WMF Pots and Pans

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Dun mention that. Got knowledge and lobangs we all share share mah

annelise

Carol, mine also has white spots inside the pot. It happened when I was boiling clams - I did use salt, though - but I stirred it in only after the water was boiling. Like you said, we paid so much for the pots and then this cannot cook, that cannot cook - really pek chek!

bbmaru

Hi Annelise,
Hee... this is what I called "xiao jie (missy) pots". They are so high class and expensive...yet behave like "xiao jie"...

Well, it's just that their "appearance" need "facials" and lots of care when cooking...but performance wise, they are actually quite ok I think... I think maybe becos our pots are still new and nice, so a bit of stains we are bothered by that... I think in anor few mths or yrs, we dun even care liao

lynn_

hihi, my wmf pots also got ugly stains on the inside after i cook only normal clear chinese soup in them! heehee, but cos the "stains" are on the inside only i dun care lah
the outside still pretty can liao rite?

oh ya, i also used the biggest pot in my set to do my dough for baking cookies. only hand-rub and only flour, butter and eggs... and also got ugly stains on the inside... wonder why...

katgrrl

I've no prob with my pots so far and I cook everything in them...curry, soups, stews, porridge. U just have to wash them well with really hot soapy water.

katgrrl

Yah, hot water water cleans & loosens stubborn stains a lot better than cold water. I usually add a little detergent, fill it to the brim with steaming hot water and let it sit for at least 0.5hr. I scrub it after awhile and if there are still some dried gravy stuck, I repeat the process
u can also try the tips in the links below. Vinegar is a really good household cleaner ...plus, it's chemical-free!

More household tips:
http://www.versatilevinegar.org/bodusestips.html
http://www.telugutoranam.com/kitchen/index.php3?slide=uten_tips

bbmaru

Hi KatGrrl,
I think it depends on what type of vinegar... if it's natural vinegar, then maybe...if not those less than $2 transparent vinegar we got in the supermarket are artificially made (read: imitation vinger)!!

I think that's the last time I'll be buying WMF pots. They look really nice, pretty good to use but alas, high maintenance. The set that I bought, not only saucepan got problem, the biggest pot also got problem... there are some tarnished spots at the bottom of the pot even though before I started using it... and they cannot be removed at all!!

bookworm

sales is now on. need advice.

Is the frying pan necessary? Thinking of buying a Tiger wok that Carol and the rest recommended. Do u think i shld buy a frying pan as well?
went to tangs, dun know to choose tefal pans, wfm pans or tiger pans?

roooller

bookworm,

fry egg i hv this small rect shape pan.
brand supor.

as for veg, use tanyu.

u can watch this uncle at takashimaya, alway demo.

btw, if u really want to get, dun get fr taka though. their price seem to be on the high side.

try to get size 11 or 12.
good for fish head and even frying stuff.

if too deep a pot, make frying a hassle.

hope u understand wat i mean.

kttan2

I am very worked up, that's why registered myself to hopefully value-add to your decision to buy frying woks.

Don't be fooled by the tiger thingy, it sucks big time. The uncle who sold me all the gizmos (more than S$200 with all the pots, and spare parts), was like some typical sim lim tower salesman after I brought the defective wok back on the 3rd day of cny.

To share with you something:

1. The wok is seasoned by him personally in og, and after the first use, it tanished and the bottom turned brown (similar to the cover).

2. He accused me of cooking yellow ginger powder and I told him I didn't, but I cooked curry. I even asked him if the wok is unsuitable for high heats, and he says it has nothing to do with it.

3. I argued that the wok is not cheap, considering that it is used 1 time. He asked me to leave it there for the office to deal with it, instead of offering a new one for exchange. I demanded a full refund and was blessed. He expects me to bring all the items for a refund, giving me the impression that I am buying a product not to solve my problems, but to CREATE MORE PROBLEMS on CHINESE NEW YEAR!

