WMF Pots and Pans

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Really?? Does your sil chat on the forum??
Which blk is she staying in?

Well, if you read your Nuovo thread, I posted on 12 and 13 Sept that my ID is thru my PG neighbour's recommendation (she work mainly by referrals). I have met up with her and I personally like her working attitude. Moreover, she came across as an honest ID who gives her best quotation rather than marking up the price and then let you bargain.

You know, after the Nuovo incident, me and my PG neighbour are more careful in recommending pple our ID cos we didn't want pple to think that we are IDs in disguise (which is an insult to us). One of your future neighbours, Luf, is using our ID too. So if you are septical abt how gd she is, you can find out from Luf after her hse is done

If you are really interested to know her quotes and see her work, let me have your email and I can forward you her contacts.

roooller

Carol,

oic now i recall ur recommendation @ nuovo forum.

u mean ur current house, done by this ID?

I still can't figure out, since u hvnt gonna ur PG.

LUCKY my SIL don't chat in forum, else I hv to b v.careful abt the ONE LADY thingy.

u can pm me her contact.

haha

bbmaru

Hi Roooller,
My current house (doesn't belong to me) are not done by this ID that I recommended. That time I still didn't know her yet. It's my PG home that she will be renovating

Personally, I think if I can trust her work based on her working attitude (even she hasn't started working on my unit), I dun quite see why others can't trust her as much as I do, unless there are many suspicious/skeptical individuals out there which has never crossed my mind...

Maybe your sil is chatting and you didn't know, since most of us use nicks

roooller

Carol,

think my SIL don't hv internet account. can't remember which blk it's hers.

tell her PG gonna TOP soon, she's not that excited also.

guess she already gonna her own house for so long.
unlike me, waited 35 LONG YEARS!

haha

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Hahaha... I still thought that you were a young blushing new bride!!
How many yrs have you been married?

This is also the first time I'm owning a house... so I'm as excited as you!!

blush

wow, roooller and carol
this thread so active!

what a coincidence. i also have a friend at nuovo. they are also planning to move in by october. dunno which block, but it's on the side nearest to castle green.

and i also have a good friend at parkgreen!! this one really dunno which block, cos haven't been there yet (since haven't TOP yet hor?)

i guess around our age group, a lot of pple are interested in ECs. bishan loft was very popular when it launched, pple queued up several days before. they moved the launch fwd, and sold out within 2 days. nuovo residents worse...had to physically camp out there....

my defects list ah...after a while, close one eye, just accept it. they really drag it out VERY VERY long.....and we just got fed up. so just did reno and bought furniture. and realised that most of the complaints became less obvious. eg. in the master bedroom, lots of flooring defects are now covered up by the bed. cannot see much....that said, you should still submit your defects list and try to get them rectified. cos furniture may move in future, and defects become visible again.

i haven't moved in yet, cos haven't customary yet...heehee...taking my time.....

A LOT of complaints with NTUC Choice Homes. if you see the BL forum board...full of complaints. the standard of work by the contractors is quite bad. and my defects list grew and grew and grew. and most ppl had similar defects, so it was not just an isolated case. i suspect that by being cost competitive, they may have used cheaper material/contractors - which caused so much problems (but this is my own opinion). and basic architectural faults were overlooked. like from the block to the basement carpark, not fully sheltered. will get wet if raining. or the corridors will get rain splashing, until your front door gets wet......*sigh* don't get me started on complaints against NTUC CH.

my advice is, check defects carefully!

blush

sorry, just to add. for IDs, do be careful when dealing with them. some of them may be nice to talk to, but when it comes to work...may not be so good. ask to see some of their previous works to see the quality. they will usually have the keys to other homes that are almost finish renovations, but have returned the key.

and always check the progress payment terms to make sure they are not unfavourable to you. after all, the best way to ensure proper completion and rectification is to still have outstanding payments due to them!

bbmaru

Hey Blush,
You are scaring me with the BL's horror story!! Now I'm getting worried

I think my neighbours who need to get their houses done up asap will be even more worried cos that means more delays

I do hope NTUC learn from their BL's lesson and dun repeat them in PG...but it's too late to say now

As for ID, mine is thru recommendation/referral, so I'm not as worried as if I were to look for one out there...I have also heard horror stories abt those rogue ID/contractors who despicably took the money and anyhow delivered their job. Some worse still, refuse to start work until you pay them more
One girl had her flat renovated thrice (change contractors 3 times) to finally get her house done... 1st and 2nd one screwed up the job, and the 3rd one to finally rectify! Sad story!

