Wedding Cake Ideas

snowysun

Hi,did any one put together a wedding cake without really getting one? Wat I mean is that buy a normal cake and "transform" it into a wedding cake? I checked out Choc-a-bloc and Pine Gardens. Their cakes are not bad, but the prices for them are like 2-3 times more costly den birthday cakes. Can we buy 3 single normal birthday like cakes and put on 3 cake stands, to make them into a wedding cake? Got problem ordering the cakes? For eg, if I buy a black forest cake, at $33 per kg. And I buy 3 such cakes, they will only cost me $99. However if I get such a cake made into a 3 tier wedding cake, I can expect to pay $300 onwards. Wat do u tink of my idea? Or I buy a nice cake stand with some height say 8 inch high, and buy a normal cake and put on it? Will it look weird? I am exploring all avenues.....hehe....any suggestions are welcomed.

strawberryz

Hi Jandew,

If you buy 3 cakes, you may have to buy a cake stand. I think I saw it at Poon Huat at around $60 to $80 each. Pine Garden will charge extra for decor like $10 for small little piped flowers and $65 just to put on flowers.

I am getting a 2 tier rom cake (2kg) from them and gave them two wedding bears as toppers. To cut cost, I have asked them put coloured bow on each layer or you can leave it plain) and buy fresh flowers to decorate myself.

snowysun

Strawberryz,
How much r u paying for ur ROM cake? If u dun mind sharing...I checked them out b4, quite ex...I found Sg Island Country Club, quite cheap & nice. $25/kg for choc truffle..intend to do 6 kg

jourdandrea

Hi Strawberryz, do you have the address of Pooh Huat or any other place that sells cake stand, I am also exploring the idea that jandew has.

esther_c

hey blue gal,thanks i went to the website..the price so much more reasonable than all the others...by the way how's the taste honestly?coz i'm also thinking of giving miniatures as favours so must taste got standard...hehe u know what i mean?

jew

Hi BB queen,

I have tried their lycee martini and citrus cake... very nice and rich in taste!! U can buy their ready made cakes and try b4 order!

blessed_1

Actually, is it ok if i dun have a wedding cake and jus use a dummy cake? is there any significance to the wedding cake being a part of the wedding ceremony?

marnie

Durga, tradition dictates that the bride and groom feed the first bites of the wedding cake to each other. This symbolises the new family unit formed and the replacement of the old parent-child union.

A portion (usually the top layer) may be stored, and eaten by the couple at their first wedding anniversary, or at the christening of their first child.

It's a western tradition and if you have no affinity to it, then there's no hard and fast rule for you to get a real cake. Wedding cakes these days are exorbitantly priced.

If you're ok with normal decorated cakes, you can get one ordered normally from Bakerzin which have a more streamlined and modern cake which costs no more than S$100.00 for a sizeable cake.

snowysun

Juz to share, we ordered our wedding cake fr Singapore Island Country Club. The cake din look really fantastic, maybe b'coz the cream was abt to start melting....considering it was sitting in the open for a handful of hours. We bot a 6kg, 2kg of choc truffle, fruit flan and cheesecake to be cut into teatime sizes and served at the buffet line. The guests all commented the cakes tasted wonderful. In fact, they were gone in the twinkling of an eye. We had a 2 kg divided into 3 tier cake as the wedding cake on display. We cut a slice & fed each other. Gave 1 tier to our parents each and another tier for churchmates. Everybody loved the cake. If not for the fact that one cun buy the cake fr Singapore Island Country Club except if you are a member(I had to trouble my frenz) to order the cake for me, I would make it my regular bakery for bdae cakes.

tulip_cottage

Just to share with you that you can actually order a cake-topper for your wedding cake to spice up the event. http://www.eikon.sg I ordered one with my wedding gown on it and my hubby on his black suit. It looks very nice and our relatives and friends are pleasantly surprised by our special cake. :) The price is a little steep but as the doll is fully customised and they include our facial expressions so closely as the pictures we provided, we find the money worth spending. Now the wedding cake topper is used as part of my new house decoration!!

marnie

hi Cherry, I hope I am not too late - I don't check in here that often.

For traditional cakes like that, the top layer is most often than not fruit cake which is laden with loads of alcohol to keep it moist and tender. From the top of my head, you can try Canele, The Patissier or Pine Garden. I am sure there are other cake stores that can bake them.

cherry07

Hi Idyll,

Thanks for the info. Is not too late yet cos I am still searching for it

marnie

Hi Cherry, it's good that you're doing some research. Getting a wedding cake is rather overwhelming albeit fun.

