Vegetarian banquet

f0restdew

Hi, my FH and I are vegetarians and we are looking for place to hold a vegetarian banquet. It seems the place is limited. I only know Lingzhi restaurant and Grand Court at Somerset. The hotels are expensive and the food may not be nice.
Anyone has any alternative venues?

cactus_79

Hi Tan SH, vegetarian banquets may be expensive because few people actually ask for them. Would you consider having a normal banquet but to get vegetarian menus for you and your FH, and other friends/relatives who may be vegetarians? This would certainly open up many more venues for you.

eiggam

Hi Tan SH, my sis had a vegetarian banquet at Orchard Parade Hotel ballroom. She liased with Club Chinois' banquet manager to arrange for Lingzhi to provide the vegetarian fare that night. Perhaps u can call Club Chinois up to enquiry..

f0restdew

Thanks alot for the suggestion. The Quality hotel can only hold max 15 tables.

Maggie, may I know the price for per table when your sis held at the Orchard Parade hotel?
I have check with chevon and CSC@Bukit batok but they don't allow outside caterer. Will wait and see if they can come up with something.

As most of the guests are vegetarians, I hope to get veg rest or caterer to prepare the dishes so I try not to use the non-veg rest..scared the ingredients or sauce not full veg..

jessi

Hi, I had attended a wedding dinner at Furama Riverfront before and the whole banquet is vegetarian. Maybe you can check out with them?

f0restdew

Sorry, the quality hotel can hold max 25 tables. But I am thinking of 30 so cannot lor.

Ok Jessi, thanks alot for sharing!

If really cannot then I will choose Grand Court..sigh..

cocomaro

Hi, you can check out Orchid Country Club. They liaise with Grand Court or Fuo You Yuan for vegetarian banquets. I'm having mine there in Nov.

tianchelle

You may like to try Furama city centre as well. i'm a vegetarian too and i signed up with them. Not really sure if the vegetarian food is good, but the ballroom and suite is good.

eiggam

think u better check with orchard parade hotel, not v sure abt the price but i think they stick to their own banquet pricing but use lingzhi's menu (more ex than holding at lingzhi itself but u'll get the ballroom). Just make sure they get the lingzhi's chef to come over to cook. Think those chefs who normally cook non-vegetarian are not v good at bringing out the natural taste of the vegetarian food. lingzhi's chef is very good at that & the presentation is v nice!

eiggam

oh, btw, heard grand court's vegetarian food is really not nice.. heard a lot of ppl wanted to go eat KFC after the second dish.
lingzhi is very different cos instead of using mock meat (like a lot of places do), they use veg & mushroom, so u wun be sick of it. i esp. love their pumpkin rolls and monkey head mushroom! everyone said the monkey head mushroom is very good & taste like real meat..

bellygreen

My HB and I are vegetarians too, we are having our full-veg wedding dinner at Four Seasons in dec07. I was surprised that they could cater to full-veg dinner as most hotels would not dare to take up such a "big" challenge. In any case, I have asked around. If u like outdoor, Mandai Orchid Garden can cater to full-veg dinner as well (catered by GimTim - nice veg food though they are not a 100%veggie caterer). Sheraton, OCC, Raffles hotel, The Legends Fort Canning are amongst the few nice places that u might want to consider too. If u need, i can fwd u the price lists.

lyndn

Hi BS (bellygreen),

My bf is a vegetarian and we wish to hold a full-veg wedding banquet too. We will greatly appreciate if you can share your price lists with us. My email is [email protected]. Thanks!

cheahster

Hello bellygreen.

Please share your price lists with us too. My bf and I are currently looking at full-veg banquets too. Thanks for your help.

cheahster

Bad news... Heard that Lingzhi Far East Square would be converted to a non vegetarian restaurant from June 07 onwards. 1 less option for couples who are planning for full-vegetarian dinner.

cheahster

Hello netfinity.

Thanks for the suggestion. I think they do cater the food from Grand Court. Will take a look at their menu next. Cheers!

bellygreen

hi ming,

sorry for the much delayed response, i hv a few dinner package quotations namely, occ, mandai orchid gardens, riverview hotel, legends, four seasons, raffles hotel. let me know which are the ones that u are interested in cos i am kinda busy to sort them out nicely. btw, my email is [email protected] so if u happen to use google chat, all the better, i can send them to u when u r online. btw when is ur AD? cos price lists may differ from yr to yr. if it isn't gg to be held within this yr, it is actually wiser to get an updated list from the respective caterers. in any case, i will be more than happy to share with u my findings, i know it can be a little harder to search for venues that cater to full veg dinner banquets. goodluck
and enjoy shopping around!! hee.. btw, if u want grand court to cater, whether it is within the restaurant or external venues, talk to the grand court boss first. he is able to give some good money-saving advice haha......

j16h21

Hi Bellygreen,

Please share pricelist with us too. [email protected]

My FH is vegetarian so he insisted a pure vegetarian banquet if not a simple tea ceremony for family and close friends.

Anyone have any ideas how to go about it? I am really clueless!!!!