I also asked him, should the wok be unable to cook curry, why does the tiger wok recipe teach people to cook fish head curry, which bears the same contents - tumeric / yellow ginger powder? As a perceived expert, he says fish head curry and normal curry is different. Some "expert" indeed!

I also asked him why his wok is brownish, and if it means he also cooks curry? He says his is used for a "long" time like 6 to 7 months, and my gosh, for a wok at that price, it should not have such stains within a year! This has prompted me to bring all the gadgets back for a full refund.

Prior to that, I consulted all conventional aunties, and even chefs of renowned restaurants, and they say, it might be due to defective coating at their factory before it is released.

I understand products tend to have defects once in a while, but his sleazy sim lim attitude disgusts me!

Some advice:

Before I go on, I would like to reveal that I am a guy, and is chor-lor to a certain extent. However, I take good care of my belongings, to a certain extent, people say I am very cha bor. (too bad, my family consists of mostly girls)

1. I have used Teflon pans during my uni days, and it had served me well for over 5 years (meyer to be exact). Just handle with care, use non-metal spatula. Not a single scratch appears, and I can sell it at a higher price to a new student ** felt bad after that
I even cooked flower crabs dished from the sea, not once, but vey often...free anyway...

2. You don't need a branded wok. Go to Tiong Bahru market (the end shop facing the wet market) and look for the auntie. Tell her the plump boy introduce me here, he says your wok is good, and expect a 14' well and conventionally seasoned wok to be sold at S$50. This wok is seasoned by the auntie herself, and is very good. No further seasoning required, and no BS telling you that you can't cook curry.

Bargain for a free spatula - Zebra brand. It also comes with a metal pad - free, for washing (but she never give me the box for my storage).
Caution: the auntie is very good negotiator, you must pretend not to buy if the price is above S$50. Trust me, it is very good. I used myself, considering I am a very detailed person.

This wok is also sold at OG, but the dif is - you get professional wok seasoning, unlike the "care-leh-fair" one coat seasoning done at big stores.

Trust me, money is hard to earn given this stupid economy, so don't be misled.

As for the claypot, og is selling at good price, black / white colour type for 4 persons, at $19.90. I bought one but dunno how to use.

It is the same as the ones you see at tangs or taka.

Last but not least, just wish to comment that my intentions are not meant to defame anyone. I just felt disgusted at people trying to BS all their way! Someone who don't even know what curry powder is made up of, is unfit to teach people how to cook! And also, I am not new in cooking too!

Sorry, a lot of fire. If further info is required to buy the wok, drop me an email at [email protected]

I believe in spending hard-earned money the right way, and hate products that does not live up to their quality, or at least, the price it is charged!

salequeen

to wmf pot owners

anybody knows how to remove chao tar stains? i burnt rice last week? i've been soaking it in jif for a week and scrubbing it when i have the strength...any short cut method? oso tried boiling it with detergent...but there was high degree of burns :p

to the guy above

my mum had a similar experience with meyer wok. the coating came off or something after one use. they told her she shouldn't use high heat...and we're like hello chinese cooking dun use high heat? anyway, they took it back, prob chucked it in a corner of the office for half a year when they so called performed lab tests. finally they replaced the wok. so for generations to come, it's no meyer in the kitchen for us.

kttan2

To salequeen,

perhaps it is a product defect as described earlier.

As for the stains, you can try boiling white vinegar (do not dilute with water). If the stain is outside the wok, you will have to place it "in" a bigger container and boil the white vinegar from the container. It should remove the tough stains.

cote_p

hi kttan2,

thanks for your sharing above... i was just at tangs over the weekend and was contemplating buying the tiger wok... thank goodness my fiance said that he dun think we'll know how to handle this type of wok properly, better buy teflon coated ones..

other than mayer, what other brands do you recommend?

purpliepotz

Just for yr info, some of the WMF pots (esp those on mad sale) are made in china instead of germany. So maybe that's why there are inconsistencies in the 'performance'/quality of the pots....

