WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

snowiee

hi ridz thanks for your reply

but is it true that continental brands dont last long in singapore due to the high humidity here?

ridhwan82

Well

i would not say that lah. cos i myself have been using continental washers for a long time and waht do you mean it does not last long due to high humidity as in rusting??

Or just simply dun last as in parts breakdown.

and most of my other family members like my aunt have used machines with lifesplan exceeding 10 years so i would say that it is not that true.

wtg54

Is the budget 1k enough to get a set of Electrolux or Whirlpool washer and dryer (1 washer and 1 dryer seperate)?

If yes, where do you recommend? If no, what other brands should I consider?

ridhwan82

hi victor,

well i would say that it might be possible but the specifications would be like 5kg washer with a low rpm lilke maybe 600 rpm fixed and a manual timer dryer. and bought at those near residential type of shops.

BUt i would rather that you at least set aside around 1.5k as budget and have better washing features.

As continental washers fi you take real good care of it, i can safely say that it will last pretty long and you dun want to be stuick with a low end machine for many many years to come.

so maybe you might want to consider getting a slighty better specs yeah

haruko

Hi Elchwong, I bought mine from a neighbourhood shop at Jurong West. I went to places like Best Denki, Harvey Norman etc to browse fridge, hob & hood & WM, took down the model I want. Then went to a neighbourhood shop at Jurong West. I told them the model I want. The prices they quoted me are all $100-$400 cheaper than those shops at the mall. My Mitsubishi folio baby fridge selling at $1,899 at Best Denki, I got it at only $1,530. The WM cost about $800 at Best (I think) while I got it for only $640. But then I got it at $640 cos my 6.5kg model was out of stock. If not, the 7kg one will cost me at least $700.

Mr-Mrs Ong, not sure where is Electrolux from. Maybe European brand? But the WM is very cool! Interior all stainless steel. I like it. Initially I wanted to buy a 6kg load one. But got this 7kg instead. I find that it's not too big. Just nice for me to wash my King size bedsheets. :)

Victor, 1k for an Electrolux or Whirlpool washer and dryer is a bit hard. The WM alone will cost at least $600.

ridhwan82

hi haruko,

thanks for sharing, its true that you might be able to get things cheaper from neighbourhood shops yeah.

and preferably 7kg washer with at least a 850rpm and above would be best bet. my personal recommendation is 1000rpm.

as for dryer try to get auto sensing dryer. they are way better.

ELECTROLUX is a swedish brand but now its made up of a group of brands but elextrolux is their flagship brands. brands like AEG, zanussi are all under electrolux group.

they are now mostly made in thailand.

ridhwan82

hi MnM,

i am terribly sorry to get back to you this late as i have been a little busy with school with the marking etc driving me mad and students driving me up the wall.

anyhow,, i have taken a look again at the brandt washer and the thomson washer both top loads i think they look the same there is no diff in the size of the drum of course unless its a 6kg drum that we are looking at then it is slighly bigger.

else the dimensions are identical to that of thomson.

)Which load?
I foresee that will wash once (or at most twice) a week for 2 of us. Perhaps up to 3 or 4 times when we have kids.

The biggest wash item will be queen size bedsheet / quilt, or even curtain.

Which model should we get? 928 or 938 or ??

in this case i think washing the quilt huh.. might need to choose like 6kg or even 7kg.both 928 and 938 are 5kg. probably the 5kg can fit queen size quilt the cool types. but again no guarantee. and oh yeah top load continental has no 7kg only up to 6kg

3) Pending confirmation on the rinsehold and Class AA.

rinsehold give me a while i will read up and find out. the class AA explained already. A for washing efficiency and A for consumption like water and electricity efficiency.this is standard euro ratings.

4) If I were to get dryer, which model should I get?

depends actually oh yeah do take note that the only continental top load dryer is that of thomson and its only a 5kg dryer. so if you get a 6kg washer might pose a little over loading of the drum of dryer.

5) the warranty excludes the labour and transport cost?

yes the warranty includes labour and transport. extended warranty also do cover this as well.

Ridz, u r full of knowledge. What's more, u r so helpful to share your knowledge and advise us to get the right appliances.