For my case, my ID is nice enuf to assure me that I can pay her the remaining money (after initial minimum payments) after the job is completed. This is her assurance to me so that why I'm very comfortable with her
Pls dun take this as sales talk...just that I want to share with pple how happy I am with my ID

afcai

Yes, I agreed with the advice given by Blush regards to be cautious when dealing with IDs/contractor.

bbmaru

Hey Blush & rest of those out there,

I was still talking abt Metro's 20% discount and they are having it today till Sunday (I think)

Go and check out your "1 man, 2 men" stuffs now!! Think maybe I will go get anor knife

Yesterday I went for JL's for their card member preview sale...bought this nice clay stew pot (not sure if it's called Tanyu claypot) at less than $30. Wat a gd buy!

roooller

Carol,

Wow yes it's TANYU, for < $30 it's v.good buy! It's the price after u used the $5 voucher?

I wanted to go last nite but didn't hv the time.

TANYU has another promo at TAKA, $100 for size 7 &amp; 12 (if i remember correctly).
Size 12 good for curry fish head!

bbmaru

Roooller,
I think mine is size 6, but the one I bought is more like a stew pot for soup brewing... deeper than a claypot... capacity is abt 2.4L
The price for claypot is more ex than a stew pot leh

In fact, after I use the $5 voucher, it's less than $25
! Cld have gotten a bigger one but scare too big for 2 person use. Mine is big enough to cook "lor ba"

Can't find a small claypot, or else will buy too. Actually I never use Tanyu before. Is it diff from the normal claypot (which I'm using now)?

bbmaru

Ya, good for those who wants to get the "2 men" and not the "one man" one..think this is only for the "two men" knives...

roooller

wow Carol, u so late too?

I'm chking out 7 pc set.
See wat r the sizes they offering.

the 3 knives set for $80+ with trade-in old knife look v.good deal too.

b2b3m4

HAs anyone tried WMF pressure cookers b4???
Or are there any recommendations for pressure cookers?? Want to cook nice tender ribs, lor bak etc but don have the time to prepare after work unless prepare n put on slow cooker b4 going to work... But find it too tedious.

roooller

Yes, my hub bought for my MIL quite some time back.

Her soup taste much better after that.
haha

Sorry can't advise how to cook, as I'm not the cook and also don't bother.

aloha68

hi B2B3M4, for pressure cooker .. my mum has been using this brand "Kelomat" 5L pressure cooker costing ard 500+. It can be found their shop at Aljunied area. if you wana more info on that.. can goggle "kelomat". Only the rubber inside the pot cover needs replacement. They do conduct cooking classes using the pressure cooker for a small sum like 5 dollars. was telling my mum that i will buy the kelomat pressure cooker when my place is ready. Pressure cooker cooks food faster and thus using less gas and requires less attention. But whenever the pressure cooker is in use i am rather scare. Cos i heard some horror stories like if not tightly covered it will exploded and your ceiling will have a hole ?? but the fact is that if not tightly cover or not cover will, no pressure will be form as a precaution by manufacturer.

roooller

just went robinsons to check out the henckels knives and decided to put on force.

was told those comes with the forging the best.

else, the other model not lasting.

Blush,
may i ask which range ur mum is using?

anotherhedgehog

I have WMF pots and pressure cooker. Very happy with them

I usually use the pressure cooker for beans and chickpeas - cooking time is only about 10 min compared to 1 1/2 hours in a normal pot.

bbmaru

Hi Roooller,
You sleep so late too? Must be that you surf the Net only after your baby has slept

Anyway, I think the forging part applies to all knives. Think they are more durable that way. But how do we know? Does it mean by default that ALL Zwilling (2 men) knives are forged? I think I may trade in a old knife and get the 3pc set at Taka. Actually Isetan is also having Henckels promo for their private sale 2 pc set (1 men) for $35 only! But I already have 1 men's knives, so many I will buy a set with 2 men

So which one did you buy? How much was that?

b2b3m4

Hi AnotherHedgehog,
Which pressure cooker did u get? There is one which comes in a pot plus a pan. Is that one good? How much did u pay for the pressure cooker?

b2b3m4

BTW, does Robinsons keeps WMF pressure cookers? So far i only see them selling the normal pots n utensils.

roooller

Carol,

I did not buy any.
Since promo till 3rd oct.

