Wedding Band's Budget

amy03

hi babu, yup me bought the plain ones too. full platinum. like the weight though
i have been to soo kee, lee hwa, aspial, meyson, etc to shop for my ring but somehow, find their rings quite cheepo looking, not worth the money. don't remember seeing tiffany's design at lee hwa - new arrival?

225177.jpg
225178.jpg

babu

amy,
how much u bot for ur bands? i hear they su ga su ga up e price one..
ya i think is lee hwa new design, look e same but no weight only..
lee hwa, meyson and others improve liao la, not that cheapo anymore, just slightly lighter only, some of e design not bad oso lay.. just my fh prefer to wear something heavy, so u will realise it not there when u forgot to wear. hahaha..

chez,
hmm.. good question... how about engrave e nick name lor.. like wat u address ur fh? dear dear la, dar dar la, honey la, sweetie pie, bunny la etc..

amy03

babu, i can't really remember how much i paid for the rings, S$2,600? i bought it 1.5 years ago... are our rings the same?

babu

amy,
the one on the rose rite? no, it not e same, our are thick. i know which one is urs already, i tried that but can;t match my engagement ring.

coolgirl76

Hi babu
I'm here to KPO ....ke ke ke

Hi anna
My wedding band is engrave in chinese character.....
If I'm not wrong each ring I need to pay extra $20 or $10 per character....need to check with my hubby. We bought our platinum band from Lee Hwa. They sent our rings for Chinese Character engraving.

camy

I'm also seraching for wedding band too. Was thinking to buy from goldheart or sookee but realised that a lot of couple also got their rings there. Wouldn't this made out rings very common?

Anyone got any opinion of buying wedding band from neighbourhood shops such as poh heng, taka? how is their service?

dubdub

i bought my wedding band from poh heng imm in june, the design is nice and further more the price is very reasonable

magix

oppps, my wedding band is only abt $700/pair... bought from Soo Kee a few yrs back while they were hvg 30% discount, i think... and reading this thread made me realised that u gals are much more willing to splurge on the bands!

in fact we bought the pair coz we both had very different opinions. thus we settled on this pair that we both thought it was ok. thus till today i still am thinking of getting new wedding bands. it sounds silly lah, coz all my frens say no one will buy new wedding bands again!

tou2

Hi hi.

I bought my bands from Poh Heng too
From Chinatown branch and their service is very good. I also bought a pair of earrings from them but the pair they had at that branch was crooked. In the end, they bought 4 more pairs from all over S'pore to let me choose. Very impressed.

In fact, I think Poh heng's trying to change their image to attract the hip and younger crowd. Alot of their designs are quite modern. My ring is platinum and it cost us abt $500 plus for a pair (no diamonds)

levynn

hi girls... juz bought our wedding bands yesterday. $830+ for a pair fr soo kee... fr the brilliant rose collection.

redribbon

Hi gals..

Just wandering are girls having 2 rings for their wedding? AS in one from the wedding bands ( same design with their FH) & another is the proposal ring ( mostly with the diamond) from the FH?

levynn

hi red ribbon... i didn't get any proposal ring fr my FH.. mostly becoz i was the one to 1st bring up marriage.
but have to admit that it might b nicer if he sort of surprised me... but then, never mind la... since we r together for so long already...

demi

We got the sainte pure from Goldheart. AFAIK, they're the only ones with T1000(100%) platinum, the rest from other shops are T900(90%) or T950(95%). Cost about $1.5k for 2 rings. Can say that I'm more concerned about the material used rather than price. I believe you pay for what you get.

hi red ribbon,
For wedding bands, it will come in a pair... As for the proposal ring (sometimes people called it wedding ring also), it depends on individual... But most of the time, it will be a solitaire (single diamond)...

gooobergrape

Fh gave me a soliatire from larry's for the proposal and we bot a pair of rings from Lee hwa for $925!
very happy with our rings and cannot wait to collect from the shop... engraving our names and our ROM date.

shimaro

wat is the difference between white gold and platinum? I understand white gold in chinese called " bai jin" then how abt platinum in chinese?

sorie to asked such silly questions. cos really no idea.

levynn

hi shimaro... fr wat i noe, white gold is sort of like changing the colour of pure gold so it becomes white. it is kind of "softer", so usually comes wif diamond. as for platinum, it's more solid. it is also heavier than white gold... n double the price.

that's all i learnt fr my jeweller... u can go to any shop n try on n ask for the quotation of the rings u favour. they won't force u to buy.

scrubbed

hi shimaro,
platinum is harder than white gold.. but both will scratch lar. If price of platinum is not so exorbitant, I would definitely get platinum.. to match my solitaire :D In my personal opinion, platinum is better. From what I've seen, white gold tends to turn yellow after a while.. yucks..! ;)

winterwhite

HI Gals..

I am new here.. can I ask for advices on the rings? Does the bride has 2 rings which is one from the proposal & the other one is the wedding band that is of same design with FH?

demi

winterwhite, you can do whatever you want as long as you are happy. Don't need to follow others.

