Hi Bookworm,
The Tiger wok is not the one from Japan. It's has got this "cheap" packaging and it's from Korea...but dun guide a wok by its cover.. it's not disappointing at all! You can get that from Tangs, Robinsons Centrepoint, OG, Isetan etc if I'm not wrong. Anything wrong, you can just go back to the promoter and they will happily help you
Annelise,
Ya, it's annoying to see such beautiful pots tarnish so easily... and I got to be selective and careful with what I cook in those pots...ridiculous right? They still have not gotten back to me on the white spots cos I asked for an explanation how come mine got white spots even thou I never use salt in my cooking
First thing the lady asked me when she saw the white spots was "you cooked Maggi mee in it is it?" I told her no but thought to myself, dun tell me some things cannot be cooked in those pots meh? Then why I bother to buy such expensive pots? Come to think about it, I think I made the right choice to give away my WMF wok and bought a Tiger wok to cook... otherwise, I got more problems trying to maintain the stainless steel wok from burnt stains!
Katgrrl,
I think you better dun use the steel wool too much as it will wear the protective layer of the stainless steel. When I bought my set of pots, the lady told me not to use those steel wool to scrub my pots/wok. I think those green wool is the max, and nothing stronger than that... it actually causes more scratch marks on the pots. The inside is fine lah, but the outside hor... very unsightly leh.
As for those with rainbow stains, you might want to go buy the special cleaner from WMF (not cheap), a small bottle for around $12+ or so. The lady told me an alternative brand wld be Kleen. You can check out those big supermarkets and it should say something like for cleaning pots and pans... shld be cheaper than the branded WMF cleaner