Wedding at SVDP Church

juan

I had booked for wedding at st vincent de paul church. I had never attended any church weddings before. Can anyone advice me on the preparation and process of the ceremony. Am i suppose to prepare seperate invitation card for church and dinner.

ava

I found the following websites useful when I was preparing for my wedding held last Nov.

This website gives you a rough idea on preparing for a church wedding (although it's irish the process is very similar):

http://www.catholicireland.net/gettingmarried/

This is the Singapore website for the marriage preparation course which you and your partner may like to attend before getting married:

http://www.catholic.org.sg/ceespore/

If you would like more help, just email me!

Take care & God Bless!

minx

Hi Hi Lee KuenKuen,

Congratulations on your coming wedding. For my wedding, I did prepare a separate invitation card. My church invites is like a post card.

nnchander

hi kuen kuen,
you might like to consider a few things:

1. settle the mass procedures first. if you are doing everything within the day, you will have to get your documents from rom early and bring it to church. THen make sure that the priest who's marrying you and your husband is 'empowered' to do so.

2. preparing your mass booklet. There are some readings you may want to look at for your nuptial mass.

3. i had separate invites for dinner and mass as well. church invites are smaller.

4. choir/music for mass. I had my good friends form the choir, and one of them played for us as well. this also includes the selection of songs. We did not have the usual wedding marches.

5. the procession. do you want to involve your parents?

6. reception. if you are having a reception, make sure that there is a place to hold the event.

7. most importantly, go for a marriage prep course (either the MPC or EE).

Hope this has been helpful!

juan

To Ava and Andrea:
Thanks for the advices! It gave me a rough idea on wat to prepare now. Which church did u both got married in?

To Renee,
Your idea of making your invitation card like a postcard is very unique. Is it possible for me to take a look? Hee.. I am thinking of making my own

I had signed up for MPC, waiting for the date confirmation. How many guests did u all invite for your church wedding?

nnchander

Hi Kuen Kuen,
i got married at St Francis Xavier
it;s a beautiful church, and our family and guests loved it!

My husband's cousin also helped design our invites and both dinner and church invites had the same flower theme, but different sizes. Try desgining your own cards
you'll hv fun I'm sure!

As for number of guests, only family members, close family friends and Catholic friends were invited. EVen so, all in all, we had about 200 guests.

If you need more help, just drop a line

juan

Hi Andrea,

Wow! 200 guests is alot leh... hehe
My dinner only has bout 250 guests.
Still wondering who I should invite for church wedding. SVDP is quite big. Imagine it will look so empty with little guests hor..
hee

Did u have problems with non catholics... i mean they feel bored from the readings or dun feel comfortable standing and kneeling....

:)

nnchander

no not really... and ours was a L O N G mass. i think it was slightly more than one-and-a-half hours... i was quite worried that they'd be bored, but it was ok! my guests loved the choir and singing, so that kept them 'entertained'! hahah

sophis

hi andrea

am planning a church wedding july this year. if u dun mind i like to find out which printer, florist and caterer u used for your wedding?

ava

Hi Kuen Kuen!

Glad to be of help!

I got married at Church of Christ The King.

But i attend mass at SDVP now

Stay happy preparing for your wedding!

nnchander

Hi Song,
sorry didn't reply sooner. DIdn't realise there was a new message here.

In any case, to answer your questions: I used the florist at Robertson Quay (can't remember the name) ... think it's June?? it's just at Robertson QUay. nice people and pleasant to work with.

Then I used CDCS. contact xiao yan -- pleasant lady. our guests liked the food! it was really yummy!

Unfortunately I'm not sure who the printer is. My husband's cousin business colleague/client printed the cards for us as a wedding gift
(she's in advertising). SO we were lucky to be able to save a bundle there. They were very nice, but according to her rather pricey...

Think i still hv my copies of card/invites and mass booklet around if you need more info

@ndrea

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Andrea ~ hello! I'm planning for my wedding at SFX too.
Could you be kind enuff to send me your booklet for me to take a look? I should be holding only a service.

Which fr married you? Fr John?

I'm a little confused and was wondering how early did u book your date with SFX? And what are the costs involved?

So many questions...so sorry abt that. My FH is a Catholic and I'm not so, i kinda need a lot of guidance from everyone.

