Yvonne Creative

mich03

Hi Sept03bride,
Thanks for ur advice. I do agree that coordination work can be hassling .. but i dun wish for the pics to spoil my whole album. <sigh> nvm .. i will be going down to YC this sun so i will ask her to show me Xiao Cai's latest PS for other couples .. maybe i can have a better idea of his style. Eh, ur wedding over liao, rite? How was it? Can i know where you held ur wedding? Me kpo a bit lar ... haha. Also hor, do u mind letting me have a look at ur pics?

Pepsi,
Where did he suggest to take the pics at? How did ur pics turn out in the end?

sept03bride

Hi Meixia,
i tink hor he doesn't realli hv much styles to play with.. i tink he's patterns all beri std 1
yah my wedding over liao... it went well, good in fact. I realli like the hair styles and make up that Minnie did for me. She is good.
My wedding was at Holiday Inn Park View, the staff there was great too.
no issues abt showing u the pics but i haven hv time to scan in, and i hv problems scanning the pics cos the album is big.

sept03bride

Hi pepsi,
yalor he has big attitude problem.
Anyway after our PS, even if we saw him at YC, we dun bother to tok to him... cos he's so irritating

mich03

Hi SEpt03bride,
Ok... take ur time to scan. I dun need a lot .. just a few can liao.. thanks so much for ur trouble leh ... "gan-ji-bu-jing" .. keke
Holiday Inn ah? Nice or not ah? But not very the convenient hor? cos the mrt not nearby ... My future mother-in-law wants the hotel that is very accessible one .... Me looking at Merchant Court now ....

Ok lar ... i will keep u guys posted on my experience on sun .... But 1 thing is for sure at YC --- I love her gowns!!! i think they can be compared to Bridal Veil liao ... and at a lower price too ... keke ....

sept03bride

aiyah no problem at all...

Holiday inn is not too bad if u dun mind pillar loh...but if u tok abt accessibility, its ok cos the nearest MRT is Somerset, walk abt 7 mins will reach liao. So okie...But i know Holiday Inn's food and service is not bad. So sort of compromise for the pillarless... somemore free flow of beer and no corkage charges, ok mah
Merchant Court, i went to see the ballroom too. I like it cos it's pillarless...
Heehee... we have the same taste cos i went to Bridal Veil too... hahahahaaa
Their package is X leh...and if u need futher details to ur gown, need to pay extra. Then i tink will surely cost a bomb...dats y cannot afford to consider them too

cin

Hi Sept03Bride,

Remember me? How have you been? I finally finished uploading our wedding day photos; very slow haha 3 months after wedding then finish uploading...

anyway, i remembered previously you mentioned that you would like to see them? you can view them at http://community.webshots.com/user/tianchongandcindy as well as our studio photos... can see my wedding gown, tea dress and evening gown by Yvonne

anw

I have just viewed my photo. Personally, i felt that it was good...
upgrade my package to make the mag style album + all the goodies that come with it... of course it comes with a price of 2K+ but both my wife and myself thought it was worth it...

Have a good nice talk with Siao Cai and found that he's not bad actually... he talked to us about his idea on how to make our album and we are really convinced that he will do a good job for us. But of course, until i see the final product, i can't comment further. However, i found that he's quite sincere and he's probably "moody" most of the time because of his heavy workload of managing both photoshooting and designing of the mag albums. He told us that he always go to his room to do his photo layout everytime the photoshoot couples are changing.... hmmmm... maybe that will clear the grey issue why he's always "disappearing" after each different backgrounds and different dressings.

This is only my personal view though and i hope it will help to ease the minds of those people who is worried about the outcome..( actually my wife was very worried too when we saw those postings ..)...

okay, i will post when i see my final product... which will probably be in nov/dec cos my wedding is in dec. I believe if it's good... then it must be praised,.. hope i can continue praising them when i get to see my album...kekeke..

chenoa

Hi Cin,

Ya.... remember seeing your album at Yvonne's. I love the colour of the roses contrast with the wedding gown and overall background colour. Minnie was using that to explain the efforts by Xiao Cai into the photos. Says he very particular about the colours and type of flowers in the bouquet, very little details is dictated by him. True?

