Wedding Planner Necessary?

honeymooner

Hi OinkOink,

A wedding planner helps you plan your wedding such as timeline development, come out with to-do list, budgeting, booking of wedding services vendors, etc. They also coordinate your actual day event. Most wedding planners have contacts in the wedding industry, so they will be able to get you good rates for the wedding services such as photohgraphy, florist, Bridal Studio.

You need a wedding planner if you are confuse and stress about planning your wedding and need someone to guide and assist you.
Or if you are busy with your work most of the time, and require an extra pair of hands to help you with the wedding stuff.

Even if you don't engage a wedding planner to help plan your whole wedding, you may want to get one to coordinate your AD. Unless you have friends who are experience in coordinating wedding, if not, having a experienced wedding coordinator can help lift your stress on your AD so that you can enjoy every single moment.
Hope this info helps.

yukikodawasan

Hi Sylvia,

Thanks so much for the information. Well, engaging a wedding planner will mean more cost for the wedding right? Any wedding planner to recommend? And how much in order to engage a wedding planner?

honeymooner

Hi OinkOink,

Engaging a wedding planner may or may not add more cost to your wedding. If the planner is able to help you get good deals, you may end up paying less for some of the services and yet having a planner to help you plan your wedding.

The cost of engaging a planner can be as low as below $1000 to more than $3000 or much higher. It depends on the extensiveness of the services you require.

Tip for getting a planner:
Meet up with him/her with your hubby and make sure both of you are comfortable with him/her.

You may wanna contact Sin Yan @ 9792 6746 or email [email protected].

yukikodawasan

Hi Sylvia, thanks for the valuable feedback. Really appreciate it. Well, will look out for a wedding planner and evaluate if I really need one.

honeymooner

relax la..

Planning for wedding is supposed to be fun and enjoyable. :p
Plan earlier to avoid last minute rush and create stress for yourself.
Drop me a PM if you have other questions.

yukikodawasan

Thanks so much for the comments. But have anyone here engage a wedding planner and can you share how much you pay (estimated amt) for their service?

a2002

Oinkoink,

Depends on what you need the planner to do lor. My friend's mum paid SGD780 to Sedan of Love for securing/coordinate of hotel and videographer, plus Wedding Day Coordination (theirs only banquet no ceremony). That deal is a deal, very hua suan because their rapport with the vendors saved them MORE than SGD1500! Plus they do the research! If u think of it, actually the person subsidizing the cost of Wedding Planners is the vendor! And, we getting FREE advice and professional helper only.

One of my other friend overseas hired one, she made a comment which is so true!! her wedding planner serve as a neutral third party when she needs to let off steam about family disputes (like no karaoke!), because third party isn’t emotionally connected to the wedding.

But one advice, set up meetings with a few planners, like Sedan of Love, Wedding Acts, Wedding Entourage and see which one you felt really listened and understood your personal interest in your wedding. Remember, you will spend a lot of time with your planner, so you need to feel you can trust her and count on her during this special time.

GOOD LUCK!! ENJOY YOUR WEDDING! Hope it helps!

yukikodawasan

Hi a2002,

Thank you. That's a valuable feedback. Really appreciate it. Well, I think so too. But currently, I'm unsure of the role of a wedding planner too. Hope to meet up with these ppl after confirming my wedding venue. In the meantime, I still have time to do scouting...

Thanks and hope to hear more from the other BTBs.

piglet08

Hi btb, my friend gave me a $800 wedding planner voucher and I have no use for it. Anyone who wants it, jus PM me.

piglet08

Hi btb, my friend gave me a $800 wedding planner voucher and I have no use for it. Anyone who wants it, jus PM me.

auntyoink

Hihi all,

I am too unsure if i should hire a wedding planner. I asked for a quote & she charges me about $1.9k for full planning services (excluded AD coordination). I am just not sure which i'd need. Some folks tell me that AD coordination is appreciated but then again, at the banquet, u have the banquet mgr & your frens to assist. Urgh! Any advise pls?!

honeymooner

Hi Auntyoink,

It depends on how much you want to free yourself on the banquet night. For me, although I have friends who volunteered their help, I have a planner to be the main person in charge and the main contact point.

I discussed with my planner what I had in mind for my banquet dinner and she helped me to arrange for a briefing for my helpers. And on the actualy day, every helper knows their role well and even if something crops up, they know they can just go to planner to get it solve out instead of getting me stress up.

