What can I know if a photographer is good or not???

pinkcandy

Me and my photographer have become quite good friends. haha.

What i learnt from him is that so long as you are willing to pay a decent amount to a PROFESSIONAL wedding photographer and not like 300/400, you can be quite safe when it comes to the pictures already. from there, you can start to base your decision on good word of mouth, and the personality of the photographer himself.

he also shared with me how because the industry is very unregulated, it becomes difficult for couples to choose because everyone will just showcase their best works (which i agree totally). So BS and others can even charge like 600-800 for a beginner freelance photographer.

I think one good avenue would be www.wpja.com. Look for the singapore photographers, there is only a small list although there're many wedding pg's in singapore, because they select only the best to be included.

dinohee

Hi pinkcandy,

(( I think one good avenue would be www.wpja.com. Look for the singapore photographers, there is only a small list although there're many wedding pg's in singapore, because they select only the best to be included. ))

I disagreed, WPJA don't select the best, i saw their website, saw those Criteria’s listed, alot of photographers can join already.
I too can join, but i reluctant, why, its good to have WPJA logo on my website and tag, but i need to pay a few hundreds bucks for it.

I don't need to send my whole day wedding pics to let them see, just afew under each section can already.

WPJA is a tag for wedding photographers to bring up more of their prices only.

If notice, not all big names join too.

Pls don't mislead ppl here.

Wedding photography is abt styles and creations, and working mood etc, so what does WPJA stands?

I am a full time photographer, and seriously, to me, no point joining WPJA, that amount to pay does not justified.

natyeo

davidlim: You may be right to say that pinkcandy's statement that wpja selecting only the best may not be true. but you must have really great credentials and portfolio to say these:

>>"WPJA is a tag for wedding photographers to bring up more of their prices only."

people get a uni degree coz that gets them more $$. Photography is a business, if that few hundred can bring in thousands, why not?

>>"Wedding photography is abt styles and creations, and working mood etc, so what does WPJA stands?"
>>"I too can join, but i reluctant"

Got any work /examples to show us, maybe you might make us understand why "not all big names join". what's 'big name' anyway? care to explain? ;)

Ultimately, couples are there to make a decision for themselves which photographer's works are better. With portfolio online these days, you can even compare their work side by side.

My advice would be, check if the photographer is running a registered business, or is he/she just some part-timers. One easy way to check is here
http://www.acra.gov.sg/general/directory.html just type in the company name and do a search.

dinohee

Hi natyeo,

first thing, i am here not for debate.

Photography is bussiness, yes its true to an extend, but i look at it abit different, its also an art, and i don't need that tag now.

my samples are on the web, and not all there, as some photos are not allowed.

as i say b4 in another forums, why should i show ppl my works b4 i can comments?

big names are those highly recommened and mention to me, do they all join? while, to me, i have seem so many works already, some freelancers also not bad, they can join too, and not all who advertised in magazines etc are that great too, just a name, a name. branded, all abt branded to me.

i don't advertise here, so will not put my website here. to be fair to those who advertise.

cannot understand, why must be "show me ur works them comments?"

natyeo

well, you are accusing pinkcandy of misleading people, when what I see is just a mere sharing of info of a possible place where you might find good photographers, that's about it.

business is about branding, how you create a perceived value, you don't need to be a professional photographer to know that.

you also said photography is an art, so not everyone will agree with you who's great or who are the 'big names'.

u have every right to comment, sure thing, this is a forum after all. educate us on what you meant by style. no idea which forum have asked you to show case before you makes such claims, maybe ask yourself why people are asking you to show your works. maybe because talk is cheap? I dunno ;)

"I too can join, but i reluctant" what are you implying? I leave that to the rest of the people reading this to interpret what you're trying to say.

dinohee

SURE, in a local photography forum, where sharing of photography is there.
and asking ppl to showcase pics b4 comments is a no no, as u are challenging ppl that if you can comments, u must be good kinda thing.

i can assure you, there are better photographers who don't advertise out there, don't need the tag, to me, its just a gimmick. u can disagreed, but u can't challenge my photography knowlegde, being assisting bigger names in commercial lines in the past, now out my own, well, i believe in terms of photography, i can say it.

Why should i need to educate or xplain styles kinda thing?
Why should i show ppl my works b4 i can comments?
Why should i need to xplain anything to you?

Cos there are too many ppl just don't understand certain issues.

