WMF Pots and Pans

blush

carol
yup, u don't get to go into the grounds until it's your turn to collect keys.
one way is to find out who are the pple collecting keys early (from the forum) and then tag along with them when they go in.....or even just hang around the entrance of PG to catch those going in (if you REALLY want to get in)...
but otherwise, yup, will stretch over a month or so...

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Maybe won't purposely go for the sale, but if I do go to the expo over the weekend, then I might pop over to see if there's any good buys

luckystar

roller, where is the harvey norman warehouse sales going to be at?

how long is the robinsons warehse sales lasting?

excalibur

I forsee the expo to very extremely crowded from tomorrow till Sun...
Robinson, Metro and Harvey Norman warehouse sales...
*pengz*

excalibur

Oops... My bad....
Went there on Friday nite, and realised that Metro sale wun be on until towards end of the month.
Sorry for the false alarm.
But I think I saw a poster that Robinson sale would be extended till Mon...

roooller

saw isetan got henckels 2 pc set, one of which is the slicer. $38.

only valid at certain isetan branch. i remember bugis is one of them.

blush

amelia
i saw a demo at tangs of some Tiger wok. is that what you are talking about? i'm interested to find out the feedback on that too....

waterbibi

Yes the Tangs one(hearsay) cept' i don't know how it looks like and i can't find any info online.I contemplating between getting a cookware set where i am at or returning home to s'pore for the Tiger series.

Any kind of feedback will be appreciated

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Long time no talk on this thread

I didn't go for the Metro warehouse sale cos I think I have been spending too much lately at all those endless sales... However I did go for the Robinson sale at Centrepoint...and bought the lesser known Tiger wok

That wok is ex man! I paid $170+ for a wok, with one extra clip-on long handle and a food turner.

Oh, that day saw in the papers that the Tanyu pot size 8 selling at $38 at Isetan...but I didn't rush down to buy... too many things lying around at home and still dunno when can get my keys... so dun dare to buy more now...later now move until siao!

roooller

hi Carol,

yalor long time no hear fr u too.
This thread has bn v.quiet.

If u hear any gd deal for tanyu size 12.
Let me noe ya?

bbmaru

Hee, the thread has been quiet cos all of us have gotten all the WMF pots and pans we wanna get
...so now nothing fresh to talk abt yet...

Ok, will definitely sms you if I do see gd offer for size 12. Just to make sure, that is a claypot or a stewpot? Cos dunno if there are size 12 for both claypot and stewpot...if so, then it's kind of confusing...

Hey, you heard of purple clay crockpot? I'm going to buy that specially to make soup and stew...it no only help absorb excess oil from the soup, it also releases iron and other minerals into the soup since purple clay is a type of mineral

roooller

no 12 is a claypot, perfect size for curry fish head.

wat's purple clay crockpot?

wat's the brand? where did u find it?

bbmaru

Hi Roooller,
I see. I will keep a look out for you

The purple clay is orginally use for making those Chinese teapots for brewing chinese tea. Becos it's porous, it's said to be able to retain the fragrance of the tea in the teapot. It wasn't that common to use it for the making of a crock pot, but lately I saw more and more of such surfacing. One of the brand is Zisa, which is a computerised crockpot that you can set timing and temperature. Zisa also has double-boil purple clay pot for brewing soup. Pretty useful and they cost around $100+.

Anor economical brand (which is the one I want to buy) is from Iona. It's a normal electric crockpot and cost only $39 at Courts. Hmm... dunno if pple will rush to grab it since I say it until so nice... I think I better go grab it before it runs out

blush

long time no see!
yah, i agree that this thread has become quiet since everyone has bought their henckels and WMFs!!

katgrrl
ok, will resend email...

carol
u mean those "zi sa cha hu" things? they now have claypot for soup? the one that you mentioned, it's like a slow cooker then? how big is it? i have a slow cooker at the moment, but it's a really really tiny one. have to really watch it cooking, otherwise may dry up!(was a present from someone)

bbmaru

Hey Blush! No time not talk

Yes, the purple clay (zi sa) is the same type of clay they use for making tea pots. It's actually brown in colour but read that the colour will vary depending on the nature and composition of the clay.

