WMF Pots and Pans

shau

Bookworm,
I have not seen Tiger pan/wok in Robinson but always see them in Tangs.

Carol,
Robinson/John Little have Sales every quarterly (I think). If you have the Robinson Card/Robinson Visa card, on top of the Sales there is an additional 5%-10% discount. So I will wait loh.

bbmaru

Hi Shau,
Hee.. I have received my invitation to the Robinsons sale liao... got $20 voucher too

Bookworm,
So now's your best chance to buy during the Robinsons sale. Are you a card member? Can use that $20 voucher to buy your Tiger wok. I bought it during one of the Robinsons sale too. They do carry Tiger wok, but just that they dun always have a counter for Tiger wok cooking demo.

kttan2

Hi Adel,

for info, Tiger of Korea is entirely a separate entity from Tiger of Japan, which the latter has been proven in the world of household products.

I happen to pass by Tiong Bahru again, and overheard another victim whom uses Tiger wok, similar experience as mine - not properly seasoned, or defective factory coating that results in the brown stains.

Before you guys buy any wok, drop by at Tiong Bahru market and visit this stall (market selling domestic consumables) facing the wet market.

Go have a good look at how well the wok is seasoned there. As with my previous posts, for S$50, it is worth a consideration (bearing in mind, you could also enjoy some nice food there).

Once again, I have no commissions (I come from a very different industry). Just wanted to forewarn people against probable or unanticipated shoddy sales tactics or products.

hakka_chin

Anyone know about the stackup steamer or call pressure cooker that sell in CK TANGS.There is a salesman do the cooking demostration.Can anyone give me some advice.

Hi hakka,

AMC pots and pan though costly, but its longlasting, save gas and uses little oil. My family has been using it for years.

roooller

hi hakka,

wat's the u-like 5-tier steamer.
there's 2 sizes, $168 and $188 respectively.

i've bought the small one.
convenient lor, no need to buy rice cooker.
save electricity.

hakka_chin

Hi!Sunnday n roooller, nice to knou u n thanks 4 the advice. I would like 2 know is it easy maintence.Roooller can u tell me more about the 5-tier steamer because i'm thinking of buying tis week n the small one is 4 how many person.Is it very heavy?

hakka_chin

thanks sunnyday. roooller can u tell me what is the brand of the 5-tier steamer that sell in C K TANGS n any web site of it.

roooller

hi hakka,

the brand is U-LIKE

not sure abt the website though.

if no hurry, can alway wait for their sale.
do u hv tangs credit card? can get rebate.
fre

small one selling at $168
when i bought, they give another stainless pot free, can double-up to use for deep-fry. also, a timer and a cook book.
price c/w free delivery.

samkoh1975

Hi LoveMe,

I'm using Tupperware knives. Very good leh. You using too? I only used the chef knife and utility knife. Din buy whole set cos no need. I was informed no need to sharpen. Can even cut thru chicken bones.

wintertulip

hi.. seems like WMF brand doesn't have very good review. any other good reliable brands to recommend for pots & pans? All dept stores seem to be carrying WMF.

Where can I get AMC pots?

joyousonline

i using wmf pots and pans since 2006. got my first set in 2006. personally, i think stainless steel pots are better than teflon ones (which in the case of high heat can cause cancer)....using those black woks, the heat is not not very hot..whereas the wmf ones can obtain heat faster..thus dun need too high fire..so non stick woks are not necessary good if you are looking at healthwise. WMF i think is from Germany. German products are not inferior to Japan ones.

ridhwan82

WMF pots and pans and also their cutleries comes from several sources.

Germany, china and taiwan.

If you look at the pot and pan base or the under of the cutleries and there is a stamp of the logo WMF with the word GERMANY then those are made in germany.

Those that has the imprint of just WMF then its from china or taiwan.

Typically you can tell by the weight. The heavier ones are from germany. Lighter ones from china or taiwan

Reason is because it is catering to the different users and different needs.

The heavier ones are for those who prefer to hold heavier things while cooking as its more sturdy to hold such a professional chefs they prefer the heavier one. Cooking performance also, the heavier one would hold the heat much longer and better than the ligher ones.

But of course with asian type of cooking with the stir fry and thing.. heavy equipment is not something that many can tolerate hence the market for thinner and hence lighter product.

those under the Diadem or Diadem plus are lighter those under the Pro range are heavier Germany ones.

I love WMF for their excellent quality. wahaha some people call it obsession i cally it quality and reliability

babyk

Hi Ridz,
I am always very curious about the WMF type of pots. Their handles are also steel, don't they get hot when you're cooking? I usually like to hold one of the handles while cooking, so always wonder....

ridhwan82

actually depends on the fire... as in if the ring is bigger than the base of the pot it will be hot..

from how i usually use it.. it can get pretty hot at times.. but other times.. not really leh..

hard to say but then defintely if you are asking me about comparing to other pots that has plastic handles i would say they are much cooler..

but if you are using the prof series for wmf... they are usually long and thick and out of the way so i wouldnt say its hot.

blueblue

so prof series better? bought one 7 years back..quite disappointed..told my friends WMF onli nice to look at (the chinese saying zhong kan bu zhong yong) I bought it coz it looks so nice and quite cheap too..

Used AMC in the end..quality wise is much better.

vincass

Hi, I have AMC Classic set to sell. All brand new, unused in boxes. Given as gift. Pls PM me if you are interested. Thanks.

pg_tl

Hi! Buffalo brand is very good too! It's high grade 18/10 stainless steel. For health reasons, cookware with stainless steel is still the best. Buffalo rice cooker is the only brand that has stainless steel internal pot. When u follow the proper instructions rice will not stick. They also have a Smart Cooker that can cook curry chicken without adding water! And the internal pot is also stainless steel.

liesth

Hello! If you are looking for AMC pots you may contact: Lies (Ai Lian) 91076339.
She is a partner from AMC Allied Metalcraft Company Pte Ltd. Cooking demo can be arranged.