WMF Pots and Pans

blush

hiya all!!
sorry i have "disappeared" for so long...was busy with a conference at work. no time to check email and internet...

carol
i think that NTUC has learnt their lesson with BL...but just be mentally prepared. don't stress...also, i think our case was especially bad, cos we had industry ppl as neighbours (eg. civil engineer). so they can identify more technical errors (like speed of lift, or thickness of glass etc)

roooller
sorry, don't know which series my mom is using. she bought it MANY MANY MANY years ago. maybe at that time, henckles didn't even have series yet!

anyway, i bought the robinson's trade in promotion set. quite good value for money. not their best, but think they're sufficient for me.

almost bought the scissors, but FH stopped me...says that i'm not a professional cook, why do i need such an expensive scissors....
will think about it, and maybe "xian zan hou zou"...heehee
(i bought the tefal trade-in promotional pan also...:p)

bbmaru

Hey Blush,
Long time no "hear"... I went to the Robinson sale yesterday and saw that Robinson had the Henckels trade-in promo too (I was hopping mad). I cld have traded in my knife for that earlier... but then, the Robinson staff too me that it's out of stock already (was still thinking maybe can get extra 20% off). But after thinking again, maybe they bluffed abt not having any more stock becos they wld make a loss on the knives. So in the end, I settled for a knife block set (still thought I wld get a stainless steel holder but ended up getting a wooden one instead). It was sold at $148 consisting 1 cleaver, 1 multi-purpose knive and a paring knife, plus the wooden knife block. It's a Twin Pollux set (which is slight better than Twin Gourmet). I believe the trade in promo is also a Twin Pollux set but diff knives. Hope I won't regret

The Tefal trade in promo is also a good deal if you are a fan of non-stick pans. But I'm trying to cut down the usage of non-stick pans...so still considering whether if I shld get it.

Hey Roooller,
There's 20% for the Tanyu pot. I calculated. A size 8 and 12 will cost $112 after 20% discount. Then with that $20 voucher and 5% rebate, you pay abt $87+. You save abt $12. So how? You think it's a better deal for you to make a trip down? If you are coming down for the Tanyu pots, then I will see if there a gd way for me to pass you the voucher. But I'm not too sure if the stock has been snapped up yesterday, I'm also worried that there might not be the sizes that you want to buy.

b2b3m4

Thanks anotherhedgehog for the info.
Think i'll buy this set when it goes on promotion again.
U can use the pressure cooker for steaming? What type of dishes do u steam?

roooller,
U bought the same pressure cooker set too?? Easy to use? I'm very concern, cos' i have never use a pressure cooker all my llife (including my mum). Only heard that it can cook food very fast, so very interested to get one. So if we were to use pressure cooker to cook those soups that req long hours of simmering, wld i be able to achieve the same effect in a shorter time like 1h?

Pardon me for asking me so many questions.

roooller

Hi Carol,

at Taka, size 8 and 12 hving promo @ $100.

i saw henckels trade-in promo, the salesgal (malay pretty gal) even offer us a used knife. hehe

but we didn't get up the offer as the salesgal shown me the more lasting model will be the professional set. n since i'm thinking to get a 'complete' set, so i gave that a miss.

definitely v.gd deal though. hope i don't regret not getting.

then end of the day, we might end up getting wmf professional set @ $398 at taka.

cos the wmf promo package, in term of the knives size is better than what henckel set @ $488 is offering.

roooller

B2B3M4,

well my hub feedback my MIL soup is much better.
last time used to be too blant.

i can't feedback whether good to use anot.
i get another set for our new house.
tat's hub idea

my MIL has bn using it v.religiously.

we bought also during then, a ex-customer was there browsing, hving v.positive feedback fr her.

roooller

gals,

tips hor.
if u want to buy electrical appliances dun go for major shopg centres hor. unless u want to enjoy their interest free promo.

go to those neighbour stores.
u will be surprised how much saving u can generate.

email or pm if u want to know where.

bbmaru

Roooller,
If I get the professional set, my husband might use the knives to hack me!!

He was already complaining why I buy such an expensive set of knives...wat's so great deal abt these Henckel knives... well, I dunno, I just love like them

roooller

haha Carol so farnee.

for me, it's my hub's idea.
it's my idea to get wmf pressurized cooking but he's the one who decided to OK AND BUY. while, i was still SURE ANOT?

i didn't get the henckels trade-in set is becos the salesgal also said it's not forging.

she managed to sell me the idea of the professional set but too bad think end of the day, my hub's idea to get wmf instead. thought as a package as we already gotta their pressure cooker and cultery set was given free then.

hey the $148 henckels set u gotta sound a gd deal. u mean still can get further $20 discount + 5% discount (member)?

mean in total u pay $121.60 for the whole set?

