Vietnam - Ho Chi Minh

tiny

I just got back from Vietnam not too long ago. How long are you planning to be there? Cos Saigon's just a city, crowded and noisy and hot. (but cheap and nice food of course). Unless you're planning to see the Mekong Delta & the floating markets...but personally, it wasn't that great. I preferred Hanoi - weather was much better, and a trip to Halong Bay is much nicer (spectacular scenery).

If you have more time, do consider going further up to Dalat (central highlands - very nice & cool), Hoi An (small historic town with very, very, very cheap things to buy like backpacks, lacquer ware & tailored stuff) and perhaps Mui Ne or Nha Trang (beach resorts).

Is it for honeymoon or just a holiday? Dalat is supposed to be the most popular honeymoon spot...it really is nice.

Tiny

kohtan

Hi Tiny

It's just a holiday not honeymoon :p

When you talk about Mekong Delta & the floating markets, are you referring to My Tho, a town on the bank of the anterior Mekong River? If yes, then this is part of my tour package.

This tour package is only on Saigon, thus not going to Hanoi.

How long were you in Vietnam? You seem to visit a lot of places.

tiny

Hello kohtan,

Yes, there are many little villages along the Mekong and My Tho is one of them. I didn't go there though, i was at Cai Be, Vinh Long & Cantho. But I believe they're all about the same! They'll prob bring u to some 'factories' to see how they make rice paper, puffed rice & coconut candy. mmmmm...the coconut candy is delicious! I regret not buying some back. (it was warm & chewy when they let us sample...freshly made!)

Besides that, will your tour include the Cu Chi tunnels? (where the Vietnamese people dug & stayed during the war) Those tunnels are near Saigon. That would be very interesting. I didn't go there but I went to Hue, further North, where there were other tunnels.

I was there for 2 weeks, cos my hubby was working in Hanoi for 10 days. So I took the opportunity to travel from South (HCM) to North. Yeah, managed to go to many places, but it was really tiring!

How long is your tour? Have fun!

Tiny

kohtan

Hi Tiny

The package we are looking at is "5 Days Discovery of Saigon".

This includes the Cu Chi - underground tunnel, Vung Tau - a coastal city, Jesus Mountain, Quan Ann pagoda, Whale temple etc and Saigon city tour.

Did you travel alone since your hubby was working? Is it safe? Are the toilets clean? I'm quite paranoid on the cleaniness of the toilets :p

tiny

I was travelling with a girl friend, it was rather safe, there are lots of tourists but hardly any Singaporeans. Mostly westerners, and many of them are like hard core backpackers! We met a few who have been travelling for 6 months!It's ok, not as unsafe as I imagined it to be. You just have to look after your personal belongings and hold on to your bag/pouch esp. in HCM where it gets more crowded.

Toilets...not that clean I must say, esp. by Singaporean standards! You may want to bring some tissue paper along cos most toilets don't have toilet paper. Some of the toilets don't have flushes as well, they have a bucket of collected water next to it with a scoop...Perhaps if you're afraid of hygiene then you can bring some wet wipes (like those dettol/simple packs you can get at Watsons). Cos some of those toilets don't have a proper sink either, and u may have to use the collected water to wash your hands. At first it feels quite gross, but after a while u get used to it!! But that's just the public places. The hotel toilets of course have proper facilities.

Your tour seems rather comprehensive, I guess for 5 days that's quite a lot to see already.

crayon2512

I will be going to Hanoi soon..would like to seek some advise on the places of interest that we must definitely go and the cheap things we can buy..

kohtan

Hi Tiny

So my fear came true... sigh. Thanks for the info... will bring toilet papers wherever I go :p

Yep, the package was quite comprehensive, but it's all within HCM. No chance to go to Hanoi which you said it's nicer.

Btw, any nice cheap things to buy in HCM? Which hotel did you stay in?

tiny

Hi Kohtan,
haha...don't worry, I think tour groups tend to bring you to the more touristy places so it shouldn't be that bad! It's more of the villages you may be visiting. But good to be prepared and bring tissue/toilet paper...always handy!

I stayed at Hotel 127 (Cong Quynh St in District 1) - it's a budget hotel...about US $20 for a double room (2 huge beds). I guess accomodation is arranged for u in the tour right? Accomodation in Vietnam is not difficult to find. There are guest houses/hotels everywhere, all reasonably priced.

