WMF Pots and Pans

bbmaru

Anyone tried using WMF pots, pans or wok? Are they good? I bought a set recently but have not started using... Any comments/complains?

jojok

Hi Carol,

One of my friend has been using it & according to her the pots are good cos the base is structured such that it cooks evenly & no compliants so far. I have also recently bought WMF pots & pans.

bbmaru

Hi jojok,
Really? Glad to hear that... Cos I invested in some pots and pans and a Chinese wok during Tangs sale recently

My only complaint is that the handles are made of stainless steel too...so the handles will become very hot when cooking

glad to have this topic here...hehe...

i've got all my pots and pans from WMF as well and had the same worry as Carol...
Do you think we can put something there to cushion it? but it will be ugly leh...

BTW, how much is a pasta strainer ah? does it have size?

cody

in addition to that, they are stainless steel, so the water marks are very obvious after the water evaporates. but that's just superficial lah, the material used in WMF stuff are all very good.

bbmaru

Ok ladies, (assuming all are girls cos unlikely guys are interested in this

Let me share something abt WMF with you. I got to know from a neighbour in my PG forum that some of those WMF are made in Asia (I can hear the "yeee" sound
) and some are made in Germany. Most likely those pots and pans you bought from the recent sale cld be from Asia. The WMF lady told me that the worksmanship from Asia are "rougher", so the steel looks less shiny and pretty, and lighter as well. But she assured me that the parts/materials are from Germany.

As for putting insulating protectors (or "cushions") on the handles, I think it's not too advisable cos if you happen to turn up the fire.. the cloth might catch fire...and you will be busy saving fire than cooking

As for the pasta strainer, I think it's quite ex the other time I saw it... might not be worth buying... think it shld come in standard size too... but taller than the usual pots.

cody

i got the pasta strainer ...
its not very useful coz you need to put in A LOT of water before the pasta is fully submerged!
better to use a conventional pot to boil the pasta.
faster and easier, plus one pot less to wash too!

excalibur

Hi, (I'm a guy BTW)
For the insulator, I have seen silicon ones...
Pros: It will not catch fire (but dunno if it will melt under extreme heat)
Cons: It is not cheap...

blush

my friend gave me a set of WMF pots recently for my housewarming present. i must say they look fabulous, cos it's entirely stainless steel. but agree with cody that the water marks are pretty obvious. small price to pay, i absolutely love my pots!

as for the handles, i didn't buy any insulator. i just use my oven mittens/gloves if i need to handle them. one set, multi-purpose mah!

interesting to have a guy's participation in this thread...haha...can provide some techinical advise..

cody: really got to use lots of water ah...sigh...but its more convenient leh...now i've got to pour the water out or scoop the noodle out which is quite messy(for me this clumsy woman lah)...so tot of getting the strainer...

Alan: how much is your 'not cheap'? are you using it now?

squidhead

I bought a WMF about 2 years ago. I only used it like 5--8 times when the base of the pot split!! So shocked because WMF is supposed to be of very good quality.

Brought it back to Robinsons and the WMF promotor said its probably because I put on too high fire?? So weird .. anyway she changed a new one for me ..

As for the water marks ... yup! i hate it too

cody

postpet2: not that difficult lah.
I bought my pasta pot for the exact same reasons as you mentioned ....
but i realised it gave me alot of additional work.

Besides, scooping the pasta out with my pasta ladle also proved to be quite tough esy with spaghetti.

So i use a conventional pot. When its cooked, i bring the whole pot to the sink, shift the cover slightly and just drin the pasta of the water.

quite simple!

bungy_jumper

I am also a fan of WMF, recently just spent thousands buying the pots, pans and spoons.