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Hahaha, hear already dun faint hor... I paid $98+ (bef rebate)

After a lot of comparisons and calculations, I decided on the knife block set cos if I dun get that, I will still have to buy a knife holder at the end of the day, which means extra $$.

Although I already had a chopper bef I bought this set, the extra one is more heavy duty and can use to chop chicken or meat at their joints.

Actually after I bought that, I went home to surf the Henckels site again... then realise that I like a Santoku knife more cos it's EXTREMELY sharp. I love sharp knives, makes my cutting job easier
. Maybe the next sale I will buy the Santoku knife...husband gonna kill me!!

Btw, Robinsons is having a warehouse sale at Expo soon. Friend told me that.

bbmaru

Forgot to add, the Henckel knives got 20% off the marked price
That's how I got my knives REAL cheap...or maybe not that cheap...but a definitely a good buy.

I take it that I paid less than $20 for a Henckels wooden knife block cos the set I got is slightly more than the price of the trade in set.

lady_is

Hi Carol,
Did u get the set at the City Hall or Centrepoint branch? Me oso deciding between the trade-in one and the Knives Block set. Very difficult to decide.

Dreamer, the sales is still on tonite for the other batch of members.

roooller

Carol,

ever see robinsons warehouse sale got sell knives?
dont think so leh.
so ur purchase now would definitely a gd deal.

katgrrl

Heheh... yesh! a thread on WMF!
my fav brand of cookware.

I got their 5 piece stainless steel set of pots a couple of years ago. Served me really well especially when I love to cook in huge quantities
. It's also usuable in the oven when I cook a stew.

For all of u busy ladies out there, do consider also a slow cooker (aka crockpot). I dump the meat, herbs, spices, veg in there when I leave the house in the morning and get really nice soup/stew/porridge at nite. Just be sure to leave enuff water (esp for porridge)...u can boil it rapidly before serving if you want a less runny stew or a more concentrated soup. Bak Kut teh is 1 of my fav fuss-free soup (and quite idiot-proof too luckily)
...oh, and beef rendang too! drool....

haha, not a salesperson for crockpot btw...

ps. you can get really smooth porridge like Crystal Jade's with the crockpot.

roooller

KatGrrl,

Pardon me, do u hv a pix to see what's a crockpot?
slow cooker and those rice cooker is it the same?
paisay hor, i'm nuts abt all these stuffs.
I'm moving house soon, was cracking my head how to prepare dinner for my son.
Also, to prepare his brown rice for his lunch.

did u hv WMF knives too? hehe

blush

haha
carol...i think my FH will chop me too if i buy any more henckles/WMF stuff!! buying the trade-in knives he already complaining. to him, it's just a knife. if i try to explain the forging and the professional set and etc, he sure disallow me to buy anything! heehee, so quite happy that i got the trade-in set. i know it's not top quality, but still good compared to other brands!

roooller
crockpot, aka slow cooker. looks a bit similar to rice cooker in shape. there's a brown (ceramic i think) pot inside, which can be removed. (like rice cooker got silver pot inside) runs on electricity. comes in various sizes. there's usually a knob outside to set the high or medium heat.

katgrrl
bak kut teh also my fave crockpot recipe. really idiot proof (if you get ready-mix ingredients), and taste very authentic! do u have the recipe for beef rendang? can share? btw, i've heard of pple using rice cooker to cook porridge. is crockpot better or rice cooker?

bbmaru

Hi Lady_is,
Sorry, I only saw your post now... Not sure abt Centrepoint, but I bought mine at Raffles City. Hope you managed to get your ideal set. Anyway, I was told that they dun have any more stocks for the trade-in set..but I suspect it's crap since it was sale that nite.

Roooller,
The crockpot is the same as slow cooker. I like the idea of using it too...but dunno if it consumes a lot of electricity. Also, scare if water not enuf, come back from work and the slow cooker might be spoilt or on fire!!! So maybe will only use it when I'm at home...then do some "testing" before leaving it on to simmer when I leave for work.

Think those Tiger AI cooker (a bit squarish shape one) can cook brown rice pretty well...if you want, you can also cook it with white rice, cos if your son is new to brown rice, he might not like it. So mixing it with some white rice can help him to get used to brown rice faster.

