V Hive Furniture

if the mould going to get serious, i think we got to dump it away. vhive not going to entertain us anway...

my colleague also say, singapore furniture need to go for treatment cos the humidity is bad. even the best wood also will turn mouldy..i dunno how true.

rong

Hi ster07dust, i haven't start reno. The mouldy wardrobe is in my parents' house. Courts people came to take some photos but will not allow us to exchange anything. Wonder why they still came down to take photos..?

My parents' house has lots of woody furniture but none are mouldy. Only this wardrobe has this problem. Even my study table located 5cm next to it is clean from mould and this table is bought from neighbourhood store only, not branded stuff. So I believe the mould is due to their improper treatment of wood.

jayjay_on

star07dust, have you bought your furnitures from vhive yet ?

I also like a few pieces of design from vhive and thinking of going to buy soon. I already targeting the tv console, coffee table, computer table, bookshelf, dining table.....

After reading this, i am a bit worry now... any more feedback from users ?

star07dust

hihi..me havnt buy anytin frm vhive...yest went over to S&C FURNITURE (highly recommended by forumers) and reali regret not to go there much earlier...cos the stuff there is reali much cheaper than outside with same kind of furniture...

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/505610.html?1207194238

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/336169.html?1202917211

the boss melvin is very gd and i did told him abt the mouldy case, he reflected tat recently due to weather change, recent yrs a lot of such cases..he said he realised waxing can cure the prob, hence he will wax all furnitures before sent to customers...(he oso dun wan customers frustrated over mouldy furnitures)

as for the kind of furnitures, they got a big variety (but onli can c thru catalogue)..as for the pricing, reali much much cheaper than outside..i gt chk out a lot of furniture shops on same items, theirs is the most worthwhile for same item...

we have placed deposit with them on a few items...the only con is u need to patiently wait for the shipment to come cos for apr08, already full shipment, tat means u need wait till may08...

as for vhive, we would be taking the study desk (long one which can accomodate 2 pax) and mobile pedestrial together as S&C dun hav so long table desk...

jayjay_on

thanks star07dust. but i am a worrier, dont really dare to wait for things to come in few months type, also, cant afford to wait that long too... still debating....

moving house and finding furnitures are really HEADACHE!

jayjay_on

still debating between getting the furnitures from Ikea or Vhive....any comments ? I will have to ask Ikea to deliver and assembly so will have to add additional charges. 8(

star07dust

s&c furniture not a few mths la, is juz tis mth full, so they said will giv me by front dates of may...hopefulli so la...

as for ikea or vhive, i wil prefer vhive cos fress assembly & delivery, & more stable furniture..esp for big furniture...for ikea, a lot of comments tat will sag through time...u can onli buy small things there...dun ever tink of buy those impt furniture (like dining table, tv console, etc) frm there la...play safe

jayjay_on

was calculating cost between ikea vs vhive for two bookshelves...

Ikea - Billy Bookcase = about $350 including assembly and delivery

Vhive = $800

Different by almost double...still debating. Anyone ever have billy bookcase, how thick is the wood for shelves ?

jayjay_on

Thanks Star07Dust about Star Furniture. I just found out that Zen is from them. Actually quite like Zen's furniture, but my budget can never be able to allow that type of spending...every little cents count. 8( I can start praying for winning lottery to buy these .

star07dust

me oso gg for budgeted furniture, but oso gd pricing for gd quality, do not wish to pay cheaper for poor quality & end up easily damaged & need spend more to buy new one...

star furniture is same as vhive if u go toh guan showroom which is juz opposite imm, i do not mean zen which is more high end furnitures...

as for the bookcase, u need to see wat is the wood for the support...usuali is MBF BOARD which is gd enuff for normal shelving, do not go for cheapboard or wat "chimson" board...u muz knock on the board to feel if it is solid...price range so much different, muz b quality difference...

frankly speaking, S&C got a big range of bookcases with same quality as outside and yet much much cheaper as they r somehow wholesale oso...i got aimed a BOSS bookcase (small one W80cm cos my space limit for bookcase) from vhive $399, then another shop $459 wif better appearance, then from S&C, exactly same as the another shop catalogue, they direct quote me $300 for same item & tat did not need wait for shipment cos they said its their direct supplier in sg...

btw, me oso buy more lottery aiming to win so tat can afford the bulk household purchases...hahaha

star07dust

fyi, if they r 1st hand, they will quote much cheaper...if thru a supplier in sg, will b higher price, BUT, still much much cheaper than outside...if u can wait, me will wait for my furnitures shipment, & will reflect more feedback...gd things muz share, but if bad, will oso let u guys know...

jayjay_on

star07dust, when is your shipment arriving ? does it takes 4 weeks for the cargo to arrive ? I am still debating whether to move first then only slowly take my own sweet time to search for furnitures or just give up and buy for immediate stocks ? I will have to move out currently place soon, so, whether the other side is ready with full furnished or just minimum mattress to temporary stay on, i will still need to move.

star07dust

their shipment is twice per mth, but too many ppl went there order the entire home furnitures, so apr08 full when i went down on 6 Apr 08...they promised to deliver before 2nd wk may..will call them again to confirm as tat time he told me china gt qingming festival frm 7may-10may, i tink so...

my intention inititali is to get everytin ready then move,but since wana wait for s&c furnitures shipment, will arrange impt stuff like divan & mattress & washing machine & fridge in 1st...my sofa i bought frm star furniture, so will in these things by 26 apr...planning 27apr move in & do packing, hehehe...

u dun anyhow buy immediate stocks, furnitures muz source slowly tat u like, coz will be accompany u everyday lei....move in 1st, then slowly source for furnitures tat u like...when u planning move in?

jayjay_on

haha, we really same timing leh. I am moving on 26 Apr. Take friday off to pack the stuff. So,now the house is total chaos, with boxes all over the place. Hope you found a good mover already.

star07dust

we r our own mover....haha..cos onli carton boxes of clothings & own stuff, so get a delivery van & do our own delivery...