My mum had been using wmf for a long time, and there is something that she taught me. Wmf dont need to use high heat to cook. a small to medium fire is enough. And when you use a small to medium fire, the stainless steel handles will never feel hot.

wow...that's something new learned from Jumped...

i think since WMF pots are made of steel, it gets heated up fast, so we only need a small/medium fire to make it comparable to the pots...

mm....good point to remember...

cody : when we finish cooking pasta, can we pour the hot water into our basin ah? cos i'm rather worried that the hot water will be bad for the basin pipes...the basin pipes are made of plastic mah...but i don't want to put the pasta in the water for too long to cool down cos the pasta will be slightly overcooked liao...hahaha..troublesome...

bbmaru

Hey Jumped,
That's what the WMF lady told me too! She said dun use high heat for cooking, then the handles will not be hot. I guess this is applicable for pots and pans only, but for wok, I think we cannot help too much when it comes to certain chinese food as they will not come out as tasty if cooked under small/medium heat

Cody,
Hot water is not a problem for those plastic pipes. They are pretty durable...anyway, you dun cook pasta every day, so it's ok for hot water to pass thru the pipes a few times a week.

Actually, if you have heard, sometimes we pour bleach (or special drain cleaning powder) followed by hot water to clean or unclog those dirty/clog pipes... so you can rest assure it's safe for your pipes... moreover, hot water kills the bacteria in your pipes

pisduck

i am new to this thread. i also bought my pots and pans from wmf cos mum said that they are good.

1 question... any idea if any special pre-cleaning procedure is needed before we start using the pots??

bbmaru

Hey Pisduck,
I haven't opened my WMF boxes, so not sure if they come with any pre-usage instructions

My usual practice is to wash stainless steel stuffs with mild soap/detergent and rinse with lukewarm water.

pisduck

hi carol,
i also have not opened the boxes cos i just got my keys last week. but heard from some people that must wash with vinegar first??? dun know whether true or not??

bbmaru

Hi Pisduck,
Wif vinegar?!! I fret over the idea of washing them with vinegar...

Maybe you can check with the WMF lady... they shld be the ones who know better...

So how's your unit? Started reno? Any major rectifications needed? I read that there are stains here and there on the wht cupboard.
My ID who was doing the reno for one of your neighbours is chasing the developer with a long list of rectification works to be done for her unit

blush

if you are worried about the hot water and the pipes, what i do is to turn on the tap (cold water) and pour the hot water together with the stream from the tap. so the result is warm water going to your pipes.

pisduck
erm...better double check before you use vinegar to wash. vinegar has a chemical reaction to certain metals..which may become harmful. i'm not sure if stainless steel is one of them or not....

cody
the pasta ladle that you mentioned you had trouble with, is it a special WMF ladle? or the usual kind? i bought a cheapo one from NTUC, and it works great for me...it helps when i have a bunch of friends over, and a big pot of spaghetti. and everyone just scoops out their own portion... :p

blush

forgot to add, another thing that works well with scooping spaghetti is chopsticks, but the bamboo kind (the disposable ones that some hawker stalls use). not the usual smooth wooden/plastic kind. the extra friction helps to pick up the pasta.

a_k

i think there is a spaghetti cradle that is meant for scooping spaghetti. look easy to use. dun need to pour away the water in the pot cos the cradle got some gap to drain away the water when scooping. i saw in those ntuc, & other store. forgot how much liao. a few bucks i think.

bungy_jumper

hmm..

The instruction given by Wmf was to wash it with hot soapy water before first usage. However, my mum washed it with vinegar.

hi carol,
wok also can use medium fire, especially if you have bought the 5 layers of coating wok.

bbmaru

Hey Jumped,

Indeed, the more layers the coating, the better it is...but I think for those who have gotten their during the sale at $129 (or ard that price) shld be the 3 layers one.