BTW, noticed that you are very fair and hubby quite tan. sama sama. I quite fair and my hubby natural skin is dark. So the photos we used to take very contrasting especially with flash.

Though cannot see clearly, but is that crystals on the front of your haulter WG? Very fine detailing and beautiful. Is that MTM? You have made a good choice!

cin

Hi Chenoa,

You mean the flowers in the studio photos? Yup, the flowers were chosen by YC and the backdrops decided by Xiao Cai. Basically, we just left everything up to him, but i told him and reiterated to him that most importantly, make sure i do not look fat haha... actual day bouquet was decided by myself and feng jie.

Like most photographers or artistic folk, Xiao Cai has his own idiosyncrasies, but at the end of the day, as long as he gives us what we want and we are happy with the end product, we will have no complains.

As such in our case, we were pleased with YC for the gowns and photos. Basically everything turned up ok. Of course, along the way there were some minor hiccups, but in the end we were satisfied with what we received.

Yes, both the gowns are MTM and those are beadings and crystals on the bodice of the gown. Actually along the hem of the gown got more crystals and sequins, but couldn't really tell from the pictures i think, cause it's at the bottom.

During the photo shoot, i felt that the crystals on the gowns were not enough, so I kept telling Yvonne more more! i want 'ching ching shiny shiny' haha so in the end when i collected my gowns a few days before the wedding, there was a lot of sequins and crystals added all over the gown. heh heh

chenoa

Hi Cin,

Did Yvonne ask you to top up for the extra beadings and such to the gown? I think the crystals on the bodice enough already.

Is Dily really good?

rosemary

juz like to comment that i will not recommend yvonne creative to whomever is getting married. my package costs $2888 but ended up i paid more than $5000 (due to lots of hidden costs here &amp; there). for the amount i paid,i could have gotten more exclusive gowns, service, etc...elsewhere

even though the things are indicated in the receipt but they will twist their words. Eg. 5R photos are inclusive. But when come to photo selection, they told us 5R only for front cover inside all will be 3R! (if want to have 5R then pay lor)...also they were all very "superficial". they'll tell u everything is nice on you so long as it makes their work easier &amp; faster.

i muz say however, the only "experience" i had was the photographer is pleasant &amp; his photos are ok.

cin

Hi Chenoa,

No, didn't have to top up for extra beadings etc.

Yes, Dily is good because her style is very natural, and she will advise you on what hairstyle, makeup etc will suit your face shape, skin type etc.

As to what Rosemary said, i think it is important to remember that upon signing up the package, make sure everything is written down in black and white, so that no arguments or doubts will arise. We had everything written down specifically on our invoice/receipt so we had no problems with them at all regarding this. Of course, we did top up the number of photos in the end, because we found that the number of photos in our original picture was not enough for us as we had too many photos to choose from...

pepsi

I agree with Rosemary too. We thot we have asked them to write everything down in black &amp; white, however in the end, there are still details left out that we never thot of.
For e.g. they said they will give us a small album of photos which will exactly be the same as the big album. In the end, at the stage when we develop &amp; discuss the photos, they told us that the small album will only consist of the 20 photos originally in the package. The photos that we top up will not be shown in the small album. For cases like this, we didnt even think there could be such things, so how to write down in black &amp; white? To think, we pay $65 for each of the top up photos &amp; they dont even give it to us in the small album.

anw

Lucky i dun have such problem... anyway people, just make sure everything is in black and white. I have heard from friends who took up packages from other shops... and looks like these things are quite common... they can't even remember what they promised... especially for my case as i have booked the package in July 2002... so i kiasu..tell them to write everything down.

for myself, i went through every details before i took up the package... things like the small album stuff... we confirm even on the spot and get them to agree and finalise the pricing... in my receipt... we have almost all the empty space filled with the price quote for extra stuff... until we are comfortable... then i signed up... although i have to agree that you need to scrutinise every small details... but this is an essential skill not just for bridal boutique... but also banquet, card printing etc... more to come when the date of wedding draws nearer...(that's what i am gong through now)

i told them that i want to make sure everything is down and clear to avoid misunderstanding later cos i always emphasize on good relationship between retail and client. One thing good about YC is that they do give and take...i actually asked for some stuff not in the package and they agreee.... like the suit for my dad and brothers...etc

mich03

Sorry. me MIA for so long .. hehe...
Sept03bride,
My wedding is in Nov 04. Although a bit ks now to start looking for gowns, but me like to have more preparation time for it. Furthermore, its my "ren-sheng-da-shi" mah.... haha
Cheona,
U mean free beer for wedding packages? I know most hotels do provide that -- its normal to have a 30l of free beer, which after that will have to top up for extra barrels lor ... But if u book more tables, then maybe can ask the hotel to throw in another free barrel lor .. Do ask ur hotel abt it. Btw, which is the hotel u r interested in?

