Marrying a work permit holder

blu3_marin3

I am in a relationship with a China Work Permit holder. We are serious with this relationship. He had proposed and wanted to marry soon as we are in a relationship for 2 years already but are there any way that I can marry a Work Permit holder? He had been working in this current company for 3 years and had requested for S Pass. The company wanted to give him but his highest degree is only a vocational high school in China therefore the company hesitated and told him to wait for another 3 to 6 years. I myself is a SPR for 2 years with income above 3K but they say it won't help much as I'm the female side. Marrying outside singapore is an option but to do that we won't be able to stay in singapore because PRs can not marry WPs, right? Me moving to China also impossible because my ability to read & speak chinese sucks. I love Singapore, that's why I don't want to leave this country... Please, need an advise... Thanks in advance!

The issue lies with your partner as a work permit holder, not u. The marriage restriction policy requires all current and former work permit holders to seek approval from the MOM before marrying a Singapore citizen or PR. He needs to apply to mom if he wants to marry u

Thanks for replying, wjchiang. What seems to be unfair for him is that he's currently working as a supervisor because he is one of the senior in his department. The people that he supervised mostly are S Pass holder(they have their university degree that's why they can get S Pass in the first place). I don't know whether the company is sincere to help him get his S Pass or only taking him for granted as they know he got his relationship with me which make him not eager to go back home to China (so they can get a supervisor with a price of a worker?). If he try to apply for another job will his company sack him and immediately send him back home to China? I know that Malaysian WP got 15 days to get a new job, but for China WP, are they allowed to do so? About MoM I have tried to e-mail them about this, no reply at all...

Fair/Unfair, very subjective. I'm in no position to advise u on that since i won't know the details. If he feels that he's not getting what he deserves, he can fight for it. There are many ways to do that, can talk to his boss to voice his dissatisfaction if he truly believes he's worth more, or he can choose to leave. How does the com. know that he's not eager to go back? he can always take u back with him, i don't suppose they have to know that u don't really wanna go there. Just a warning though, if u wanna call a bluff, then u have to be prepared when it doesn't work and have them tell u "ok then, thank u, good bye".
What will happen if he tries to apply for another job, i wouldn't know. Has he even tried to see what could be available to him though? I'm no expert so u shud really check with MOM. Email, no response, call lor. Call, no pick up, can go down to MOM personally. Address can find out online, just google it.

just a question... what is the purpose of the marriage cert Now? if u can live and breathe as a married couple without the cert, and if having a cert causes more issues At Present than not having it and living status-quo... then perhaps it's better to shelf it and just live happy the way u are now...

blumarine,

To your question on the termination of a work permit holder, yes. Once the work permit is terminated, the company will repatriate the relevant personnel back to their country immediately.

This is because they do not want to lose the 5k security bond which they place on every WP holder that would be defaulted accompanied more infringements with the law shall the WP holder went MIA. That is also why companies practise the safekeeping of their workers passport too if they are WP holders.

powder,

totally understand where u're coming from, but think bit dangerous to suggest that in this case. I remember vaguely a case of a man applying nth times (if not wrong, hundreds? but unsure) in 6,7 years while his phil gf, a former passholder, waited back in her home country in those years, and their application still got rejected by mom without giving any reasons. Think was a forum article, but ah, doesn't matter where it was from, the point i wanna make is: In TS' case, IF she will NEVER consider leaving s'pore, or she belongs to the type who will not start a family/live a life as a married couple without the marriage cert, then she'll have to realize their application may have the chance of not being approved, ever - important consideration in making a decision on the r/s. I would say probably impt even before getting into a serious r/s, but done deal, so pointless to tell her that now, but might be important to in the consideration of her r/s from here on...

which part dangerous? living together without a cert? as long as they dun start a family... she stay on the pill and he doubles up with a condom... i think there's nothing dangerous here... a longterm bfren/gfren who are as good as married in their mind.