Another thing to note is that the lady told me that we shldn't use the stainless stain wool to scrub the wok if you happen to burn it...cos the stainless steel wool will scratch the wok and cause the coating to wear off faster...

roooller

Not sure whether can I post this.
WMF knives is hving 50% off.
Anyone has used their knives b4?
What are the basic knife that we need?

blush

roooller
i have a basic dining set. i think they are not bad. but then, can't really tell....cos cant go very wrong with forks and spoons. other than that, i find that in the kitchen, i need a big chopper (to chop meats, the kind that can cut thru bones), a medium kitchen knife (basically to cut anything, soft meats, vege...) and a fruit/paring knife (i use this the most often).

bbmaru

Hi Roooller,
hahaha...you very cute to ask abt the knives that we need. Guess you dun really cook that much right?

Wat knives you need to buy is really very subjective and depending on whether you need to use them. But I believe like wat Blush said, most pple will need a cleaver (chopper), medium size knife, a small knife to cutting fruits and a paring knife for paring apples or potatoes (but some use peelers instead). For myself, in addition to those mentioned, I will be getting a bread knife for cutting whole loaf of bread

Maybe you also want to buy those sharp, sturdy scissors that can be used to cut the chicken at joint...but provided you need them for that purpose. I find it more convenient and less messy than chopping the chicken on the chopping board

roooller

Hi Sean,
Was told their knife block about $80-$20.
Not sure whether is it discounted price.
U might want to call Taka to check.

Hi Carol Ng,
Funny right?

I really dun cook at all. Cos currently stay with IL.

U noe lah, kitchen can only belong to ONE LADY OWNER.

Btw, WMF is hving a promotion package with the knife block, one of which comes with the bread knife. Total 6-7 knives, $399.

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,
Hee...I face the same ONE LADY OWNER problem too. Hopefully the kitchen belongs to me in future when I move into my new house

I dun think I will go for the WMF knives cos I already bought some knives from Henckels bef WMF sale
Moreover, the price of $399 will cut my heart real deep!! It's over my budget...

Anyway, I may not get a wooden knife block cos I'm afraid that the wooden block will become mouldy in future...so I might opt for a stainless steel holder for the knives

sneezybum

Hi, rooller

Thanks for yr recommendation. I have already purchased some Henckel knives, so now just looking for the knife block.

Hi, Carol
Can recommend the stainsless holder for the knives? Me also not considering wood one for same reasons you citied.

roooller

Carol,

U staying with IL now too?

Soon I'm gonna stay on my own. So I can do watever I want! hehe

As for WMF knife block is of superior quality. Definitely lasting than others. Well, u can said it's sales talk.

Btw, anyone can recall what't the brand beside WMF at Taka? Thought there's some display on knives too.

roooller

Hi Sean and Carol,

Now both get me interested in the stainless steel holder too.
May I ask what brand u r using?

I know WMF good for their wok and pressure cooker.
Is their knife as good too?

bbmaru

Hi Sean and Roooller,

I dunno the brand of the stainless steel holder that I am using now (maybe no particular brand), but it has so far served its purpose well.

I think you can get them at those hardware stores. However, there's one particular brand which is considered by many as a reliable brand for stainless steel, but dunno it's actual brand name except its trademark is a "chicken"
. Their stainless steel dishholder is pretty ex but well worth its price

As for the knives, I think maybe WMF is more renowned for their pots and pans, whereas Henckels are more well known for their knives

Hey Roooller,
Ya, I'm staying with my ILs

Like you, I hope I have my own world when I move into my new house

roooller

Hi Carol,

Then I should look at Henckels.
Is it the one displayed just beside WMF @ Taka?
Their price seem cheaper too.