All,
me will be going down this sun to YC to book my package.. so excited!!! Can anyone advise wat should i do on that day? Do me and my bf take our measurements on the same day or try on any of their gowns / suits on that day? My friend told me matt photos are better than laminated ones -- can anyone verify this?
Which make-up artitse is better ah? Minnie or Dily? Do both of them do hair as well? Do both of their make-up tend to be on a more natural look?
I very scared that i will leave something out of the receipt and will regret later .. any thing i need to look out for when i book their package?
HELP ...... keke
Think i will see Xiao Cai's photos once agin and if i really dun like, then i will not use their photography .....
Will keep u all informed again ... and for those who have just taken their photos.... dun mind pls post on the net for us to view ur most memorable moments!!!!!

elaineong5

Hi pepsi &amp; rosemary &amp; all

I agreed wif both pepsi &amp; rosemary. They will ask u top up a lot of photo. My package was $2988 and in the end I pay a total of nearly 6k for my package, really regret. As they promise, that the 5R photo will be the same the big album, those couple taking the magazine style can forget abt it. They will tell u tat for mag style u can have only 11pcs cos their album is standard size. We were been trick by them, they never tell us tis befrehand. we only knew tis after we top up the photo and change to mag style, by then too late to change. I was very angry, but wat to do. So couple out there think first before changing.

As for make up I will strongly recomemd Minnie, she had done a good job

chenoa

Hi Cin,

Was down at YC and saw a bride-to-be (dunno if confirmed YC bride) trying on your hauter WG.

I cannot decide what design for my WG, but i'm positive that hauter is out for me.

Hi Meixai,
They recently got a fashion show and had several new gowns. Ya... 1st time I tried on their gowns. (I signed up at a fair, so din get to see or try on then.) YC does have several designs that I liked, and I'm quite confused what to choose for my MTM.

My two cents view on the upgrading of album:
It's typical of bridal studio encouraging couples to purchase more photos or upgrade to magazine style. It really takes two hands to clap. If you are not keen then you would not be easily persuaded to purchase more or upgrade. And should you be persuaded into it, then you should have confirmed all doubts and details before you decide. Also, make sure you are willing and within your budget to pay for these.

For me and FH, we saw their new ablums and liked the layouts, but we had agreed between ourselves that we would not upgrade. It is difficult to resist purchasing more photos, and we are quite prepared to pay for extras since my package comes with only 18 15R. We are currently working out a full budget that will keep us both in control of our wedding preparation expenses.

Sept03 Bride,
Hey, din you go on your honeymoon? I've seen the Crystal Ballroom, got some questions to ask you. Can private mail me at [email protected] and we'll follow up from there?

sept03bride

i will recommend Minnie for the job... She is really good. Her makeup is natural and not fakey... her hairstyles are nice too... and she is a nice person to chit chat too

I'm not sure, but i tink b4 u guys even book ur bridal package, you should determine the amount that u wan to spend on the photos so that u will not exceed. Our budget was 3.5k and below and we kept to my budget so no upgrading to mag style or what style. I tink must be discipline lar.
Jus my personal views...

mich03

Hi Girls!
Thanks for all ur comments!

Hi YL,
Sorry, me taken up their package liao... Why do u wan to give it up? Just kpo onli ...

Anyone saw the montage potrait at YC? My bf and me liked it so much, we decided to have that for ours! hehe ... I tried on so many gowns that day.. so tiring! But the feeling is great! hehe ...

jaycee

I'm also interested in YC. Went to the place and tried on a few gowns, the cut is very flattering!

Do u know if they have any other photographer other than Xiaocai? I flipped thru 1-2 albums but dun really like the style leh...

