Who got SHOUTED at work?

lil_fish

i do have a colleague who SHOUT at almost everyone. no matter how closed or how nice you treated her, she still shout. and it is really shout! the only way tat i can stop her is i will shout louder than her and then she will tone down .. cos if i really at work it mean it is really hiting my limit :p

dimpxtt

small fish..waseh
shout here n there..wun hurt throat meh?

not sian huh..
good to practise ur lungs...hahahh

sounds like a lovely environment in the office.

i can only guess your colleague is slightly deaf in the ears...

dimpxtt

just like e above thread say..
who cares abt who is been shouted..
every1 only cares abt e paycheck at e end of the month

more important..

kittenpie

if it is a fellow colleague and not a superior, you can let the person have a taste of her own medicine. or react to her in a way that is so similar to her that she would be stunned that you are mocking her with her caricature.

just be subtle, have fun, have a laugh along the way

Oh dear. We'll all be in trouble when the kids in university graduate and start working. As it is, the new graduates are already giving problems by not wanting to work as much, rolling their eyes, choosing what they want to do, refusing assignments, yada yada...

I think our older workforce was much more resilient.

i enjoy being shouted at... better than asking soft-talking pple to repeat and spend more time just to obtain 1 information. and if a person shouts, u have 4-5 pple around to verify the information with...

i was one of the most shouted-at person when i started... i remember those lessons sweetly... without them, i would never outdo the pple who shouted at me... i will forever be indebted to them.

and i dun mean the army hor...

shouted/ scolded by the boss and walking out of the Boss's room with teary eyes seems to be a very common thing in my ex company.
Sometimes the boss will threw documents on the floor and u will have to pick up the docs while he's roaring at u.

powder, not that sadistic to enjoy shouted at lah. But, I agree, I totally hate that kind of BS bosses that bring you around a big round with their crap. Make us sit in to long 1-1 sessions to discuss over what can be settled in a fraction of the time.

was all part of the plan when i first started. better to have a couple of pple shout at me, than for me to be asking and asking... sometimes being the company idiot has its perks against bosses who like to vent. it's effective in getting pple to repeat to u things that u dun wish to ask.

i can tell u that every fcuking detail shouted to me, is imbued in me... it becomes part of why i am good at what i do. i'm a product of the shouting, tat's why i'm indebted.

maybe your ex boss should stop hiring idiots

too bad, he don't perform the interview himself.

I also don't think my ex colleagues are idiots but the boss is definately unreasonable. Sometimes he will shout at those who accidentatly block his way at the corridor.
I find It thrilling to work in that company.

lil_fish

dimpxtt - well she is not tired. she has been like tat and she is not much superior than the others she shouted at.

once, she ever shout at my new colleague who is higher rank than her when she told her she does not know how to do certain work. this shouting colleague of mine shouted at her: 'you everything also say dont know. you only know how to eat and shit, then might as well go back home and dont work.'

dimpxtt

small fish..
tat is personal insult..not healthy eh

soon...colleagues will be dragging to work everyday if under her

i dun understand y..
working takes up a lot of our time n personal life..u have face your colleagues everyday

cant we face it harmony...y make life so difficult for pple

no worries lah... gov made HDBs easier, perhaps next year there will be something in the rally to adjust the bosses' attitude to suit workers and make spore more liveable for everyone... we can hold hands and sing "the more we are together"...

small fish, it is also link pretty much to a person's upbringing. Some people are just used to just confrontal loud exchanges. And sometimes to the extend of not realizing how rude they are. I suggest to look at the content than the tone. The fact that she is like this with everyone already shows it isn't something targetted personally at you. So, don't take that personally.

But, if she talks only rubbish and without substance. Then, its easy to shoot her down. Don't need to react to her shoutings at all. Point out the issues and get on with work.

milo, it's both ways... some pple are not vocal at all, and too meek and afraid... to these pple, u talk loudly, it becomes 'shouting' or 'confrontational'.. then in forum, they are definitely not meek.

powder, yes, I understand that.

In the work environment, we cannot expect everyone to be nice, soft spoken etc. That's not what make money. The corporate just recognize the results. Who can drive towards the biz objectives. Even if he/she is a loud mouth chap. I have strong respect of some truly frank loud mouth managers. This is despite being scolded by them.

Normally, these chap appreciate strong character folks that can take their grilling and respond well to it.

And of cos, there are those loud empty vessels which I don't bother about at all.

if the next generation isn't already spoilt and weighing life heavily on expectations, now we have to change ourselves to suit employees... i have no idea where things are headed and GenY is certainly a bunch of softies... army too. i think our country lost the plot over a decade back spending time emphasizing on things where we now have to pay for...

pple with little character, mental strength, but simply hide behind education, rights and goodness. end of the day it's very self-serving.

it's like the world owes it to u to be nice. and we even have the fcuking audacity to accuse foreigners of infringing into our territory. thank goodness we're gonna bring in foreigners... cos i am gonna do that too... our pple are simply not up to scratch n have very very very poor idea of what makes a Person.

how is not allowing yourself to be abused a sign of weakness? that's just the kinda crazy topsy turvy thinking that encourages bad behavior. what do you think when you see someone shouting or screaming at another? especially if he does it to people under him but not to his bosses?? i think he is just a blow hard with anger management issues. it has nothing to do with being effective at work. you can be effective without resorting to abuse. you don't have to shout to get your message across.

how is standing up for youself when u haven't got the credibility to, but perhaps on a humanitarian level.... gonna help u learn anything?

it's not always anger. same with how as parents we have to balance being harsh n soft. u can't always be soft and sorting out thru discussions with your kids... sometimes u have to put your foot down, sometimes u have to shout.

regimental setups will see more such behaviour.