Enough say, to me, i have done my part in pointing abt WPJA, so will not come in this thread anymore.

linasoh

Hello, I have gone through the wpja site, the pricings look a bit on the outdated side, from what I have been quoted.

zyrahphale

hi there, i'm looking for an AD photographer and i've sorta narrowed it down to K3n@c0l0urd0ts. he seems rather new in this industry. wondering if anyone have had the chance to work wif him before?

happigal

hi btbs...
i would like to recommend my photographer too...
jus collected my photos... love it !
pm me if you need the contacts...

snowiee

my rom was just over last weekend.

My photographer was GREAT!

i had engaged him for both my ROM and my AD next year.. no regrets ! hehe..

Here are some of the raw unedited pictures of my ROM

still waiting for him to pass me the complete edited set.

435851.jpg

435852.jpg

435853.jpg

435854.jpg

very satisfied with his professionalism, service, attitude and of course pictures ! hehe

who needs my PG contact can drop me an email at [email protected]

will forward his contacts to u.

hope this helps ladies

hoshi5

Actually one thing to note is the no of years of experience a photographer has.

For my wedding, I sourced and sourced ard for photographer that does journalistic photos... he's also listed here in the forum. A lot of people feedback that he's very good. So, I met up with him and signed up after seeing his works. Very nice I would say.

So, I signed up with him regardless of the fact that he has only 2-3yrs experience in shooting wedding photos.

Ended up, I really REGRET my choice!!... the end results is not nice, he did not know where to stand. Even during my banquet, he was busy EATING and did not take much photos!! There was once he even stepped on my wedding gown on the stage!!... I didn't realise it was him until I saw my wedding videos!!..... was quite upset with him.... but seeing that he has a family to feed 'coz that time his son quite young, and he has 2 sons to feed. I just let go. Luckily I still got other photographers and good friends who took photos for me.

I will NOT share who is this photographer, coz he still has to feed his family.

But just to warn u guys that the years of experience in photography counts.

This will ensure the consistency of his photo skills.

tris1982

Hi Hoshi,

sorry to hear that. Did the end result (photos) come out different from what was shown to you?

Maybe it's the photography style rather than the years of experience?

I have had friends who dun like certain styles while others find them nice.

Cos I find it strange that others give feedback he's good but he turned out otherwise.

hoshi5

It is definitely not the photography style.

I really like his works and style, that's why I signed up with him in the first place even though he has less than 5 yrs of experience.

And he is really not professional.

Can you imagine ur AD photographer busy eating during ur banquet rather than taking photos?!...
He even stepped on my wedding gown on the STAGE ok!!.....

Initially, he told me that he will do his best to take photos. He say that he don't care whether he will 'block' other people or whatever, so long as he can capture nice photos for me. But.... hmm... really unprofessional lor...

And some more on AD, we were supposed to go out for our outdoors shoots. He says he has no problem taking fast photos as he has very 'fast' fingers, can capture all the nice shots... ended up, none of my outdoor AD photos can be used!!... either my eyes or my hubby's eyes half-close, or the smiles very unnatural.... hmm.... even if rushed, also must take nice photos right??!!...

I feel that it's because lack of experience, that's why the photography skills depends on his MOOD. If he has 'mood', he will be able to capture nice pictures. If no 'mood' then anyhow take. BUT if there's experience, definitely a professional photographer will NOT rely on mood to take picture. Right??....

And those artwork shown, I guess, like all other photographers, they will show their best shots right?... they will never show those works that are not nice lor.... So it really relies on word of mouth to know abt the actual experience of another person.

Anyway, good luck to all the brides on choosing their photographers.... Must really be careful ok?...

sg_bride

Hi hoshi5,

sad to hear that you have such a bad experience. then again, my 2cents, if you don't mind :p

1. Experience definetely counts but i believe it is one of many factors in deciding on the photogrspher. Eg, different couples have different budget. Those photographers with many yrs of experience also usually meant many $$$$. Those couple who can't afford will usually have to base their criteria on other areas such as style and whether comfortable with photographer etc.

2. i believe that every honest photographer, whether 2mths or 10yrs experience, would sincerely want to capture the best moments of their couple. As such, i don't really know and understand what is this photographer doing. You very magnamious, if me, i sure say the name of the photographer.

my 2 cents worth :p

hoshi5

Anyway, regardless of this bad photographer, I still heard some pretty good comments by his other customers.
Maybe I'm so suay that his mood wasn't that fantastic, leading to the poor photos?...