If you have your friends to help you run the show on the actual day, they might not have experience to make an independent decision to solve any problems that might crop up. So they will run to you for final decision. However, if you already communicate with your planner and trust him/her, he/she can make a swift decision to solve whatever problem. Before you notice anything, the problem is already solved.

Of course, if you have friends who are experience in coordinating events and you trust them to make independent solutions, be sure to make one of them to be the main person in charge so that all your helpers can just go to him/her instead of you.

Hope this advice helps.

banska

Sylvia is right Auntyoink. I have to add on as well, which I just answered in another thread:

The best part of having a planner is, she tells me what I need to do right away and what can wait!

For myself, I find it hard to delegate jobs to my friends who were helping me! With a professional planner, somehow your helpers tend to listen more!

Just a caution to brides who depend on banquet managers. They do conventions and weddings almost every weekend. And, I dont wanna comment how dedicated the person can be with the kind of workload they have!

Hey a2002 - i think SGD780 is for consultation, etiquette advice and researching hotels only? I paid much more. I like Sedan of Love because planner got classy taste and very creative. ka ka

I must give a thumbs up! She really went all her way out to help me though it was not part of the contract! I dont even need to be bothered about gifts for my helpers! I just need to pay and it was taken care of!

auntyoink

hey girls, thx for the advice. i have kinda given up on hiring a planner. Well, don't think i wanna pay $2000+ or more for one. Budget doesn't allow for such expense. I initally thought i can hire 1 for less just to assist in the coordination but well, those that i met are really way over my budget & i think i can use the $$$ in other aspects of the wedding. Thx for the advice anyway!

pynk

I hired an actual day coordinator for more than $1k, and still ended up losing a guestbook. I felt that there was not much value added by hiring the planner.

On a separate note, I was tossing between my coordinator and Sedan of Love, and on hindsight would've picked the latter if I could choose again. I wonder how that would've turned out.

My advice - don't hire a planner who lets you pay for their drink on the first meeting - a gut feel I ignored only to have my suspicions confirmed as events unfolded.

Happy planning!

icesugar

Juz to share, i personally feel tat planner might b of good help if chosen wisely... Understand there r black sheeps out there, cos i've also heard terrible stories...

But i believe there are also good planners out there who really serve with their hearts and really wish to help make our wedding dream come true...

Have met up a few planners with my HTB, some of them r good but some of them r not...

Some came with a sincere heart which my HTB and me could feel it, and they really look into helping us work within our budget, yet still try to make our dream wedding come true...

Hee... so far have not decided who we wanna sign up with yet, cos wanna have an idea of wat planner really do, and how well we can clique with them before committing...

Hope u all will have fun searching!

vivien_lim

hi, sugar, Which wedding planner u hv met? which company u feel is good?
I'm not working,intend to do all planning myself, n get 1 friend who is very responsible to be my main co-ordinated.
But my htb, keep asking me to hire a wedding planner to help out,as he dun want to have any headache.
i trust my friend,but i also feel with 3rd party is good.But i dun wanna spend extra.
so confuse..dunno wanna engege or not..

icesugar

Hi Vivien,

I've met a few, so far all quite ok...

Engaging a planner dun necessary mean it's extra, if the planner is able to bring u to the right places and saves u time and effort, and mayb also better rates (tat's wat i think but may not always be the case), it's good rite?

haha...

icesugar

Hi Vivien,

I do understand tat cos u r doing the planning urself and have a trusted fren to help u coordinate, but u would also wan ur fren to enjoy ur wedding instead of having to take care of all the things?

So far how's ur preparations going?

More or less done or u still lacking in stuff tat requires help?

If u require help, i heard from some planners tat there is partial planning to help those couples who have planned halfway...

If all preparations done, some planners also do AD coordination, mayb u can consider...

hee...

Juz sharing with u wat i've seen so far...

Hope it helps!

vivien_lim

i have already done all neccessary works, now me n htb only afraid the actual day dinner banquet.the flow of the program at night.

teddy_mac

vivien,

There are wedding planners who offers services like actual day coordination. You can look around. They are there to help you take all the human err/mistakes, "I forgot to bring...", "... haven't come", cock ups from whoever whenever in whereever... Leaving you trouble-less, stress-less...

Just be prepared to smile till your jaws ache

"My 400th Post!!! Wow!!!"

vivien_lim

oh... need think twice... yesterday jus ganna 5k top up for photo album.. $$$$ man.... need to be careful on spending liao...

teddy_mac

Haha...

Yes. Getting married is damn expensive.