I am intending to get a 3L one (middle size). The biggest size (read but didn't see the actualy prdt) comes with a double boil purple clay container (like those you use to brew bird nest), so it's like you pay 2 for the price of one
But think that biggest one is too big for me and my hubb, so getting the middle size one is just nice. Can leave it on before I leave the house for work, then have yummy stew/soup when I return from work

Hey, you know what? I already bought the Tiger wok after I saw the demo...and I also asked the guy abt your wok's condition... he said maybe your food turner is too stiff, so you cld have accidentally chip the wok while cooking... but that was based on his assumption. He said that it's ok, it's not harmful to health and you can continue to use the wok...since there is no coating used for the wok...is it really so?

roooller

Carol,

I just bought over the weekend.
It's meant for preparing brown rice for my son.

I bought the middle size, $169, taka hving 10% discount.
Also, they giving free mini sewing machine.

Blush,
this zisa don't get burn one.
if u want to get, get the middle size, the small one it's too small.

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Wah, you are such a 24-xiao mother... brown rice also need zi sa slow cooker... but that's quite ex... thought I saw something like less than $150 (still got 10% discount)? But since they are giving you a mini sewing machine...then not that bad...

The zi sa won't burn, but will still dry up (all slow cooker will) if you on it at "high" setting. Moreover, it's not fire-proof (unlike some stone crockpot) so you cannot heat the zisa pot directly over the stove.

Hey, you bought all your appliances liao?? Good deal?

roooller

Carol,

of cos not just prepare brown rice, but save my time lor.

the first few hrs suppose to be in 'cooking' mode, thereafter will in 'keep warm' mode. was told i will hv to put on medium mode for my brown rice.

were u lookg at the small size? tat's y the price is < $150? if medium size where did u saw? thot they only sellg at departmental store?

bbmaru

Roooller,
Hmm... actually I didn't check the size... I only took a glance of it and saw that it's like $119 or $129 (before 10% discount).That was when I was at Robinsons sale. Recently I saw it being sold at Courts, so I guess they are slowing expanding the sale of the zisa pots to other areas.

roooller

carol,

ya most of the major shpg centres they do sell.
i chk at ck tang and taka, not sure abt isetan.
selling all the same price.

my gf bought the m size few yrs ago and still the same price.

buy liao never dun chk price. else might heartache. so long noe all these while their price didnt fluctuate, in fact they still remains.

just like u-like steamer, their price has bn able to maintain after these years.

bbmaru

U-Like?? I bought the blender/grinder leh...very useful leh...so satisfied with that prdt. I can even make soya bean milk in minutes!

roooller

carol,

i got it too.
use twice now white elephant.

will definitely use it when gotta own hse.

btw, do u need to soak the soya the night b4?

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Can't believe that I was typing a reply to you and my computer boycotted on me!!

Yes, the soya beans must be soaked overnight. Do you have the mill? Did you get it free or paid $19.90 for it?

Actually you should make use of the grinder more, like grind ikan bilis powder to add to the brown rice for your son or make fruit smoothie for yourself...

blush

wow, once again this thread moves so fast!

carol, yah, long time no talk!
u not online nowadays?
u bought the tiger wok? is this the same one as the Tangs demo one?
thanks for asking for me! my wok is not the Tiger one. i thot Tiger was too ex, so i bought the normal non-stick kind....i don't think its my turning stick, cos i use the one that they provided me with! (free gift)
have u got ur keys yet?

bbmaru

Hi Blush!
Nowadays cannot chat online liao... got work to do and ban from using Yahoo

Oh, blur me, I still thought you bought the Tiger wok... it shld be the same one since the guy told me he's from Tangs and sometimes go Pple's Park to do demo also... That Tiger wok is actually from Korea, not Japan and nto to be mixed up with Tiger Japan (2 diff brands).