Actually at that time, the journalistic photo package was not that cheap, nor expensive...
My package with him was $850, and 6 rolls of films. He didn't charge me extra though my AD and banquet was on separate day. Considering also the fact tat he 'rushed' out the photos for me to see, and also brought his baby with him to pass me the photos, I do not want to spoil his reputation coz his family is at sake lor...

Anyway, luckily for my friends and other photographers, I still have very good memories of my AD... hehe..
For the champagne toasting, there were at least 5-6 cameras clicking away our photos... haha...

tris1982

yes, luckily for your friends, your AD memories are still there for you to cherish.

$850 for AD PG shooting with film is reasonable, considering other PGs...

annpaul

hmm you caused me to think of an interesting point...do we give the photographer a seat at the banquet also? i've never really observe that part in other weddings. do the photographer get to sit down and eat wan? sounds weird loh. supposed to be working wat?? thats wat we're paying for no? feels that he should get his own dinner b4 the banquet and not eat while working leh? or maybe i'm wrong...is there a proper protocol? whats the usual practice? thanks.

hoshi5

I also not sure... haha... but the seats were allocated by my 'sister'..

I supposed they should be working and not eating right??.....

hmm... tat makes me feel even angrier to think of it...
kao_angry.gif

Why is my photographer eating and not taking the photos??!!...

Anyway, luckily I still got the videographer....

snowiee

no la.. we dun allocate seats to PG and VG what !

thats why we have to give the PG and VG some time before the dinner so they can have their meal.

worry

At my own wedding, I didn't have a place for the photographer. My photographer told me no need to give him a seat as he will be busy taking photos. He will have his own dinner first b4 the banquet.

In my own opinion, if the photographer is your friend, then you give him/her a place in the banquet. Otherwise, I think no need to give him a seat cos he also no time to sit down at eat. If seat is given to him/her, the most he eat first two dishes after that he will be busy taking table shots and other candid shots.

If you still not sure whether to give him/her a seat, then maybe you can ask him whether he wants to have a seat in the banquet.

My two cents worth.

p00

anyone tried ninetrogen for VG? I am thinking of engaging them but really not too sure if they are good. Didnt hear much write up on them.

g_phua

hmm...my thoughts are that, yes, of cos if a particular photographer is good or not...is very subjective...cos one may not have that high expectations as others or one may expect their wedding pics to turn out like others or sth like that...

i also dun totally agree that photographers need to have a lot of years' experience to be good...but then, well, i guess as wedding is once in a lifetime event, u would definitely want someone recommendable to make ur event even more memorable as u review it back in the years to come...

as photojournalism has already domineered the wedding market for quite a while, i guess it's not easy to find a photographer to actually catch ur eye...

besides, the other impt thing is, it may not be cheap...

i guess it would be to see his/her portfolios...ask around....do more research....that shd be fine

snowiee

i think 1 very important thing is that the photographer should take pride in his/her works... and also have a TRUE passion for photography.

For those that are just out for money....think can just DROP THEM or kick them aside...

I know of photographers that are just like that! just wanna squeeze as much money out of the couples who are getting married.

Luckily my ROM and AD PG is not one of those money grubbing idiots...

*phew...

starry_bride

I signed my AD package with Dean Studio. Have viewed some of the phtotos that he has taken, quite impressed. Really looking forward to my ad.

By the way, can I check with btb who has taken their studio and outdoor photoshoot. Do ure purposely buy a pair of silver shoes to go with the gown, or u just wear a normal flat pair of shoes since it cant be seen afterall?

adibah

I am taking a package from The White Link, can recommend which is their best photographer?

Me and my partner wanna try chinese photographer as we received reviews that they are a better breed, so please help me on this one....

Recommend me the best photographer....

newbiewed_gal

my wedding is just over and I must STRESS the importance of having a bond with your photographers.
i hired my photog (whom I shall not mention) a year before my wedding for PW and AD. The photog has nice pictures but apparently she's an artiste so forget about my and my husband's feelings. Prior to our PW (about 2 weeks), we had to call, email and sms to find out the plan. no reply cos she was busy with an award submission for her photos. make the long story short, we didnt feel good during our PW shoot, felt that I have to please her instead of the other way. So I fired her and looked for another photog for my AD, 1 mth before my wedding. That's how much she made me upset. Best of it all, no apologies or why I was not happy. Just said 'i cant help if you wanna fire me'
grrrrrrrrrrrr!