Finally, I'm moving out < 1 mth.
How abt u? When is ur turn?
Hope u need not wait that long, as I've waited at least 3 yrs :p

blush

hi carol / roooller

haha...i also believe in henckels knives more than WMF. they are really good. very sharp, and last very long. the ones my mother are using are like 30-40 years old already. only occasionally need sharpening, but other than that, still in good condition. and she cooks almost every day!! but my FH still complaining that the knives are too expensive. *sigh* btw, i thought henckels knives are more ex than WMF? if anyone sees the kitchen scissors on sale/discount, let me know. i haven't bought that yet....

i also didn't buy a knife block for the same reason as carol. so i just opted to place them in my drawer after it's dry. plus i find got no space on my kitchen counter-top!!

and i can totally understand the ONE LADY OWNER of the kitchen. that's why, at my new place, i decide everything in the kitchen!! heehee....

hey, roooler, congrats on your new place! where is it?

roooller

I guess the ONE LADY OWNER is a common probz huh hehe

Hi Blush,
My new house will at AMK.
Hopefully to move in by mid Oct.

Like ur mum, we wouldn't mind buying something more premium but lasting. In fact, it's my hub's idea to get WMF's knives. Shall ask him to look at Henckels instead.

Hv seen my mum and MIL buying so many kinds of wok and pan. End of the day, think they spend more than us.

bbmaru

Hey Roooller,

Not too sure if the one beside WMF at Taka is Henckels. But sometimes you should shop around for the best deal. That time I waited for Metro's 20% storewide sale and got my Henckels cheaper. So Blush, if you are not in a hurry, you can wait for the next 20% sale(maybe in Oct or early Dec) before getting it at Metro (except Paragon).. I bought my at Metro Sengkang

Indeed, your development too a long time to complete. There were times when I passed by your place, and everytime I will think to myself...how come so slow one?? But I think it shld be worth the wait right? I hope my place will TOP end of this mth or early Oct. Then there's still some time before we get the keys and reno. Hope to be able to move in by X'mas

Hey Blush,
I agree the Henckels knives are sharp...the scissors too! My only complaint is that the cleaver/chopper is not heavy enuf. I'm used to using heavier ones...but guess shld be able to get used to it

That day I went to Ikea and saw that their knives were like dirt cheap and looked ok. But when I tested the blades with my fingers, I laughed and told my husband, "you call this knives? No wonder so cheap!!"
I think some cutlery knives are even sharper than that!

Keeping the knives in the drawers sounds like a hassle for me...imagine having to get the knives from the drawer every you need to cut fruits or pare a fruit...then when cooking, you got to bring out all the diff knives at one shot!! I'm getting the stainless steel holder becos I'm too lazy to wipe the knives dry before storing them. So with the stainless steel holder, I can slot them into the holder right after washing.

Alternatively, you can get your ID to fix a stainless stain bar (a strip of stainless steel) for holding knives near your sink or kitchen top where you prepare food. Then you can take them out or slot them into the bar conveniently. I had that at my old house and I found it a pretty good idea. Whether nice looking or not, you will have to let your ID rack his/her brain

wow, now we are talking about knives..
i've heard from many female colleague(the more auntie kind) that Henckels knives are very good..
i've actually tot of getting them from germany...but dunno can check in or not...
Of cos, when we get the Henckels knives, make sure the logo is 2 men, not 1 man...i think they are made in diffent place. 1 man is made in China. 2 man from germany

BTW, carole, are you the one that had contributed in another thread that you had contacts to do suits in Bangkok?

sneezybum

Hi, rooller

From what I know, WMF = pots &amp; Henckels = Knives. I already got one set of WMF pots and pans. Since taka got discount, will go and see cos I'm looking around for their 16cm amd 24cm glass cover. Henckels and WNF are next to each other in Taka.

Hi, Blush

I thought of putting in cupboard, but wifey says put in knife block neater. So still looking around.

Hi, Carol

The chicken brand is song-cho. I think also quite ex. Actually saw one knife block some time ago, but selling with knives, so never buy. Hard to find good and relatively inexpensive knife block separately

roooller

Sean,

Thanks for the info.
Thought I saw it on mon night.
So cfm is Henckels.
Saw Henckels knives cheaper than WMF.

