"Yam Seng" Vs Cheers

blair_waldorf

Hi girls, I have a mini problem and would love to hear from you all. I am in the midst of planning my wedding for next year and I am looking through some details.

Ok now the problem is this...we are holding a dinner at a particular hotel and during the champagne pouring time, I would pretty much love a "yam seng" session but my fiance wants just a "cheers". We are both Chinese and I think it's utterly absurb if we have just one "cheers". I have personally seen such situations before and trust me, it's so awkward.

But from his point of view, he wants to keep it simple without all the ra ra. That kinda irritates me. So what are your views? Shld we go for the "yam seng" or cheers? And how do i go about telling him? Pls help~

jinnous

It would be best if you guys discuss through cuz it is your wedding. You won't want to sour the event even b4 u get there.

Personally, at my friend's wedding, there was "yam seng" and "cheers". Well, we did the cheers, all girls and 1 guy. And there is a difference lah.... but dun let that become a problem k.

Have fun!

jassiemint

I went to christian wedding before. First n second time they did cheers but third cheers don't know who start yumseng more fun heeee

spring_tomorrow

I attended one wedding...was quite hilarious...because even though the bride and groom started off with 'cheers'...the tables will somehow ended up with "yam seng" and "huat ah"...so don't worry too much, let your guests decide what they want...go with the flow and enjoy...shouldn't be worrying about this

jassiemint

I did both! First 2 cheers forgot wat mc said Liao . Alot of guests blur blur and cannot get used to cheers. Then third one was yum seng which wish us happy marriage n 'zap shang GUI zi' then all the ppl yum seng long n loud . Quite fun

verang12

anyone got any thank you speech to share? as well as, anyone know what does the 3 toasts of yam seng mean?

my friends will be the emcee, we have the emcee scripts, however, we are unsure what verse to say before the 3 yam sengs.

appreciate if anyone can share with me!

buangkok

Seems like YumSeng is still favourerd. Think we will still try to lead with cheers and be open with the outcome

happyjiokzai

Mine is a small ballroom, around 10 tables. Therefore, my emcee suggested that we do "cheers" instead of yum seng 'cause most of my close relatives will be on stage.

lovelyday

I wanted to do "Cheers" as my relatives and friends (mostly female friends!) are not the loud kind. But on the actual night, after we do the "Cheers", 1 uncle ask out loud: Why no yam seng??
My emcee quickly said: Ok ok, we will do yam seng now. And yup, I had the Yam Sengs in the end. However, it wasn't a very happening / loud Yam Seng as like I said, most of the dinner guests are on the quieter side.

ameetam

if you really want this then i hope you should try to do this it will good thing to do..
may you will get your desires....

kinkilove

its the 'tradition' to do the yam seng thingy, just get the loudest person to shout in the mic to drown the quietness !