Window Grilles

d8raem8n

Hi, pohbear77

My grilles looks the same as this pix (this one is for gate, mine is for window). Cos my windows are blue, thus I found it matched my windows perfectly.

162342.jpg

d8raem8n

Forgot to add, I paid $15 psf for this, so total of 3 places for installation cost me $800 plus. They were excellent in their service. I visited them on Tuesday to select the grilles, they came down on Wed to take measurements, and did the installation for me on Sat. They were very accommodating and rushed for me cos I told them I wanted to move in soon, and yet they did not compromise on the workmanship.

d8raem8n

Hi, bookworm

My contractor is Yang Kwang Manufacturing. Can call Patrick Tan or C H Tan at 6781 5284. I paid $15 psf for this, so total of 3 places for installation cost me $800 plus.

The designs are very nice, and their service is excellent. I would highly recommend them.

elias

A friend of mine just did her windows as well. She thinks the price is reasonable. She has given me the contacts: Tel: 64777054. So can call and ask for non obligation quote by sending a contractor down to measure.

sgblingff

Saw the door grill from Lynn. Looks sweet.
Can anyone nice enough to post their window and door grill here.
I'm planning to fix them in my new house...no choice....kids. Want to see the various life samples.
Thanks for sharing.

freesia

Hi, I wonder if there is any comments on Wrought Aluminium Kim Chew Glass & Aluminium ? they are selling what they call "wrought aluminium" kind of window grills.

teddy_baby

Hi Freesia...

I did went to Wrought Aluminium Kim Chew Glass & Aluminium to check on their grill...

Theirs is wrought aluminium/alloy... look like wrought iron if you did not feel the grill... it is much more lighter than wrought iron... he said that it wouldn't rust too...

Price is on the high side even for plain design, example vertical or horizontal design only with flower etc will set you back $12 psf... if you want simple design it will be around $15 psf... for their higher end will be $20 psf... Imagine doing it for your whole house will cost u a bomb...

BTW did you plan to install it... he told me if there a few people doing it together he will give some discount...

Keith

merzy03

Whoever that is doing Window grilles..I SO CONDEMN HO HO ENGINEERING....which I got from one of the living exhibitions at I believe Suntec a few months back....

merzy03

Hi Nelson..
I dun think I wanna say too much here. But in general, they gave very bad after sales customer service. They did a panel of griilles wrongly for me..and i bugged them for 3 weeks and still not settled on a time and date. Yesterday was the ultimate...one of the guy gave such lousy customer service to me..does not even reassure me of the issue.

Finally today settled on them coming next week..but who knows..there could be last min changes again..which has been happening...

freesia

Hi Keith

Sorry now then c your reply.

So r you considering that Wrought aluminium?

According to wat the salesman claims, it sound so good, and we like it that the roller is quite thin as compared to normal aluminimum grills.

However, we are still hestitating b'coz of the ex cost and how reliable this supplier is...

teddy_baby

Hi Freesia...

Well i'm considering them but at the same time i sourcing around too...

Did manage to find 1 who does Wrought Aluminium window grill... The price is slightly lower than Wrought Aluminium Kim Chew Glass & Aluminium...

If you are interested pm me or leave down ur email or email me [email protected]

Keith

snowbelle

Hi Keith,

Just to share about wrought aluminium window grill... last time I was also checking out about wrought aluminium and the contractor told me that this type of material has a lot of problems and it's ex, that's why they stopped supplying this type of grilles... actually, why do you want to get this material of window grilles? I think with that price, getting wrought iron grill is more worthwhile...

yup, the wrought iron looking type of alum grilles is much more ex than the normal wrought iron though it'll not get rusty (that's the main advantage). But as long as the wrought iron grilles are galvanised then it doesnt make a difference.

By the way, is it nice to have the whole house installed with wrought iron?

nekoi17

after reading the threads... is it that doing up the windows on your own is definitely cheaper than quoted by your contractor?

my flat is a 5-room flat. Total grille is about $2K... I think i kena chopped liaoz...

Have not confirmed with the contractor about the window grille...

Any kind souls to recommend any good window contracotrs?

Thank you...

nekoi17
kao_babydust.gif

nekoi17

paiseh paiseh... forgot to ask something...

there are windows which are powder-coated... or is it that all powder-coated?

Is it more expensive than the normal ones? what is the advantage? And also... are there may kinds of windows in the market...

Was reading another thread... got confused...

Please enlighten...

freesia

Hi Celia

Is there any way to verify that the iron grills are indeed galvanised as promised by the supplier?