bungy_jumper

hi salequeen,

my mum recommended me the "kleen king" or something like that. It can be bought from ntuc. Its a cleaner for stainless steel and copper about $4+
So far i have been using that. It removes tough stains, and the best part it doesnt scratch your pots.

kttan2

Hi Cote,

I reckon you try the tiong bahru market store. Only $50 bucks. Teflon coated is good, however, if it is the stir fry pan, the disadvantage is:

1. You need to use the right tools, and avoid any metal stuff, and sometimes you may forget;

2. Stir fry pans are too shallow, and you will have a hard time cleaning the spilt oil or juice, whichever you are cooking. For me, if it is a public place, it is ok, but for newly renovated or own house, get a conventional wok is better. I researched on the net, and realized that 14 inches wok is better, for small family of 2 to 6 people. Bigger is hard to handle. Also, buy the one without the long handle, so as you can evenly distribute balanced heat, instead of heating at the same spot everytime (assuming the long handle is pointing towards you each time you fry);

3. Teflon, if it is as cheap as I bought overseas (A$18 plus plus) it is good to experience it, provided you can tolerate the above 2 pointers;

4. Anodized is good, however, if you are after hard core conventional wok (need to season it yourself), then try "Yue Hua" next to og people's park - the china emporium building. I saw a sweet one selling at S$10, but you must season thoroughly (fyi, carbon steel is one of the best, but leh che when it comes to maintenance). I reckon Tiong Bahru one is a good buy - $50 with free metal scouring pad, negotiable free spatula (zebra), and seasoned in the conventional way. I used it three times todate, and true enough, no further seasoning is allowed. You can scrap and scrap without worries. One thing you need to know, if you buy the wok:

First thing: wash with green detergent (green is not as harsh as yellow type);

Second, heat the wok up, once it is dry, add a little oil, with normal fire;

third, lower the fire, and throw in the chopped garlic...you are ready to fry!

We buy woks to solve our problem, and not to create a secondary problem. Back in taka, there is a premium brand on long term sales 9made in Germany). At least, the promoter is frank and ethical enough to advice the public not to fry crab, unlike some BS professionals!

Frankly, I bought Teflon the other time, for the sake of budget as a student. If you use wooden spatula (specially the ones with holes as a decorative design), it is somewhat unhygienic, as the rims of those holes are hard to clean.

If I were you, S$50 is worth the while. Start your cooking spree, and you will not regret. (ps: please note that I have no commission, and I don't work for the Tiong Bahru store, just felt that we should not be scrutinized by unprofessional people, with the hard earned money!)

Send me an email should you need further clarifications, in case I agitate others.)

kttan2

I have been using the wok described above, and it is really good! No brown stains and the food tastes great!

However, I scratched my zebra spatula as I used a stainless steel teaspoon to scrap the garlic residues on it.

I also used the Jumbo claypot purchased at OG. Very good, S$19.90 for 2 to 6 pax, and I made soup for myself, and drank for two days! One thing to note, I bought the black one, the glazed colour on the edge of the handle and rim tend to tarnish a little after boiling with high heat, but it's normal.

The soup I made tastes really different as compared to my good ol' stainless steel pot. You can taste the different ingredients like potatoes, carrots and the meat in the abc soup.

(I used to cook soup in the stainless steel pot available at provision shops and it is as good as the branded types. The price is not more than S$20 and has served me well. It has a thick stainless steel bottom too, which makes it look expensive, not to mention the provision of boiling efficiency. haha).

For the claypot, it comes in two colour choices. The black one has proven to be more sellable, probably due to the general maintenance concern. It has nearly been sold out on my recent trip there again during the weekend. I reckon this one is really really cool. No need to buy expensive ones, try the cheaper ones for a trial run. Same cooking effects, no regrets.

kttan2

Updates:

The Jumbo claypot at OG is no longer on offer, price is reverted back to S$26.90. However, so far so good. I realized that the wok I bought from Tiong Bahru market belongs to the brand Supor.

bbmaru

Hi Kttan,
ok, let me share my experience since I'm a Tiger wok user myself.