No one is tolerating abuse. But one should look beyond the harsh tone and see the context. IF a person is screaming for no reason at all, then you have every reason to shoot him down.

But, if there are reasons behind it. See beyond that harshness and focus on the intent. It probably works much better. Tough people aren't always nasty. Are we too quick to discount it as something personal and always seeing it as some form of abuse? Personality differs, we expect different tones. As long as everyone remains professional and not let personal emotions hinder the work, its fine to have differing styles at work. For sure, some folks would be harsher and more aggressive, straight forward and louder.

Where to step the line between abuse? Some people can be really sensitive and get personal over the slightest disagreement and raising of voice.

i don't like to be yelled at by my boss so i don't inflict it on my direct reports. i am conscientious towards my job and have pride in doing well at work. i don't suffer fools and is considered a demanding manager. i just don't see ANY good reason to yell and scream. in my opinion, it reflects badly on the person. work wise it's counterproductive because people don't react well to abuses. either that or they learn to tune you out. if an employee needs my yelling at him to do his job, he's not the kinda of employee we want to keep.

i'm indifferent to it... if it's a stupid mistake, being harshly reprimanded serves to remind me. i'd rather be shouted at, than to totally kill myself making similar mistakes... tones can help to add urgency and importance when dealing with pple who do not have the capacity to understand the severity of it.

well this one is there for disagreement. some pple, u speak loudly - it becomes shouting. really subjective...

oh come on milo. most people yell at their employees don't do the same to their bosses. if he does that to everybody in equal measure, fine, we can chalk it down under 'personality' or 'for-your-own-good management style'. 99% of folks yell at those whom they know they can get away with. classic workplace bullying.

I an indifferent to yelling.. and personally I don't really see the need - be it the boss using it or I am the one.

There are ways to get points across without yelling. Yelling is only required when the situation is chaotic and needs everyone's attention.

But I guess as long as it is not overboard and no throwing of chairs and objects - we can learn to deal with it.

For guys who had gone through army - we are more or less immune to the shouting.

dimpxtt

sm: yes u r rite..yelling is only required when situation is undercontrol..

but hor..if talk to you face to face..in ur room somemore..u tik still need to yell?
that's irrespect

instil fear..not earn respect..

99%? What stats is that?? From my experience, it could be with a person's culture and personality. I have no issue disputing on the points with folks that might get totally emotional and loud with their communication. It doesn't mean I will silently suffer nor fight with him/her in some crazy exchange.

And if a person is a bully, I minimize the interaction and try to be as professional. If he/she is hindering biz, I basically by-pass and go straight to his/her boss escalating the potential seriousness and impact for the blocked point. Let's differentiate it and not be quick to assume an aggressive tone is bullying.

milo it's real check it out. unesco did a family and workplace survey which stated that 42.378% of respondent was abused at work. and 98.726% of the abusers acknowledged their yelling as a form of disorder. but of course 82.436% was happy with their jobs. even though 37.171% of whom thought that their managers were incompetent.

- research from unesco's workplace and family survey: competent jerk or loveable fool; classic management dilemma on workplace diversity and it's impact on harmonious family living. By P Pakistani

sorry, your interpretation is very flawed. Given, that I take your figures are realistic. Your 99% is based on the 98.726% is of folks the abusers? Who decides who is the abuser? You have completely omitted of 57.622% of the folks that do not feel abused. Are you sure 100% have not been shouted at? Or do some of them deal with it with the understanding of the person's traits and culture? Selective filtering on your part??

Your stats only state something damn obvious. Most of the people that are abused in work are shouted at. You don't need a study and PHD to have any credit for that finding. A no brainer really.

milo do you often get people telling you - oh no, i was just kidding - while you go on and go analyzing and explaining?

No. It's Patrick Khoo, the S'pore Idol careless whisperer.

(mwhahah... beri fwee. Ok ok, I'm going home. Ciao!)
---------------------------------

He's my colleague!!! So shocked to see his name here!! HEHEHE!!!

He's a wierdo, but he's a very nice guy i must say.. :D

Frankly no. But didn't anyone tell u what an ass u r? You tried to be humorous but lack the humor yrself.

i wasn't being humorous. i was making fun of you. but being a literal automaton, you have no clue what is what.

Chocolatte, reminds me of the Stephane Chow's comedy... å”ä¸‰è— singing Only You.

Milo,

Ya, its that one who sing Only You.. haha

å”三è—说:

所以说åšå¦–就象åšäººä¸€æ ·ï¼Œè¦æœ‰ä»æ…ˆçš„å¿ƒï¼Œæœ‰äº†ä»æ…ˆçš„心,

å°±ä¸å†æ˜¯å¦–,是人妖。

人和妖精都是妈生的,ä¸åŒçš„人是人他妈的,妖是妖他妈的

å”僧的肉还香得很呢

所有妖精都想åƒã€‚。。

没办法,åšå¦–精也得长生ä¸è€æ‰è¡Œ :p

dimpxtt

chocolate: self examination..
just happen his old wife never give him in e morning lah..tats y he yell at me due to this stoopid email

anyway.....glad over....
in working life

naggy boss/authorative boss/bitch/old full of vulagarity woman/stuck up old secretary think shes pretty n work for boss over 20 years and this yellow old man

haiz..tats my life
;(

dimpxtt

my frend says at tat time i m been shouted
i should have tell him
I will report this insult to MOM
I am in your room.must you shout. You have insulted and embarrassed me in front of e colleagues and because you think that i am a gal, you abuse your authority as an employer to shout to your employee.

i will also personally sue you..

haiz..if only i tik of these taglines at that time..

coz tat time i am tiking e complain email so serious meh..must he shout n insult?did i really do such wrong..
guess i am too soft..