For pple who have taken the package, how abt the service? Is it good?

mich03

Hi Juliana,
There are 2 photographers there - Xiao Cai &amp; Dily (or Lily). Can't remember. Think they both always go out together to take PS one ... so i think its a mix-mix lor ...
Think when its ur PS time, you can communicate to them how u like the style to be and so on .. Initially, i had ur tots too .. but finally realised that their PS also not that bad lar .... keke

So, planning to take on the package?

elaineong5

Hi Juliana,

I hope u would consider again b4 taking their package. If u intend to spend at least 5-6k on photo package, go ahead to sign up with them. If not, pls find some other bridal. They are famous for asking couple to take up more photo. Pls read the previous forum for comment. As for the photographer, the style is only so so and most of the couple who took the photo are of the same style.

anw

just to add - who cares whether the photos you took are the same style as another couple. The most impt thing is to like that style for your own album, that's all.
And Juliana, most impt is whether you like the photography style or not - Gowns look almost the same everywhere - now there is MTM options.For us , we actually top up photos becos of the magazine style Xiao Cai has.
But one thing I can assure you is that their service is very very good, even after I called to pester them for photos samples etc, they are still as friendly.My make-up is by Minnie - she is v. good. one thing good is that she is "in-house' unlike some free lances they have - not punctual, and have lots of excuses for being late etc.

pepsi

I think their package is value for money considering they have everything &amp; the package is not too expensive. Their service is generally good except for XiaoCai. But if you dont like the photo style, suggest don't get them because his style is his style, cannot change one, no matter how much "communication" you have with them.

mich03

I do agree with AnW and pepsi. Although there are some negative comments abt the photography, but its not like its VERY bad .... to me, it still is ok. Like what Anw said, most impt thing is that you yourself like that style lor.
And you must admit that YC gowns look very flattering when you wear them on. So that's 1 plus point liao. Go down there again and see how u feel lor .... if u happen to go down on weekends, chances are you will see some couples choosing their photos there. You can ewalk over and just take a look at their photos and you will know how it is like liao.

kiwi

Just dropping by to said that I am a happy YC bride. My wedding was over and I actually miss those days when I'm there chatting with them. They are all very helpful and nice people.
I received lots of compliments for my album too.

marker

Me too happy with YC. I went for my selection of gown at the boutique … ... tried on many gowns &amp; the feeling is great! i agree with meixia, YC gowns look flattering (very impt!!!) …it put you in the mood for love..hehehe ….. Generally I find their service is good, especially with Yvonne Tan. She is experience, sincere, flexible (give &amp; take) and she provide advice ... ... making the selection easier. Great experience!

All the best to everyone!

jaycee

Can anyone tell me what is Xiaocai's photography style? Can share with me your photos if you don't mind? I flipped thru some albums when I was there but was so tired I didn't really take note.

chenoa

Hi everybody,

High Five for YC brides!

What we need here is some moral support for one another - assurance on our decisions, esp. in the midst of all the negative comments so far and temptations of better packages outside. :p

I agree wholeheartedly that the staff are extremely helpful. I am very comfortable with them and Yvonne.

Minne and Fengjie were there to give me comments when I tried on some gowns. And they don't "lao wang mai gua, zi mai zi kua" - say "nice nice" to everything.

When I tell them I don't like this gown because ....., or the gown would look better if....., they are very gracious at listenning to my views and give me their frank comments too.

They don't force or bluff you to take a design that don't look good on you. Infact, when I tried on some that do not suit me, I know and before I say anything, Fengjie was already there shaking her head and Minnie would enthusiatically rush off to get me something she thinks would be better.

Since my wedding would't be until next year, it's still too early to talk to Xiao Cai. Hence, I reserve my comments on his character. Skills wise, I won't say he's very good or creative. His is market standard. Seen several bridal studios that offers similar packages as YC, and observes that their photography also similar style.

My two cents opinion again: What differentiates an album from another is more than the photographer alone. The couple in the photo also makes a huge difference;a beautiful couple makes a picture appears nicer.

Food for thought: Couple A and Couple B had taken their photo at the same place, in similar poses, shared the same makeup artist and photographer. But you feel that Couple A's photos are better taken. Could it be because Couple A is a) more beautiful/handsome, b) more photogenic , c) more natural in front of the camera, d) all the above?