Other than washing machine and aircon, will u b able to advise on other appliances (ie: LCD, ceiling fan, fridge, etc ..)?

aircon i can give... may post some questions if you would like but for fridge limited and tv also limited yeah.

wtg54

Hi Ridz and Haruko,

I sort of agree wif you on getting a slighly better machine. But since there will be 2 person only, not really justify getting a 7kg machine. But then again, if I were to wash king size sheets, dunno if 5kg can tahan.

Went Best Denki to look and Electrolux is expensive. Maybe will get the washer 1st and dryer later.

Any other brands and model to recommend for 7kg and max 850rpm machines? At a more budget price?

lisssssy

From my experience, I prefer LG. Have been using it for a year and so far it's still functioning very well. I went to Audio House, they are having promotion for washing machine for LG/Samsung/Toshiba washer for only $199.
. 6.5kg
. Top Loading

LG/Samsung/EF/ Daewoo washer for $369
. 5 - 7kg
. Front Loading

boobsquad

After reading this thread and from my previous experiences in buying washing machines .... I think i will get the Miele which on promo now .....

Presently using the Bosch now ... 5 year old models , both washer and dryer ..... both are the best I had ever used .... but they look ugly and feel cheap. However, thats the best i can do then. The good thing is they are of good quality and does their jobs really well. The bad thing is mine had rusted, the dial is very stiff and the power button had broke off but it still works like new, except it is very noisy. The new Bosch are very very good and they had sorted our the faults that i had mentioned. Why not Bosch again? Well, I just like Miele's design better and I can afford the cheapest models now on promo .... that's all.

Now, I will get the Miele and stop looking at laundry machines for the next 10 years ...

1 thing i learn in life, if you are really not sure what to buy, just buy the most beautiful looking equipment you can afford. No point buying something and feel like changing it in 1 year's time. And if you spent the big money, at least it must do its job well.

Oh ... Miele ...... looks the works even sitting still.

Yes, even made-in-wherever Bosch is much better than any Italian machines.

boobsquad

Thanks Ridz and everyone else for the discussions ....! This thread just made my decision easier.

Washing Machines are something that cannot breakdown .... the other is fridge.

I always change them out BEFORE they break down ...

meemohsah

hi, i'm looking at some electronic items here, wondering if anyone can help by giving any feedback on these models?

Washing machine:
- Electrolux EWF 1470 (7kg), going for $2019 at HN (salesman told me it's Swedish brand, but made in Italy for this model)
- Bosch WAS32791ME (8kg), going for $1899 at HN (made in Germany), it's a new model, arriving on 20Aug.
* We like Electrolux coz of its look, but the Bosch model has a function that tells you the load weight. So both seems really expensive for a washing machine.

Fridge:
- Bosch KGU 40123Au going for $1099 at HN. Is Bosch known for fridges? I need a fridge with a small depth (less than 600mm), so there isn't much for me to choose from in the market.

Air con:
- Mitsubishi vs Toshiba system 4 inverter - which one is better? Salesman at Gain city said Toshiba better but Mitsubishi stronger in advertising, is that true?

rachely

hi mee,

My washing machine is Samsung Silver Nano, 10kg, WD6102CKC
I love it so much as it's easy to use & it almost dont create any noise. & compare to top loaded machine, i felt that the clothes are fresher & cleaner. I bought it during a road show by Best, cost abt 1.7k. original price was approx. 2.5k

My air-con is from Gain city, Toshiba inverter 4. so far function ok. Their installation service was good, punctual & responsible.

meemohsah

thanks rachely, i'm currently using samsung aircon, find it a bit noisy. i know mitsubishi advertises itself to be of low-noise level, how about your toshiba system?

does anyone here know if Bosch's after-sales service is good? say if i need to service anything, or to change any spare parts, would it be expensive?

boobsquad

I am using a Bosch Fridge now ...... all I can say is : I will never buy another Bosch Fridge. I will consider Mitsubishi / Panasonic next.

Anyway, the Miele washer is fantastic ..... the dryer is even more fantastic! The dryer is very intelligent ....

idono

Me using a Bosch WM. bought it coz of so many good reviews abt european WM.

Trust me, dun buy into the hype, yes, initially, the washing is really gd + save water. But last < 3 yrs. somemore me use 2-3times per wk only and nvr load it with hugh curtains.

