USA

tsubame

Hi sensech, thanks for your reply. I also printed out a Visa Waiver Program travelers guide by the US Department of Homeland Security on foreign passports guidelines to keep in my travel file in case of dispute. Even note down the Transportation Security Administration toll free number in case got any problem with luggage. I very kia-si, afraid of running into problem with authorities...

Am still puzzling over how to prevent my luggage lock combination from running. Am I worrying too much over trivals?

Anyway, my trip pretty much planned out already so not worrying too much about it. Only part not settled is LV, cos accomodation prices still not within my expectations. Good thing is USD is depreciating now.

heartyzz

Hi San

Yap, trying to see where to find the best located hotel at reasonable rates.

Which hotel are you staying at LF, SF and LA?

Also, which car rental company are you renting your car?

kean

Hi everyone, just my inputs.

Luggage locks - I strongly recommend locking the luggage cos you dun know what people can sneak into it if it is not locked. There are TSA approved locks which you can safely lock yet luggage screeners can open with an authorised master key. You should be able to get the locks from stores selling travel items.

Car insurance - LDW/CDW covers loss/damage to the car. Liability insurance (LIS or equivalent) covers damage to 3rd party (property or lives) while PAI covers injuries to yourself. Personally, I will buy LDW/CDW and LIS but not PAI as the my travel insurance will cover PAI. This article spells it out quite clearly: http://www.lawlink.co.nz/resources/rentalcars.pdf

Car rental - I like to use breezenet.com to get a feel of the market rates

Accommodation - I like to use hotwire.com. It is a last-minute booking site specialising in higher-end (3* & above) accommodation. Only catch is that the hotel will only be revealed to you after the booking is made. But if self-driving, it should not be a problem.

nesame

gerry,
still not yet done any bookings except researching. For LV, we are staying 3 nites. should be staying 2 nites in Treasure Island as the rates seem reasonable to us and the balance 1 nite after the drive back fr Grand Canyon, we will splurge abit more to stay at either Venetian or Bellagio. Then LA & SF, still searching. As my tour fare include 2 nites stay wz airfare, we still yet to decide to take up the 2 nites in LA, Anaheim or SF.

Car Rental, so far I had write in to a few of them (Hertz, Avis, National, Dollar, Alamo, Budget) as we need 2 full size car. So thinking if they can give us some special rates. But only Hertz and Avis reply. The rest are not helpful as they just ask me to 'check out fr the internet'. At this moment, Hertz rates is more reasonable to me. Quote for a full size car for 14 days is est US610nett include tax and LDW and 1 way rental. I had compare other website, and this quote is most reasonable at the moment. But the problem wz Hertz, they don't allow snow chain which I am intending to drive to Yosemite.*dull*

Kean,
Is those TSA lock expensive?

sensech

Cat, ur luggage has the number code on it one is it? Mine oso. It wont run so easily I guess. I suppose in order to code lock it, you hv to put the zippers into the hole first? If you are really afraid, then dun insert the zippers in. Just zip up will do.

I've seen winter wear shop selling those TSA approved locks which Kean mentioned above. I didnt buy it to use coz I'm not sure if it really works. Maybe you can check with the stores.

heartyzz

Hi San

I think Thrifty and Dollar has good price as well. Do check them out. Are you driving throughout the trip? When are you travelling and which flight are you on? For Yosemite, travel by highway 140. It's safer to drive and opens whole year round. Some other routes are close during winter. I am staying in LV for 3 nights. Still checking out accomodation. How much is Treasure Island per night?

As for locks for luggage, you can get the TSA locks from Robinson and I think other major departmental stores. There's a master key that the US custom can use to unlock if you lock your bags. It's priced at ard S$15 for those normal brands. They come in straps too if your luggage is hard case.

nesame

Gerry,
i email to thrifty and dollar but their reply only ask me check out from website which website is not offering any special compare to the one Hertz quoted me.

I am taking NW. Travelling 7Dec and rtn fr SFO 23Dec. I think will be takin 140 to yosemite as i roughly check out the drive fr monterey to yosemite at mapquest, that's the highway given. For TI, think my dates the rate shown is abt 1st nite US89 2nd nite US69 or 79. can't remember well.

Straps? What kind of straps is that? my existing old luggage is those hard case pin lock type wz no zip. so buying a TSA lock is not feasbile.

tsubame

Hi sensech, thanks for the tip. Never thought of not putting the zippers into the lock.

Thanks to Gerry too for places to find the TSA locks. I remember seeing them around too previously, but recently checked 2 luggage shops don't have. Will check out Robinson.

Something to share for hotels. Can check out their reviews on TripAdvisor b4 booking. I use it to shortlist hotels.

heartyzz

Hi San

The straps comes with TSA locks, so you can strap around your hard case luggage and the custom will have a master key to open the lock.