You can look around and compare the prices lah. Think you should be able to find affordable ones.

vivien_lim

my heart very pain,but my hubby seems like nothing, me actually just wanna take the standard package, but end up choose more photo to do DESIGN.
my god... total 8k plus for photo + gown

icesugar

Hi Vivien,

Ur hubby can afford it den u dun think so much la...

hee...

But i guess since u r worried abt the AD program flow, it's better for u to get a planner to help u with AD coordination...

haha...

I do know some planners do tat but some dun, so u muz see which planner have this service...

Hee...

All the best!

banska

it has been a long time... I have just recently went to a wedding and the turn out was totally awesome! The wedding was very interactive. I can see the guests all dancing and enjoying. Sporting crowd too! The week before, I attended another wedding and I was bored. All I can do is to look at my hubby. Can you imagine sitting there 3 hours just looking forward to cake cutting and yumseng. Then, I saw someone familiar! I was very impressed. Couple hired the planner I hired before! Kudos Joelle! Still looking so good and professional. The ceremony was very beautiful and touching though the outdoor air was quite still. Vi and hammie, I am not sure if Joelle is still in Singapore. Last I heard she is going overseas. She has a partner now too. I was told they have previous event featured in Style weddings. U can check them out there too.

Also Vi, you know, you could have save that top up on the bridal photoshoot. Last time, I had my planner to "warn" me. I saved a lot of money from the multiply advice I have received. We were very grateful. And, our wedding is always talked about and my friends come get advice from me!

missdiamond

I have a few friends who engaged this professional emcee/wedding planner before and I would like to highly recommend him. He's Mr. Jeff Lim. With his extensive experience in the entertainment industry, Jeff is reowned for his hilarious and exciting stage games. He has also established his reputation as a versatile and professional variety show host. Be it a small or huge group of people, Jeff is able to adapt easily and is ever ready to produce unique and innovative ideas to suit various clients. He has a very detailed program for a wedding dinner/luncheon and he will normally guide the couple throughout the dinner/luncheon event. Moreover, he's multi-lingual and is able to speak majority of the dialects too. He's sure to make your event a successful and memorable one. Importantly, his rate is reasonable and negotiable too. Plus, he has a team of people who assist him in planning and running the whole wedding dinner/luncheon. For more information, you may want to PM or email me at [email protected]. Hope it helps all couples who are looking for one.

zqel

I'm considering in getting a wedding planner for my wedding. Have shortlisted a few like: sedan of love, wedding concierge and spellbound weddings. Any feedbacks? Wat are the things being discussed during initial meeting? and also not too sure how much they are charging right now. Any idea?

spicii

Hi ZQEL,

I'm using Wedding Concierge. Initially I had my reservations, however my HTB is quite keen to hire one cos he prefers to outsource the planning to save us the hassle and tension.
So far, I felt that the recommendations that she has given for wedding venues, photographers and bridal designers has been very helpful.
In instances when my HTB and I have very differing views, she was able to step in as a neutral advisor. She's very calm and experienced as well, so that helps.
I think it's most important to have a planner whom you are comfortable with and can trust. Hope it helps.

spicii

Hi ZQEL,

I paid between $4k - $5k for her full suite of services from selection of vendors to the actual day co-ordination. If I'm not wrong, prices wll be half if you just want her co-ordination about 3 mths before the wedding. She said it's more to tie up the loose ends, which I think is quite pointless.

You can always arrange to meet up with her first and see if you are comfortable with what she offers, before deciding to sign up. ;) 1st meeting is just an intro and to gather more information about what services you would like to have before she draws up a proposal for u.

bluez

I start to get headaches after going through the Wedding dinner packages. Thinking whether a wedding planner can help us save $$$ and time so that we can have more time preparing for our new house.

Any recommendation and advise?

zqel

Hi Spicii,

How is the service of wedding concierge so far? I have met a few planners and maybe using wedding concierge and would like to hear more views.

spicii

Hi ZQEL,

You met with Kim? She is my planner. She's patient and very honest with her opinions, which I appreciate. So far my HTB and I are quite pleased with the progress. Let me know if you have other concerns.

zqel

Hi Spicii,

Yupz. Met Kim. Went through the initial discussion. She gave quite good alternatives and opinions.. we are still deciding..

pinkyy

pinkscrump: it all depends on what type of service u need. for me, i chose a private wedding planner instead of those that are from those big big wedding planner company. its so much cheaper...if u have yet to decide on the venue, u can just give them info like expected no. of tables, ur budget and they will do the research and come back to u at a very cheap rate. i think its worth it as they are able to find venues with better packages that u may have left out and i dun even need to waste time doing research.