If yours is the normal Teflon-coated wok, then better dun use since the coating may peel and it may be bad for health if eaten. Go get yourself one during the next Robinsons sale lah... more worth it to get there than at Tangs... I got the middle size one, so it cos me $150+ (wok alone). The extra long handle and turner I got is at $10 each

Can you imagine I can use that wok to make popped corn? So fun! Even my hubb was impressed with what the wok (and the demo guy) can do

And no, I haven't gotten my keys...so sad. Heard so many pple said the quality quite lousy... can you imagine the stainless steel stand for our basin wash top is already rusty? So lousy! Didn't even bother to give us decent standard of stainless steel

roooller

Carol,

i got the mill for free.
think the promo is always so.

ya i use it to grind ikan bilis.
now my son is eating whole grain so need not grind the brown rice anymore.

blush

Carol, oic...no wonder never see u already...

yah, mine is the lousy teflon one...i haven't used it since the cut appeared. but since it's pretty new, i still want to see if they can change it for me. very sad to waste money like that.

popcorn? so fun! sigh...i wish i bought the Tiger one. the $150 is before or after discount?

dun sad abt ur hse. maybe yours is ok. there are some units that will be better than others.

roooller
how old is your son? i find other ppl's kids very interesting...as long as i don't have to suffer the crying!
really don't know how to placate them!

bbmaru

Hey Blush,
$151 to be precise. If you go during the sale with the $20 discount, then it will cost only $131 for a medium size. If you dun cook much, then a small one will be sufficient and it cost only $135 (before discount). The guy was very funny, he even told me to go down to Tangs when I'm free...he will teach me how to cook more things using the wok and pan
Oh yes, I bought a Tiger pot from him too...at $29 (purchase with purchase)

blush

carol
thanks. think i very kiasu one, sure end up buying the big or medium one. in case i need to cook for groups of friends coming over. is it true that the pan is non-stick? and can use metal utensils? (i didn't know if that guy was telling the truth, or it was just a sales pitch)
yah, the tangs guy i spoke to the last time told me that he has customers that come everyday to learn recipes!!

roooller
oooh, 21 mth is a good age! old enuf to do stuff. shld be very cute!

bbmaru

Hey Blush,
I think the big size one is pretty big leh... even the demo guy uses only medium size... I got the medium for the same reason as you, i.e. can cook for friends when they come...

That one can use metal utensils (bought one turner from him at $10, supposed to be softer and safer for the wok). I wld say that this anodised wok is a perfect opposite of Tefal pans. You can use it for steaming, got to wash it when it's still hot, can use metal utensils etc. All these are not achievable by the Tefal pans. Once you use Tefal pans for steaming... it gradually loses its non-stick properties and will start peeling in no time...ill!

You know hor... one thing I worry is that I paid so much for the wok and then one day end up seeing it being sold at a much cheaper price some where else... maybe I have been thinking too much

Anyway, I have not used the wok yet, so cannot feedback too much... maybe will only get to use after I move in...

bbmaru

Hey all,
Hee hee...I'm going to revive this thread that has been dead for some time...

Now that I have started using all my appliances, I give thumbs up for my Tiger wok. It's so easy to use and clean, non-stick and food dun get burnt so easily. I can control the "fire" better with this wok... and of course, food cooked using this wok taste yummy! Even my husband commented that the fried egg smelled nice and tasty! Thanks to Tiger wok!

As for WMF pots, I was a little disappointed. To think that I paid so much for those sets of pots and pans and end up I got to take extra care when using them. Apparently they are not suitable to be used to cook meat. I use it to cook bak kut teh and I ended up have "rainbow" colour at the bottom of my pot!!

The WMF lady told me that it's "natural" due to the protein... huh?! I dun have problems cooking meat using cheaper stainless steel pots...now I'm using expensive one and I ended up with colourful pots?! It's very unsightly with those stains. People dunno will think that I never wash my pot clean! But luckily, it can be removed with a special kind of abrasive cleaner...but not CIF thou.