So far, I had no problems with the Tiger wok I bought. I had used it to cook curry and stuff, but so far no such problems. But of course, brown stains are unavoidable. There was once I overheating the pan and slight brown stain appear on the base of the pan. I assumed that it's a charred stain, but it went off after few washes.

After using the pan for more than half a yr, I would say I did not regret buying this pan even though the price is on the high side (unlike the economic pan selling at TB like you mentioned). Food cooked using the wok turned out tasty (esp the eggs) and burnt food particles stuck to the base are easily washed off in one wash. Occasionally use Cif abrasive detergent to make it cleaner.

Btw my Tiger wok and pan (yes, I have not one but two) both have slight "dents" from all the knocking of the metal spatula against the wok and pan while cooking... but they are still good as new. I guess you unfortunate incident could be one of the "heng suay" incident... their tend to be some less superior goods among them... but since you managed to get back your refund, then at least the Tiger wok company is still not that bad afterall (even though you might think they are BS pple

One thing I have to highlight about buying Telfon-coated pans (i.e. Tefal type of brand) is that those are not suitable for high heat cooking (i.e. no chinese cooking) and never use it for steaming. Once you add water to the pan to steam, the coatings will start disintegrating and will either peel or lose its anti-stick properties. Anor disadvantage is that you cannot use metal spatula like wat kttan said. Using metal spatula cause the coatings to peel, likewise, cooking crabs, lobsters or prawns with their heads attached will cause scratches to the Teflon pans as well. One last thing. I once read an article about Teflon pan suspected being cancerous. The article mentioned that Teflon is not suitable for high heat as it will emit a toxic substance if it's subjected to extremely high heat. So those using Teflon pans to cook Chinese food, pls take note. The article also said that a number of female workers in the Teflon coating factory gave birth to deformed babies. Though no further tests when conducted to determine whether it's Teflon that cause the deformities, but after that incident, the factory actually deployed all the female workers to anor dept to avoid them coming in contact with Teflon. But ladies, as you are reading this, dun be alarmed cos we are only using the pan to cook and are no exposed to "raw" Teflon under prolonged period of time...

So to err on the side of caution, try to avoid using Teflon-coated pans to cook Chinese food. Once you spot any peeling of the pan, do not continue using it... replace with a new one... maybe one which is recommended by kttan

kttan2

Thanks Carol for your clarifications. In fact, I agree that perhaps it is due to heng sueh, which this year is my supposed good year.

Having no qualms about occasional product defects, I reckon at least, the sales "or selling" person should not BS and try to bull-doze their way through. In fact, I would reveal that it is due to OG's customer service policy, that rationalized the exchange.

For the brown stains, the promoter (or the boss himself) has already tried to remove, but in vain. Then he starts to cast blames on my probable misuse "due to cooking curry" - on a CNY. I do not really foresee any logic to cook once to render the entire base - including the cover which I used, to turn brownish. I even asked if the heat is too high, and he reaffirms that it has nothing to do with that. Should he be un-knowledgeable, he ought not represent the wok at all, while misrepresenting the product features and at the same time, enjoying commission or revenue from our hard-earned money.

Believe me, I was bent on giving the wok a benefit of the doubt due to CNY (hao lai hao qu), and used Cif as mentioned, as the last resort, before approaching the promoter for help. He is somewhat reluctant and his attitude is so negative, until I had no choice but to insist on speaking with the manager of the departmental store, before he was compelled to a full refund (bearing in mind, what I wanted is merely a one-on-one exchange only, and I stay at the extreme west to go all the way to People's Park).

As for the Teflon, I have cooked with many types of chinese dishes, however, not all chinese cuisines require high heat - i.e. most vegetable dishes use small heat. On the second note, I had used the Teflon wok on high heat during my schooling days (5 years) as my type of food are mostly cooked that way. Surprisingly, it is alright (including the hairy crabs that I had almost every weekend). Maybe I was in the heng mode when I bought that Teflon pan then
One more thing about Teflon coated pans, generally, they are shallow, and will splatter the cooking oil / juice onto the cooking area. If you are skeptical of after-cook maintenance, then this type of shallow based pan might not be too ideal, though there are bigger versions.