If just want to get married, can they register their marriage elsewhere like in either of their home country?

What is the purpose of getting their marriage recognised in Singapore unless you want to enjoy the privileges of married status in Singapore, which is none if one party is not Singapore citizen or PR.

wah lau eh, don't pick on my words leh. If I'm one who wants to get married legally eventually, and see this as a problem which may never find a solution, then i will think v seriously about whether to continue the relationship or not leh, no? "cut the long pain short"

doll, i suppose u can get married elsewhere, but i'm not sure the passholder can come into singapore or live here after the pass expires...

i not picking hor... dun misunderstand. i'm an advocate of non-marriage until such time u need the cert for registry of birth or tax incentives... else i wouldn't bother getting married. it has No Benefits tat suits me... i would prefer to be single... the benefits are Wayyyy better... at least me and my non-legal wife can EACH buy a 4rm HDB, stay in 1 and rent the other out... and even make money. for me - being unmarried has More financial benefits Anytime.

but that's u leh. so IF ts is the type who will wanna be married legally to start a family, then that's when wat i said will come into consideration lor. I think shud consider these things NOW and even consider whether to carry on or not, rather than being happy for just now and dunno watta do later when same thing hits u in the face leh.
Also, why i said "dangerous" in TS' case, coz she different from u mah, she and her non-legal hb cannot each buy a hdb leh, in fact he might not even be able to stay here or allowed to come to singapore in the forseeable future hor. So unless TS is open to other options apart from living in S'pore- which doesn't sound like she is, then she better run some deeper thoughts

"i suppose u can get married elsewhere, but i'm not sure the passholder can come into singapore or live here after the pass expires..."

Should be OK lah, as long as marriage not registered in Singapore, they are free to marry whoever, wherever.

well wj,

the hdb comment came after your dangerous comment. and i agree, it's Me, my thoughts... just as U, your thoughts is leading u to your thoughts on the marriage...

i'm just going backwards and asking myself, If he didn't suggest marriage, would they still be happy? if the answer is yes, why not be status-quo?

of cos if want kids, then it's a different consideration liao, cos it might affect their ability to stay here... let alone marry here.

all i'm asking is whether it's so crucial for them to be married?

u seem to be saying either can get married or consider breaking up.

i'm saying Why need to get married... whereas the relationship can remain... is there a Righter advice for now?

To TS

Everyone who is well connected here knows if a rule that is applied to any issue is subjective, then of course the results of whether one's application for need of approval, is also subjective.

Certain ppl of certain category have no problem whatsoever with marrying WP or someone having worked here before, sort of issue.

In this world , it's a matter of who is that applicant and what sort of connection you have.

As though by now you have not figured this out, if that issue is subjective and to subjected to subjective rules, the above always applies!

u need the cert for registry of birth or tax incentives... else i wouldn't bother getting married. it has No Benefits tat suits me... i would prefer to be single... the benefits are Wayyyy better... at least me and my non-legal wife can EACH buy a 4rm HDB, stay in 1 and rent the other out... and even make money. for me - being unmarried has More financial benefits Anytime."

the so called tax incentives for married couples are negligible. Certainly "Single" got more financial rewards.

Actually the issue is not the marriage. they sure can marry elsewhere .. just go register the marriage somewhere else..

The issue is whether TS's bf can continue to work in SG and has a job.

no "correct" advice one lah, coz we dunno what exactly TS is thinking and at what point she places them in the r/s now. What we all say will be things for her to consider, and it wud be up to her to decide whether she is at that point of wanting to start a family with kids now, or later, or don't wanna think about it.

anyway TS, hope i didn't scare u, it's not impossible, but u have to be aware of the various possibilities

ah, i just finished reading jaycomposer's comments. Yes, it's not the issue of marriage. U can get married anywhere. It's whether u want to have a relationship where both stay in the same country. Unless u're happy to have a r/s living apart, marriage or not, then u'll have to consider that there is this possibility that the WP holder may not be allowed to stay in singapore after this permit expires.