Cheap things are everywhere! Go to the Ben Thanh Market and u can find just about anything there. I didn't shop much in HCM cos it was our first stop and I didn't want to be backpacking with so many things on me. They had very cheap and lovely lacquer ware in Hanoi, I'm sure they have it in HCM too.

Hi Crayon,
Some places you must go in Hanoi...hmm...
You may want to watch the famous water puppets at the Water Puppet Theatre near the Hoan Kiem Lake (in the Old Quarter)It's quite interesting (altho i got bored after a while...but my attention span is quite short!). Their shows are in the evening and u can get tickets there.

Well you must try cha ca (it's a Hanoi speciality) - little fish fillets cooked in a pan; the most well known restaurant serving it is called Cha Ca La Vong at 14 Cha Ca Street. It's not cheap though, compared to most eating places in Vietnam, but it's worth a trip cos it's their speciality after all. (about USD4 per person without drinks)

You should definitely do a day or two trip to Ha Long Bay. The scenery is spectacular. You can book the trips from most Hotels, the company we booked with was called ODC tours. Pretty good.

Like I told Kohtan, everything is cheap and nice. Just walk around the old quarter and there are shops everywhere!

By the way, the Lonely Planet guide (Vietnam) is a great guide if you want to find out more. If you don't want to spent thirty over dollars getting it here, you can buy it when you get to Vietnam. Only a few US dollars.

Goodness, so much to say...I can work for the Vietnam embassy already!

tiny

Oh, and u should get yourself an ao dai! (the Vietnamese traditional dress) It's very flattering for the figure
Kohtan, the Ben Tanh market has a whole row of shops selling them. But be careful as you walk pass, they tend to grab your arm and pull u towards their stall! Just be firm if you don't want, say no and shake your head and walk away. The more you hang around the more they harass u.

meagan

Hi crayon, i jus came back from hanoi. besides old quarter and halong bay, you can consider Sapa. It's a tourist attraction further north in the mountains. You can take a 2 day or 3 day trek, a bit siong cos we din plan for it, but the scenery is worth it. On the way, you will meet the minority tribe people in their traditional costumes. great photo opportunities! the children are really cute with their dirty faces and rumpled hair.

One bad point though, need to travel 10 hours by train! We took night trains to and fro, so luckily there is no time wasted.

I heard that nimh bin is nice, and perfume pagoda is worth going too. Are you going by free and easy or by package tour?

crayon2512

Hi ,
Thanks for the infor.I will be there on Biz trip for a few days so dun think I can go trekking.We will have 2 days of free days to walk around. Is interested to get their traditional vietnam dress but not sure if the size will be too small. Vietnamese gals are all skinny and tall.

kohtan

Hi Tiny

Yep... will sure bring some toilet paper with me (I did that when I go M'sia too).

Yep, my tour will include the acommodation - but we get to choose between a few hotels (not sure which one yet).

As I love to take digital photos and usually I'll bring my laptop whenever I go on a tour (so that I can download my photos & take as many as I like - unlimited)... do you think it's safe to bring laptop along? Then I'll leave it in the hotel or on the coach.... what do you think?

tiny

To be honest, I dunno about that. I guess it depends on which hotel you are at. Cos at each place before deciding on the hotel we'd ask to see the rooms. And many times, they'll just take someone's room key and bring us up to see it. Made us realise that anyone can just walk into your room and take things...so we brought our valuables with us and just left our bags (clothes) behind. But to be fair, these were all the budget hotels we were staying at. Of course, if it's a proper 4 or 5 star hotel it should be fine. The coach is pretty safe. However, along the Mekong delta you;ll be on the boat for most parts and the boats may drop you at one place and pick u from another...

Anyway since your tour is not too long, so why don't you just borrow or take along a spare memory card? I used a 128mb & an additional 96mb compact flash card for the whole 2 weeks.

tiny

Crayon,
you are right! They're all skinny (not all tall though)...throughout my stay in Vietname I only saw ONE chubby kid...very, very lean people.