Todate, I invested in another Teflon pan besides my Supor wok, just in case I needed to eat something easy that requires minimal cooking for 1 pax.

As for the cancer causing agent, to be honest, I was aware from research, that it is due to the carbon steel type of wok. Perhaps the cause of the deformities of the baby of the lady employees mentioned, are due to the prolonged exposure during the manufacturing process as highlighted by Carol. However, cancer can also be attributed due to one's living lifestyle, eating habits etc, which one element alone should not be equated to cause cancer individually.

This is similar to employees working in manufacturing setups that transforms raw materials into end products such as glue or paint, or even wool....

While my post is meant to value-add potential buyers, there is no intention to defame any products. Just my personal view that a sales conclusion requires that the sales person to possess the onus to exercise basic professional integrity, and not BS-ing that the wok is brown because I cook curry, while the free recipe that comes packed with the wok recommends the user to cook curry fish head.

Under the heng situation, all woks can deliver good food without any defects(with the chef's cooking and handling experience as well). On the final note, I personally feel that the Supor wok ($50) shares the same quality, if not better, than the one I experience, which I bought the Tiger wok for over S$200 including the entire set of spare parts. At least, the aunty seasons it a few times, unlike the BS guy who did it only "once", and try to wipe off his butt when a customer is victimized by defects. Too bad, I think I am too persistent to get to the root of the problem for this wok incident, that triggers a reluctant refund.

We are all in a lawful society, and I guess by infuriating a customer due to a genuine case of product disquality, the company will not be able to escape far from negative publicity / legal punishment / public redress on its products in the long run.

Tiger wok is still a wok (anodized), and it all depends on how one perceives the value, as compared to properly seasoned ones that is sold much cheaper (I would not equate cheap to be economical :p).

At least, the aunty's instructions prove to be consistent, as the Supor (or cheaper wok), remains seasoned "without brown stains" after cooking 8 times of hard core conventional curry that requires the frying of raw yellow ginger, blue ginger and many other ingredients.

APologies if I sounded a little excited, however, I hope the information will tell people what type of probable product / service they can invest in.

my2cents

I bought a WMF skillet-wok from Robinsons during the GSS, and I'm very happy with it. Although during cooking, food sticks more then my previous teflon coated one, but it is very easy to clean after that. As easy as the teflon coated. The handles also remain cool, so can handle during cooking. I am so happy that I splurged on it.

b2b3m4

hi everybody (really dunno who to addressed to).
I'm a regular cook at home n guess i can share some comments with my appliances that i have used for 2 yrs.

Re: Teflon non stick pans
Have been using my Tefal pan (deep) for all kinds of chinese cooking. stir fry veges, fried bee hoon etc. no scratches or what so ever so far. has been using lots of big flame too. i think to preserve the life of the pan, muz avoid metal spatula at all course. otherwise i have no problem so far. but i do not foresee that this pan will last me a life time.

Re: how to remove burnt stains from WMF pots
They actually sell a remover for the pots. evern with the remover, must use alot effort n scrapping. but the pot can tolerate it all, so no problem.

Re : "rainbow" colour of WMF pots
Its the thing with this kind durable metal. It doesn't affect me very as long as it serve its purpose (i mean i dun serve food in my WMF pots mah). i don put extra effort in the pot, n there;s no problem with it so far. unless if u r very concern abt the shine, otherwise not much effort needed to take care of the pot.

Re : WMF pressure cooker
This is the best buy. Dun buy Tefal's even though it seems to have more feature. Tefal's is made of aluminium, no doubt lighter. But it can't last long (n rather dangerous too). n bcos the models keep changing, not sure whether they will keep the spare parts once the model has been discontinued. WMF's parts are quite std, so no probs!