I'm waiting for 1st oct, seem like there's some promotion for children day.

dun be surprised i ended up getting the wmf professional set instead. :p
as henckels professional promo set, the size not v.useful leh.

roooller

Carol,

No, not all by default is forging.
Basically, there's 4 different types of handles.
The one which is the most grossy is the professional set with 3 round silver on the handles.

bbmaru

Roooller,
Professional set cost a lot leh... I reckon that I will only be cooking during the weekend, so dun think I will be getting such an expensive set. If I'm a full-time housewife, then yes, I may invest in such a wonderful set of knives, since I will be using then everyday.

Anyway, I think 3 sizes are all I need. Maybe will buy a paring knife separately

You going for the Isetan sale? I think I will go and then pop by Taka to see which promo is better. Anyway, there's a Robinsons sale for members tomorrow and I might check out if there's any gd offers there.

roooller

Carol,

Taka would be better if u hv Taka card.

Robinsons got what sale? I'm their member too.
Didn't get inform leh.

No, not going for the isetan sale. Won't be getting the 1-man.

roooller

Carol,

the professional got different promo.
not that $1000+.
the set i'm lookg at is $488.
think there's 6 knives and a scissor.

roooller

Apparently the gourmet set, the handle doesn't last long.

hey, isetan got promo for tanyu anot?

taka $100 for size 8 and size 12.

i was at taka last nite, forget to chk out the size 6 u bought.

bbmaru

Roooller,
So envious of you...at least you have gotten your keys and now can get your purchases delivered to you new hse... I haven't got keys so dare not buy so many things at one shot cos no space to store in my present hse and I didn't want to end up moving so many things at the end of the day

The $488 knives are still too much for me to afford. Maybe will try out the Twin series (max for my budget) and see how it goes. Will try to take care so that the handles can last longer

I thought I did see Tanyu being sold in Robinsons but not sure if they are having any special promo there. The Robinsons sale is only for selected cardholders, so I can check with my friends if any one of them can spare me their voucher... if I can get hold of any, then I can pass it to you

Will let you know by tomorrow.

roooller

Carol,

Ur turn soon.

During the great singapore sale, i'm like you too lor. wanted to buy but dare not.

Btw, uless robinsons got offer for the tanyu if not, rather not trouble you.

also i received a letter fr JL, fr 1-3rd oct, further 20% discount even for offer items.

bbmaru

Roooller,
I didn't get the JL one.

I can go down and check it out for you tomorrow. My friend's voucher is for the Wed sale. So if she's not using it, then I can pass to you for the Wed sale

anotherhedgehog

B2B3M4, I have the 6.5 + 3.0 (or was it 2.5?) l Perfect pressure cooker set. I usually use the small pan, since cooking only for 2, but I like having the big one around just in case
Bought it during WMF 150th Anniversary sales for - can't remember, I think $199 - last year.

Not much difference between the Perfect and Perfect Plus besides the design (Perfect Plus is the updated design).

Look around Tangs, Robinsons and Taka - the offers are different. Taka usually offers freebies (last time I saw was a cutlery set).

b2b3m4

Hi anotherhedgehog,
That's the set i'm talking abt, saw it on promotion b4. So there is only one cover for the set, right? Is it user friendly. Does the parts need to be replaced very often?

bbmaru

Hi Roooller,
Manage to get the Robinsons voucher for you

The voucher is valid for Wed sale. There is discount for the tanyu pot (20% on normal &amp; promo items).

You want to get it for me today? I will be at Robinsons Raffles City today for their sale today, so I pass it to you if you are coming

Let me know ok? Maybe you want to leave me your email, then I contact you via email

roooller

hi Carol,

Tonite lantern festival, got family gathering.
might be difficult to meet u leh, how?

btw, i called up robinsons, they say tanyu now no promo. also 20% is not applicable to WMF &amp; Henckels knives.
terms &amp; conditions apply.

so i was wondering should i wait for JL sales instead? since they hv 20% sales too.

if not, has to trouble u.

anyway can u email me, i want to tell u something a bit 'sensitive' to announce here.
hehe

anotherhedgehog

B2B3M4: Ya, only one cover (so can only use one pot at a time). Mine didn't come with steamer insert, but bought my own for $2.40 at NTUC
So far no need to replace parts. Very user-friendly - pressure indicator rings easy to see; handle is detachable for cleaning, and easily snaps back on. Pressure cooker whistles loudly if flame is too high. I like it a lot!