To use normal rice cooker to cook brown rice, you need to cook it in the rice cooker for abt 15-20 mins, then add in and stir the washed white rice a bit to cook further. You got to gauage the amt of water needed for the rice accordingly.

Brown rice porridge is nice too... maybe you can let you son try that too

Anor thing I want to share is...it has been proven that germinated brown rice is much better than oridnary brown rice. Fancl is the only company selling germinated brown rice in SG now (and they have got a patent for it). If you are willing to splurge on such things, then maybe you can buy a pack to try...it's 500g a pkt I think...and comes with a price...at $15.50 (or so if I'm not wrong). I will say it's a luxury food
. Too bad Fancl's SG website for food supplements is still under construction.

Alternatively, wat I do now is I soak my brown rice for many hrs before I cook them...not sure if it's the same as the germinated brown rice (as germinated rice = soaked rice such that it starts germinating), but it certain taste better cos it's softer and more moist when cooked. You may want to try that. If you are cooking lunch, soak the brown rice the previous night before you go to sleep. If you are cooking for dinner, you can soak it when you wake up

Hope that helps!

roooller

Carol,

My son is already on brown rice without mixing.
I'm giving him organic brown rice.
OMG! Ppl already say 1kg for $5.15 @ nature farm is ex. 500g for $15.50?

U got Fancl address?

bbmaru

Roooller,
I think they dun know the market price for organic food. 1 kg $5.15 where got ex... Normal brown rice is already $3+ per kg, moreover this is germinated brown rice we are talking abt.

You mean the website address or store location? Most Isetan stores have Fancl outlets. You can buy from there. No info on germinated brown rice (GBR)on their website now cos under construction. Go and check with their sales person if you like. If you are a reading person, here's a link to the patent Fancl got for their GBR.
http://patft.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-Parser?Sect1=PTO2&Sect2=HITOFF&p=1&u=/netahtml/search-bool.html&r=1&f=G&l=50&co1=AND&d=ptxt&s1=fancl.ASNM.&OS=AN/fancl&RS=AN/fancl
I think I'm buying a pack to try...want to see how diff it taste from my normal brown rice. Heard that GBR taste sweeter and nicer... and of course, not forgetting it's nutritionally much better than normal brown rice or white rice

roooller

Carol,

My friend and colleague is comparing to norm white rice of cos ex lor. hehe

Hey u on total brown rice? Got recipe to share?

What are u using now?
My gf sil eating brown rice but those 'red' color one.
Was told, should eat asian brown rice, rather than brand like "lumberg" or "nature brown".

bbmaru

Roooller,
I dun really have any recipe to share, except knowing how to cook brown rice

Never tried cooking the Cantonese style porridge with brown rice, but will try one of these days when I have my OWN kitchen

I take both "red" rice and brown rice. Those "red" rice are harder (maybe more fiber) and more chewy, usu will mix with white rice. But the brown rice, sometimes will mix but trying to go on full brown rice. You shld really try soaking the brown rice bef cooking...they come out fluffier

One of these days I'm going to try clay pot rice using brown rice and see how it turns out! I'm sure the soaked brown rice will turn out nice in the claypot! *drool*

I am not too particular abt the brand of brown rice thou I take Asian brands more often than Austrialian or anywhere else... Hey talking abt ex, I have seen those Jap brand rice selling at $50+ for 10kg! And they are only WHITE rice.

roooller

Carol,

Tanyu @ JL ever see demo on brown rice, taste deliciously.

Maybe u should ask the JL salesgal for the receipe. hehe

Jap stuffs r alway ex lor.

bbmaru

Roooller,
You know wat's the diff between the normal claypot and the Tanyu pot? I'm very tempted to buy those normal claypot with very nice Jap floral prints on them...cos Tanyu is black and dull...

Oh yes, the older pple said must soak the claypot bef you use for the first time...Dunno why leh.. anyone knows the rationale behind this?

roooller

Carol,

Er, not sure how to tell u leh.
Tanyu is my preferred choice as it's universal.
Can use as a wok, u can save money on wok.

Need not use oil.

This tanyu is different fr the normal claypot. No need to soak one.

Don't know who's the rational.

I like the guy @ Taka, go check out his demo.
He explained to me who is it better than other.
Also, I went there a few times, quite frequent u get to see his customer coming back to buy more.