Even if If Couple A had their photo taken by X and Couple B taken by Y, does that mean that X is better than Y? Not necessary.

Photography is like art. You cannot always expect to achieve the same quality of work everytime from an artist. Sometimes, the best pictures are those that you least expected. I emphatise because I was in my sec sch and JC photographic club. I remember the time we wanted to participate in a national photographic competition, I had taken at least 5 rolls of film only to have a handful really fantastic photographs (we thought) fit for the purpose. (In the end, I only managed a consolation award. kekeke)

In fact, I thought Xiao Cai's photographic orientation has improved over the time he was at YC. When he first joined, I was like..."eee..er.." when saw his photos in the mag. I was pleasantly surprised that recent albums I saw were coming up to my expectations. I hope he keeps up with his improvement. There's definitely room to be better.

shinde

Chenoa,

thanks so much for your words of encouragement. I have signed up with YC in Feb 02 because of dean. Due to some reasons, my wedding will only be scheduled in Dec04...so you could imagine me disappointment to learn that dean has left...plus they have replaced him with a rather obnoxious photographer..

I feel slightly betta after hearing from you...lets hope YC will remain this way. =)

mich03

Hi All!
I agree with Cheona wholeheartedly!

Juliana,
Initially, i also had ny reserves with their photography. But, its really not that bad lor ... better than what i had expected. Dun let others influence you .... Think its all the bad publicity of their photography that cause you to be worried abt this. Go with a clear and open mind.... that way, you will be able to see things more clearly.

Think of this --- If YC photography really that bad, they cannot survive till now lor. And Cheona is right -- I also think Xiao Cai's photography has improved thru looking at their albums.
Also, I'm sure that you will have a chance to communicate with them abt your style when taking PS. So, dun need to worry too much.

What i say is -- If YC gives you the right feeling, go for it!

anw

Agree - agree Cheona!!!!!
I was very worried at first before my PS after seeing so many negative comments about Xiao chai.
But he was quite friendly ah - except not the type to 'joked" to make us laugh

Then when we view the samples, he was very patient and sat there telling us how he thinks will look good - his newly created albums/ works etc.......it was actually the album that prompted us to top up. So far, there are many other works of his that are very good.

But what I worried is that they will definately delay the final album - so many brides under them.Dunno can finish or not.
Anyway, no complaints lah.

Shinde, dun worry too much - no matter what ( even if change of photographer along the way) Yvonne Tan will still set her high standards , if not her name will go down the drain.

Now I looking fwd to seeing the final masterpiece to show off to my friends - Oh one thing good - i didn't look 'expanded' in xiao chai's photos. hee hee

chenoa

hi Shinde,
I was attracted to YC when I saw Dean's works in 2001 and 2002. But we din book. then we know Dean left. I was not at all impressed with XiaoCai's works and comtemplated other bridals, including The Wedding News (when Dean is now at). But my boyfriend knows that my heart is with YC, cos I like her gowns too. So, after much consideration and seeing Xiao Cai's improvement, became a YC bride.

Ya...besides unloading our worries and anxiety on this forum, let's also share encouragement and spread our happines and joys ... whatever.

YC's reputation is built on customers like ourselves. Yvonne knows that and will definitely ensure her staff delivers the service and quality.

AnW,
glad to know you loved your photos. I also think they need some pushing to get the albums out early. The mentality isthe same everywhere, if you don't pressure me, I got no time, I do the others i think more urgent / got pressure from the couples first. So, must pressure them. hehehe.

Would you be sharing your photos with us?

snowball32

Hi, I was also a YC Bride last year. I think we were one of the last couples which photos were taken by Dean. His photography is good. However, I do agree with Sept03Bride that you have to be disciplined with your budget on the wedding pkg as most bridal studios (not only YC) will push for couples to buy more and more and more photos.

A lot of my friends ended up paying as much as $6 - 7k for their pkg and in the end, the wedding album became a "white elephant" tugged away somewhere in the storeroom collecting dust.

As we were working on a tight wedding budget, we kept our wedding pkg costs within $4k and we did, resisting those hardselling.

Overall, we were happy with YC's service. Yvonne/ FengJie and Dean were good.