We are going for EE in May.

poppet

Hi Lee Kuen,
I got married at SVDP last year. Don't worry about the church looking empty... think no one really expects the whole church to be filled for a wedding anyway ;)... you could make your guests sit in a specific area only (we assigned them only to the middle rows and some spilled over to the front section of the rows next to the middle... i was actually suprised at how crowded it was!

whos marrying you?

nnchander

hi Smilez,
erm... really sorry *sheepish* just realised that i don't seem to hv the soft copies of my booklet BUT i can send you a copy
perhaps you can email me your address.

My husband and i met in aust, and stayed at the same place. So, we invited an AUssie priest whom we know very well to marry us. However, he is not able to marry us legally, so we had another local priest to concelebrate. He's my parish priest and we know him well.

If i remember correctly, we sorta booked the church quite early, prob abt 10 mths ahead. we didn't hv to pay for the use of the church, but i think we sorta paid a token sum for the use of the canteen.

hope i've helped in some way.

cheers,
@ndrea

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Andrea ~ That's ok then, i don't want to put u thru the extra trouble. Thanks for offering to send the booklet over anyway. Much appreciated!

Wow..10 months ahead of time! Did the church actually state how early the booking can be done?

What time was your service?

oh!! Your hubby + you met in Aussie. Which part? I studied there before i graduated.

have a good weekend!!

nnchander

hi Smilez

it's no trouble at all. if u need it, just let me know

i think churches don't really stipulate when u hv to book. But if you are getting married during popular months, it's advisable to book early. Our first choice was St Theresa's church but it was fully booked, and if we wanted to go ahead with the booking, we would hv to rush through the ceremony, as there were couples getting married after us. Also there was one booked at 8am.

So in the end, we found SFX and was glad that we were the only ones that day
so we had a leisurely time getting them and staying on after the ceremony. Ours started at 10 and didn't end till about 11.20. then had lunch and stayed on until about 1.30pm or so.

where were you studying?
we were in perth for about 4 years
really love the place...

ccteott

I'm getting married in SVDP next year... anyone has any idea how or what I should be doing? I've done the first step by bookting the church but I have no idea what happens next... help!

annelise

Hi tintin. Congrats on your coming marriage! Ok, this is roughly what needs to be done:

1. attend Engaged Encounter or Marriage Preparation Course

more info at: http://www.familylife.org.sg/about/whatwedo.html

2. prepare church booklet (after you've done so, let the priest who is marrying you look through the contents before sending to print)

3. you need to look for a choir, commentator, friends to do the readings and 2 witnesses - 1 or 2 weeks before the wedding, get permission from the parish secretary to have a rehearsal in church. You also need friends to do ushering and to man the reception table.

4. prepare and send out the church wedding invitation

5. engage caterer and florist - some churches require you to use their in-house florist, so check with the church first

Hope this helps - I got married 6 years ago + after having 2 kids, my memory is a bit hazy! Feel free to ask questions - they may jog my memory!

suzxie

Hi Tintin! Congratulations on your wedding! Thanks for sending the pricelist for the Pond over to me yesterday (am still considering).. I am also looking to get married in SVDP next year.. when's your wedding?

tootsieroll

Hey Suzxie,
Fancy seeing your post here!
I've booked OLPS (my home parish). At least something is done!

Would anyone have a copy of a wedding mass booklet they could email to me?

suzxie

Hi toots! Yes, me home parish is good ol' SVDP.. baptised there as a babe and happy memories of kindergarten, catechism classes etc etc
Haven't booked it yet.. waiting for my mum to have a chat with Fr Mike there. Is your H2B catholic as well?

I've tried uploading the wedding mass booklet I got from another forum member but the file is bigger than the max allowable by the system (50KB). If you let me have your email address, I'll post it to you!

tootsieroll

hi suzxie,
Yes, same, I did all my 'growing up' at OLPS. My dad apparently asked Fr Giang if the date was free, and it was, so I've emailed him to book it (kiasu lah!).

My FH is most definitely a papist! ;) What about yours? To be honest, that was one of my core essentials really, something I couldn't compromise on within myself, and would definitely be a make or break issue for me. By the way, have you read 'Love and Responsibility'? If you're into any of PJP's writings, this is quite a nice excerpt on his thoughts on this issue http://www.catholicculture.com/jp2_on_l&amp;r.html

Many thanks! How's your eye?

liquidawn

HI,im getting married in SFX in dec,I need help on how to do the mass booklet.Can someone help me?could anyone send me a softcopy or direct me where to find one so i can redraft??Thank you!!