Btw, anyone know henckels got any website?

roooller

postpet2,

thanks for the tips!

was told for WMF, the range displayed at taka on the right is of better quality. do look out for those wanted to consider their knives.
can't remember how the handle look out, so can't advise. only remember is display on the right.

bbmaru

Hi Postpet2,

I'm not the one who has contacts to make suit in Bangkok...

The first thing I read abt the "1 man, 2 men" thing posted by you was to run to the store room to check my knives

I was a little disappointed to know that my knives are "1 man" one
Then I did a search on the internet and realise that the "1 man" brand is like a sub-line of the "2 men" brand. The former is called "JA Henckels Int'l" which offers value for money products and the latter is called "Zwilling JA Henckels AG" as the premium brand. So naturally the "2 men" one will be more expensive and I wld be inclined to believe that it's made in Germany, whereas the "1 man" is made in China (or anywhere in Asia), just like the WMF pots.

So the bottomline is that if they are sold at a cheaper price (or sale items), be it WMF pots or Henckels knives, they are made in Asia

But we can be assured that the quality is more or less there, just that maybe the worksmanship is a little "rougher".

carol...me laughing when reading your post...
yeah...ever since i heard the logic behind the logo, was more conscious when looking and buying during sale...now i know if the set on sale is really cheap...
but even if its made in asia, the quality is there...but again, the "auntie expert" in my office say the have a mix in their kitchen. the one man and two man ones...and the one man kind had failed faster than 2 men...
you wanna believe the 'aunties'? hahaha...

blush

<font color="0000ff">carol,</font>
thanks for clarifying. my mom didn't know the name of the brand, but just told me to buy the one with the logo of 2 men. so when i asked her about the one man, and if its the same, she didn't know. so maintain that i buy the "two-man" brand.

i agree the ikea knives are really lousy. they turn blunt in no time. i have one, but can only cut softer things, like certain vege or tofu...hahaha.....

the wiping dry of the knives before putting away is really a hassle. but i am trying to keep my tabletop as clear as possible, cos kitchen too small. and really got no space for things already!

didn't realise metro sale will have 20% off this. ok, will wait for metro sale to buy scissors. no hurry.

where's your new home? hope you TOP soon. it's a headache to check defects and buy furniture. but after that, it's nice to have your own place.

<font color="0077aa">roooller</font>
hey, you are quite near my new place. are you at nuovo? i have another friend there. i'm at bishan loft. but haven't shifted in. will do so after customary only....

<font color="aa00aa">postpet2</font>
hmm, think you better double check with german airport authorities if you can check in knives. i think it should be ok as long as it's not in your carry on luggage. but better be sure...

bbmaru

Hi Postpet2,
I am one super "auntie" myself...

Anyway, I will buy the aunties' theory of "1 man spoils faster than the 2 men"...cos logically, it's ONE man by himself...so definitely the combined "forces" of TWO men are more lasting...

Wat a smart idea that Zwilling came up with to let themselves and consumers differentiate their value for money and premium prdts!

roooller

Blush,

Yes I'm at Nuovo.
Just gonna key last weekend.

U r right, the hassle of checking the defects.
Now trying to firm up which ID or contractor so that we can start on the renov.

How's ur defect list?

bbmaru

Hey Blush,
How lucky you are to get Bishan Loft. I heard it's a hot property...like roooller's Nuovo... Mine is PG, not as hot, but almost 99% sold

You haven't moved in ah?? Tot it had TOP many mths ago? I think your development looks very nice, a little Balinese style
So far any complaints of NTUC's development? Cos mine is built by them too...

As for checking defects part, I dun really have to worry cos my ID is a wonder woman who will be doing the checkings and listing the defects for me
I do agree the buy furniture part is a headache

I'm sure it shld be much cheaper to get the Henckels knives in Germany...cos those made in Germany prdts are generally cheaper over there by at least 10-30%.

roooller

Hi Carol,
My SIL gonna a unit there too!

Can intro ur ID?
Mind me asking, since ur PG not ready, why u so sure abt ur ID's services?