USA

zenn

Och, you are such a great help!!! At least now I can narrow down to the hotels you suggested. When I do a search, there are so many and I see until blur.

Best western is US114, Holiday inn is US118, Comfort inn (still checking). Which one will you recommend among the 3? Btw is Best western n comfort inn inside GC? Cos the address state highway -blur-

och

eh, i'm lost. isn't holiday inn on highway 64? i checked best western's address, it's also on highway 64.

the two of them r outside the grand canyon entrance. u can see where tusayan is on the grand canyon planning page http://www.nps.gov/grca/grandcanyon/south-rim/index.htm. there's a list of lodgings within the grand canyon on the trip planning page too.

n i'm sorry, it isn't comfort inn, it's quality inn. i always mix the two of them up since they r the same chain.

coco

I am planning to travel to US in July (short planning huh) but can anyone tell me which direction is better i.e. LA-LV-SF or any other better directions?

I have planned to stay 3 nites in each state and probably stay in these hotels: LA - Anaheim Park Hotel, LV - Luxor and SF - Holiday Inn. Any comments?

Still dunno how to get around from one state to another...

zenn

Hi och,

Oh so holiday inn, western & quality inn are all on highway 64 which is at grand canyon entrance? Pandan me, so we can actually walk from holiday inn to grand canyon? Was I just realised that the rest of the accomodations are actually lodges inside grand canyon.

Hi AP,
Are you going to drive? I think either LV-LA-SF or the other way round (SF-LA-LV) will be better.

Hey I will be staying in LV Luxor and SF Holiday Inn too! Btw, you might wanna go to Luxor homepage www.luxor.com as they are having promo now.

coco

Hi Zenn,

Really! Wat kind of promo? Will check tat out! But cant book anything yet since i hv not confirmed which day to travel.

Dunno should drive or not as it is lefthand drive and can be dangerous... U driving?

poohcsl

och, i juz browse thru the rental web pages as well as the SF hotels websites then realised tt for my entire trip, flight + car rental + accomodation will cost me S$7-8K liao!!! got a nasty shock siah!!! fren wen for tour package only spent abt S$6K in total for 13 days... i only 4-5 days more need to spend so much more!!!

think my itineary too packed liao... decided to forgo san diego... to cut costs may choose to say in hotels less than USD80 per nite... will these hotels be sleazy??? me not particular abt hotel... as long as got private room wif bath can liao... of cse, not too far from city center la!!!! oso found out tt thrifty car rental's the cheapest... for my lenght of stay, it will costs abt USD300, budget, alamo n rest will cost at least USD550 for the same car cat...

clear77clear

Hi Star,
U might find that the roads are quite dark around tat time...
Since you are taking Coach to Anaheim there's nothing to worry

As what Hippie say Disneyland is crowded everyday
Btw there's a Disneyland Adventure beside Disneyland...I took 2 full days to cover the 2 parks...the fireworks are really fantastic

Hi Och,
Which state are you staying? I'm also staying in US but currently I'm back in SG for holiday

Hi AP,
I think both directions is okie... LV-LA-SF...
As for lefthand drive it really takes abit of getting used to it...

Hi Pooh,
Btw, Luxor is not really in the MIDDLE of THE STRIP, MGM Grand might be a better choice or Monte Carlo... staying in LV during Wkends is very expensive

Rental of Car - Alamo is good & cheap

zenn

Wow this thread suddenly so active!

Hi clear,
Whats the diff btw Disneyland Adventure and Disneyland?

Hi Pooch,
If possible, avoid weekends in LV cos all the hotels will ve surcharge for the weekends.

Hi AP,
When you go to the website and click on the promo, there will be a calendar showing you the daily rate. If you really keen in Luxor, try to arrange ur stay there when the rate is lower. I remember seeing Jul cheapest is $70 or $80+ But for certain nites only.