N there;s no website for WMF.

shau

I have the Tiger Wok for 7 years. So far, so good. I also have the WMF Pressure Cooker which I bought early last year, it is 6.5L and the only size that was on sale. Now, I feel that 6.5L is too big. The Pressure Cooker can cook real fast. Usually for Beef Rendang you have to cook for more than an hour in a normal Pot but you only need to cook for 20-30 mins in a Pressure Cooker.

b2b3m4

bookworm,
the pressure cooker helps to speed up the cooking process. for eg, a stew with ribs n potato can be done in less than half n hr, compared to the usual 1 to 1 n half hr. it saves fuel n its very convenient for a working mum like me. start preparing at 8pm, by 9pm, can have a piping hot meal already. it oso good for those food that usually take very long to cook like red bean soup. so if u like meat, lentils, potato kind of stew or soup. then its very good. ihave even cook chicken rice n porridge with it. it oso comes tog with a shallow version which i used it to cook seasame chicken.

Shau,
i think the 6.5L is a safer. cos' in can cook 2 dishes at one go. for stew, due to my small family size, i use the shallow one. when i cook soup, rice or porridge, than i use the deeper one. so far so good.
n i don use a wok, i just use my Tefal pan to stir fry. only bring out my gift wok when i need to fry bee hoon for a party.

shau

B2B3M4,

I used my Pressure Cooker to make Stew or Soup but have not tried cooking 2 dishes at one go. How to do it? Use the Insert? My WMF PC did not come with any freebies.

b2b3m4

Shau,
yah. that's one thing abt WMF PC. Do not come with all those inserts. have to buy separately. otherwise, u can buy those cheapo metal containers too. as long as it fits into the pot. In fact, the 6.5L one can make up to 3 dishes at one go. one at the base n u can stack 2 more above. I got the perforated container during Robinsons sales, harder to find a subsititue for it compared to the non perforated.
To get a hang on how to make 3 dishes at a go, u can buy WMF cook book.

bookworm

thanks kiwi28.

so what how many litres is good enough for house of 2-3., i mean the pressure cooker.

my2 cents,
u mean the wok fro wmf? got pic? me also looking for a wok, but not sure which brand to buy, ether tight or wmf.

bbmaru

Bookworm,
If you are always doing simple, light cooking, then a WMF wok will be good.

Initially, I also bought a WMF wok but then I gave it away after I watched the cooking demo using the Tiger wok and bought one for myself, and the rest is history. Even at time when I burnt my food when I turn on high heat for too long, the burnt stains are easily washed off... maybe leaving a very mild light brown stain, but it went off after subsequent washes after I cooked.

For me, Tiger is good over WMF becos WMF is NOT a non-stick wok, so when you fry fish or cook "sticky" food, they tend to stick to the bottom of the wok and cause burnt stains. You might want to take this into consideration. Like those teflon woks, Tiger does require you to use too much oil since it doesn't stick. This is extremely good for the health conscious. Extremely ideal for cooking fried rice since pple usu put a lot of oil to prevent the rice from sticking to the wok...

Mine is a middle size wok, and it's good enough to cook for a party of 6-8 persons when I have guests. On normal weekends when I do cook, I normally use the Tiger cooking pan. (I bought the pan together with the wok by paying anor $39 for the pan) That one is ideal for cooking a 2-person meal, since I dun need to wash a big wok...and it comes with a glass cover too. If you do happen to watch the cooking demo, the cooking pan (not the wok) can also be used to bake cake!! but I din try cos I prefer to use the convention oven

Hope that helps

bbmaru

Adel,
The Tiger from Korea looks more cheapo and doesn't come with Japanese characters I think.

In any case, I dun think Tiger from Japan carries wok, but only pans. I also have a pan from Tiger Japan, but I have not used it since I'm happy with the Korean Tiger wok and pan...

bbmaru

Roooller,
Indeed, the non-stick (teflon) is unhealthy and believed to cause cancer (read the earlier entries). But both the Tiger from Korea and Japan are not made of teflon material so no worries.

Oh yes, have I given you the contacts for the steel rack?