Also, be prepared with a warm jacket/sweater cos it can get pretty cold this period.

kohtan

Hi Tiny

Heehee... actually I have one 256MB, one 128MB and one 64MB... but still not enough. Normal outing for ONE day in Singapore, I will take about 128MB or more already.... somemore this time, my whole group (about 10 person) is depending on me to take photos..... they dun intend to bring their cameras along... that's why I thought if it's safe to bring my laptop, I can thus take unlimited photos without any worries. Heehee....

Btw, Happy New Year to you

meagan

hi crayon, since you have two days, can consider taking a one-day trip to perfume pagoda trip or halong bay. Then spend the other day walking around Old quarter shopping. They have lots of shops, each street specialised in selling a particular product. I bought lotsa of wooden cutlery, pottery, chopsticks, photo albums, backpacks and shawls - Nice and cheap! But I din see many nice ao dai though. Think it will be better to tailor made the ao dai cos as it is similar to a cheongsum

Must also try their vietnamese coffee. Very thick and aromatic =)

kis

Just to share some information here.
Try to take the 1 day tour, which brings you to a lot of historical sites, and explains the history & culture of Vietnam.

You need a full day for Halong Bay, and if time permits, it's nice to stay 1 night at Cat Ba Island. Only a few pubs there, and you can see big groups of Vietnamese squeezing into a room for watching television. And if you happens to bring a digital camera, they'll crowd behind you to view the LCD screen.

And if more time permits, spend 2 days in Sapa, which has breath-taking scenary. I went in Oct, and the weather was really cool. But for trekking, it's still advisable to wear light clothings. There's 2 waterfalls for you to see there.

If your purpose is to shop there, try to stay near to Old Quarters, as most of the things I bought were from that area. Try the roadside food, but avoid having drinks there. Bottled drinks are still safer.

It's a good idea to bring a laptop there. I stayed there for 2-3 weeks, and took about 600 photographs. I'm glad to bring along my laptop to store the pictures.

meagan

Hi Kis, you took almost the same tours as me! For halong bay, i opt to stay on the boat instead of the island. Quite interesting except during the night, i woke up to find that it is completely pitch dark and there is no electricity supply!

For Sapa, i took a 3 day 4 nite trek. The scenery is indeed breathtaking.

Did you upload ur pictures? If you dun mind, can share them with me? my email add is [email protected]

tiny

Hi kohtan,
wah you intend to really take a lot huh? And Kis, you must be some professional photographer!!I took only about 150 photos during the 2 wks i was there, and even so have trouble fitting them into my album. Furthermore, I travelled from south to north vietnam...I found that although they are all lovely (like those of the breathtaking scenery in Dalat & ha long bay) they tend to be similar and putting so many into the album finally is not that necessary.

we stayed on the boat for the 1st night as well...you are right, once they turned off the generator, there was totally no light, and my hubby had to use our digital camera screen when he needed to go to the toilet!! (i was so worried he'd drop it into the bowl...)

Quite sad we didn't have time to cover Sapa though. We had to catch our flight back by the time we were done with Ha Long bay & Hanoi. Well...maybe next time.

meagan, you can get tailor made ao dais in Hoi An. there are many tailors everywhere and they all are very skillful...and it only takes them a few hours to sew them, and they deliver it straight to your hotel. If any problem with fitting, they just bring it back, fix it and bring it back to u again. Very efficient.

kis

I'm not professional, but just like to take pictures, especially when the scenary in Hanoi is so beautiful. I'll select some photos & send to you later.

I went to Mai Chau as well, which is very rural. The scenery is quite nice as well, but Sapa is still the best. I did a simple trekking for the first day, and a longer trek on the second. The minority tribes are very interesting, especially Red Dao.

tiny

Hello Kis,
Did u manage to take many pictures of the minority tribes? I visited the Van Kieu minority village along the demilitarised zone and the children kept asking for money as soon as we took a picture of them. we felt quite sad for them but after a while it was rather irritating as they just kept following us around and saying "money, money" with their hands stretched out. so we didn't take many photos altho i'd have loved to take more of them cos they look so cute, each carrying a baby on their sides or backs.

meagan

Hi i faced the same situation too. The children will be chanting 'picture money picture money' when i raised my camera so most of the times, i just quickly take a shot and walk away. Act blur loh, hopefully they wun come after me =p They will also be holding out their dyed stuff asking us to buy. Some of the stuff eg blankets are quite nice, but read from Lonely Planet that the dye will come off during washing so I din buy.