Now we changed to SF-LA-LV-GC and will be renting car from last day of SF.

zenn

Issit better to stay in lodge inside grand canyon then hotel outside GC? Cos if we staying outside we may not be able to catch the sunrise?

och

zenn, the grand canyon is abt the size of sg. if u drive, it takes 30min to drive fr one end of the south rim to the other. fr the village outside the canyon, it takes abt 20-30 min drive to reach the overlooks of the grand canyon. if u want to catch sunrise, it just means u hv to drive out earlier. national parks r pretty diligent abt posting sunrise n sunset times, so u can when to wake up the next day.

poohcsl, to save money, do look for motels instead of hotels. if u book motels fr the chains, they r unlikely to be sleazy n all the chains hv a lower-priced branch to cater for the budget travellers. eg, marriott has fairfield inn, sheraton has 4points, accor grp has motel 6, choice hotels has econolodge n rodeway inn. accomodations in the us almost always comes with attached bathroom, the shared bathrooms idea just doesn't fly here. since u r renting a car, u can afford booking motels away fr the touristy places, which may be cheaper. book early too to get any promotions. u can make multiple bookings while u make up ur mind. most motels hv liberal cancellation policies, eg 4pm on day of arrival, so u hv plenty of time to cancel ur bookings.

another option u can try is to get free nights. many of the chains hv their own reward programs. for the duration of ur holiday, i think u can easily chalk up enuf points to get free nights stay if u book fr the same chains. i'm not sure if this option will be cheaper.

one thing though, between christmas n new year, many americans travel, so rooms get booked up n hotels/motels charge sky high prices. lv will be expensive n do keep ur eye out for packages.

if budget is a concern, u might want to drop tahoe. u r travelling during the peak winter season n visiting tahoe then is v. expensive. accomodations r packed, u need to buy ski lift tickets which costs $60 or more, then u need to rent equipment n sign up for classes. u can sign up for those all-inclusive learning packages, which will bring costs down a bit, but not much.

jj, it's difficult to say what is appriopriate number of days per place. it all depends on what u want to see in those cities. grand canyon n yosemite r u.s. national parks n also unesco world heritage sites. grand canyon is carved out by millions of years of weathering n erosion by the river. it's abt the size of sg, but it's depth cuts across 4 climate zones n the erosion reveals rocks that r millions of yrs old. yosemite is a beautiful area within the sierra nevade region with waterfalls, mountains n meadows.

ap, la,sf r both in california state n lv is in state of nevada. i assume u mean 3 days in each city n not 3 days in both la n sf right? u might want to spend more days in la, cos each theme park take a full day to explore. n there r 3-4 holiday inns within sf i think, so remember to bring the address of the holiday inn u r going to, so that the shuttle buses u take will know which holiday inn.

clear, i'm in MA, where r u? r u here with ur husband? i'm here alone, v. boring ah!! i think hippie is also in the us right?

zenn

Hi och,

Wow didnt know GC is so big! Anyway we managed to find Yavapai Lodge available at our date at US118 so most likely will book this one. Cannot believe that all the lodges for sep are either fully booked or very x!

zenn

Any recommendation of accomodation in SF? Or which area should we book? Will prefer somewhere convenient as we will not be driving...

hippie

Zenn,
California Adventure is the name of the park besides Disneyland. It supposedly has more thrilling rides than Disneyland, somewat like UNiversal Studio's Island of Adventure. But their rides are mostly catered to the young so their rides are not so scary afterall.

One option 4 u if u wanna save $$ is to stay in the town of Flagstaff, abt 45 mins drive frm Grand Canyon. The cheapest motels cost ard USD$40+ (1-star only) but if u wan, there are 2 or 3-stars properties wif prices ranging frm $50-$80+. The last time i went there, i booked my hotel @ ard USD$50+ if i rem correctly. It's a small historic town & it snows in winter, very charming & picturesque.

