Winter In Korea

cerys

Hi all....I'll be honeymooning in korea frm 20 - 28 dec 05 which would be winter season rite.. Is it a must to wear waterproof boots? if so, where can i get cheap ones?

juz_dimp

i have gone to korea 3 years back...ard e same timing as sharon - 31st dec -6jan..wakao
-25degree..the most coolest place in my life i ever go..

though you can see snow flakes everywhere.lay on the icy snow bed.enjoy snow skiing and other acvities n scenes u cant find in singapore..but wakao..i have to cover myself like mu-nai-yi.
layers of clothes..the moment i step out of airport..being to shiver all over..
but nice to blow out 'gases' from mouth
in the coach bus, always yearn to go toilet...everywhere will be covered wif layers of thick snow outside..tend to make me feel demoralised wif the surroundings.
lips are dry no matter how much lip gloss i apply..once i try to take out the hand glove..i guess my hands are so frozen that i cant even move ..have to ask my mum to wear back for me.
wearing thick glove is like so uncomfortable..i find it uneasy to take pictures wif camera..in e end i take up the glove n drop my camera since my hands are so frozen (heart pain)

get a bit of frost bite too..
winter is nice..snow is nice..but makes me feel inconvenient n demoralise..somemore have to wear layers of thick clothing..dun really like

i prefer free n easy ..n no need to wait for the other pple in the coach and rush for time esp when u feel like to shop longer..

feel sleepy most of the time always..
heeheh

eve21

hi Juz_dimp
wah... that jia luck ah!!! I'm going about your time also leh... 2jan to 9jan. I heard from my aunt who just came back from korea, the weather there like going upside down. She went mid sep, the temp should be 18-20+ degree. But in the end turn out to be 24-30 degree. Sound like end summer... in the end they dun even need jacket which they brought along.

I hope to see snowing that's why i go during that period. But I hope not that cold as what you mention, that's too unbearable...

mooniiie

i'm going with ananda =)
heheheh maybe might meet you along the way leh.. coz my departure date's 21st dec
have you gotten any winter wear, etc?
i dunno wat to get leh...

cerys

wats ur itinerary like? i've bought 2 jackets from a mango sale months ago and borrowed others from friends. need to scout for cheap corduroy pants and thermal long johns now.

cerys

mine is 8 days korea winter wonderland + jeju for abt 1.7 per pax inclusive of taxes.
how much is yours? how many days?

chamonique

Hi Cerys,

I am interested in CTC 8 days winter wonderland a+ Jeju but they quote me more than 1.7K excluding tax. Did you book during the Nata fair? Can you share with me which agent did you book with?

eve21

Hi Queenie
I'm going with Hong Thai. Its already a confirmed tour departing 2Jan06. You leh?? When u depart and how much you pay?

rynryn

hi Queenie & Eve, me with HongThai too .. Me departing on 26th Dec ...

misswho

Hi Ryn,

I intend to take either from HT or Ananda...how much did u pay to HT for the trip? We havent decided on the date to depart though...Maybe early end Nov or Dec ba!!

eve21

Hi misswho
My package with HongThai is $1,338 include tax, departing 2Jan. I got this special price in Natas. My friend actually intend to join me but the price increase to $1,540 becos its already a confirm depart tour, no more special rate.

rynryn

hi misswho, my package price departing on 26/12, $1299 excluding taxes, guess eve21 got a much more attractive deal !!

eve21

hi Rynryn
Ermmm... My package of $1149 (excluding tax) should consider an offpeak one, not during school holiday therefore price cheaper than yours. Well... whatever it is, hopefully our trip will be a smooth & memorable one. Good luck!!

rynryn

hi misswho, wow.. departing on 11 Nov, rem to share with us ur experiences, hav an enjoyable trip ..

hi eve21, ya, nevertheless, letz sit back & relax, Cheers !!
kao_love.gif

misswho

Sure Ryn .... think we all hv the same 8D itinery rite? We are all gg to JEJU rite??
SO do i need winter clothes? Its not winter yet lei... :|

ppp

Hi misswho,

I m also going in Nov but is on 28th with Genting Holiday 8days tour package...Really hope that u can share with me your experience when u r back.
I really don't know how cold will the weather be!

poohger

I took the Ananda 8D package cost abt $1.5K too. Planning to leave on 11/01/06. Anyone leaving on that date too??

eve21

Have u all source for your winter wear??? I just bought a winter jacket for only $28 at Whitesand Level 1. Its a cool deal for those looking for budget winter jacket.

Wondering is it necessary to get a 100% wool long john?? It cost $59 per set as compare to $29 cotton one. I will be going in Jan06. A salesgirl ever advice me that a cotton long john can tahan till 5 degree. Plus a winter jacket will be good enough for below 0 degree. Is it true??? Any kind soul out there can advice me??

ppp

Hi eve,

For 'budget' wool longjohn, u can try Winning @ queenstown. I bought $20 per set only.

eve21

Hi PPP
I went to Winning @ Compasspoint branch. Their wool longjohn cost also cost about $60+ per set after discount...
Maybe you bought during sale ba...