AD is 27th Jan 2008.

j16h21

In case someone out there was wondering which Hotel provide Vegetarian Banquet.... You can try Furama Riverfront Hotel.

Please remember to ask for Albert.

paulinechong

i held my AD n ROM on 7th july... outdoor solemnisation at amara hotel, poolside garden. i have to opt for dinner buffet becos 30% of the guest are pure vegetarian (no garlic/onion etc type)... i had to entrust my cousin to follow up on the food line and make sure that spring onions are not thrown in etc... rather stressful to have vegetarian buffet. anyhow, amara hotel did do a good job. but must keep on reminding n reminding them.. hehe.. for lunch, i engaged buffet caterer "vegetorium" for my house at hougang.. their shop is at pasir panjang. even for small group, they also do lor... if anyone wans their number, please email me .. [email protected]

stel

Anyone know where can hold a vegetarian wedding?
I have found out that Grand Court will be moving to Chinatown in Jan 2008.

f0restdew

Hi all, I had engaged Fo you yuan for my wedding buffet in the afternoon. The food was very nice, i didn't expect them to come up with new dishes that was not in the menu. Even the non vegetarians are impressed with the food. Very glad that the buffet went well. For the banquet, we used grand court vegetarian rest. The food tasting was good but for the actual day, some friends told me the food was not nice and they don't really like it. Vegetarian food shld be more interesting and innovative. Was feeling quite bad that my guests was not served with food of the same standards. Just make sure that you guys emphasise the importance of same food quality for the actual day. Just my 2 cents worth.

clatzz

for info of all vegetarian btbs..

i had my ROM at Raffles Town Club and they managed to come up with a full vegetarian buffet for me... but about 60% of the dishes have eggs cos me and hubby consume eggs...

my banquet will be held at pan pacific... and they do offer vegetarian menu as well... and they are very open to changes... after the food tasting, we wanted to change some of the dishes and they were open to our idea!!

serenehxw

Me and my htb will be having our AD (Full vege round table) end of 09.

Not sure if this thread is still active. If yes, appreciate if anyone of u (who have vege banquet in hotel), let me know which hotel actually serve better food. Thinking of sheraton, pan pac, mandrain oriental, marina mandrain. Worse come to worse, we shall hold at orchard parade, since they allow ling zhi to come in. thanks

pebblydiamonds

Hi Serenehxw,
i've heard good reviews for Grand Hyatt. I'm personally also having AD in Dec 09 and have booked Grand Hyatt.
Another place you can consider is Shangri La, heard good reviews about the vege banquet, but quite ex.
Orchard Parade, i checked it out, seems like Dec 09 is very hot, almost everyday booked already.
i happened to try some vege food at Marina Mandarin last week during a conference. was good. don't know how the vege banquet standard is tho.
happy hotel sourcing!

serenehxw

hi pebbles,

thanks for the info. Well, any "ways" to get to try on the hotel food first before booking it? We hope to leave a good impression for our guests (as most of them are not vegetarians.)

For OPH, i called. Its quite booked and my AD have not fixed yet..
Marina Mandarin is one of my choices too. Will go find out. Thanks for the info given. BTW, let me know if the vege at Hyatt is good anot if u have tried their food ok? May want to consider that too..

pebblydiamonds

yeah i get what u mean by leaving a good impression. when i told some of my potential guests, they also made some.. not so nice comments about y i shouldn't have a vege banquet. some even asked if i'm doing vege banquet cos it's cheaper. and whether it means they can give me less angbao. it's quite hurting. some even made jibes that does it mean i will use lotus flower as decorations.
so... i gave up telling ppl that the banquet will be vege. just felt that it's ridiculous cos it's my wedding afterall! yeah. just wanted to share my experience. not common to find someone who have same ideas of wanting a full vege banquet

OPH's vege food is indeed good. i tried before cos attended a friend's wedding and she arranged vege set for me. i've only heard from 1 source (my future father-in-law) that Hyatt's vege food is good. i guess it's interesting la. they have "shark's fin soup". so guests might not know the difference perhaps? i won't be food tasting at Hyatt so soon.. long way to go till my AD. U'd probably have to decide way before that if u wanna hold ur AD end 09.
y don't u fix a date for AD first before u choose the hotels? might be easier to eliminate..

serenehxw

Hi Pebbles,
I have not faced that problem yet from my side as i lucky that all my family members (are vege) and frens understand my firm stand on this. But for my HTB, its quite stressing on him. Coz his father is kind of unhappy but still allow us to do that. U r right! its our wedding, hence we shall do it our way.. yeah! My dates are still pending as the person (who looking thru my dates) are still finding the dates for end of yr09.

I have a few ideas to make the dinner more lively and memorable. Maybe we can share along in emails...

Also, do share somemore ideas on where have good vegetarian banquet ok? my fren say fullerton (VERY EX) and marina mandrain are nice also. But serving one dish for 2-3 pax and whole banquet will be different.

serenehxw

Pebbles,
Anyway, I tried hyatt vege food (for me only) at a fren wedding. Indeed, it's not bad...