What's worse is my saucepan. I had some white spots stains at the bottom of the pan which cannot be removed by the same special cleaner. The lady told me it could be due to the salt. Now it's the salt... the instruction booklet says that one cannot put salt directly into the pot when cooking. It will cause white spots to the pots/pans. But the problem here is I never put salt in it... I hardly put salt when I cook, so what cause the white spots? I dunno. Though it pretty good to use... it's a "troublesome" utensils to have in the kitchen. But what to do? Just be careful lor... For those out there who have the same problem, now you know what had happened...

bookworm

yo carol,
thanks for the advice, can i know where u bought ur tiger wok?

now must change the brand of the pots liao. haha

annelise

Hi Carol

I totally agree with you about the WMF pots! Mine too are rainbow-coloured and full of white spots - gave up trying to "maintain" their looks already! I do find that using Mama Lemon does bring the shine back - I've been using mine for 5 years already and when I just switched to using Mama Lemon, I find that my pots look newer and shinier again!

katgrrl

I've got a set of WMF pots too. I know what you mean about the 'colouring' at the base. I had them too but they came off when I used really hot water to clean them. Just let the hot soapy water sit for awhile and for real stubborn stains, use a stainless steel cleaner or a steel scrub.

As for the white spots, I add salt to my food and don't have that problem. I think what it means is that you can't add salt unless there's food in it or unless the water's boiling if you just have water in it. So far, I'm happy with mine

bbmaru

Hi Bookworm,
The Tiger wok is not the one from Japan. It's has got this "cheap" packaging and it's from Korea...but dun guide a wok by its cover.. it's not disappointing at all! You can get that from Tangs, Robinsons Centrepoint, OG, Isetan etc if I'm not wrong. Anything wrong, you can just go back to the promoter and they will happily help you

Annelise,
Ya, it's annoying to see such beautiful pots tarnish so easily... and I got to be selective and careful with what I cook in those pots...ridiculous right? They still have not gotten back to me on the white spots cos I asked for an explanation how come mine got white spots even thou I never use salt in my cooking
First thing the lady asked me when she saw the white spots was "you cooked Maggi mee in it is it?" I told her no but thought to myself, dun tell me some things cannot be cooked in those pots meh? Then why I bother to buy such expensive pots? Come to think about it, I think I made the right choice to give away my WMF wok and bought a Tiger wok to cook... otherwise, I got more problems trying to maintain the stainless steel wok from burnt stains!

Katgrrl,
I think you better dun use the steel wool too much as it will wear the protective layer of the stainless steel. When I bought my set of pots, the lady told me not to use those steel wool to scrub my pots/wok. I think those green wool is the max, and nothing stronger than that... it actually causes more scratch marks on the pots. The inside is fine lah, but the outside hor... very unsightly leh.

As for those with rainbow stains, you might want to go buy the special cleaner from WMF (not cheap), a small bottle for around $12+ or so. The lady told me an alternative brand wld be Kleen. You can check out those big supermarkets and it should say something like for cleaning pots and pans... shld be cheaper than the branded WMF cleaner

katgrrl

THanks for the tip, Carol. Thank goodness I use the green wool and not those meshes of steel wire. I've a theory why there are white spots outside the pot. Perhaps there are grains of salt on the tabletop and you put the pot on it so it picked them up. Hmm, my pot's exterior is still shiny, but I'll keep a lookout for them.

bbmaru

KatGrrl,
No lah, the white spots are inside my pot. That's why I'm still wondering what's the cause of those stains.

Roooller,
Green wool is really the max you can go. Using the steel wool will wear off the protective layers of your pans/wok, esp wok. The normal ($129) wok is only a 3 layer wok, so if you use steel wool, it will spoil the wok's protective layer. If you got stain, maybe can use baking soda and soak it overnight. If it doesn't work, then try boiling the solution to see if the stain goes off... better to seek professional advice from the WMF pple...cos those pots we have are not the normal cheapo pots... Now I know WMF pots are expensive and yet high maintenance...