To All,

Thank you very much for the replies and suggestions. I really appreciate it.

Currently, we are not able to meet regularly, let alone to be able to live and breathe together as though we're a married couple. According to his company regulation, he must stay in company's worker dormitory together along with the other work permit holders.

I am aware that we will always have the option to marry outside Singapore. But that option surely will also come with a consequence of we're staying way more apart than now with him not being able to enter singapore in the future.

About why don't I just go with him to China.... It will be difficult. If I'm a young 15 years old with nothing to be responsible of then yes, I will go with him to China to build our family there. But I have fallen in love with Singapore. I have spent so many years of my life, with all my friends and my communities here, I always call Singapore my home. I was so glad that finally I can get my PR almost 3 years ago. I just never thought that settling down going to be a very difficult option.

I know it sounds selfish for me to choose Singapore over a love that supposed to be sacrificing for each other. But let's just be realistic about life. I can't speak or even read Chinese properly, let alone to built a proper career path in China. Some more, with family and children coming along the way after the marriage, I don't think rebuilding a career will be as easy as when I was single and young some long time ago. Some more, I have built everything that I have up to this point here in Singapore. To leave it all and start from scratch in China? Career wise won't it be too risky?

I have talked to him to take this as a consideration. And he agreed, he himself also think going back to China is not an option. Even he, a China citizen himself say that finding a job in China is difficult, some more I can not speak or read Chinese properly. I am willing wait, but how long can it be for him to convert his permit to s-pass? I have heard a work permit holder being able to convert after 10 years of staying. Anyone heard for shorter period?

Hi bluemarine

I understand ur situation as mine is the same as U except I am Sporean. Having r/s with foreigners is not easy but Me n him finally n managed overcome all the difficulties n will undergo our customary marriage next yr mar.

U can enquiry from the MOM n see whether he can get married in Singapore. If yes, consider U n him get ROM first. And then try to apply SPR via spouse sponsorship. But there is no guarantee he will succeed. And he may have to serve NS.

To convert from work permit to S Pass, time is not a factor. Is his qualifications, minimum must be a diploma holder in order to have a S pass.

Its very tricky.. better at least get ur S pass and PR status first... else if next time have baby... how...??? father will need to be sent back to china left u and baby here... very sticky situation...

sorry to say, but very likely he'll NOT be able to get a PR status in the future. In most cases only EP-holders (min salary $2500)are able to apply for SPR status & it'll still be assessed on case-to-case basis. A high-school grad from China is unlikely to get EP & hence, unlikely to get SPR

I've interviewed a few s'porean females who have got married with a foreigner or WP holder without checking whether their husbands can get a PR. It's an awful situation to be in esp if the wife becomes pregnant yet still hv to work cos the husband cannot find work (no PR). Worse if the husband cannot even speak fluent english...

@snoopy: *hug* let's be strong to get through this. Btw, can you help to explain what is customary marriage?
@orchard: understood. I have thought about this way long before he even proposed. But I have no choice. As sick as this sounds, love indeed goes on beyond regional limit or nationality status, am I right?
@whynot: I thought government worry about low birth rate, then why need to limit female citizen/SPR not to marry WP holders? I heard for male to marry WP holder it's easier to let the wife goes through the WP to higher pass process. I know females tend to follow their husbands but things have change now, female have been more independent and strong willing than before, and it's not strange for females to provide for their family nowadays, isn't it?

blumarine:

i think the govt is worried about low birth rate, but they still put the country's welfare above all. A WP holder is deemed to be low-salaried worker (*no offense*) and hence, may not be able to support a family in the long run, & therefore may burden the country.

And, i think (i think hor...) it's also b/c females may be able to get cheated more easily into marrying a man. Example: those african/nigerian men who conned SGP women into marrying them & supporting their lifestyles here. If many SGP women are conned by these men into marriage & these men can easily obtained a work pass, u can imagine what will happen to this country.