I have heard of cases of dishonest supplier claiming their's are galvanised, but it's not true.

Hi Freesia,

best is to get the ID/contractor to show the difference by comparing one that's not galvanised and one that's galvanised..put them side by side. I think we'll then be able to tell the difference. Heard some ID actually get the grilles galvanised twice for better protection

jgal

thnk all the sharing.... really think can save on reno.. after reading the forum.. everyone is so helpful.

fleur1

Came across this sort of windows that could be slided and swung open to offer unblocked views. It is quite an innovation! Does anyone here have the experience of installing such windows? Any feedback pls? Thanks!
http://www.decorille.com/products1.htm

Also, am thinking of installation grills that works on similar principle for my balcony... Hoping to get some feedback on whether this might be even possible.

fleur1

Came across this sort of windows that could be slided and swung open to offer unblocked views. It is quite an innovation! Does anyone here have the experience of installing such windows? Any feedback pls? Thanks!
http://www.decorille.com/products1.htm

Also, am thinking of installation grills that works on similar principle for my balcony... Hoping to get some feedback on whether this might be even possible.

suiching

anyone has tried installing silver grills with the standard black HDB windows? How is it? Does it look weird?

would be great if you have pictures.

Many Thanks.

homeideas

Hi Fleur,

i'm interested in that type of windows too. actually i would prefer it to be window grill for my balcony but having the same flexibility. So did you find any company that provide such products yet?

xingfu

i had installed those push open and then slide all the way to one side. i.e. casement + sliding. so far so good. no problem yet. can try call Mr Tan 91916633.

plain

xingfu,
u mean windows or grilles? i'm very interested in those type of grilles... so to have unblocked view... cant find any company that do such grilles yet. anyone of you found?

acid

wonder is it advisable to skip installing of window grills (less those along the common corridor) for those staying on high levels?

can save a bit of cost

jhoo

if u have kids, then its advisable, coz when they start to climb, will b dangerous. I have full height window, but still install, for their safety when i have kids down the road

tare1919

Anyone can help me?

If I 1 2 change my window railing from green to brown how much do you tink it would cost? Will HDB approve? If cannot try doing the internal part can? Anyone done it before?

chendol

Anyone can share quotes of how much changing windows of a 5 rm resale flat are? Not sure how many square foot exactly, but there are currently 4 panels in living, 4 panels in foyer, 12 panels in all bedrooms combined and 3 panels in kitchen.

hippo2002

I paid $2800 for white powder coated casement windows. grilles are 2mm double hollow tube. also 5 room resale

check BCA website for list of approved windows installer. installer need apply permit before they can install for you

hippo2002

this is the lowest quote I received so far to change whole house windows & grilles

workmanship ok but windows & grilles A LOT of scratches! they are not careful when transporting. even though offer to change panels for me, but how to change for WHOLE house ? because every panel got scratches. Touch up looked worst because the scratches became even more obvious

Aiya, no choice also, it's not a simple wooden door that I can ask them to take down & redo

pipilili

Can anyone provide me feedback or better quotation on standard aluminium grille. I have received 2 quoation and is a little confused which one I shd take.

6.50/psf - 2mm aluminium with double hollow.
5/psf - 0.7mm aluminium with double hollow.

Anyone heard of Pang Giap @ AMK Industrial Pk or Han Fong@ Hougang Ave 7(Industrial PK). Pls PM me with feedback.

Thanks all.

pinkhippo2002

yeah, i got Pang Giap to do a quotation for my house.
their quote is $700 more than the other quotation I received so I didn't engage them

poolfans8

I got my wrought alum grille quite reasonable price from this company HOUSE OF GRILLES. Anyone engage before? A few of my neighbour recommended me, quite good from worksmanship, good service and reliable from salesman also.

sumobear

Hi to all,

I need some advices urgently, can someone help? The story is that my home's aluminium grilles are completed and the grille contractor is asking for payment already but I realised that there are scratches here and there. Is it a norm to expect fine scratches on the grilles? Dunno whether to release the last payment to him. Someone please advice, thanks...

ace14

hi sumobear.

dun release if u r not satisfied. get them to replace or touch-up. for my case, i got my contractor to replace. period!

henkitty

Hi andy,

hope its still time for you to get yr windows done..
I get my windows done by Acme Industrial quite reasonable price u can henry @contact no. 91073989

ling_zacky

Galvanized is the word. There’s actually a way to tell if it is galvanized or not. Non-galvanized wrought iron normally feels smoother while galvanized ones feels rougher. Other than tat, theres no other visual indication to tell between the two.