For SF, there are lotsa hotels tat are within the vincity of downtown & basically u can walk to anywhere or u can take their bus. Be prepared to fork out $50+ onwards for a hotel in downtown. If u wan, u can go to www.priceline.com, bid ur own price for hotels & see if u r lucky to get it. Last time i went, I got a boutique hotel room for $40+ in downtown (bidded thru' Priceline) but i gotta pay USD$25 for the parking! Cos their parking is quite limited & there's space constraints, so no choice. But i kinda like tat hotel cos it's very modern & stylish, but abit small lah but we can live wif it though as we are not very big size.... :p

och,
MA is Massechutsetts (spelling??) if i'm not wrong rite? I've been to Boston once & their chinatown is quite big. The tolls are a killer! We stayed in Marriot Fairfield Inn jus outskirts of Boston & we hav to pay a $6 toll jus to get across the bridge to it! I'm temp residin in US (southwest) wif my hubby. U alone here studyin?

och

$40 hotel room is very cheap! agree with hippie that parking in hotels is v. expensive in downtown sf. parking to visiting fisherman's wharf n for shopping in union square is both a pain n expensive. the most convenient places to stay in sf r probably civic centre n union square. chinatown is very convenient for eating, but it's a 7 blocks walk to the nearest BART.

as for grand canyon, there's also williams. i cannot remember whether flagstaff or williams is more convenient for pple driving in fr lv liao, but they both offer cheaper alternatives.

hippie, where in southwest r u? ur husband is in airforce issit? when u going back to sg?

yup, ma is massachusetts n i'm staying in the boston area for an attachment. dun get me started on the tolls. just returning fr the airport need to pay $3 toll to use an underpass. can faint. to think i used to avoid golden gate bridge in sf bcos i thot $4 toll was too expensive even for THE golden gate bridge. i drove to woodbury with my brother n it costs us something like $15 in tolls.

zenn

Gd morning!

Hi Hippie,
Do we have to buy entrance fee for California Adventure too? Or the disney one entitled us to both?

We have book Yavapai Lodge in GC. Finally one thing settled

Do you remember the name of hotel you stayed in SF? I check out sep price, for sept even better looking 2 star cost US70 and aboved!!! We are thinking of bidding thro priceline too.

Hi och,
Yosemite lodging required min 2 nites stay
Now we ve to look for other cheaper stay liao.

zenn

Hey, any diff staying inside or outside the yosemite park? Also, any comments on Curry Village, White Loft Lodge and Evergreen Lodge?

hippie

och,
yup, hub is in airforce, we're gog bk end of the yr....gonna miss US badly...

when u gog bk? envy u leh, can drive to woodbury anytime to shop....i only been there once, our nearest 'happening' town is in LV or LA which we always go 4 makan & shopping during long wkends..

zenn,
i really 4got the name of the hotel oredi as i was there in Dec'03, very long time liao...U can really try biddin 1st, if all else fail, then u jus book online as the last resort. I tried out Priceline alot of times oredi & i never really get bad hotels. There's even 1 time where i click on 2-star, i got a surprise upgrade to a 3-star hotel for $40+ in San Diego. So i tink it's worth trying...

If u buy the 2 or 3 Day park hopper ticket, u will be able to visit both Disneyland & Calif. Adventure. If u jus buy either one, then u can only visit 1 park. Tats my understanding. For more info, u might wan to visit www.disneyland.com

hope tis helps...

och

hi hippie,
i dun drive to woodbury that often, it's a 4 hr drive away. i usually just shop in the outlets 1-2 hrs away, better still if they r within ma, since clothes r not taxed here.
i'm going back to sg in a few months time.

hi zenn,
i've only stayed in curry village. hv u seen pictures of curry village? think it's best described as permanent tent-cabins, half with bathrooms n half without. the half with bathroom r usually made of wood, the half without r 4 walls of canvas n a door. it's really meant to provide an outdoors experience without really roughing it out. there r beds in the cabins but these r basic beds. most hv no heating. to provide an "authentic" experience: the cabins do not hv tv, bear lockers outside, thin walls etc. this is a huge deviation fr the norm, so the motivating factor for ur choice should be whether that's the experience u want. if u get the canvas cabins, i will advise u to bring blankets or sleeping bags, cos it can be chilly at night.