My trekking guide was friendly but felt that she could do more by explaining to us the differences between the minority tribes, the route we are taking etc. Most of time we just walk and walk. Only remembered the scenery =)

kohtan

Hi Tiny

Yep intend to take a lot if possible... since this is the first time I am going to an undeveloped country. Besides that, I am using digital and dun intend to develop them unless they are really nice. I would make them into VCDs to be watched in TV instead. So it's kinda no cost involved..... :p

iloveoreo

Need advice, I'll be visiting HCM city in late Apr.
How long do you think i should stay there??
I prefer to go for scenery and some shopping too!
Where are the must go!! places??

tiny

Kohtan, that's a clever idea, but I dunno how to advise u leh! Just feel that if you're doing quite a bit of travelling (from HCM to the Mekong & Cu Chi) then it's rather cumbersome to bring a laptop. Besides, the smaller hotels mostly had a different kind of power socket - the kind with the 3 slanted lines (u know what i mean?).

Oreo, are u planning to go to HCM only? If you have more time to spare I recommend you take a trip further north to Dalat. It's got lovely scenery, waterfalls...

kohtan

Hi Tiny

Yep I know what you meant by the power socket. I got this universal adapter which supposedly should be able to fit into the slot.

The part of carrying a laptop is not an issue 'cos my laptop is the small light kind one (besides, I can also make my hubby carry it, heehee). What I am concerned is the safety, afterall Vietnam is an undeveloped country, may have a lot of thieves or beggars around etc.

But I guess it should quite safe now after hearing what you have said so far... heehee... feel more at ease to bring my laptop along now.

tiny

Oreo,
it's only a 40min domestic flight from HCM to Dalat, cost me US$31 for a one way.Not sure about 2 way though. I think spending about 2 or 3 days in Dalat is quite enough, you'll prob be able to cover Dalat itself in 1 day, and it'll be good to go to the cable car ride (where u can see the view of the city),and around to the nearby waterfalls on another day. If you are really planning to go to Dalat, I recommend a nice place to stay, it's a small hotel (guest house) called Dreams Hotel, at 151 Phan Dinh Phung St. It's a family run business, and the family is really nice. They provide breakfast and free internet access from 7pm onwards! We had a double room at US$15. In fact, the lady's son was our tour guide cum driver one of the days and he took us around in his car to see some of the sights at US$10 each. (whole day).

funz

i am planning to go hanoi in jan. wondering if there is any good and affordable (below S$100) hotel to recommend.

pierced22

Hi dunno if u still need this info,
I stayed in indochine hotel there in june. nice and new place, quite near to ben thanth market.

bamboobride

may i know how to travel around in vietnam esp the tourist place? is there a tourist information counter or day tour agent for us to go to?

cin

how many of you travelling to vietnam? all i did was check into Equatorial hotel and booked day trips at my hotel's concierge to selective places of interest like Cu Chi tunnel. They assigned me with a Chinese speaking chauffeur who drove me (on demand) to the sites I wished to stop over, including factory outlets selling beautiful lacquerware + home/decor accessories and food markets to buy Vietnamese coffee powder. He was such a nice chap who showed me all the diff temples belonging to diff dialects in the Chinatown. Then he brought me to HCM's most famous French Bakery to buy baguettes and Indochine colonial houses. You can also visit the famous Rex Hotel by the Mekong River where the American GI Joes used to party with local prostitutes. And he can wait for you while you take the night cruise along the river too... If you're into museums, you can visit those wartime/military museums, the Presidential State Apartments (you can pay an English or Chinese-speaking docent to guide you through the secret passages inside the Presidential House).

If u want to move around cities, either u take a domestic flight, take train or bus or rent a car. I didn't move anywhere outside of HCM. So I wouldn't be able to advise you...

bamboobride

hi yule,

3 of us gals going together. not sure what are the places to visit because its a last min decision. for 4 days, how much roughly do u thk i shd bring?

Oh, you'd better change more US$ because the Vietnamese at the markets and furniture factories very smart one, they quote and collect USD mainly, so you'll end up spending more than you do in Bangkok. Don't bother changing those Dongs because you can't convert them upon your return...

YOu need to tip the porter, join those day trips (mine was ~USD40+ per pax per tour), enter musuems, take cyclos, buy fruits and mineral water, airport tax (departure), etc. Actually, I didn't eat at the street hawker stalls due to hygiene consideration, so I hardly need to spend my Dongs. Instead, I swiped my credit cards at proper restaurants in hotels.

