Wedding Band's Budget

faithe

hi all, I wish to find out how much are you all paying for your wedding band...cos i am not sure how much is too much...

Hope all the ROM couples-to-be can share your views with me...;-)

gooobergrape

Wow, just want I wanted to ask around...

went to Fairy's Inc and the bands were so beautiful but all about $900-1100... very ex, not sure if we wanna spend that kind of money....

Lee Hwa and the other shops seem to have the standard looking ones at half the price...sigh decisions decisions decisions.

levynn

hi...

juz went ard wif my sis over the weekend. lee hwa, soo kee n goldheart r all having 30% discount storewide. i did ask when the offer will end but all said have to wait til further notice. so can go look look see see ard first.

but an advice fr my cousin... she said not to get any matt surface rings coz scratches can b seen quite clearly...

vone

hi faithe,

we spend a total of abt $900+ on hb & my wedding bands.

hi goober grape lover,

i agree wif u on fairy's inc's rings. but i hv seen my frens' wedding bands, they seem quite unique 2 me leh.

hi levynn,

i dun tink tat d d/c applies 2 wedding bands. u may wanna cfm on tat.

honeygem

im too looking for wedding bands but dont really know what im supposed to look out for

Does the 14k, 18k, 24k thingy really matter against your engagement ring?

What's the do's and dont's? I dont wear much jewellery and would appreciate any input. thanks!

badgal

My HB n myself bought our wedding bands from Goldheart last nov. Take note that GH do not give 20% or 30% for their wedding bands. They are known not to give discounts for their wedding bands. But their bands are really nice n of good quality. I got their Saint Pure range. Yes... i agree wif levynn. All rings get scratched bt matt surface get very obvious when scratched as compared to other surfaces.

faithe

I went to Leehwa last weekend, shortlisted 1 pair from the Jorn Rainer range, but was 1.5k++, now having 20%, on top of that, if use UOB got 10% more, but the sales person says the uob card promo ends last weekend...so net is abt 1.2k++, do u think is expensive?

Levynn, i thought matt will be less obvious than those shiny type when scratch?

By the way, is platium better or white gold?And gals, what will u be engraving in ur wedding band? I was thinking not to engrave the usual thing..hubby's name and rom date...

Any suggestions?

Winnie, i went to goldheart, saw their saint pure range, but hubby dunn like the blue thing inside the ring...he says is funny got blue blue thing..for mi, its ok since its inside..

Usually do Leehwa, goldheart have wedding bands discount often?My hubby says wait for xmas or CNY or V'day, may have better discount..

faithe

By the way, where is Fairy's Inc? I never hear before ..heehee, i am very suan ku rite?
Any website for that shop?

faithe

Have u all got your rom flowers already? Where can i get cheap and nice flowers? Whats the "in" flowers that rom brides are taking now?

I am really having a headache, so many things to do and duno what and how to do..:-(

krazy76baby

fairy's inc is at orchard delphi. their rings are beautiful and they also do customized rings.
the ladies, evelyn and sandra, are very friendly and pleasant people and they will accommodate to your requests.

badgal

Hi faithe

The little blue sapphire inside the ring has a special meaning for the couple that wear it. In olden times in England.... all brides must have SOMETHING OLD, SOMETHING NEW, SOMETHING BORROWED and SOMETHING BLUE with them when they get married. When a couple wears a Sapphire ring, it means the blood from their bodies will flow together and join as one. This is the significance for people who wear sapphire rings. When u visit any Goldheart shops, they will tell you what I just mentioned. I stayed in Britain for many years before, therefore I can vouch the above fact.

You can buy the rings from Lee Wah as I know they have promotions from time to time. But Goldheart will never give discounts as far as I know for their St Pure range.

Hope this helps : )

bin

Hi faithe,

For rings, me & FH agreed that it's something we'll keep it on all the time (some ppl don't wear their wed rings) so we splurged on it. We bot platinum ones at BP de silva during their closing sale for $2k+. We oso visited those few plc mentioned. We liked the John rainer ones too! Like ur hubby, we don't see the pt of having the blue stone.

Platinum is the most valued precious metal which is tough and does not discolour, unlike white gold. Check with the store assistance, they can advise you on tt.

We engraved both our christian names & wed date. Was told tt ppl even have a short verse. We were given a choice of 26 characters, incl space.

As for flowers, the florist at Raffles city basement has quite some unique ones. Alt, u may wan to make ur own bouquet (cheap & nice). You can get fresh cuts (lots of different types to choose from) from Far East Flora. Pop by the one at Thomson Rd, opp MacRitchie Reservoir.

