WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

ridhwan82

hi josie,

well for this model which is the entry level for miele its only the front panel that is from vitrous enamel the rest of the body is not.

But the higher end model that comes with the honeycomb the one that i told you that will cost around 4k+ for washer and 4k+ for dryer. that model comes with full body vitrous enamel body

and insulation level of 5 (being the highest insulation made in the body) compared to this entry level of 2. so the level of noise is much quieter in the higher end ones compared to the entry level even with honey comb is 2

also the rubber ring that is so plastic is actually made from the aircraft durable plastic material that lasts really good and durable.

But agian the higher end model will feature steel porthole drum ring. which looks actually nicer.

and washing features the higher end model will have a special pillow wash programme, silk, stretch (or sportswear) and i think first wash programme (special programme for you to wash your clothes that you just buy and wanna like wash befoer you use for the first time) and a few more other like proofing etc.

and a higher spin speed if i am not wrong.

but yeah like i said those who want really solid build with reliability but tight budget can get this smooth drum and those who want to indulge more can go for the honeycomb,

and for those who want the ultimate care then its the high end honeycomb range.

applefreak

hi ridz, thanks for the advice
so far 300 is enough to dry the clothes leh
for those with thinner material take out, hang for maybe one or two hours dry liao

we are lazy people so we usually leave the clothes inside the washer until we are free to hang/dry them so if use high speed dun think the clothes can tahan :p

jj_autumn

Ridz,

Thanks again - I'll definitely walk into their showroom. BTW, the Bosch washer/dryer was recommended by the salesguy at Best Denki - any comments about it??? If I heard correctly, he was telling me that there's also about 2 or 3 other models of Bosch that are German-made and the technology is equivalent to the Honeycomb technology of Miele. The rest of the models are made in Thailand.

ridhwan82

hi josie,

well for the bosch washer or dryer, though the technology may be the same and that even the font type that thye use may be alike but nothing can be akin to the honeycomb drum still..

you can have the same programming but with a difference of honeycomb and normal microhole. the difference will still be there.

But yeah these two models are alright. the dryer for the bosch if i am not wrong is the condenser type one right. then yeah its pretty cool.

not sure if they are still german made. from what i know almost all of thier machines are no longer made in in europe or elsewhere apart from thailan. which the exception of the 9kg washer that is made in US i think.

its best that you call bosch appliances yourself under the BSH group yourself to clarify. i think its better than hearsay.

jj_autumn

Hi Ridz,

Alright, not an issue. I thought that I might as well check it up with you since I can see that you're so *well-versed* in most of the washing machines, etc. I think the German-made Bosch is about 6.5Kg at a retail price of $1999/-, and he mentioned that the drum is alittle difference compared to the Thai-made. However, he added that the Thai-made has more functions. All I did was simply to listened up, and then trying to absorb and digest as much as he was giving his sales pitch! Cool guy - he showed me almost all the brands from Brandt, Magtag, Electrolux, Thomson to Bosch and explained briefly the functions, pros & cons of the individual brand.

ekardo

hi Ridz..I think you have been really helpful here..

thanks in advance..really great to have you in SB...

anyway, my wife, being Japanese (same name as the yukie above), also wanted to buy the panasonic front load machine (retailing at $999 at HN etc)
http://www.panasonic.com.sg/web/Pid/859

however, was recommended by almost all the shops to get continental brand for front load machine...

with a budget of 1k, which is the best and reliable model? Electrolux? If we can save more $$ that will be good since we can use it on bigger Plasma TV..

nastrix

Hi Ridz,
Thanks for your advice. Went down to HN at Millenia Walk yesterday. I saw the miele washer and yes i am very impressed. Unfornately $ is the factor for me. Getting Miele means i have to work 24/7 for the next 5 yrs so i have to just admire it. Salesman recommended me the Electrolux EDE429E (Dryer) & EWF 1087(Washer) with 1+4years warranty.