V-hive is having their moving out sale at great world city some time in end of march!
really tempted to buy their glass top study table. but once bitten, trice shy.

they didn't state when the sales is going to end. you can take a look if u free.
if not u can go to the warehoouse at taman jurong..forever things going at discounted price.

jayjay_on

star07dust, your furniture for S&C here yet ? I haven't buy my sofa and tv stand. Tight on cash, so, might just wait for awhile. Now, living room is empty...just use mattress to watch TV. ^__*

star07dust

hihi...hows your moving? most of the main furnitures in already, but super busy in unpacking, my stuff reali a lot, hehe...

the boss knew we r moving end of apr, so he tried put our order in the apr shipment, 26 apr deliver over all the stuffs except coffee table which need customization, & coffee table was oso delivered over on 3 may. Very satisfied with the service. As for the quality, not bad, but some got dented, & they will exchange for us in next shipment. The boss is very friendly & flexible...me havnt paid in full, will go over & sign credit card for the balance tis coming wk & oso buy more furniture (still lack of shoe cabinet, etc)

worth going there & compare prices, sure much cheaper than outside if u oso same as us budgeted...

blueberrytea

I wish i had read this thread before buying from Vhive.

I got my 2 TV consoles on 17 July 2008.
2 days ago, which is about 24th Oct 2008, I found both the tv consoles turned Mouldy.

Those parts are actually the base of each shelf, and the whole console's base itself. the wood there is the non varnished sort. Polised, but not varnished.

There were little bugs that were crawling and flying in my house for about 3 days. I had been trying to rid them. In the end, i traced the location, and found these 2 TV consoles to be the problem.

My other funiture that had turned mouldy before were my shoe cabinets and dining table. Even though they grew mould once or twice, then i dealt with them and now, never grow mould again. Esp after I placed bamboo charcoal in the house.
All the other furniture never gets mouldy.

BUT, this round is TOO MUCH!! The flies are the first time in the house. !!!

I will never trust Vhive again and I would surely be careful with the type of wood chosen in future.
I paid $300 for each TV console.. very annoying

does anyone agrees with this word - pay peanuts, get money sort of saying?
I'm wondering if it can be applied to buying furniture as well.

Real_sotong > I am really sad to hear that ... i will beware of buying from them in future. Care to share which branch did u bought from?

blueberrytea

i got mine from Causeway point.

But they said they're sending frmo the warehouse.

even the day of delivery also got postponed because the time stated by the sales guy was not available by the delivery side.

but delivery i can still overlook.
it's the crawlies that are making me very upset now

blueberrytea

Through email

Vhive replied and said they will only do one to one exchange, with the same model.

I asked them, if grow mould and flies again, how?
then no reply alerady.

This will be my first and last time getting anything from Vhive.

blueberrytea

i'm very annoyed.

I've never had flies breeding in my other wood furniture before.

been emailing Vhive. They said will do one to one exchange.
then i asked them if same problem occur how?
No reply from them.

Then today i got the phone call from woodlands Vhive.
Said only have stock for one of the TV consoles.

why the HQ themselves dare not call me?

This is about getting justice back. Not just about dealing with the mould and flies anymore.

Been to many other forums, and found out, many people who bought Vhive furniture last or this year, also had theirs growing mould and flies...
it's just that, they never bring the matter up to Vhive or maybe Vhive covered it.

I told Vhive, that i read the problems in forums too. They kept quiet. Before that, they said they never received such complains before.
HA.

blueberrytea

mine was in a worse state than the one in http://blogaaholic.com/2008/11/15/guess-what-it-is/ .
plus, i had TWO TV consoles and BOTH from Vhive.

thank god V.hive had came to remove mine.

The flies were breeding so badly. And they kept claiming that it's MY environment that is no good!!!

Hey, but I went around forums and forums to check and found not just mine is having problem from their company!!!

I only managed to take pictures of the TV console AFTER I had cleaned the mould and flies away.

Gosh, I will never forget, when i turned one of the empty consoles upside down, just flipping to one side, the green mould flew into the air and the floor was covered with the green mould dust.

needless to say, those mould that stayed on the TV console itself were rather hardcore ones.

Don't tell me that paying $1 less than $300 per TV console is considered cheap.

If the quality is not good, then why sell it at a low price and spoil own reputation?

anyone bought from them recently? can share how's their quality like? am quite concerned abt the negative feedback here, products seemed ok though.

adathong

hmm i also bought a wooden shoe cabinet last year..have observe white spots but not that serious thought it was just some dust flying inside my house lol got to check inside again

themaple2009

I bought a cabinet from Vhive more than 2 yrs ago and it's still in a good condition

got my office table from vhive liao, seems to be pretty good so far

just ordered a display cabinet from them, delivery this sat. will update again =)

limlm

Last year, I bought 1 dressing table, 3 wardrobes, 1 shoe cabinet, 1 book shelves and 1 drawers cabinet from vhive, guest wat?!

only 2 out of 7 is not growing mould. the rest all grow mould. that is 70% it will grow mould.

Extremely scary. have been wiping it off for a few times using the method they suggested, still not working.

And there is no warranty for this either. To save you the troubles, dont buy from them.