Happy planning...

levynn

hi..

vone >> i did asked the lee hwa n soo kee ones... they have discount on their wedding bands. as for goldheart, i didn't really spend much time in there coz most of their rings seem quite thick. i got very skinny fingers... thick rings will look weird on me...

faithe>> i asked my cousin coz she juz got married last year n that's wat she told me. will ask her to let me see the ring the next time we meet.

vone

hi levynn,

oh, it's nice 2 hear tat lee hwa n soo kee r offering d d/cs on their wedding bands now. i remember when i was sourcing 4 mine last yr, they told me tat d d/c is not applicable on wedding bands. so sad.

faithe

hi krazbi,
thanks for the address of fairy, will check it out soon.

Winnie, thanks for the story behind, i didnt know abt it, its soo romantic.

Bin, thanks for ur info too..but is there any website that has pictures of rom flowers? so that i can show to the florist to make? i browse thru noel, fareast,hazel and many sites, but all the flowers are complicated and large...

i actually prefer tuilip (pinkish) with long stem, or calla lilies, but it seem calla is out of trend?

Below is some i found from some site which i felt nice...any opinion?

223537.jpg
223538.jpg

seval

I started to like Cala Lilies. they are so nice. Tulip used to be my favorite flower but I'm begining to love cala lilies as well. Think will choose this flower to be my AD bouquet..

gooobergrape

back to rings tho...FH wants to have matt finish and I need polished finish.. he needs to get flat and I need round... cannot seem to get a pair that gives us what we both want. If we get totally different looking rings, it's not what i envision as well.... sigh....anyone with the same prob???

yamiyogurt

hi gals...

faithe n goober, where did u gals get the pics from? the bouquets r nice! esp teh calla lilies ones. will use it for rom too, as long as we like it, dun need to mind whether it is still 'In" or not

goober, i also have similar prob. he likes matt, i prefer polished. i like designs on bands n he wants plain...

levynn

oh... reading goober's n yami's posts... now i worried that we will have the same problem. but we'll b going to look at the rings tmr... so hopefully can agree on sth.

btw, anyone planning to have hand made rings??

faithe

hi gals, i think in terms of selection of rings, one party has to give in lor, unless u dunn mind having 2 diff design's ring for both of u...
For me, my FH was quite accomdating, all his request was not too shiny and not too complicated design so that he can wear it daily.
For some couples they prefer unqiue design, but that would means it will be very "xin tong" to wear it causally...
As i would like him to wear it, so i sort of agree that our rings gonna be plain and simple..
I had colleagues who bought very exp rings,and beautiful rings, end up inside their cabinet...cos they cant bear to wear....

levynn

hi girls...

went ring-hunting yesterday... shortlisted 1 fr soo kee, 1 fr lee hwa n 2 fr goldheart.

the goldheart ones r the most expensive (abt $600+ for one ring) , even though they r the ones without diamonds but they r fr the sainte pure range. can go to their website n check out. http://www.goldheart.com.sg/ListProducts.asp?id=135&mat=PLATINUM

the lee hwa one is fr the jorn rainer range, white gold wif 20% off... ard $1300+ for both, wif diamond on mine. but these r in white gold.

soo kee ones r the cheapest. they have 20% discount on all, additional 10% discount on the lady's ring if paid by UOB credit card. so, in the end, two rings cost only $800+, white gold n wif diamond on mine. quite classy design.

btw, for the scratching on matt surface, the lady at soo kee confirmed it. it's becoz there is like an extra layer being laid on the glossy surface so the ring becomes matt. so when scratched over long term or wif a very deep scratch, dis layer will b gone, revealing the actual glossy surface underneath.

honeygem

Hi Levynn, thanks for the info. I went to Jetaime, Larry's and LeeHwa but I think FH is keen on the Jorn Rainer range.

http://www.leehwa.com.sg/collections_index.cfm?paging=Y&row=13&page=3&colid=6&patgrp=97

I have to go for white gold as my E-ring is set on white gold too.

This could be a really daft question, so please bear with me. If the ring gets scratched etc etc, which will happen by wear and tear anyway, couldnt we just take it to the jeweller to replate it again for $30-$50. It will last for another 2-3years or so isnt it?