Just my few cents worth of comments.

anw

Hi Chenoa
Yup - will try to pressure them to output to us faster. Anyway, since one mth ago while choosing my samples, have not seen myphotos at all - not even my family &amp; friends . Sigh......See if i free to upload to the web when i receive the samples from them, then you gals can see see the photography skills.....erm.....minus the face lah..........hee hee

snowball32

Hey Cheona,

I was one of the last Brides with photos taken by Dean.

I go my wedding album/Montage only 5 days b4 my wedding day. The reason they gave was that some photos need to be re-developed as they din turn up well. But, we were happy with the overall photos which we finally collected. Tho' in between we were envious due to the tight schedule.

We were caught off-guarded as we took our photos 3 months b4 the actual day and din expect such delays. However, we were rather disappointed with our arcylic frame montage which came with word carvings without our prior knowledge. But, it was too late to make changes and we made do with it.

I guess you may have to arrange your PS earlier to have more breathing space.

Other than that, my hubby and myself were rather happy with YC.

Some advice for you from my experience.

yvonnesteven

Hi, I just signed up the package with YC, not bcos I share the same name as the lady boss.

In fact when I was shopping around TP area, the other boutiques were very pushy and made us very uptight. Only the atmosphere at YC was relaxed.

We did not sign up on the spot but still we went back there a week later after much considerations.

I must say they are very experienced, but I still need words of comments on any special pointers to watch out for.

The lady who served us was Mee Nee and Yvonne herself.

snowball32

I agree wif U that Yvonne and team are not the pushy kind. In fact, I should say the ladies there - Yvonne, Fengjie, Minnie are an experienced gang who can give good advice on your gowns. I had my WG tailored to my liking with advice from Yvonne n Fengjie. My EG was OTR but it was a newly tailored pc. Hence, I got quite a good deal by paying for one MTM n get 2 brand new gowns in the end

I cannot comment much on the present photographer as my PS was done by the previous photographer.

Do have constant communication with Yvonne and team of your expectations. This will help in the progress.

Another pointer is that you have to watch your budget on the PS if you are working on a tight budget. As with other studios, they tend to "encourage" you to buy and buy and buy more photos. This may strain your expenditure on your pkg.

I should say this is a tedious but enjoyable process where you make joint decisions with your hubby, tho' there were hiccups here and there.

Juz some pointers from my experience with YC.

Enjoy your gown-trying and the PS process

miata16

hi all, i have recently signed up YC package. on this forum, a handful of pple not very pleased with the photographer, hmm, am feeling skeptical but will reserve my comments till later. maybe he aint that bad after all, like anw said. my customary is in may 04.

i'm not very impressed with their OTR, but since i'm gg for MTM, i have the faith in yvonne. felt very comfortable with her and Cui Cui (anyone served by her, any comments abt her?)

would appreciate if anyone's willing to share their lovely pictures, email me at [email protected]. to all YC BTB, let's enjoy this process. cheers

anw

Hi to the "new" YC brides
One advise - try to get your Make-up artist early. For me, i didn't specify till they ask - told them anyone. Then they told me all the "good" ones not free on my PS day, tell me change PS day etc. Kind of fed up then. Ended up with Minnie, whom I am very satisfied with too. But it is the feeling of insecure when they actually wanted to change PS date lor. Maybe at least 2 mths before PS, you gals try to talk to Yvonne or Fengjie ask which makeup artist they have who to recommend and tell them to KIV for you. Other than that, I am ok with most of their services. And dun worry, Minnie is good.and friendly is the most impt!!

miata16

Thanks AnW for your advice. I've booked Dily as my makeup artist. Heard that she's good. How long before the AD should the PS be done? Btw, when's your big day? Can share with me your photos if they are ready.

anw

Hi Miata16
PS must at least be 3 mths before AD lah.....Big day end Dec.......anyway heard from YC that even if we take PS very early, they depend on our AD to rush out the albums leh.....
Well would share my photos when ready but till now, haven't seen them the 2nd round after I chose my samples.Waiting for Fengjie etc to call me lor.... to see the layout first before they put into the actual big album.

miata16

Is your WG and EG MTM? How you find it? Satisfactory? Still thinking how my WG should be like..hmm.... going for first appt fitting next month..