in the 10th initially as it was my anniversary date.. But after a few places I wanted to pick tell me that they are booked for that date.. I just decided to pick any other available date MBS had.

To me.. The marriage is more input than gd dates... Though after booking my banquet and etc... My parents was like saying that the date I pick is not suitable for marriage etc... But.. I am just going ahead... Tried changing a few other dates in the year as well, but somehow it just didn't fit our schedules/no available space...

Take it as destiny to be that date then! :p

--jace

G&Z

yea babe just go with gut feeling!

skyMAN

my HTB is abit superstitious so we went to calculate the dates for our wedding.. given few choices and we chose Saturday since most people wouldn't be working on Sunday.. The master also told us which zodiac to be avoided and turn out my flower gal and boy are my clashing zodiac..

Starleaf

hmm actually i think it depends on individuals. If you're not the pangtang type or will not think too much if others say date not good, then i think can do without getting the calculation from masters. =)

Zeedee

Well she's ok really. She's been friendly and prompt in her responses so I wouldn't say she's 'jialat'. Very keen to sign with them still, but def not when we were in stress mode yesterday. Will see how the chemistry goes when they email to follow up. *cross fingers*

haha actually what are the perks given at the wedding show? what's the price for dinner at PRBR now?

Kimmy_red

hi, I'm October 2015 bride. Can you add me in the fb? My actual day on the 24th. Doing prewedding photo shoots in Taipei next March. The rest still sourcing.... My email, [email protected]

jjjk

haha actually what are the perks given at the wedding show? what's the price for dinner at PRBR now?

They gave a discount of $150++/table for their wedding show with choice of 2 additional perks on top of their standard package.

G&Z

hi, I'm October 2015 bride. Can you add me in the fb? My actual day on the 24th. Doing prewedding photo shoots in Taipei next March. The rest still sourcing.... My email, [email protected]

Hi Kimmy! I have added you to the group... pls feel free to share your thoughts in the group... have u cfm ur venue?

G&Z

my HTB is abit superstitious so we went to calculate the dates for our wedding.. given few choices and we chose Saturday since most people wouldn't be working on Sunday.. The master also told us which zodiac to be avoided and turn out my flower gal and boy are my clashing zodiac..

so you changing the flower girl and boy?

jjjk

Ya.. no choice loh.. :( the flower boy is very sad.. haha

We wanted to ask my bf's nephew to open car door for us but his zodiac clashes with the date so we'll get his little brother to do it. We decided to keep him as flower boy for the banquet march-in tho, since that has nothing to do with the customary procedures anyway <- our own logic haha.

Kimmy_red

Hi, G&Z , I dun see the notification in my fb. Can u add me again? rainywhite @hotmail.com
We haven't have a venue yet. we only need 20 to 24 tables. We can't meet the min tables of most hotels. Others It's either too ex or the ceiling is low. So still sourcing...

Will meet up with planners from The Moment and Love stories. Not sure if we would engage a planner..

G&Z

Hi, G&Z , I dun see the notification in my fb. Can u add me again? rainywhite @hotmail.com
We haven't have a venue yet. we only need 20 to 24 tables. We can't meet the min tables of most hotels. Others It's either too ex or the ceiling is low. So still sourcing...

Will meet up with planners from The Moment and Love stories. Not sure if we would engage a planner..

just tried adding you but if you still don't received the notification, maybe you would like to search OCT BTB under groups or Oct 2015

hippo_woody

Putting wedding prep aside, getting busy with finding house. Anyone else concurrently busy with house & wedding?
$ fly fly...

Putting wedding prep aside, getting busy with finding house. Anyone else concurrently busy with house & wedding?
$ fly fly...

We didn't manage to get bto although we had a ballot q number. Gg to try for sales of bal this nov...

Which areas you all looking to get?

G&Z

Can't get a new htb flat as I'm currently co-owning the flat with my parents.. So married first then we see how I can pull out my name n get a new hse or sth

Oh. My fiancé's mom can't wait for us to move out We also want to move out ASAP and enjoy life with each other's company 1st before planning for a family.

Btw, who's doing gate crashing?

hippo_woody

We're looking ard for new development. Hopefully can get 1 new unit at a good price. Subsale bo hua. My SO not eligible to get new HDB/EC flat. We dun intend to combine name for new house coz my name is stuck in another property & wanna flip property when price is right.