For me, I told him not to buy me a cheap solitaire for now, I'm willing to wait 5 or 10 years for a $20k Tiffany. :D

hi babu,

can you share with me how is your tiffany bands like? How is the service at Tiffany? They have a small corner for wedding bands? I am afraid of receiving stuckup attitude from them leh.

mayelene

Hi Shimaro

i did not buy from the True blue range, it's another range. dunno wat's the name. but it's oso platinum. they jus gave me the 10% rebate voucher, i dint ask why. Got the VIP card after i bought the rings, so dint use it at all. anyway wedding bands cant use VIP card

babu

Rainne,
uh sweetie.. don have to worry that they will ignore u.. very friends staff infact.. i went alone, cos my hubby was out town for 6 mths, so i have to arrange all the things myself. poor thing rite? hehehe.. anyway, once u got their stuff, is life time maintenance, but ofcos just a simple wash and polish i guess, nvr really ask cos i bot it in a rush, less then 10min, i ask them to wrap it up and go.. till i went down again for re-size my hubby ring, then got sometime to talk to them... our wedding band is a 4.5mm platinum, very plain but we like it so much, and most importantly, it matchs my engagement ring..

shimaro

Hi Mayelene,

IC...cos in goldheart website, they only intro True Blue Range.
Is yours PT1000 platinum? or PT950?

mayelene

Hi Shimaro. mine is PT950. think only true blue is PT1000. think if u go Goldheart and ask for platinum range other than true blue, they will recommend u.

Hi Babu,

Thank you so much for sharing with me. I am still considering, as I would love to have an eternity ring as my wedding bands, but am afraid of wearing it daily would cause it damage. Will it?

Hubby is looking for a plain platinum band, hence, I was thinking of checking out Tiffany & co.

Wow you just bought it in less than 10 mins? Gee, I think I would look see, then consider and come back.

babu

Rainne,
hehehe.. have no choice but to chop chop buy, cos me going overseas to join my hubby liao, no time to consider la.. if ur hubby looking for plain one, tiffany is the rite choice, my hubby don even know i bot it till i told him the band bot liao.. he quite worry that he don like it, but after saw it, he say good choice..

damage huh? no choice one la.. polish again lor... do it once a year, should be fine.

Hi babu,

Thanks for sharing. I will drop by tiffany to have a look sometime next year.

thank you!

andrei_n_averyl

bought our wedding rings from lee hwa at $738 per pair.. cos that time promotion..

i wasn't given a solitaire for proposal ring cos my fiance wanted to give me a heart shaped ring..anyway i appreciate his efforts...

i'm currently wearing the proposal ring on my left hand middle finger..and on that day itself, i'll transfer it to my right hand 4th finger and wedding ring will be on the left 4th finger.. yep yep

ding2505

wahhh, babu, you really great, can chop chop buy the rings. I have a feeling I will take a very long time.. and a lot of shops..

marthastewart

hi guys, i just ordered bands from lee hwa. their white gold range Affiniti is only abt 400-500 bux, and their platinum is nearly 3 times the price at 1.4k. Strangely, the salesgal at the Plaza Sg branch told me platinum is twice the price of white gold, but today when i ordered it is MORE THAN TWICE the price! Apparently the price went up!!!!!!!!!! HOW SWAY! anyway, for this price of 500 and 1.4k you get a simple band which is quite thick in width and thickness. If you guys are checking out the branded ones, Furrer Jacot Platinum is about 2.5k+ and Jorn Rainer White Gold is about 900-1.5 or 2k. These 2 brands are made in switzerland. The Affiniti range is done here by Lee Hwa's suppliers and the Kizoku range is Japanese Platinum brand, which is DAMN CHEAP - only 250-500 for Platinum!!! but it's very thin and feels light and cheapskate like can bend any time.

So i got a platinum band and my fiance insisted on saving money and got his in white gold...seems rather strange but nevermind lah. I wanted to pay for both platinum but he seemed to don't care so....overall if you consider you only buy this ONCE IN YOUR LIFETIME, money shouldn't be much of a consideration...dunno why i hesitated when my budget was 2k somemore...

*sigh* regretting now...design also...i like the one i picked but then i initially wanted an angular edged band, but hubby dun like, he say dun suit my finger...

hope I like what i see on my finger, cos i like my engagement ring now leh...

Hi Limy,

Itdepends on diff shops. Some charge extra for using other than their standard fonts. Some say so long got space, can go around the whole ring.

limy

Hi skywolf,

I bought my ring from goldheart. They tell me can only engrave 7-10 characters including space
Too little loh...having a hard time thinking of wht to engrave.

I just wonder if this is the same for others shops.

Hi Shimaro,

It is not recommended to customise 100% platinum as it wil be very soft.

So they recommend either 90% or 95% platinum only.

mayelene

Hi shimaro, pure metals are quite soft. so that's why the gold in the market art at most 99.9% gold, or 91.6% gold. nvr 100%. else it's too soft. the metals have to be mixed with other metals to form an alloy which is harder. Same thing with platinum. 100% platinum is too soft.
Wedding bands on left hand for both guy and girl.

flee

If you are thinking of going the custom route, can try this place:

Yuen Tung (Wah Kee) Gems & Jewellery
1093 Lower Delta Rd #07-09 Tiong Bahru Ind Est
Tel : 6270 2278

Reasonably-priced and good workmanship.

daan

May I know is there any one will get the 916 gold wedding band for ROM? My FH want it , but I feel abit "biang". what you all think? where to get good and resonable 916 wedding band?