My MIL bought size 12 for curry fish head.
V.gd leh, can keep warm longer than others utensils.

Basically, think they can retain heat.
Guess u can cook faster and save ur gas lor.

I saw the gal @ JL demo brown rice.
Taste abit, v.nice. Taste norm claypot rice.
But not sure, whether the sauce she's using healthy, got MSG anot though.
hehe

roooller

hey Carol,

saw the other forum, ur property TOP liao huh?
congratuls!

btw, just 2 advices.
if u want FAST, pay ALL the 3 REQUIRED CHQ (maintenance fee, survey fee and can't remember what) via cashier order. Not sure whether PG works the same way as Nuovo.

u can alway activiate ur elect, water and gas at a later time via this link.
http://www.citygas.com.sg/

For Nuovo, during key collection, u hv complimentary aircon supply fr the developer. So no hurry to activate.

if u want to buy electrical appliances, go for those at neighbourhood stores.

u will be able to see how much savings u can get fr them.

good luck!

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Thanks for the info... now you are also interested in our TOP
. Doesn't it feel gd when you need others getting TOP? I felt so when you guys got your TOP then

I think we are the more kan cheong lot in PG, so we have discussed all of the above long before we smell TOP

Not sure if we get the gd service (complimentary aircon) like CDL, but we sure have to wait for some time before we get our keys...even we pay by cashier's order now. Think they are not really ready to release the units yet.

And to make things worse, we cannot even go in even now it has TOP, unlike you guys, can go in and look see when it's TOPed.

katgrrl

No, I don't have WMF knives. I may buy the henckle knives 1 day tho...they're so beautifully crafted!

Blush,
I can dig out the rendang recipe if u want. Pls leave me your email address. But I must warn u that I made the rempah from scratch altho I think u should be able to use the ready made rempah as well. First, fry the rempah until it's a little fragrant (opt: boost it with 1-2stalks lemongrass and 3-4 lime leaves). Then coat the rempah with the cubed beef in the crockpot, add undiluted coconut milk until it barely covers the meat and let it simmer on low for 8-10hours (! yah, it takes this long). If the spice paste is good and u've got a good cut of beef, then the result is exactly like those at Nasi padang shops. I also remove the lid in the last 2hours to dry out the gravy. The crockpot is great because food doesn't stick on it hehe...

The diff between the crockpot and rice cooker for porridge is that u can leave the former alone while the rice cooker needs supervision to ensure that it doesn't boil over. The crockpot's longer cooking time may also mean that the porridge is smoother. But bewarned that the rice in the crockpot really expands so that u'll get a lot more than u thought. I always end up with too much leftover porridge

bbmaru

KatGrrl,
I want the Rendang recipe also.... I want I want!!! Will PM you my email address

Dun wait for the trade-in promo to be over before buying a set of the Henckels knives. The Twin Polloux is not a bad choice for weekend cooks like us. But if you are like Roooller who prefers the better (and very ex) ones like 4 or 5 Stars or Professional S, then you can take your time to shop around for the best deal. Otherwise, go grab the trade-in set .

bbmaru

Oops, Katgrrl, you do not accept PM. Why not after you got your recipe, copy and paste the whole of it for all to share
?

roooller

hi Carol,

my SIL got a unit there mah.
i sms her, congratuls her.
she replied say i noe earlier than her.
haha

btw, u all not bad liao lah
PG was sold a yr after nuovo launch leh.
so the wait is definitely much shorter.

who knows u get to move in b4 i do.
cos currently i hv some leakage probz

anyway, survey fee + maint fee (check with NTUC)
legal fee (chk with ur own lawyer) ur lawyer won't noe how much is the survey and maint fee. so no need to ask them.

all fee variable for unit type.
so has to chk urself.
once u got hold of all the amt, get the bank to issue cashier order. ea cashier order costs $5. just pass it to ur lawyer. once they gotta the document fr NTUC, they will be able to release almost immediately.

hope this info helps.

provided the procedure is the same as nuovo.

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Think ours is slightly diff from Nuovo. Well, I dun totally trust that the quality of NTUC will be better than CDL...moreover, it TOP so much faster than Nuovo...though fast, but that may mean that they rushed...