It's easier for a SGP male to marry a WP female because traditionally, a male is still the breadwinner. As long as the male can provide justification that his earnings is able to support his wife, his marriage should be approved. SGP, though modern country, is still somewhat traditional in nature.

bluemarine > I nt so sure how to explain what is "customary marriage". Normally elders only recognize customary marriage even though ROM is legally recognized in the eyes of law

Its involves a lot of things such as "Guo Da Li", "An Chuang" etc. Newly wedded couples will toast tea to their parents, meaning the parents accept this daughter-in-law / son-in-law.

Which country are U from?

@whynot:
Thanks for the explanation. I did came through to that point of judgement. If I am the government, I would also think of the best for my country. I don't know about those African/Nigerian men, though. I thought they're here on visit pass and lure those women to marry them? Can you elaborate a bit on the case. Because, if they are, then rest assured.

Let us see the difference here... Those men probably misused their visit pass, they probably don't even have the proper education to make it here in SIngapore. Therefore they make use of Singapore women to marry them and provide their lifestyle here. In the other hand, I know the guy I'm dealing with. He's been staying here for years, and I've been with him for two years. If he is indeed an ill willing person, he will go haywire when his contract ended like his colleagues that came in the same batch with him. Most of them were sent back by the company for making troubles. He's among the few that stays until now, some more he's now working as a supervisory role which means his boss somehow value him as a trustworthy and responsible person.

Then, this comes to another funny bureaucracy I hate to face. The fact that a foreigner, with no permit at all, no education background to be worried about, came to singapore with a tourist visit pass. stay for 30 days, and voila, they can marry with a citizen. While my guy, working and contributing his efforts to a local company in singapore for years, his education background become a huge matter just to marry. Such an irony, isn't it?

Come to think of it, he did consider continuing his education, but with 12 working hours a day, and no chance to walk out of the dormitory up to certain hours, where can he find time to join a class? Which education institution in Singapore that still open at 10 PM when he's off work?

Anyways, if I go to MoM, will they treat this as a case to case basis and try to see through the matter thoroughly before they decide? Should we approach his employer or should we go to MoM first? I realized that his company, is very well established and therefore responsible and strict with their workers. I'm worried that if his company knows that he intend to marry with his current permit then they will terminate him.

@snoopy:
I see. I often visit my Singaporean and Chinese Malaysian friends, now I know what does that mean with the tea ceremony and all that. Thanks for your kind explanation.

@Dong:
Thank you for providing the legal document.

Hi blumarine,

Just wondering if your issue has been resolved?

My bf is an ex-WP holder and we are getting ready our application to MOM for marriage approval. We have read many sad stories about rejected cases and hence we wish to play "extra caution" before the submission.

Is there any good and useful advice for higher rates of success? Thanks!

my maternal aunt married a malaysian in malaysia .. when they found out, they banned my uncle from coming into singapore for many years. she had to bring their children into malaysia on the weekends, just so that the father and children can meet.

i married an EP holder - initially thought that we would have to get approval from MOM too but they clarified that it's not necessary, only for WP holders. me and the husband got married only a month after he got the EP.

Hi, Good day to all! just want to hear some advice because I'm a Filipino Work Permit holder here in Singapore & I have a boyfriend which is SPR. Is there any conflict if we go back to our country and get married there & we'll come back here in SG for work but then this time we're already husband & wife? And is there a possibility for me now as WP holder to become an SPR also if he applied for me? or if not what other pass he can apply for me to stay in Singapore?

Thank you. Hoping for an informative reply. God bless!

Not sure about WPs. For EP and SP, I don't see the issue for foreigners marrying here with employers having legal employment passes. The issue comes when they want to start a family. Given current tightening measures that are pretty ambiguous about their criterias, they will not be able to apply for parents to come over to take care of the baby. Even the approval for the baby to remain in Singapore may likely be rejected. So, our foreign work force, be very aware. This affects not only those on employment passes but PRs as well.