Btw what's your opinion on Hood & Hob, Fridge. Need to get some feedback before i can settle for one. For the fridge I might wanna go for the Samsung(RS21NJSH) which is Korea made & Hod + Hood probably to be Rinnai(Japan Made). Due to budget constraint can't afford to get the continental ones.

idono

I would advice japanese brand for washing machine. 3 yrs back, we bought Bosch as it comes highly recommended & a bit less expensive than now but still more expensive than japanese brands.

well, it function great, saves water, frontload, washes really well.... everything abt it is as good as wht forumers say. top notch.

unfortunately, seems tht it've reached its lifespan, i may hv to change it soon (reaching only 4th yr of its life). And i only use 2-3 times per week (only me & wife mah).

Well, my frens who mostly went for japanese brands & 1 even got LG, their WM seems to last v. well, i think generally, it uses more water and some of the cheaper ones does not care for fabric as well as Bosch. but into its 4th year, its still works really well with no signs of breaking down yet.

same for fridge, i got a mitsubishi folio, damn ex, but its still like new & really no sound at all. very frugal on power consumption, i've nvr off it or wash it since 3+ yrs back. Only one of my fren bought F&P, it broke down when he've a full freezer of breast milk (his wife was breast feeding at tht time). betw his curses & swearing & calling for help, he vowed nvr to buy continental brand again.

jj_autumn

Hi Idono,

Is the lifespan of Bosch washing machine really that short - 4 years only? Then, I'll note down! Any comments from Ridz? BTW, if it still works really well without showing any signs of breaking down anytime... why do you think it has reached it's lifespan? How do you tell? Well, my mum used to have this Hitachi machine that lasted a good 15 years before she gave it away. It wasn't spoilt; just that she needed a bigger capacity to cope with the bigger load of laundry for washing!;-)

ridhwan82

hi ikardo,

i must say yes what most people say is correct.

this model that you are referring to is that of washer cum dryer. and its electricity consumption is releatively on the high side and that aside, with the amount of money spent on this machien you could get a seperate continental washer and seperater dryer. which are more efficient that this.

so yeah.

well budget of 1k huh.. depends a lot on the capacity of of wash and what are the additionalk requirements like space etc...

let me know and then we discuss yeah

ridhwan82

hi mYk

hey yeah miele is expensive and really impresses people but unfortunately the price tag will make people shun away but if you have the money its worth the splurge.

if not the machine that the person recommended is alright. i think can also opt for EW1090 its 8kg qith 1000 rpm if i am not wrong andf get the EDE429 okie dun get the ED419.

Well for hob hoods and oven...

if you are on a budget you might want to to conside brands like BRANDT, electrolux. both are good.

as for the fridge that you mentioned thats great enough. with the twin cooling system it will allow you to safe on the electricity so im cool with it and its green labelled fridge. but try to get etended warranty okie for this fridge.. sometimes after 2 years it might get a lil cranky though it rarely does act up lah.

brandt Hobs
http://www.rinaelectrical.com.sg/product_tpl.asp?cId=4&bname=Brandt&bId=3

brandt hoods
http://www.rinaelectrical.com.sg/product_tpl.asp?cId=5&bname=Brandt&bId=3

ekardo

Hi Ridz.

My wife is looking forward to wash twice a week, normally light tshirt, shirts and only the 2 of us in the house. Planning to have max 2 kids anyway (if it helps)

I reckon a 5kg washing machine might be enough? but I do want to wash the mattress protector etc too...king size bed..

can't really visualize the 5kg or 7kg of load..haha

our Washing Machine corner is big enough, so physical space is not a constraint. Reliability and speed is one though. We hate to take too long for normal wash.

krissting

Hi all, I have bought the miele washer/dryer from best denki at takashimaya. I also bought a panasonic water oven. ( hope its a gd buy) cos i bought it on impulse. I think I have made a gd buy on the washer. The bosch sales person tried to dissuade from the miele washer, but as I was trying to compare price and value between both brands, god came and help me decide!! haha another customer who had bought the promotional miele washer/dryer set a mth earlier came to look for the miele promoter, and like the typical kiasu customer I am, asked her how well the machine performed! She could not stop singing praises of it and urged me to buy!! Well, i made my choices, hope it turns out well!!