Thanks.. will check out the TripAdvisor website.

Never realised accomodation at Yosemite is so expensive. So I intend to cut short and stay just for a night instead of 2.

sensech

Cat, u r most welcome

Oh I saw the lock at Winter Time at jurong entertainment centre that time. I think its other outlets shd hv too.

heartyzz

How much do you think we should budget for the trip? If add everything together, including expenses, is it too expensive if each pax is S$5000 for 16 days trip? I am hoping to keep to minimal.. wonder how to.. Have changing ard S$5000 for shopping. Is it too much?

heartyzz

Another to check.

What can we do in LA besides going to Disneyland, Universal Studios and factory outlets? Is 5 days considered too many days there, if I only plan to go to Universal Studio?

sensech

My hubby and I spent less than $10k for our 11 days there but we took a land package. If you are going on your own and doing the planning urself, I suppose you shd be able to save a bit here and there. Minus away the land tour and airfare, most of the money would go to food and shopping. Food is not expensive if you go to those america diners. Abt USD10-20, you can get quite a big portion of food. And the things at factory outlets are much much cheaper than here so we oso spent an amount there.

janjanblues

juzt bought air tickets to LAX (direct flight..Yipee!!) will be getting a land package from there. anyone heard of the website gotobus.com? i got the webbie from here...seems not bad but wonder if anyone had booked from them before. or is it gonna be better if i book when i reach LAX?

also, does anyone knows the travelling time from LAX to LV? we might decide to drive if my hubby feels comfortable driving..

iluvbag

Sorry for the late reply. Let me try to answer your queries...

Gerry,
I spent 2 nights at yosemite as the first day cos after such a long drive from Grand Canyon to Barstow then to Yosemite, its better to rest 2 nights at yosemite. Moreoever, its winter and there's skiing, so we stayed for 2 nights.
And there's 4 of us (2 couples) so we shared one room. There's 2 queen sized bed in 1 room at yosemite. My total spendings is S$13k. I spent around S$6500 on food, shopping, entrance fees to places of attraction etc. Coach is definitely cheaper in States than in Spore. Those in factory outlet is cheaper than the boutique. Boutique ones are the designs avail in website and price are the same as website pricing. Factory outlet items are not avail in website. some designs are not really nice but u will still be able to find some nice ones there.
So it all depends on what designs you like.. i bought wristlet, mini skinny and wallet from factory outlet but the bag, i bought from boutique.

Hi San,
Yes. I rented from car rental company. LDW is basic coverage. But the insurance liability is to cover the compensation of any damages to the other's car if there's any accident. In states, they can sue u for damages if u knock onto their car and it can be very high. As we drove throughout the 23 days of our trip, we never know what will happen, so we bought insurance liability. Personally, i felt that if u are driving for a few days only, then there's no nee to buy. Just drive carefully.

Sorry for the late reply. Let me try to answer your queries...

Gerry,
I spent 2 nights at yosemite as the first day cos after such a long drive from Grand Canyon to Barstow then to Yosemite, its better to rest 2 nights at yosemite. Moreoever, its winter and there's skiing, so we stayed for 2 nights. And there's 4 of us (2 couples) so we shared one room. There's 2 queen sized bed in 1 room at yosemite. My total spendings is S$13k. I spent around S$6500 on food, shopping, entrance fees to places of attraction etc. Coach is definitely cheaper in States than in Spore. Those in factory outlet is cheaper than the boutique. Boutique ones are the designs avail in website and price are the same as website pricing. Factory outlet items are not avail in website. some designs are not really nice but u will still be able to find some nice ones there. So it all depends on what designs you like.. i bought wristlet, mini skinny and wallet from factory outlet but the bag, i bought from boutique.

Hi San,
Yes. I rented from car rental company. LDW is basic coverage. But the insurance liability is to cover the compensation of any damages to the other's car if there's any accident. In states, they can sue u for damages if u knock onto their car and it can be very high. As we drove throughout the 23 days of our trip, we never know what will happen, so we bought insurance liability. Personally, i felt that if u are driving for a few days only, then there's no nee to buy. Just drive carefully.

Hi san,
u can't accept PM.. my email is [email protected]

Hertz doesn't allow snow chains on their car? Hmm.. i'm not sure if they will know if u put on snow chains. But if you want to drive in Yosemite during winter, its better to put on snow chains, esp if you intend to go up to ski. The road is icy and slippery.

Hi Twinklestar,

the best time for shopping in states is:
- Dec (xmas sales)
- Dec (post-xmas sales from 26 dec till end dec)
- Early Jan (new yr sales)
- Jun (summer sales)

paulineda

Where did you book your internal flight tickets?
I tried CheapTickets.com and the cheapest is UA from LA to Tucson at $148.78 USD for 2.