there r many villages/towns outside yosemite. most of them will take u abt 45 min - 1 hr drive/shuttle bus to get to the valley. since u r not hiking, i personally don't see a huge difference in staying in or outside of the park.

hippie

och,
LA & LV is abt 6-7 hrs drive away but my hub dun mind driving there cos we can shop, makan & gamble. I tink if we were there, we oso dun mind drivin 4 hrs to woodbury...keke...MA dun hav tax for clothes ah? tats gd leh, i tink NJ oso dun hav tax for clothes too....Had actually wanted to go to Oregon, seattle tat area to travel as i heard Oregon is oso tax-free but hub no more leave liao so we can't go...

och

hippie, so envious, u hv ur hubby to travel with u. it's so expensive to travel alone. r u going anywhere on 4th july? ur hubby sounds like the type who likes driving. i dun hv a car here, so if i want to go anywhere, hv to rent car. very sian. aiyoh, if u come here, should check out the outlets around boston also. prices r slightly lower than woodbury n not as crowded. there r coach, versace, hugo, ck etc, but dun hv a|x, crate&barrel lah.

hippie

och, hmm....maybe u can travel wif ur frens over there? gather a few frens, rent a car & go on road trips! tat wld be fun....
My hub dun mind driving long dist. & he's always the one who drove. I can drive but i can't drive long dist. as i lose concentration easily (the max. time i drove is 2 hrs str then i surrender liao) so i'm better off as the navigator...
yup, we heading to LV for the 4th July wkend. Whereabout u heading?
I dun tink we be gog East side anymore as we oredi been there once & we got no more leave liao
......the last time i went to east side, we rented a car & travel from Baltimore to Lancaster, Hershey, Cleveland, Pittsburgh, Niagara Falls, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Boston, New York, Atlantic City, Philadephia, Delaware, Washington DC & then back to Baltimore. It was my most memorable trip ever. Wish i can do tat again...

honesty

me and hubby planning to go to the States for our annual long holiday...dunno whether should go LA or NY side. We have already been to NY a few years ago...so was thinking of going over to LA side. But apart from Disneyland, can anyone advise what else can we do and where can we go for sightseeing? Is Grand Canyon nearby? How's the weather during Sept/Nov time? WIll be grateful for any pointers pls. Tks!

och

hippie, i love road trips too! but difficult to pull enuf friends to do it here. most of them married liao, so they prefer to travel as couples. think u travelled to more places on the east coast than i did, even tho i'm staying here.

i'm staying put for 4th july. saving my $$ n energy for a holiday to peru with hubby in end july.

hi honesty,
besides mouseland, la also has universal studios, six flags, knotts berry farm, beverly hills, hollywood, the beaches etc. if u like musuems, the getty musuem is supposed to be pretty good too.

fr la, u can reach 3 other big cities quite easily: san diego (sea world, zoo), lv (gambling, theme hotels etc) n sf (golden gate bridge, fisherman's wharf etc). all these places also hv good factory outlets for shopping.

there r many scenic areas. north of la, there's the big sur coastline which is pretty n scenic. other scenic places include yosemite national park, which is northeast of la; grand canyon national park, which is 5 hr eastwards of lv; n zion national park, which is abt 3.5 hrs fr lv.

honesty

hi och...thanks for the pointers. Me planning to go for a long one to LA/LV and SF...also hoping to go GC. But frankly, i dunno where to start??? *scratch head* Any website that i can visit to start planning my itinerary? I'm interested in sight seeing, disneyland and also some factory outlets shopping.

1)Where to get maps, guides to all these?
2)How about hotel recommendations?
3)Is it wise to drive?
4) Is 2 weeks sufficient to cover LA/SF/LV and GC?
5) Is $10K sufficient for 2 pax?
6) Is it possible to get the SQ Sin-LA-Sin flight? Heard that one is pretty comfortable, but if we were to go LA/SF/LV/GC...how to go back to LA for return flight???