I guess when buying anything, the best advice will always comes from the ppl who had actually used it!! gd luck!!

krissting

By the way anybody who wants to buy a washer that have a big load cos wants to wash comforter or king size quilt, I hope this helps;

The sales guy at best denki told me the reason why even miele's high end model( $6k plus)only do 6.5kg is because the higher the load, the hardest it is to do a competent wash! cos over the years it will stress the drums and wear down easily! That is the reason why even miele does not do big load! Its best go to the laundry for king size comforters! I think it makes sense too!!
P;S anybody has a panasonic water oven? hope its gd!

krissting

By the way I hope to have some feedback on vacuums! anybody can help? And if anybody wants independant reviews on home appliances, I found 2 imported magazines helful. One is Which? magazine from uk, another is consumer reports from the usa! Can get them in kinokuniya!

nastrix

Ridz, thanks for the opinion. Went to to few more shops collect a numerous of positive feedback on Electrolux. Probably will settle on the 1087(washer) and EDE429(Dryer). As for the hood & hob we might settle for rinnai which also have a good offer on the in-built oven as well. Any comment on this brand (Rinnai)

nastrix

Harvey Norman @ $1099 with 5yrs warranty which i don't think very necessary for this brand.

I'm still sourcing for better price. Let me know how much you can get it for...

ekardo

went to Best, and saw a model 984..
what model is this??

every shop I went did the same thing..
when I ask for A, they tell me B is good...and condemn brand A.

Hougang Goh Ah Bee is like Pro Bosch, Best is like pro Electrolux..

which is better?

I know Electrolux have plastic inside, Bosch using all metal, but Bosch using plastic catch for the door, and electrolux using metal..
and eletrolux build is like more solid...

so hard to choose

krissting

It is true! That's y my friend recommended me to come here and see the opinions of users like you on purchases,haha!went to harvey, the guy ask me buy brandt or thomson washer/dryer set,around 2k plus, 7kg load. The guy told me they are the same as miele, made in europe, bigger load than miele and cheaper too! Luckily ridz gave me good advice and after reading independant reviews at Which? magazine and consumer reports, I guess I did the right thing and went for miele. My washer/dryer was delivered on sat morning and they did a full demo for me. It was really very silent, and there was a PC upgrade facility on both the washer and dryer too! high tech!! I think I'm going to fall in love with my miele!

krissting

Anyway the guy told me if I want, there is no need to add softener on my washer as the water in singapore is unlike europe, not that hard! is that true?

ekardo

Miele is way above my budget...

I budget is less than 1k, cheaper the better as running out of cash...

Ridz is MIA ??

linditt

Hello Ridz,

I've had my eyes on the LG WD-14361TD. HN is selling it at 899 after the $200 discount voucher. What really interest my hubby most is the Direct Drive system. LG is even giving 10 yr warranty for that. Any comments on this washer?
Anyone has experience with LG washers?

woodlander80

Hello Ridz,

Your advice is really very valuable! I am almost convinced to get Miele washing machine. Hope my budget allows me to get one.

Currently there are just two of us in my house. With kids in the future maybe 5 members at most =)

Which model would you recommend? - W1714, W4446WPS and PW6065. I do not intend to get a dryer.

rihini

Hello people.
Went to Courts to check out Electrolux 887, selling at $899 with $100 NTUC voucher free. Another salesman intercepted and recommended a Whirlpool, but I forgot to ask about the model -it's 7kg 800rpm. Thing I like about Whirlpool is the drum - fully stainless steel, cannot remember if the catch is plastic? The reason for his recommendation is also the fact that the drum is fully stainless steel, and that this machine is made in Italy (can see it's printed on the washer itself), and has a "6th sense" although I don't understand what this "6th sense" is as he did not elaborate, only say Electrolux don't have this capability, and I can't seem to find on website. Price wise, is only $100 more than Electrolux.