We spent 3 hours at the bakery : tasting the different cakes, talking about designs and learning the entire process of how they would bake our cake.

havensbreath

hi Idyll
do you know the estimated prices that canele and the patissier would charge for a 3-tier cake?
the pics look really expensive!!! our budget is only ard 300 for a 3-tier with some flower decor...

marnie

Hi Cheryl, I am not too sure about Canele or Patissier. I know that for wedding cakes, the weight, no of people the cake can feed, the design and the flavours factor in the cost. You really need to sit down and speak to the bakers to know more.

Our wedding cake was from Pine Garden. 3 tiers, 3 flavours - enough to feed 300 pax. And it cost us S$500.

Have you considered getting plain-designed cakes and just decorate some boxes (to act as platform elevation ie. tiers) and then pay the florist you are getting for your deco or wedding bouquet to do the cake deco? Florists like Secret Garden do this and I am guessing that it can come up cheaper than getting an actual wedding cake from the shops.

havensbreath

hmmm...thought of that before actually...
order a simple 3-tier cake then add flowers to it...will consider both choices

thanks idyll

marnie

I would definitely have done the long way if I had an affirnity for flowers on the wedding cake. But hubs and I wanted to get away from anything too frou frou, girly and flowery so yeah, had gone with the designs for the wedding cake.

snuffster

My friend got herself a 3-tier chocolate fudge wedding cake and got her florist to decorate with fresh flowers. Pretty interesting. Something unique for a wedding cake and best of all, all 3 tiers are real yummy chocolate fudge cakes!
She got it from Vicky's at Henry Park Apartments. Anyone heard of the shop?

pardon me for ignorance..
wat is the purpose of having wedding cake beside taking picture? to distribute to guests during wedding?

any cake shop also have. better get those small cake shop that is cheaper. not like bengawan solo, prima deli etc..

i be getting my customised cakes, with our name plus box @ $2 each.

bubblesushi

Hi Cynthia Tan (cotton_hill),

May I have the contact of the cake shop please? U mentioend the customised cake is with ur name, may I know where is the name displayed?

hi bubblesushi
actually every neighborhood where also have such cake shops. the cake shop is at jurong west st 51. so unless you are staying that area otherwise no point for you to buy there.

the cake will have a piece of white chocolate and our names will be written there. its on top of the cake. just a simple one only.

i haven't order the cake yet so can't show you picture.

$2 is the customised cakes. normal price is $0.8 - $1
but dun expect the cake to be tasty..looks is just very ordinary only..but where to find customise cakes at $2/piece?

lilfeets

My 2 cent worth.. i like Patissier but find that the cost is just too incredible. Love cake avenue but theyhave limited lavours and the design is so -so only. Their cupcake design i feel cannot match up to home bakers my company orders from. I guess end of day, we need to consider whether we want to pay for nice looking but dun taste good or ok looking but taste very good or spend a bomb to have taste good and look good cakes! hahaha..

Wedding cake really a treat already lor. Settled for a home baker. She will be doing my fondant wedding cake for church and also 200 cupcakes as favours for dinner reception during solemnisation. I think when we want wedding cake, expect to pay average $1K if you want like 250 cupcakes with elaborate icing flowers or embossed designs. I managed to taste the cupcakes and have to say i like it but taste is personal lor. I find the taste is good and cake is moist even after 1 day.

If you keen, you can try emailing her to discuss your budget and what you want. [email protected]

have to say I had thought to patissier but to do my quantity will break my wallet!hahaha

meowlover

Just my 2cent worth of suggestion from my wonderful sister's ceremony we had recently. Because of the tight budget, we combined the idea of having to buy a cake & wedding favors. Who doesn't need to save $$$ right?

The outcome was sooooo stunning & elegant.. All the guests can't stop admiring the centrepiece and NO ONE forgot to bring the favors home!
It was talk of the day...

PM me for more details if you need. I was told by the lady who handmade these for us that they just launch these, first in Singapore and magazine was going to feature them soon.

I still haven't got the picture from my sister's photographer yet but similar to here's what I got for her...
Ours was more stunning, we placed them on a 6-tier cake stand!
1478480.gif