Was looking for a cheaper alternative. Please kindly advise. Thanks. =)

sensech

Hi janice, I got my land package from gotobus.com too. Not sure if you can book from LA coz it will still be buy from internet right? Unless you buy it locally at a special price. But all ppl in my tour group seemed to book their packages online one leh.

melodykitty

i'm keen to make a trip to New York sometime next month. anyone knows how about to book the cheapest flight and roughly how much it costs? i have been there about 5 years ago. tat time Northwest Airlines was charging about S$1000+ range (incl. taxes) i surf numerous websites but air fares quoted was in the range of S$1800-S$2k!! has prices gone up so much?? pls advise

janjanblues

hi sensech,

i have decided to book from gotobus.com too! there r lotsa packages which i found good and cheap! thanks for ya reassurane.

bizibee

Hi Irene:

Based on your previously reply, u mention to us many factory outlets. Can advised which is the most worth visiting and the best bargain?

Thank

tsubame

De Snowyz, try www.Kayak.com for other available alternatives. I didn't want to run into problem with domestic flights, hence booked all one go with United.

For those who had been to LV, any visited Fremont Street? Am now considering staying Downtown as there seem to be something on for the 2 nights I'm there, so the Strip hotels prices are horrendous.

Also, for the 2 outlets in LV, Outlet Center and Premium Outlet, which one is better? I likely have time to visit one only. Will appreciate the advise. Thanks.

tsubame

Many of you here seems to be driving. But for those who are not, I recommend this website for day trips and excursions: www.viator.com

Handy to use, and great for looking up what to do. The reviews are a help too.

janjanblues

been reading thru the pages & shortlisted some of these hotels...pls give me ur comments

LAX: alot stayed at hollywood celebrity hotel. howvere, from the pic, it seemed quite old..more of a motel kind..but price quite competitive. it seems that it's really near to the walk of fame..but not sure if it's worth it? otherwise, any other hotels that i can consideer?

LV: MGM Grand, Excalibur & Hilton. thought tat LV Hilton's price was quite reasonable..any comments? excalibur was one of the lowest priced.but not sure if hotel condition is good? is it near those shopping area such as the caesar?

Also, is it necessary to stay in anaheim just for the disneyland trip? is it near LAX? wat's the travelling distance that i need to consider fr LAX to disneyland?

Many thanks in advance!

cookiencream

Hi Janice,

Indeed, Hollywood celebrity hotel is actually a motel and it's quite an old 2-storey building. Try to travel light as this hotel has no lift.
Room wise is pretty spacious include free continental breakfast; Conveniently close to Kodak Theater/Walk of Fame (within 5 mins).
The downside are worn-out bathroom and difficulty to park at its small garage.

hi joey,

factory outlets (premium outlets) pricing are the same in every state.. just tat some hv more brands than others. Gilroy outlet is the biggest of all. its in San Frans. As for LA, dessert hill outlet has more branded stuff than Camarillo.
The price are the same but the only diff is in taxes. San Frans tax is the highest.. ard 8.5%. LA 8.25% and LV 7.75%

janjanblues

hi snowy,

thanks for ya advice...i cant stand it if toilet is small...so might give that hotel a miss then..

anyway, anyone can advise the no of days to spend in LV? are 5 days sufficient or too much?

nesame

Phew, many days never come in. Very busy with work and also searching for accomodations. 3/4 of my accomodations done except for LV, GC and monterey (already shortlisted).

Snowy/Irene,
i check hollywood celebrity but it is so much more ex now compare to last year both you went. In fact, all the hotels px seem to increase as compare to last year. At first intend to book Hollywood Celebrity but later, manage to find 1 which is on the same avenue as hollywood celebrity hotel but slighly cheaper. Same kind of 'style'. I had roughly calculated, for my 13 nites hotel, i need to spend slightly over $2k for the accomodation not counting 2 nites included by my airline package. Accomodation real ex and most of them is just a motel.

Btw, I want to ask what is Fremont Street about?

tsubame

Hi San, Fremont Street Experience - http://www.vegasexperience.com/index.cfm

It is refered to as 'Downtown' in LV. Seems to be where it all started before things moved to the Strip. I booked with Fremont Hotel for my 2N, but is still looking out for reasonable accomodation on the Strip. 48hr cancellation policy.

Accomodation is really costing more than expected.

My other accomodations:
SF - Hotel Astoria (best to book direct from hotel website)
Anaheim - Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel (using MouseSaver's discount rate)

nesame

hi Cat,
for LV hotel, you can check www.lasvegashotel.com. The rates quoted on this website is the same as the special rates book thru' the hotel. But you can view all the rates in 1 page rather than go into individual hotel web to check out the promotions. But I have not book thru' them yet as I am still waiting for further price reduce. Not sure will they charge service fees too but it is good to use as a guide on the rates.