Just a note on WP. I understand there are certain criteria when they came to Spore to work and holds WP. Under the employment law for WP holders they are not suppose to get married and also pregnant. If that happened their WP will be revoked and they be sent back. So that could tells why.

On other note. Its if one have diploma or higher edu level but if their job nature is not professional and their co does not have enough quota to obtained S pass for their worker, they still b place under WP. Each co have a specified no of quota to hire the type of employee under what nationality and passes.

But of coz don't be discourage to this. Chances if you upgrade yourself in edu, you be likely to get S Pass and S Pass holder stand the same changes as other to apply PR. Probably bit difficult but there's are no specific reasons of rejection from ICA as it's varies from lot of background to the job and salary. But based on my experience processing PR applications for employees...try to only apply it after 2 years of stay with that pass, it could stand higher chances.

In fact if he is working in 12 hrs shift, i think it's not a reason he can't tk part time course during his off days..which i think alot of foreigner here who same situation also able to. Don't find reasons to stop for going for it if this really important. Today govt are more strict in issuing passes, PR nad even Citizenship. All the best.

oh no ,

im so demoralized now. i'm dating my SO and he is a WP holder. im a Singaporean . i understand that we got to seek approval from MOM before we can proceed with our solemnization in this December. I'm now stuck in writing the letter. Does anyone know how should i go about it ? I tried to find some samples but unfortunately cant find .

Is it true that if MOM rejects us , does it means that he will be terminated from current co and send back to msia ?

please help ! thanks

oh no ,

im so demoralized now. i'm dating my SO and he is a WP holder. im a Singaporean . i understand that we got to seek approval from MOM before we can proceed with our solemnization in this December. I'm now stuck in writing the letter. Does anyone know how should i go about it ? I tried to find some samples but unfortunately cant find .

Is it true that if MOM rejects us , does it means that he will be terminated from current co and send back to msia ?

please help ! thanks

Are u sure you want to marry a work permit holder? Where is he from?

why do you need a sample? You write describing exactly your situation and request. Not someone else's situation.

Yup. I have draft out a letter on our details. I hope they dont reject us. Is it true that if MOM rejects our application , meaning he will be terminated from his current co ?

hi everyone, what if the MOM marriage application is not approved, in what ways can i do to appeal for approval? Please advice. thank you.

You can appeal but not sure if that will help. I think MOM will look into the person's background or bad records when giving the approval. May be your partner has some bad records? May be it's to your own good. : )

Hi blu3_marin3,

I hope after 5 years, you and your boyfriend's case has been approved by the Singapore government.

I am currently in a relationship with a WP holder. He is from China and I am a Singapore citizen. We want to send in our "Permission to marry a Singapore citizen/SPR" application form to MOM, but we are afraid that once we send it, the government will repatriate him back to China. He can't apply for S pass as he does not have a Diploma cert. We really do not know what to do.

Can anyone share with us their stories or stories you know of of such cases? Any successful cases in which the female is a Singaporean/SPR and the male is a WP holder?

Really need help badly.

Hi blu3_marin3,

I hope after 5 years, you and your boyfriend's case has been approved by the Singapore government.

I am currently in a relationship with a WP holder. He is from China and I am a Singapore citizen. We want to send in our "Permission to marry a Singapore citizen/SPR" application form to MOM, but we are afraid that once we send it, the government will repatriate him back to China. He can't apply for S pass as he does not have a Diploma cert. We really do not know what to do.

Can anyone share with us their stories or stories you know of of such cases? Any successful cases in which the female is a Singaporean/SPR and the male is a WP holder?

Really need help badly.

hi there , my case is the same and I just send all the information that MOM need , and it turns out to be my partner don't need a permission letter. No harm sending as I have called a few times to confirm that even you failed to get permission , your partner will not be send back . hope it helps. thanks