Zenn, we thinking of going either in Sept or Nov leh. Is Nov weather too cold by then?

Aaarrgghh...so sorry for the many many questions, but i'm lost!!

zenn

This thread become so quiet?

All the experts here, what are the activities in Yosemite? Cos most of the lodges in or outside Yosemite requires 2 nites stay but we worried there is nothing to do there. Any advise?

Hi honesty,
Sep weather is similar to spore weather. Nov is beginning for fall so not very cold yet.

For me, we will be travelling Sin-SF-LA-LV-GC-NY-Sin. Beside more 'shun' another reason why we starting from SF is because it cheaper to fly to SF then to LA/LV. We will be flying wif NW as SQ dun offers open jaw from NY. If you are keen in SQ, you will wanna check out if they have SIN-SF and open jaw from LV.

Think it will b gd to ve 3 nites in LA, 2-3 nites in LV, 1-2 nites in GC and 3-4nites in SF. This is generally a guide only. It's better to drive in LA. As for LV & SF, not necessary.

Hope the aboved help.

zenn

Also, we need a car from SF and return at LV. But Budget, Amos and Enterprise all dun ve pick up from SF. Beside Dollar, any other recommendation?

newcomer

Hi all, I need some advise here.
I am planning to have a one-time trip to the western coast.
LA (5 nites)-> LV (3 nites)-> SF (3 nites)
Is this a good travel flow? What would be the most efficient transport mode to link up my itinerary above?

joanelmo

I went for a month travelling around USA during my attachment there last year...so probably I can give some help to some of u... :p

Honesty> I would recommend LV. I love that place cos it's a City that never sleeps!! Most interesting is that u are suppose to hotel hop to look at the different themes of the hotels. One day is not enough for me to hop around the hotels althou it's only along "The Strip".

GC is near to LV, so can drive up to GC. But from my experience, it would be better to stay over a night there cos by the time u come down, it's very dark and can be dangerous to drive then.

It would be good if u are able to get the lonely planet USA. It provides u with a lot of info.

1) If u intend to drive, it would be better if u get a separate road maps. I m sure u can get it in the bookstores. If u dont have any idea, can search amazon.com for the books.

2)For hotel accomodation, try bidding at priceline.com . I always get the price that I wanted and good hotels(5 stars hotels!). hehee. That time I tried USD60(exclu tax) and able to get hotels like Courtyard by Marriott, etc. in different states.

3)It might be abit weird to drive left-hand at first, but it shouldn't be a big prob. Driving might be able to saves money and timing is more flexible.

4)2 weeks is sufficient to cover LA/SF/LV and GC.

5)$10k for 2 pax for 2 weeks should be sufficient. That time I spent ard $12k for 2 pax for a month's travel and shopping for branded stuffs. haha...cheap cheap there... :p

6)This question needs some planning... If u all drive all the way, then u got to plan out which way is more effective.

U really should go factory outlets to shop!!!! hehe. esp when u are LV. There are lots of factory outlets there. Do check out the hotel brouches for the address of the factory outlets.

Hope I had helped u solve some queries...

joanelmo

Now, let me try helping Zenn and CT,

Senn> Sorry about Yosemite, I didn't go...Can't help. Maybe u can tell me more about the place when u come back.

For car rental, u can try Avis-Rent-A-Car also. If I didn't remember wrongly, I use this company for my whole trip. Cos big company and most places have so I can drop off anywhere I wanted. hehe.