That was what I heard from the jeweller. Or did I get that completely wrong?

babu

anna,
i think u can go queensway shopping they ve chinese engraving there.

u bot ur ring from where? thick or thin one, cos chinese character quite big lay...

nicatan

ive bgt a pair of diamond white gold wedding bands from poh heng for $500.. very gd deal due to the discount. n the manager told us we can send the rings bk for resurfacing due to scratches without add. costs.. the sales staff was very nice n thus we bgt from him instd of frm soo kee.

preci0usm0ments

hi babu, can i know where is the exact place to do the chinese engraving? i had mine done at Poh Heng.. sigh..nearly fainted.. thinking of re-doing it

goober grape lover, y dun you have your rings custom made? i had similar prob with my hubby, then we try to merge the ideas together to form our rings

copied the idea from GoldHeart and place the blue sapphire inside our rings :p

yup yup, Goldheart never give discount for wedding rings.. cause they say they claim that not so good to give discount for wedding items..

babu

hi lilacblur,
it located at 3rd floor. there are few engraving shops there. wat happened? they engrave sa la huh?

kimmies

hi guys, just bought my rings an hour ago.. haha..

for me and my bf, we agreed that the rings are really functional, i.e. to tell people that we are married, so we thought not to spend too much. We went to Tianpo at People Park Complex, they are having a 20% discount, plus UOB an additional 10% off. Got the pair of platinum rings for only 576. Mind you, very plain..

faithe

Hi Blur,
If you are looking for shop outside to do ur engraving for chinese char, pls be very careful..cos i was told by LeeHwa that they do not do engraving for chinese char and small initials, thus, if customers want, they can arrange to send outside but cant gurantee that the quality will be best. In any cases whereby the ring;s engrazing is done poorly, they dont bear the responsibilty, thus the sales person told me they will advise couples not to engrave in outside shop...

Just for ur info lor...

vone

hi cherz,

i bought mine abt 1 1/2 mths b4 our rom. we were kinda of ks coz of d cny season. we were afraid of hiccups such as no size 4 us. in addition, we heard tat if we need d shop 2 order 4 us, they might need abt 3 wks' allowance. thus better 2 b safe than sorri.

levynn

hi...

honeygem>> yes, u can bring the ring back for them to polish or watever. that's wat all the jewellers told me. but i think the price depends on the material of ur rings.

ong >> i'm thinking abt the same thing as babu... is ur ring $576 a pair?? n wat is their maintenance service like, for the rings??

cherz >> i think u better give urself abt 8 weeks in advance. coz the longest the jeweller can get ur ring (if dun have ur size, or u wan handmade) is abt 6 weeks. for the goldheart sainte pure range, they need a little more than that coz they said the swiss (if i rem correctly) side have a lot of holidays, so need more time to make the rings.

babu

vone,
i bot my ring about a mth plus liao... we bot tiffany platinum, very plain.. but i like it very much, cos i like my man to wear plain ring, it turn me on!!! kekeke.. we bot e same thickness, that's why a bit costly.. $3200 for a pair!! sibei heart pain... but if can last for life, worth la... hahaha..
Bvlgari is our 1st choice, Cartier signature ring is 2nd, but both doesn't suit my engagement ring, so finally i choose Tiffany, but it suit my fh very well, so i am very happy.. can't wait to see him wear it...

mayelene

we bought our pair at goldheart. they gave us a 10% rebate voucher, since they dun give direct discount on the rings. we dint buy the sainte pure series, dunno wat series we bought but it's platinum and mine has a diamond on it. total is $926.....

cherz

tks for all the advice.

wow babu,yr rings cost a bomb!!i will spend at most $1.2K.but wat matters most is u like it ya.

kimmies

Levynn, maintenance costs? oops, didn't ask. yes, it is 576 for a pair.. but it's is very plain platinum... no diamond and stuff, that's why so cheap,.. plus the discount helps...

levynn

thanks, ong... i'm not looking for too fancy-looking rings either, dun mind no diamonds too. coz i think not practical for our jobs... later get scratched, then heart bleed non-stop la...

babu

hi amy,
u bot e plain one too? quite heavy hor.. actually i don want to spend so much one, but we really can't find any ring that match my engagement ring and himself..

vone,
ya mate,plain thou but we like it so much that nvr regret buying..actually lee hwa got the design as well, but the weight is not there, very light... and they selling at 2400 a pair, tiffany 3200 a pair, might as well choose tiffany..somemore life time maintenance.

chez,
so have u decide when u buying? don have to be too early, just go some treasure hunt 1st

lynn_

just like to contribute...

we bot ours at Larry, where i got my E ring... Custome made platinum at around 3.1K... Very heavy and pretty (thicker bands)...

Larry's staff has got wonderful service attitude
I went to the paragon outlet, look for stanley if u ever pop by, a really friendly guy...

cherz

hi babu,

havent decide when to buy yet.yup will go hunting first.

any ideas wat to engrave besides the usual names & dates??