Anyone out there been to korea during Jan Winter Season... Can advise whether is it neccessary to buy 100% wool john or cotton one will do??

ppp

Hi eve,

They also show me two types: one is $60+ and another is $38+ but after discount is $20+ so I bought the cheaper one...I bought it @ queenstown branch a month ago leh.

misswho is departing thir fri.....enjoy the trip ya.

misswho

yeah departing this fri....havent packed my luggage..$$ not changed yet...

I bought 2 sets of long john(1 from OG and the other from WInnings @ MS) n hope is enuff cos expensive leh!!

sinkor

Hi misswho,

It will be enuff for 2 sets of long john as i just back from Korea.... so far the weather is cooling and for me, i dun need to wear the long john....

sinkor

Hi PPP,

Just went there for few days till 6 Nov. I quite "heng" as the day i leaving Korea, its rain....

sorry that i dun have any pix to show you all as I went there not for holiday, is to visit my in-law. Will be going again during CNY whereas i know will be SUPER cold~~~~~

misswho

Just wanna share with u guys what happened yesterday when I went to a "dishonest" $ changer at Pearl Centre. Luckily we checked the rates on the receipt if not..they would have conned our $$$.

As usual we went around $ changers ard the building to ask for the rates (buying won)...as we walked to this shop at level 1 (indian shop)(near SIMA n electronics shop), we asked for the rates n an old uncle outside the shop told us the rate 612. My HB then asked for 613...initially uncle said "NO" then he asked us to wait. We waited...n they asked us to go into the shop. Another indian man then asked how much we have. We told him 2K and immediately he asked us for the $$ and gv it to the man inside the counter. We tot we are gg to get 613... However when $$ is ready..they asked us to check the amt...my hb kept asking for the receipt cos usually $$ changers gv u the receipt first but this shop kept the receipt. Only when we were abt to leave the shop, HB asked for the receipt again then they gv.

The indian man who served us all the while did not showed us the receipt ... he used the calculator to calculate an amt and asked us to chk the $$ they gv us. Rem..we tot we are gg to hv 613?? But the amt calculated with his calculator was not rate 613 but 6013 and it was printed out on the receipt 0.6013. we were lucky tt we read the receipt and saw the different rates. HB re-calculated the amt and confirmed its wrong hence we went back to the shop and they claimed its correct. However, the shops we went earlier all gave us rates 612, 611 so that means it should be 0.611 or 0.612 and not with an extra zero in front!! We went to other $ changers and asked how much won will we get for 2K SGD...n we got an ans (tt shop is tryng to cheap us by changing the rates n hoping we din asked for the receipt n dont check the rate. cos when my hb asked for the receipt the 2nd time the man who served us dug the receipt out from his pocket..isnt tt obvious! I saw it!).

we went back and asked for 613 rates. (the man who served us outside was not there this time) I asked the man inside the counter to explain y the rates given to us earlier was 0.613 and on the receipt was another 0.6013??? He claimed there was an miscommunication and they tot we were asking for a selling rate....wat crap...
After some argument...they say current rate is 0.610 oni...n wan us to gv him back the remaining...n i dun understand y i need to gv him somemore $ .... so I told him unless he gv us 0.613 rate if not i wan the SGD2k back. He refused and I cont'd to make so much noise..till he gv us the 0.613 rates - that is 23,000 (won) more.

So be careful of $ changers, always asked for receipt and check the rate and amt. Dun trust their calculators cos we duno what they pressed!

ppp

Hi misswho,

Thanks for your info...it is really useful to me...as I seldom ask for receipt from money changer so in future must get the receipt from any money changer liao.

misswho

I'm at Jeju airport waiting to return to seoul.
Jeju is not very cold but the weather in Seoul averaging below 10 degrees wor!!
food here is.....everyday ...every meal u will see KIMCHI....a bit sianzz though.... (n I'm a lover of Kimchi yeah)...
Going to Nami Isle later.....will be a long journey n can zzzz for a while!...gotta to board plane liao...cya again ...

ppp

Hi Misswho,

Thanks for remembering us while u r there.

10 degress.....then must be very cold!!!

misswho

Hi all, I'm finally back home and so glad to be back!

Korea is a nice place for sight-seeing but food wise ...I'm really not used to it! Everyday, every meal u will hv Kimchi, cabbage, steamboat, taugei, tauhu...if u are a "meat-eater" then sure "jia liat"..cos the oni MEAT we had was Pork...and not all pork is nice!!! (Sometimes u will see fish) The Ginseng Chicken we had was a so-so one too! Overall Food rating was not so fantastic!

Weather - COLDDDD
At Seoul n Incheon (we touched down at Incheon Airport - 0520hrs at 3degrees outdoors) but was quite ok during the day (with sunny n clear sky). If during windy nights then it will be freaking cold too..I wore 3 pcs at night including long john.