I going for another dinner on 19 Oct at hyatt. Now both me n my htb will be having vege also. Will let u know if the standard is still there anot...

clatzz

hi, my hubby, myself and my family are all vegetarians. we had our banquet at pan pacific hotel and though its not a full vegetarian banquet, we had a number of vegetarian tables...

And my vegetarian friends has commented that the vegetarian food is nice... but that is also becaused we changed some of the dishes that we didnt like during the food tasting (mainly the mock dishes) and replaced them with others. so u may want to do the same.

serenehxw

Thanks clatzz.
I got a fren who will be holding half vegetarian at pan pac too. Will try get the menu from her. Pan pac is nice but they dun have the long march in which i want also... *headache..

clatzz

if u want long march in at pan pac u have to get the pacific ballroom which is at the ground floor... very long march in...

i think whichever hotel u go, if u dun like their vegetarian menu, u can request them to change to the dish u want...

my fren also vegetarian having her dinner at mandrin hotel (opp heeren). her sis went for the food tasting and told us the vegetarian food there is nice too

pebblydiamonds

Serene: i guess sometimes ppl can't understand y we wanna have vege banquet. think that will "lugi" cos it's vege banquet and nv get to eat all the meats. i'm the only vegetarian in my family but my mum was quite adamant that the banquet be vegetarian, for religious purposes. luckily my HTB's family share the same religion, and by future PILs are more than happy to have a vege banquet.

sure, let's keep in touch and share pointers about our preps!
it's nice to have someone to exchange ideas and suggestions! do update when ur AD will be! i'm curious!

Clatzz: thanks for ur suggestions too. definitely i think food tasting is very important especially with our special request for full vege banquet. this was actually not in our package but we said it's absolutely essential so my kind coordinator helped us to include it in. really crossing fingers and hoping that the food would be good. most ppl tell me that food at wedding dinners r never good, because they cook in bulk...

vlee

Hi, I've been a vegetarian all my life and it's the time of my life to prepare for my wedding.

Trying to gather all the information for pricing and what hotel host vegetarian banquets. It's been really hard.

Can kindly please send me all the informations of the places and the pricing to [email protected]

As i'm planning to hold it maybe next year end

Thank you all lots

serenehxw

Pebbles: Seem like we are opposite. My family are vegetarian.. haha.. Lets communicate in my email ba.. I believe we will have a great wedding!

Vince: If u are holding you banquet next year, better get your location fast. I have ask this few hotels and they have limited dates left. Sobb... Will send u what I have but in summary these are the hotels which i asked before. If u dun like the vege menu which the hotel have given u, try asking them to change.

Marina Mandarin: No full vegetarian catered. Hilton: Dec09 Weekends Left only some Fri and sun.
Orchard Parade Hotel: Caterer From Lingzhi. Not much dates left also.
Amara Hotel: Caterer from Grand Court.
Pan Pacific: My fren holding there soon, heard its nice but ex abit.

pebblydiamonds

Hi serene,
yup let's also communicate via email! my email: [email protected]
if u really have ur AD in Dec09, come join us in the Dec09 BTB thread! big happening family there. my AD already got 7 BTBs. haha.

Hi Vince,
Welcome aboard! I agree with what serene said, if u want next yr end, better quickly chope already. cos many places have been taken up. i think for my fiance and i, our priority is to choose a place with good track record of doing full vege banquet. here are some places we called:

orchard parade: good food cos caterer from Lingzhi. but when fiance called in Jul08 for enquiry, ALL Dec09 dinner banquets taken. so unless there are cancellations, this place not available already. but pricing really quite good.
orchard hotel: ok la.. have not really done full vege banquet before, but they have a vege menu. limited dates available end of Dec09.
NCQ: ok also. price also good, but nv done full vege banquet before, altho got vege menu.
Traders Hotel: price also ok, but nv done full vege banquet before, altho got vege menu.
Fairmont Singapore: have done vege banquet before, menu not bad, package looked quite good, but coordinator very curt. so we eliminated this. the pricing was actually slightly cheaper than GH that we chose.
Grand Mercure Roxy: price is lowest, no track record but have vege menu. didn't like the location.

what else u need?

wakeup2asmile

hi all, im so glad to find a thread here on vegetarian banquet. my fiance is a vegetarian and we r sourcing for a full vegetarian banquet as well. pls share with me the information i.e. venues and price lists if possible. Thanks so much!

My email add is [email protected]

i_love_driving

have anyone hold their wedding banquet with Grand Court Vege Resturant this year (2009)? How was their food? and also the feedback from yr guests?

piglet08

I recently saw a program on CNA about a Green Wedding and they serve holistic vegetarian for their guests. But I can't recall where the place was.

reychell

Hi, tang court also cerves veg banquet. I have been for food tasting for the veg banquet. Comments received are very good and portion was big. Tang court has one of the most comprehensice packages. The website www.tangcourt.com.sg shows normal menu not the veg menu. But if interested in the veg can look or email Harry to discuss further with them. Thumbs up for the services too. Can go there recee too. Do look for Harry and tell him I recommend. He will definitely take good car eof you.

pandanleaf

Hi, like to obtain some advise on the vegetarian banquet served at noble House. Can someone pls advise? Thanks alot!