CT> I think SF-LA-LV or the other way would be more along the way...Driving would be the best method. I did that when I was at the west coast. But to warn u, SF parking is very very expensive!!!! But driving cost need to take into consideration of the insurance. Actually the insurance costs more than the rental of the car per day. haha. Do compare it with the Greyhound transportation to see which is cheaper for u.
Oh ya, driving there needs about 4hrs to go from one city to another. So got to be very careful not to doze off while driving..cos the roads are very straight there.

och

hi zenn,
downtown is marginally nearer to lv than anaheim. but anaheim is a bit closer to the entrance of highway 15 than downtown. so in short, not much diff.

yosemite is a nature place, so the activities r all nature-related stuff, eg hiking etc. there r lists of activities n the extend of participation in http://www.nps.gov/yose. if u look for places a bit further away fr the park, e.g. 1 hr or more drive away, there's less chance of there being a 2-day stay requirement.

i'm very certain u can rent alamo, avis, budget n all the major rental airlines fr sfo airport. once u reach sf airport, follow the signs to car rental n u will reach the shuttle bus stations. all rentall companies provide shuttles, maybe except for enterprise. the shuttle buses r big buses with lugguage racks for u to put lugguage.

hi honesty,
to start, it's really easiest to get a guidebook. try our national libaries for guidebooks. all guidebooks will hv at least a rudimentary map of the big cities. u can also google for more information.

2 wks is sufficient n $10k is definitely doable, unless u shop a lot. as for hotels, it's usually safe to go for the big chains. all the big chains, eg holiday inn, marriott, sheraton, hilton, choice, bestwestern etc, all hv different tiered accomodations n the lower tiered r fairly safe 2/3-star options.

u can fly from any of the places u visit back to la. sq only flies to la n sf, n there is a direct flight fr sin-la-sin, but it's going to be more expensive. lv flights hv been cancelled after sept 11. try www.southwest.com fr lv to la. book early for best fares though.

hi ct,
most efficient way is probably to fly. n the flow is fine.

zenn

Thanks Joan & Och,

Joan, we dun intend to rent a car when in SF. Will pick up oni last day in SF when we leaving for Yosemite.

Och, issit true that most of the car rental ve to pick up from airport. We are hoping to find one that can pick up from the city.

akoyo

i am planning for a trip to west coast of US, thinking of driving a loop, back to SF. Seems like death valley is not a popular place in this thread.. Is there other national parks that are worth going to, other than GC and Yosmite ? I was thinking of visiting it, since it will be on the way from LV to Yosmite.

Day 1 SF
Day 2 SF
Day 3 SF-LA (via 17 mile drive cum scenic highway 1)
Day 4 LA (Disney)
Day 5 LA
Day 6 LA
Day 7 LA - SD
Day 8 SD
Day 9 SD - LV (stop over at LV)
Day 10 LV - GC
Day 11 GC (see sunrise, hike)
Day 12 GC - LV
Day 13 LV
Day 14 LV - Death Valley
Day 15 Death Valley
Day 16 Death Valley - Yosmite NP
Day 17 Yosmite NP (Hike)
Day 18 Yosmite NP (Hike)
Day 19 Yosmite NP - SF
Day 20 SF (Flight back)
Any comments ? I am wondering if i have planned too many days for the parks..

newcomer

Thx och and joan. I have decided to drive from LA to LV but fly from LV to San Frans, but that would mean missing out on the Fresno Hearth Castle. Is that worth a visit? Second thing is that I wish to visit Yosemite. What's the best available option to visit from San Francs? Local day trip? Does this normally cost a bomb? Need some advice here.

och

sorry, hv not been replying. i just got back from my trip to peru.

zenn, there r pickups from sf city too. most car rental companies hv branches within the city. enterprise is the one company who is pretty good abt picking up n dropping off cars, but they r not so good abt open-jaw rentals.

places to visit in sf: golden gate park, fisherman's wharf, haight-ashbury, coit tower, castro street, lombard street, ghiredelli square etc. try to squeeze in a ride on the cable cars. the nice thing abt sf is that the entire city is set on undulating hills, n it's very nice to see the ocean after u go past a peak.