My fren in order to save $$$ got a LG WM, still last longer than mine...haha

lisssssy

Hey gals

Try the LG Model : WF-T7517TC

Turbo Drum Ecosave
Capacity: 7.0kg
Color: Cyber Gold

I bought this machine from Audio House at $350. It's save water and very quite.

meemohsah

hi danny, d'u mind elaborating what was wrong with your bosch fridge? we're still undecided coz never hear much about bosch fridges.

lisssy: is yours a top load? you've been using this machine for long?

boobsquad

Hi Mee Moh Sah, my Bosch front panel's hinge's area broke in pieces!
This kinda stuffs will never happen on a Japanese Fridge, it's insulting! I felt insulted. Save the pain, buy Japs.

For washing machine/dryer ... I notice the Miele's 5kg specs is very much conservative. A Miele's 5kg drum is much bigger than a Bosch 5kg drum.
The Miele's offer now is fantastic ... no regrets!

eload72

Electrolux front load - EWF984 7kg $918.00 good or not??

first time owning front load washer, not sure wat to look out for.

How abt whirlpool?? forgotten the model no. - 800rmp or 1200rmp

rachely

hi mee mo sah

sorry didn't see your reply earlier. My toshiba air-con works well. it has a quiet mode for me to opt for shld i do not want any noise. :)

ridhwan82

hi Eugene,

Between the F&amp;P GWC12 and electrolux 984 i would take the 984 if i were you. continental washer more washing options. but of course price is like almost 1.5 times of f&amp;p thats for sure.

The diff between 997 and 984 if i am not wrong is the capacity rating i think one is 6.5 the other is 7 or something like that and lso the fascia and the controls and also more programmes if i am not wrong. i will check again. let you know.

oh yeah by the way any idea whats the price like ah for 984 i think its 1k plus right?

medic

just got my LCD TVs and 984 from Harvey Norman Millenia Walk...got them together as a package...offer price is 979...but i got it cheaper...=)

oh yah...the salesman told me that the 984 is the replacement model for 887.

ridhwan82

yup yup its a replacement.

first its 880 which the replacement model is 887 then the replacemetn model for the 887 is 984 and of course the capacity rating from a 6.5 to a 7kg.

good for you taking the 984. good luck

medic

but dunno shld have bargained more anot...overall $300 discount off from Goh Ah Bee if I buy them itemised..though didn't tell GAB I buying as package

berries5588

Hi Eugene,
U getting ur stuffs from Goh Ah Bee too? I'm went there to check out and prices indeed cheaper than those big stores.

hSomeone recommend me a washing machine but Samsung. Does anyone uses samsung washing machine? I'm actually looking for a washing machine which I can adjust the time for diff functions as I'm just gotten my new hse and staying alone, so would not need a big top machine, just abt 6.5kg or so. I need the timing so that i can at times just use and set only the spinning mode.

olengjuz

Can someone advise me which one to choose? Caught in between the 2 choices.

Samsung (Korea) - 7.5kg
Model : 95U3 - $337

Panesonic (Thailand) - 7.0kg
Model: 70A6 - $375

Prices from parisilk.com

eload72

I finally chose Electrolux EWF1087... hope i didnt make a wrong decision. $990 inclusive delivery and free persil detergent.

Hey SK,

my was panasonic one... good so far no prob.. 3years liaoz..

My mum uses electrolux.. horizontal drum one.. got lot prob. coz you must keep strictly to the dry stated load.. If not easily spoilt. My mum service hers 3 times le eventually still cant make it...

ridhwan82

yup continental washers a bit more sensitive. usually cos of the way the drums are structured, it faces a lot more stress during spinning than conventional asian top loads.

hence overloading is like overkilling the machine way before its time. but else its really very reliable if you take good care of it.

meaning like not overloading, using low suds detergent only, maintenance, etc.

if you are indeed looking for better wash then continental washers are better.but the washing time can be a bit of a wait.

poppie

Hi rachely

I'm interested in the Samsung silver nano washing machine too. Is it really good? Can it wash delicate clothes that requires dry clean? I will consider such an expensive machine only if it can reduce my dry cleaning expenses on business suits, silk or delicate tops/dresses? but I doubt it can wash silk though..

ridhwan82

hi poppie,

dry cleaning is different from washing delicate clothes.