Really dunno how much u need leh, becos I see some Singaporeans go there to grab home accessories (Zen type) which will inevitably cost more. I relied on my credit card that time. Better take along USD500 each, in case of emergency??? Anyway, USD is universal...

Oh, don't be too kind to contribute to the beggars. There are many cripples, amputees, children, elderly beggars in the streets.

metta

Hi Tiny and all!
may I know if it's easy to go F&E to all those nice places you mentioned? The taxi driver will be able to bring us around? Did you book your hotel on the internet or only on arrival? thanks!

dear metta

most of my foreign friends travelled F&E to vietnam.

i'd like to clarify I didn't get a taxi driver to take me around. i booked my hotel's car to visit various sites. my driver is the hotel's employee, so i wasn't so scared he'll pull tricks like taking me to places he'll earn credits/commission.

i booked mine at Natas fair several yrs back.

noscon: most ppl think Hanoi is nicer.

pierced22

Hi Cin and metta,

i went to vietnam in June. If u gg for ard a few days, itz easy to get tour operators, there are plenty ard esp the backpackers area. the prices are cheap too. u can get a tour for cuchi tunnels, plus mekong delta. tours are aard $12 per pax. but frankly, i feel HCM nothing much in the city. u need to go to the outskirts to see the sights.
shopping is only the ben thanth market where u buy local produce and bags.

I spent abt S$1200 for 3 wks gg ard. but HCm is more expensive for std of living.

Noscon, Hanoi is nicer in terms of scenery and atmosphere. HCM got nothing much and i wasnt impressed by the sights except the war museum.

Yule, thk now vietnam is much better and safer as there werent much of children and beggars on the streets. i didnt encounter any unpleasant situations.

personally..i don't find HCM nice. i mean, as a tourist..it's still interesting to explore the place if you haven't been there before..but i find that HCM is in constant din what's with noises from the bikes, cars, horns..it's scary to cross roads..and the place is polluted! watch out for tourist traps - taxis!! take only the registered taxis..many of the private ones are out to cheat your money. they'll bring you round and round on wild goose chase...and their meters are doctored to jump really quick.

I guess I must have overpaid my hotel tourguide. I went there in 1999 so maybe there were fewer tour operators and more beggars. I wish I had gone north to Hanoi and Da Nang...

pierced22

hee...KPo, vietnam is like that, we travelled fr hanoi to HCM south to north and hanoi's oso like that wif the honking. at 1st not used to it but u sort of get used to it
rds oso get easy aft a while, juz go ahead and cross without hesitation.
basically, i walk ard HCM, didnt go to many supposedly tourist spots as it was mainly museums, churches, pagodas. kinda boring. i walked almost everywhere so didnt take much cabs.

guess the price is now more competitive esp with the tour operators. mostly the same ppl even though u bk fr diff tour agents. pick u up all in one bus

sailor_p

I just went HCMC in Aug this year and I enjoyed myself tremendously - did a solo tour. You have to change your money to VND where you can stretch much more - that's what I found. Don't bring USD. You can bring your SGD and go over there to change to VND. 1SGD is about 9700 VND and in VND, you can do more bargaining... in USD, they don't bargain with you in terms of cents. Imagine 0.5USD is almost our 1USD.

Food is good - I like it very much - very suitable to our local taste. Shopping is absolutely fabulous! Give HCMC another 3 years and it can be on par with Bangkok. But you must be prepared to bargain - slash the price by 60% (do get prepared to get scoldings or walk away empty handed at times but it's worth it if you can get a good bargain). A typical vietnamese bag of medium size cost about SGD10 (not USD)!!! (imagine that kind of price our local retailers are selling!!!!)

Go with the operators - there are many in Vietnam as the country is boosting its economy. Surf the net or get a copy of the Lonely Planet Guide. As this was my solo trip, I got an operator to do a customised tour - a bit steep afterall, I am the only person. But I did a calculation, if you are going on twin-sharing, it's quite worth it and you don't need to share a coach with 20 other travellers. In addition, the local guide brings me to the local market and he really really helps me to get good bargain. For SGD60, I ended up buying 9 bags at their local market - imagine the type of price you pay if you buy a similar vietnamese bag in Singapore. Somemore, the design is better. Of course, it helps to have a guide who can speak vietnamese to bargain for me.