Ridz, any idea how Whirlpool compares to Electrolux or what the "6th sense" is about?

krissting

Hi all.
I've lready begun using my miele washer and dryer. It is fantastic! Very silent! HI kalaivani, I think u wun go wrong with miele! From what the salesman at best denki told me, the w1714 is going at $2900. The difference from what I have (w1514) is that it has the honeycomb drum. It should be better than what I have. I have a family of 3 and w 1514 is 5kg. But I think it is more than enough load as I wash 2 times a week. Thks too Ridz for ur info! My sis-in law who is residing in france told me it was a steal to get my current set of washer/dryer at $3380 as they are very expensive in france!

cutebarra

anyone heard before this brand called Straaten?
Saw in courts and was told that it is european but made in US.
Strange thing is that cannot find it when i googled it.

The selling points: I can set the machine to wash at X mins, at X rpm, for X type of fabic at X water temperature. Seems like it is pretty user friendly.

Anyone using or has done research on this?

ekardo

with so many settings..I think it's not user Friendly at all..

I am comparing with my washing machine which my mum use...

just press start..and go...haha

of course it's good to be able to control everything..but to wash at 1 min, at 500rpm, etc..what am I trying to do ?

ridhwan82

hi rihini,

sorry to reply late. Well seriously i havent a clue as i havent been catching up a lot on the other contenders such as whirlpool.

But if you are comparing on reliability electrolux has somewhat garned that award with no contentions through these years.

so i would go for electrolux still even though its made in thailand compared to whirlpool made in italy. italian made machines... somehow seem not to last that long eh..

ridhwan82

hi ekardo,

well thats a bit hard especially meeting the last few specs and that is washing time not too long. continental washers usually take around 1h30 mins so yeah.

looking at the requirement then probably a 5kg would be ok. but if you want to be able to wash bigger items at home like the quilt then look at 6kg at least or 7kg is alright,

refer to my earlier posts which i havce a list of what a typical 5kg load is made up opf and also some guidelines on what some vcommon items weighs.

But if reliability is really a main factor the miele is a solid recommendation especially now with this great promo that they are having.

ridhwan82

hi kristing.

glad that you are pleased with the purchase.

well for softener.. as the name implies is to soften the clothes and this is especially so when the clothes are put into dryer. sometim4es they tend to be a bit stiff so we use softener to counter this problem.

so it depends on the end result of the wash that your prefer.

ridhwan82

hi ekardo,

well miele is out of your budget eh.. sorry didnt read this post before sendin out the previous post.

hmm can opt for electrolux then the 1090 7kg washer think its priced around 1429 or sorts.

ridhwan82

oh yeah ekardo,

another one would be of course the EW887 electrolux RRP is 999 but someone was quoted cheaper so maybe can try this.

but the reason why i am not too keen on 887 is cos of the spin speed of 800 i think which i think if you are going to instal a dryer then its a bit on the low side.. try to get at least a 1000 and above rpm

ridhwan82

hi linditt,

well about that washer.. serious there is mixed reviews.. some really pull strong support cos of the 10 years warranty etc.

but i have some friend who are like cursing away every other month cos something happens to the machine and the quality of the wash is still not as fine as that of electrolux or bosch so its a give and take.

you take the 10 years warranty well probably givre away your time? to call the peson come down etc.

personal opinion is let these new technology settle down for a while in the market and not be a tester if you are a heavy user.

ridhwan82

hi kalaivani.

well nay i am just sharing information that i think is really useful for all of you guys and gals out there. but again these just represent information fact and also my personal opinion. it is not to be tAKEN as a representation of delivery of what the company promises yeah...

yeah as krissting has pointed out the 1514 has microhole drum while the 1714 has honeycomb drum. washing quality wise honeycomb better and 1514 is 5kg while 1714 is 6kg

of course it comes with a price.