for home dry cleaning you need a dryer and the home-dry cleaning kit. and not all dryers can do dry cleaning due to the paddles present inside the dryer. the only dryer i know that can do dry cleaning is thomson dryer. TD88.

medic

berries...I got all my stuff from HN at Millenia Walk...bought as a package and the sales person was able to give a considerable discount...

meemohsah

hey thanks guys for replying to my qtns..

i still haven't decided on which one to get, seems like the more i see, the more i change my mind!

now considering going for the slim type of washers instead, coz the area that i have for WM isn't that big - been looking at Thomson TX888, but it's quite expensive i feel, i only like it for its physical size, hopefully it can fit in a king size quilt.

anyone using this model so far?

tpyy

Been looking through the price quotes of Electrolux EWF 1087 washing machine. Throwing in my bid here. Bought mine from Aik Leong @ Jln Bukit Merah (near HL) for $990 (incl. delivery). Pretty good price.

ridhwan82

hi mee moh sah,

well what is it thats more important for you? is it capacity, top loading contiental washer? or front loading isnt a problem? is space a constraint?

well thomson is expensive because it is afterall the champion in continental top loads. in fact they make one of the best.

for a king sized quilt it might get a bit squeezy in that tx888 model. you might want to reconsider. even with a 6.5kg washer a queen sized quilt is already squeezy so yeah.

re think what is it that you have in mind.. constraints and also other things like

capacity, washing modes, spin speed.. loading from top or from bottom> space do you have enough and also are you intending to get a dryer soon..

then you can figure out from there..

babyleen

hi all, juz like to share with you guz. i hv a sharp washing machine for 5 years already. its not like those continental type, not really expensive and not really quiet type of washing machine but it performs its job very well.

5 years ago, 5-6.5kg are common in stores, anything above that is not carry by most of the stores.

my sharp bin is those holeless type. reason why i buy this is from advice by experience auntie who is a director and manage housework and a family of 7 all by herself without maid. so she has normal clothes and those expensive office wears and dinner dresses.

she tried those front load, top load, continental and japanese brands before. and her advice is that the holeless tub save her clothes, jackets, dresses from damage. damage meaning cotton clothes got tiny chicken pox like cotton balls after brushing it with brush (if you ever do this or have a cotton shirt/skirt, you will understand what i am trying to describe). those tub with holes tend to be abit more rough handling on the clothes.

but this does not mean that the clothes are not wash clean, in fact it washes clean of stains also.

and also things like blankets, curtains etc. it takes care of them well enough.

for me, that is sufficient enough.

but the cons is that it does not hv the warm water feature.

but of coz if you guz do hv bigger budget, you can buy the more complicated type of washing machine.

berries5588

Hi again babyleen,

tis another tough decision for me too. I also dun know what brand to get as i'm stil alone thus i need a small machine ard 6.5 or so wld do. I also tight budget with so many things to get for a new hse. I jus need a simple machine but able to hv a function on the timing. For example, i'm able to set timing just for spinning. Or adjust according to the number of clothes. Coz i at times may not use for whole course.

I yet to c any holeless tub til now. That's something new to me.

babyleen

hi again berrie,

confirm that my is the sharp double pulsator, ES-S800 which i bought 5 years ago.

you throw all laundry in, juz press the start button, it auto weigh your load and signal to you how much washing powder you need to put and then after you close the lid, it start to wash, rinse and spin dry. its not that quiet but it does do the job in a neat way. you can also manually select what you like it to do, eg. only rinse, or spin etc.

and when it finishes, it sounds a low volume musical alarm to alert you.

if i remmeber, it cost around S$550 - S$650 range. i can't remember to exact cost. but its not those large 7kg type lor, so if you hv alot of laundry, you may have to separate the load.

berries5588

Thanks babyleen...
Just now went to harvey saw the holeless tub finally. N i now know that only SHARP carrys this type of holeless tub.

babyleen

i duno whats the price now coz after buy this washing machine, i din look at any others anymore. care to share what new model, load and price u seen at harvey?

so far, for all these years, no breakdown, no servicing, juz once awhile where i fill it up with water and dettol to clean the tub coz i throw floor rugs to wash also... hee hee...

many ppl say those front load with glass type are gd and also cleans better, got warm water to kill germs etc. but there are many feedbacks that these type ususally hv water leakge problm. i duno how true coz never use b4.