G&Z

Oh. My fiancé's mom can't wait for us to move out We also want to move out ASAP and enjoy life with each other's company 1st before planning for a family.

Btw, who's doing gate crashing?

I am doing gatecrash but something for fun

skyMAN

My house estimated to be ready in Q117, but I heard usually will be ready about a year before.. hopefully can save more money before the house come..

G&Z

yea renovations will cost a bomb from what I heard...

jjjk

Updated my details.

3 October
ChezzieL
Venue:
BS:

xjace
Venue: MBS
BS: La Belle Couture

10 October
G&Z
Venue: Raffles Hotel
BS: Calla by Casey Loh

Zeedee
Venue: Parkroyal @ Beach Road
BS: Z Wedding

Steffdarling
Venue:
BS:

17 October
SkyMan
Venue: Concorde Hotel Singapore
BS: Sophia Wedding Collection

Starleaf
BS: Bluebay

stephieessie
Venue:
BS:

18 October
hippo_woody
Venue:
BS: The Aisle

Yui
Venue: Sheraton Towers
BS:

21 October
miniminmin
Venue:
BS:

24 October
lwings
Venue:
BS:

jjjk
Venue: Pan Pacific Singapore
BS: Digio

30 October
FLXH
BS:

hippo_woody

Hi CxD, I just invited u to the FB grp.

3 October
ChezzieL
Venue:
BS:

xjace

10 October
G&Z

Zeedee

Steffdarling
Venue:
BS:

11 October
CxD
Venue:
BS:

17 October
SkyMan

Starleaf

stephieessie
Venue:
BS:

18 October
hippo_woody
Venue:

Yui
BS:

21 October
miniminmin
Venue:
BS:

24 October
lwings
Venue:
BS:

jjjk

30 October
FLXH
BS:

CxD

Thanks for the add! I have also updated the list below :)

3 October
ChezzieL
Venue:
BS:

xjace

10 October
G&Z

Zeedee

Steffdarling
Venue:
BS:

11 October
CxD
BS: My Dream Wedding

17 October
SkyMan

Starleaf

stephieessie
Venue:
BS:

18 October
hippo_woody
Venue:

Yui
BS:

21 October
miniminmin
Venue:
BS:

24 October
lwings
Venue:
BS:

jjjk

30 October
FLXH
BS:

Updated my venue and still sourcing for AD BS for gown rental.

3 October
ChezzieL
Venue:
BS:

xjace

10 October
G&Z

Zeedee

Steffdarling
Venue:
BS:

11 October
CxD
BS: My Dream Wedding

17 October
SkyMan

Starleaf

stephieessie
Venue: Movènpick Heritage Hotel
BS:

18 October
hippo_woody
Venue:

Yui
BS:

21 October
miniminmin
Venue:
BS:

24 October
lwings
Venue:
BS:

jjjk

30 October
FLXH
BS:

pepperman chua

Hi. I am having my wedding on 10 Oct.

Would like to find out if anyone has recommendation on cheap wedding planner as I have budget and is still decent.

Please help~!

Hi. I am having my wedding on 10 Oct.

Would like to find out if anyone has recommendation on cheap wedding planner as I have budget and is still decent.

Please help~!

I don't have a recommendation but I can tell you who not to go for.. Haha

My friend got married last year and she was telling me of her bad experience with Hannah of Heaven's Gift. She was saying that she gave her a reasonable budget, but she proposed a plan that was 3x the budget price. So my friend in the end had to do all the sourcing work (finding cheaper vendors herself) and passing the contacts to them to get the job done. Not exactly what you would expect a wedding planner to do for you, as my impression is that if a budget is given to you, you have to at least try to stick to it and source the best vendors for the couple, taking the stress off them.

So I think it's very simple when choosing a wedding planner - talk to them and see if you are on the same page, and make sure they are able to keep to their budget and make you both happy at the same time. Unless if you have deep pockets of course, then this is not an issue I guess. ✌️

pepperman chua

Wow. Thanks for your advice! How much is it for a decent simple wedding planner on the average? We juz need to source for deco n lightings n overall coordination. Will it be 3k range or 5k? Or higher ?

G&Z

Wow. Thanks for your advice! How much is it for a decent simple wedding planner on the average? We juz need to source for deco n lightings n overall coordination. Will it be 3k range or 5k? Or higher ?