but features wise the 1714 loses out to the 4446 is that 4446 has more features such as Silk, spin speed the 4446 is higher at 1600rpm, the body of the 4446 is Fully direct enamel compared to the 1714 is only the front panel that is direct enamel, the 4446 has delay timer 1714 has none, insulation level for 4446 is at 5 (being the higher) while that of 1714 is just 2.and the 4446 has a waterproof system guarantee while the 1714 doies not have the waterproof system.

details of differences you can look here for the comparison for 3 models.

http://www.miele.co.uk/Products/Compare.aspx?pids=94,95,104,&range=Washing%20Machines

while the P series the gentle giants.,. those are commercial laundry machines yeah.

snoopie

hi ridz,

if i have a budget of about 600-700, i think i only have top load choices right? how come no one mention about Daewoo? 2 salesmen told me it's the only brand made in korea not thailand.
anyone used Daewoo DWD F1011 before?
any feedback?

looks like for the conventional top load, thomson is the winner in this thread? if i need to wash once per week and using queen size quilt, is 6.5 kg sufficient?

ekardo

Hi Ridz...glad to see you back in action...

was in Best, and was introduce to EW984 at $1079 (no specs in net...)

was told that this model replace the 884 (also 7kg).

how come electrolux have exclusite model for HN or Best and no information in Internet?

nastrix

hey ridz welcome back. been mia for quite long hah....go vacation i guess since its the school holiday. Teachers need a break too

linditt

Hi Mysk,

Was also aiming for the 1087. I think HN is having a good price of 999 after the discount vouchers. If I'm not wrong difference between 1090 and 1087 is the load. 1090 is 8kg while 1087 is 7kg.

ekardo

for difference, check electrolux website and do the "add product to compare" feature..

if I am not from, 1090 is older model, 8kg..and no 180 deg opening...and no new features.
I got quoted $1170 in Goh Ah Bee

1087 (is it 1080 family?) is 6.5kg with all the new features

how did you get the discount voucher, linditt?

rihini

ekardo,
I also went to Best. They are clearing their Electrolux 887 at about $750 (incl GST) for display set. Reason for clearing is cos this model is to be replaced with a new model that comes with a LCD display. The sales person said cannot order a new set. Comparing the price, I think it's still more worth to get a brand new set from Courts for $50 more. Shall check out Goh Ah Bee for a quote ... after I confirm which one to get, Whirlpool or Electrolux.

Ridz,
me still torn between Whirlpool or Electrolux Like Electrolux:
a) sturdy construction
b) Bigger tub (for same capacity)
Dislike:
a) Plastic paddle

Like Whirlpool:
a) fully stainless steel
b) higher spinning at 1000rpm
Dislike:
a) buttons are quite shaky (a bit like plastic toy like that)

I believed that stainless steel paddles is better for the clothes but a salesman says that the plastic paddle are better than stainless steel for shoving the clothes and cleaning action cos stainless steeel too smooth and slippery. any comment on this, cos this will largely influence my decision.

ekardo

I think each have it's own...
Salesman can find all reasons to shoot down another brand...

I think both should be ok...
but Electrolux higher model using full stainless steel...bosch all using stainless steel..

ridhwan82

hi rihini,

well i would still stick to electrolux for front load washers as their reliability is rather established yeah. but this is my opinion lah. its up to you. choose which one is more important to you lor.

the stainless steel paddle is in fact much gentler for the clothes and cleaning efficiency is better. just that its more expensive to manufacture the paddles as compared to plastic ones yeah where they can snap on and not fix it in the process of the drum making like in the case of the stainless steel drum

ridhwan82

hi snoopie,

when you referred the top load .. you are referring to continental top load or asian top load.

continental machines are those washing with the drum going up and down vertical motion while that of asian machines are those that the drum goes round and round left to right in horizontal motion?>

i presume with that budget you are referring to asian top loads.

Well one of the better ones are fisher paykel this is by far to me better in terms of its washing action and features. relatively packed and at a good price.

and yes for continental top loads it confirm thomson no questions about it.

but asian top loads then there are other fisher paykel, there is toshiba, panasonic.

your queen sized quilt huh... yeah 6.5 kg would be sufficient. that alsrght.