I heard from my neighbours that the developer told her that the surveyor's fees are the same for all. Stamp duties we know the time we bought our unit, legal fees subsidised and maintenance fee is @$240/mth (how much is yours?). We have all the necessary figures on hand liao lor... (told you we are a kan cheong lot!

roooller

Carol,

oh ya, stamp duty too. forget to mention earlier.
sorry, maint fee same for all except for penthouse. $248

maint fee (to pay 6 mths in advance)

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
I read one article which mentions the maintenance of the clay pots (in general, not specifically to Tanyu). It says it's better not to use detergent to wash the claypot as clay is porous, so detergent might seep into the pores. It suggests using coarse salt (not those fine salt which you use for cooking) and a hard bristle brush to clean the clay pot instead...since food dun usually stick to the clay pot. We shld also nto wash it when it's still hot, cos it might crack due to the cold temp of tap water.

It also said that the clay pot shld be aired dry before storing it, with the lid placed by the side to prevent the breeding of mold in case it's not totally dry yet.

Hope tat helps those who have clay pots at home

anotherhedgehog

B2B3M4: Yes, can use pressure cooker for steaming dishes like foil-wrapped herbal chicken (but must wrap tightly otherwise all the sauce leaks out). Can steam potatoes also. For food that cooks fast (like fish) I don't bother - otherwise easy to overcook. My mom uses hers at home to make soup - I think it's good.

I've been using my slow cooker/crockpot also - good for boiling herbal tonics, porridge, stews etc. Sometimes on Saturday night I saute some garlic, onions and celery, add a can of chopped tomatoes, a cup of red lentils and some chickpeas (you can also use carrots if you have), and plenty of water. I leave it on overnight, and yay, Sunday lunch is ready when I wake up
(season with salt, black pepper etc before serving!)

katgrrl

Hi Carol and (anyone interested in the recipe ;),

Please email me your email address and I'll send it to u once I have access to my 'database' of recipes (I'm out of the country until mid Oct). My email is [email protected]

Happy cooking all!

lady_is

Hi KatGrrl,

I'm interested in your recipes too.
I haven't try cooking since I don't hv my own kitchen yet. Sure hope your recipes is idiot-proof.

Will be sending you email soon.
Thanks!!!

blush

katgrrl
thanks, will email you soon....

carol
congrats!! TOP liao!! i'm sure you are very excited about your new place....

bbmaru

Hi Blush,
Sure excited but was greeted with more disappointment after we got the TOP news, cos NTUC doesn't allow us to enter before we get our keys...so we can't even check out PG's surronding...so giow!

Also, they told us that keys are given in batches and is very much the blk by blk way...and I was told maybe I will not get my keys so soon... so how excited can I be...

bbmaru

Roooller,
Tell us what big "killings" you have made at Taka... did you see the New Face competition tat night?

roooller

Carol,

'Killings' haha ... wat a word to use.
most stuffs r wmf, i've mentioned to u at ym.

Too little time to stop by to see new face. so didn't get a chance to get a glimpse.

bbmaru

Roooller,
When you went down to Isetan, there were still Tiger airpots? They must have replenished quite a couple of times, cos I think the initial 300 were snapped up in the morning. They pasted the "sold out" sticker on the poster, but stocks came in later in the afternoon.

I bought a Tiger non-stick frying pan as well. It's coating is not made of Teflon, so I thought I will buy one to try. Came in very nice lime green colour too... very cute.

I saw this WMF timer in a shape of a pot... turn the cover of the pot for the timer to work...very cute also, $9 only but didn't buy cos dunno how to read its readings

roooller

Carol,

ya so i'm quite lucky to get the tiger airpot when i reach there abt 8pm.

too bad don't think white color

i gotta the light grey color as the last white pic is the display set which i thot anyway white will turn yellowish to console myself.

it's v.gd buy!

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
I didn't even know I can't accept PM

Maybe you can email me...you got my email address right?

Anyway, there's no "white" colour airpot. The grey one you got is the "white" one...the other one is pink. If I'm not wrong, the one you got is the one who a grey rose...whereas the other design is with pink girly floral design which I think will turn outdated faster than the grey one. The one you got shld be a better choice

roooller

er, think we talking abt different design is it?
the one i bought came with 3 diff temp settings, 60, 86 and 98.
$119 only 2 colors. white n grey.

bbmaru

Roooller,
I dun even think we are talking abt the same prdt
!!

The Tiger airpot I'm talking abt is the water for keep hot water...and it's on offer for $29.90 only. Which one are you talking abt? Or are you talking abt the magic pot for cooking?

roooller

haha Carol.
Same Tiger brand.
The one u talking abt is near the cashier.

Mine also tiger but digital type.

can pm me ur email add?
i've deleted it.