*o*, i've been to death valley n i didn't like it all that much. i would think that zion or bryce national parks in utah state r much more picturesque. zion is only 3 hrs drive from lv n bryce is abt 1.5 hrs further away (http://data2.itc.nps.gov/parksearch/state.cfm?st=ut). there r other np in the state of california: joshua tree, sequoia n kings canyon. try http://data2.itc.nps.gov/parksearch/state.cfm?st=ca to check the locations of the parks. i haven't been to them though. u can also consider going to the redwood forests n do horseriding or something.

as for ur itin, i think it's a little bit rushed. things might be ok if u do not suffer from jetlag, but if u do, fatigue can build quickly, since ur itin currently does not allow for that many resting days.

ct, there r tours to yosemite from sf. do a google search of yosemite tours n you should see many links. i had friends who went on the 1 day train tour b4 n they told me it wasn't too ex n u do get to see many key sights within the valley. however, most think it was fairly exhausting, since the day trip takes 12hrs or more. if u hv more time, can consider the 2-day tour instead. as for fresno hearth castle, i've never visited it.

oohlahlah

Hi experts,
Anyone of you here have visited Yosemite in Dec?? How's the weather like? Thinking of taking a 2 days tour to Yosemite from SF, but worried that it might be too cold for comfort.

stars03

Me and my hubby is planning to go to US for honeymoon some time this end oct for 2 weeks. Thinking of visiting LA, Las Vagas and San Fransciso. We are thinking of 2 weeks and free and easy coz i have been to US with my parents 5-6yrs back and also free n easy.

However the tickets for SQ to LA and back from San Fran is about $1900 for 1 if 2 to travel. But SQ got a current promo but it is for 4 to travel, meaning 4 pp need to travel on the same travel dates and it is only $1200 per person if 4 to go...we are thinking of finding another couple who is keen to go these places n see if our dates can fit and it is good for the 4 of us coz it is only $1200 each instead of $1900...we are flexible on our dates of travel as long as it is abt 3rd or 4th week of oct n b4 the school hols...looking at 2weeks. Anyone interested in sharing with us, pls pls email me at [email protected]. It is urgent as we r thinking of booking soon. Tks

stars03

We are not actually thinking of going everywhere with the couple but juz as long as our departure from spore dates and coming back to spore date is the same.

stars03

Hi littlemay,

So sorry but think the date is not suitable coz we intend to travel b4 the school hols start as it is consider a high peak period hence airtickets will be more expensive...we are actually targeting on the 26oct to make use of the 2 public hols in early nov..anyway reali thanks for replying...

stars03

Hi littlemay,

Hmm..is it? Anyway also concern that hotels will be more difficult to book and might be more expensive...

oohlahlah

Actually i don't think so....as long as it is not too near xmas.
In fact, the hotels might have special promotional rates for winter.
But then again, I believe the $1200 ticket is not open-jaw ie..you got to arrive in LA and depart in LA.

zenn

Hi littlemay,
Yosemite weather is pretty cooling but bearable. Its the journey that's tiring. Yes should at least stay for 2 nites. I just went for 1 nite n its pretty rush....

Hi stars & littlemay,
For hotels, you may wanna consider bidding thro priceline

zenn

Hi O,

Let me share wif you my itinerary :

Day 1 SF
Day 2 SF
Day 3 SF
Day 4 SF
Day 5 SF to Yosemite
Day 6 Yosemite to LA
Day 7 LA
Day 8 LA
Day 10 LA Disney
Day 11 LA to GC
Day 12 GC to LV
Day 13 LV
Day 14 LV to NY

And I can tell you its very tiring -_-

elven_princess

I was just back from my west coast america trip 2 weeks ago, & in my honest opinion, LA doesnt have alot to offer except for the parks. We spent 3 days there, which was slightly too much. 2 days is good. SF & LV has alot more to offer & we regretted not packing afew more days in there. 3 days in LV & 3 days in SF will be just abt right, i think. Did u gals went to the factory outlets & Primm & Tanger? I was there during their labour day sale so i got additional 10% off Coach, Polo Ralph Lauren, Guess, etc. Very worth it!

arte

Anyone can explain how to book local tours in LA for LA - LV (4 nights)- Grand Canyon - LA (4 nights) ?

I saw greyhound website and they do not allow International booking. Which means must book only after arrival in LA.
Anyone can recommend other coaches or Package tour which would be able to cater to Group of 25?