Do an ao-dai there. Don't pay more than USD35 for a set - the material is more better and the tailoring skills is fantastic. They did a very detailed embroidery of lotus on the ao-dai using thai silk and another one using sequins.... all within 24 hours and delivered personally to your hotel. The seamstress would "hang around" for you to try on to see whether she needs to make any amendments or not.

HCMC is a lovely place (of course except the pollution) and I am going to Hanoi next month - solo trip too!

Visit www.charmingvietnam.com - you can write to them to find out more. What you need to do is to get your own tickets (which you can get very cheaply from tigerairways - they always have crazy promotions on Wed or on zuji.com Garuda Indonesia got very good fare to go HCMC and you arrive in noon so that you got half a day to do city tour.) In fact, I got the same company to do my Hanoi trip next month.

Honestly speaking, visit Vietnam now before it gets too commercialised like KL and Singapore. In fact, Malaysian's Parkson opened its shopping mall in June this year and my hotel, Continental, is located just next to it!!!!

(btw, don't buy silk bags from the tourist streets like Dong Khoi cos you can same design and quality much much much lower at their local Ben Thahn market.)

I am so excited to visit Hanoi next month!!!! Okay, enough of my rumblings...

metta

thanks, it sounds quite alright for ladies to travel to Vietnam now, not so scary as I imagined.

sailor_p, thanks for the detailed information, I'm quite amazed you did a solo tour by yourself, I've never dared to go to S.E Asia countries by myself cos' of the image of bad traffic, lousy maps and safety factors. Which operator did you engage and did you find them locally or over the internet? I went to your recommended website and is interested in the IndoChina tour (Cambodia-Myanmar-Vietnam) but wonder if it's cheaper to plan my own trip instead of taking a package. Or perhaps I should just split them into individual trips. More research to do then! Thanks!

sailor_p

Metta

HCMC is quite safe - just stick to the main streets. I did my own walking in the streets at night (but don't stray till too late). Try the Vietnamese ice-cream - it's heavenly!

You can write to Mr Chung at [email protected] and tell him that you got his contact from Theresa who visited HCMC in August. Tell him to give you a good rate cos I just recommended another friend who is going to visit Vietnam soon (both north and south). The rate agencies quote you is in USD (and you need to pay a commision cos online transaction is still not approved by the government).

Depending on your group size, you can write to him and ask him to tailor-made something for you and your family members. Remember, in Vietnam, you get what you pay. Just becos it's cheap, you may not get value-for-money. I heard tons of horror stories from backpackers who try to book cheap tours and ended up with lousy services like rats in the coaches or the guide lost tourists along the way.... I was alone and plus that was my first time to HCMC, hence, I decided to book a customised tour - it was really enjoyable and using VND, you really stretch your dollars and have a hearty shopping trip!!! Trust me... the restaurants the guide brought me to serve great food...

I've visited Cambodia in June on business trip - visit Angkor Wat - that place is really really touristy and they created a US economy there - they only want USD and hence it's really expensive... Vietnam is a much much better choice. Go for it! Vietnam money changers accept SGD for money changing. Do bring some USD small changes - for paying airport tax (USD12 in HCMC and USD14 in Hanoi) and tips.

Have fun!

pierced22

Metta, how many days u plan to visit vietnam? coz i spend 3 wks juz touring ard north-south. if u can, u can fit in a trip to nha trang where the beach area is. very nice beaches.
act i find u can do ur own planning for trips there although itz more tiring to research. the trips online usually cost more u can still try to bargain. try gg with tours by sinh cafe the more reputable travel operators there.

cambodia ard 4 days would be more den enuf to visit Angkor wat. visit it in the morn as it gets very hot in the aftn coz of the stones.

racherlle

hi pierced!
thanks for your info on the hotel!

hi sailor p!
thanks for ur detailed info on HCM!

hmmm seems like most of u gals here prefer Hanoi than HCM.. my colleagues were telling me they prefer HCM instead! haha i'm quite confused nw.. :p

oh ya btw sailor p.. which hotel did u stay?
any gd recommendations?

another qn to ask.. which are the better months to visit HCM? which months are not tat warm??