Jeju is a beautiful place - very different from seoul. weather is not as cold ard 10 -12 degrees. But the Hotel - Oriental at Jeju was not up to my std :|

Went up North to Nami Isle, yongpyong resort. Scenery is really nice - no snow though. Not able to ski at yong pyong cos they are still filling the entire ski area will man-made snow!! so sad!Temp at YOngpyong - the lowest is -6.5 degrees - If its windy at night then WORST!

Waterpia - the Hotspring..tried the outdoor one n not the indoor one..cos not used to go round naked :p

Shopping - Nothing to buy cos all winter stuffs
Very expensive too...couldnt bear to buy!! :S
Bought so many pks of sea-weed back to gv frens!

Taxi-took the "blue" top cab...the cabby was a reckless driver. He drove like a F1 driver n sped up to 130kmh as the rd speed limit is oni 60kmh! how scary! Although they hv taxi meter, cabby will still "tour" u along highways just to earn more...so have to be careful! better to take the black ones! We took the black taxis back to hotel..cos it over midnight n oni the black taxis have no midnight charge. They are slighly more expensive but safer!At least they dun take a longer route or speed like nobody biz!

Amusment Theme parks -
I luv Lotte World - With Big 3 tickets ( means to be able to play 3 rides). Hubby n I took all 3 THRILL outdoor RIDES. They were fantastic...better than Genting Hlands ones!! The indoor ones, I duno cos din try - but looks kiddy to me! Around 9pm inside Lotte world they have "laser show", remember to bring along ur camera, tt was Cool!!

Everland- we had the Big 5 tickets. Their rides were not as thrilling as Lotte world!
But the Safari ride is a MUST GO!!!

overall rating :
Scenery - 8/10 (GOOD)
Food - 4/10 (POOR)
Service - 5/10 (No one smiles-not even hotel and airport staffs. The oni ppl who reaally gv us a big wide smile are those "salesperson" who sells ginsengs, crystals..)

ppp

Hi wisswho,

Thanks so much for your info....I m very excited now...looking forward to my next mon trip to korea..

Did u manage to see snow??

eve21

Hi Misswho
I signed up the "All In Dexule" with Hong Thai... Your itinerary seems similar to mine, did you sign up the "All In" Package also? How was Hong Thai's services?? Is your itinerary very packed? How much did you spend there??

misswho

Hi Eve,
ya, mine was the "ALL IN" package too!
At first I was not very happy on the itinery cos as stated we will have 2 days at Jeju but ended up only 1.5 days cos we have to take night flight from sg to Incheon and arrived at Incheon ard 5+ in the morning. We were supposed to leave for Jeju in the morning but the flight time to Jeju was planned at 1600hrs. We have no choice but to do shopping at Seoul (Ming Dong & Namdaemun) first in the morning hv lunch and depart to Gimpo airport ard 3pm. By the time when we reached Jeju its already 6+ and one day is gone! The shopping time is abt 2 hrs but Ming Dong is a huge place...we dun hv enuff time shop(think on the bright side - the stuffs there also not cheap...so save $$ lor)!

ya, not forgetting Our tour guide. She is fantastic - she is able to tell us stories, histories abt Korea - her name is Evy and she is able to converse in mandarin and cantonese.

We spent abt 1200+ .... but we did not buy many stuffs..mainly spent on food( to hv a meal there is not cheap).

when are u gg?

misswho

Ppp,I oni manage to see the "man-made" snow up at YongPyong resort....

But dun think i will go back Korea again to see snow! Will like to go Hokkaido next time for the snow!

eugo

misswho,

Yeah.. the itinerary stated 2 nights at Cheju Oriental. Then where you stay for the 2nd night? on the flight?

misswho

Eugo,
spent 2 nites at Jeju Oriental lor...but we arrived at Jeju around 6+ (evening) not much time left to tour jeju for tt day! Day 2 we spent one full day at Jeju and spent another nite at Jeju Oriental. Next morning 8.55am flight back to Gimpo. So, in other words Jeju tour takes up one and a half day lor!

eugo

misswho,

The itinerary stated that we will be spending 2 nights at Cheju Oriental leh. Yours is 8 Days All-In right? Then where did you all go when you touch down at Incheon Airport on Day 2 (Day 1 in Korea)? Spend all the time at Incheon Airport while waiting for transit flight at 4pm?

misswho

Eugo,
Yesh my package is the 8D6N ALL IN PACKAGE...Itinery stated 2 days at Cheju Oriental and we did spend 2 nites at Oriental!

DAY 1:
*We arrived at Incheon Airport 5+ am then had our Macdonalds breakfast at airport till 8am.

*Travel by coach frm Incheon to Seoul (abt 40mins-1hr journey). We were allowed to shop till 12noon at MingDong n Namdaemun. Followed by Lunch and around 2+ to 3pm we have to be at Gimpo Airport(domestic flight to Jeju approx 50min flight).

*Arrived at Jeju around 6pm. Took us to dragon head rock...then dinner...then Hotel Check-in at Oriental.

eugo

misswho,

icic.. meaning that they swop the schedule..

But overall how is the service? How big is your tour group? Any tour leader from Singapore?