Hi I'm currently using The Moment to plan for my wedding.. It all depends on what do you need and ur budget.. N most importantly if u can work with them since u r going to work with them most of the time..

They can source for u but ultimate decision still lies with u

hippo_woody

I have uploaded some quotations (in PDF) onto Oct 2015 BTBs FB group. Some r v ex thou. U can consider LeFairy Meadow. I think their price r reasonable.

Kimmy_red

Just went to view M hotel, marina mandrain hotel and novotel Clarke quay.

Novotel Cinnamon has the highest ceilings and I dun feel claustrophobic compared to marina mandrain vista room. The reception outside cinnamon ballroom also v spacious and bright. My only concern is most of the feedback in the forum is so negative. . Anyone been to a wedding over there lately?

G&Z

nope i have never been there... what is the negative feedback about?

miniminmin

I've met up with The Moment and Chere. Chere quoted me $5,888 for full wedding planning service but price is flexible if u have already sourced some stuff n do not require them to do.

miniminmin

I don't have a recommendation but I can tell you who not to go for.. Haha

My friend got married last year and she was telling me of her bad experience with Hannah of Heaven's Gift. She was saying that she gave her a reasonable budget, but she proposed a plan that was 3x the budget price. So my friend in the end had to do all the sourcing work (finding cheaper vendors herself) and passing the contacts to them to get the job done. Not exactly what you would expect a wedding planner to do for you, as my impression is that if a budget is given to you, you have to at least try to stick to it and source the best vendors for the couple, taking the stress off them.

So I think it's very simple when choosing a wedding planner - talk to them and see if you are on the same page, and make sure they are able to keep to their budget and make you both happy at the same time. Unless if you have deep pockets of course, then this is not an issue I guess. ✌️
Hi steff, isit heaven's gift wedding concierge? The person who replied me was kim tay. If its the same company then i will reconsider. :/

I'm not sure if it's the same or not. Maybe it was just that particular wedding planner... :/ Your wedding planner should understand your needs and work around whatever limitations that you may have.

Have you met up with Kim Tay? If you haven't, then I suggest that you set up an appointment with her and talk over your concerns (such as working around a specific budget and not giving you ideas for things that you can't afford to spend on). If she seems flexible in that sense and you find that you can accept working with her, then I say - go for it. Otherwise, there are other wedding planners to choose from, as mentioned by the fellow brides here. Good luck in your hunt!

Just went to view M hotel, marina mandrain hotel and novotel Clarke quay.

Novotel Cinnamon has the highest ceilings and I dun feel claustrophobic compared to marina mandrain vista room. The reception outside cinnamon ballroom also v spacious and bright. My only concern is most of the feedback in the forum is so negative. . Anyone been to a wedding over there lately?

I went there 2 months back for a Saturday wedding dinner. I'm not sure what problems the bride and groom faced, but from a guest's point of view, their servers lack knowledge and can't speak English very well. I think there were a few Vietnamese or Burmese servers.

For example, I asked what wines were they serving, and they could not reply me (ok nvm, small matter, as most of them are part timers). So I said ok, just show me the bottle and I'll have a look. The server gave me a confused look and asked another person over. I repeated my story again, and again another confused look from the 2nd server. Then they just ignored me (?!?!). Finally I had to find a server who looked Singaporean, and I got what I wanted - to have a look at the bottle and have my glass of wine.

My bf had the same incident with his soft drink request - he asked what kind of soft drinks they had, and the reply he got was "we have red wine, white wine, chinese tea and soft drinks". He asked again and same answer. He decided to just ask for coke in the end. Haha.

Quite funny thinking about it. Haha...

C&S

Hi I am pretty new to singapore brides. . I m 11th oct 2015 BTB. . Just confirmed the date today.. supposed to be 10th oct but was told not an auspicious date for us.. booked our venue.. A lil confuse what's next in the pipeline to be done.. haha..

G&Z

bridal studio, AD's PG and VG etc etc... think of the color or what theme do you have to have

hippo_woody

Hi I am pretty new to singapore brides. . I m 11th oct 2015 BTB. . Just confirmed the date today.. supposed to be 10th oct but was told not an auspicious date for us.. booked our venue.. A lil confuse what's next in the pipeline to be done.. haha..

Thinking of who to rope in as ur JMs and XDs.