Anaheim i reserve Anaheim Plaza at $69 include tax. SF, i had booked Castle Inn. How abt your car rental?

Btw, the above website if you scroll to the bottomm, you can click the buffet list which they will mention the price for buffet for individual hotels.

kfkbmel

I am also going for a self drive for my honeymoon in December, and goig to the three Ls. However, I have no idea where to start booking. Any suggestions? Also, any recommendations for places to stay at Yosemite? Thanks.

tsubame

Hi San, thanks for the website. Must be something on the 2 days I'm there, cos rates are all high. Dunno if will fall nearer to date if they cannot fill, but I'm waiting.

We're not driving, hence no car rental. We'll be taking day tours. In LV, likely taking public transport like The Deuce to and fro the Strip and Downtown, and Outlet Center

BTW, any advise from the ladies who'd been there which is better? LV Premium Outlet or LV Outlet Center? Thanks.

kfkbmel

Hi San,

Thanks for the information. I really have no idea what to expect for Yosemite but your recommendation certainly looks good. So which accomodation did you take when you were there? What's the difference between this and Curry Village? Is this accomodation close to anything like shops or any tourist attraction? Did you drive there? Is it safe to drive to Yosemite in winter?

kfkbmel

I'm thinking of taking the 'LA, LV and Grand Canyon West 6-Day Tour Package' from gotobus. Are 2 nights in LV too short if I hope to catch a show and also take a walk on the strip?

tsubame

Like to check with people who'd been there, how safe are the streets at night? Especially for SF and LV, which we will be walking around on our own.

Of course we'll keep to well lighted and populated areas, but I understand the stretches between hotels on LV Strip is quite a distance. What are your experiences?

foodietravel

first time i'm on this thread so HELLO!! everyone

firstly, i'm not going USA anytime soon.. i've been to SF at least 5 times, LV at least 3 times, at least 3 times to Anaheim etc.. All just for holidays.. Usually free n easy and sometimes alone. I spent a week in SF last Sept by myself.. My family and HTB think that I musta bn living in SF in my prev life! ;) Love the place a lot.

BUY BUY BUY maps called MapEasy. It's water-resistent and more importantly, really the best map to travel in USA. Buy them from the local city bookshop or newstand. Not avail in Singapore i think. It's slightly pictorial and points out the hotels and wear to eat, shop. I've got London, SF, LV, LA, Minneapolis etc.. Very helpful.

United Airlines:
I'm a Krisflyer normal member so I usually take UAL because I can check in at Changi Airport and the SQ counter can checkin my onward connections for me if I take UAL since they're Star Alliance affiliates - saves me time and the connecting airport (LAX or SFO) will know that I've started boarding from SGP and if there's a delay from Changi, they'll look out for me to make sure I get connected on time.
IMPT!!! UAL does cancel or change flights. If u buy tix directly from www.ual.com.sg, u must check every few wks or month to make sure your flight hasn't been cancelled or timing changed. UAL may inform you only when the time comes but you may have other connecting flights or day tours and it'll be too late for you to get gd seats on another UAL plane.
UAL is esp gd if you are flying thru SFO because i think they use SFO as one of their HQ so there're many flights for u to choose and SFO has pretty decent food/shop outlets.

SFO - shortform for San Francisco airport
Visit www.flysfo.com for further info on SFO airport. May take awhile to load page hor because it is the airport homepage and all times are realtime.

BART - Bay Area Rapid Transit www.bart.gov
You can get from SFO to the Union Sq (Powell Street Station) by train. But i do not suggest it for those with big luggages. There're steps (can't remember if there're escalators) and the slopes of SF are detrimental to health and luggage pulling!

Staying in SF:
I always stay in Union Square area (something like Orchard Rd but it's more squarish instd of 1 long stretch of shopping).
I've stayed at Maxwell Hotel and Andrews Hotel. Sir Francis Drake also but that was donkey yrs back.. Go check http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g60713-San_Francisco_California-Hotels.html for the latest reviews.
TIP: If you do not like noise, don't stay at a hotel with Powell St as its address because you'll hear the cable car the whole day (from morning onwards).

If u stay at Union Square around Chancellor, Cartwright, Hyatt Union Sq (there are other Hyatts - four in SF I think), Florence, Westin St Francis etc, safe to roam till about 11pm alone. If you stay near Fisherman's Wharf area... can get reeaaally cold at night due to sea breeze. And a bit scary (or romantic i guess) after 10:30pm.

Shopping in SF's Union Square.
Kinda tiring because the Union Sq area is slanted downwards towards Macy's and if you plan to go shopping in the shops there.. try to shop from Bush St down to the next st which is Sutter St, then to Post St, Geary St etcbecause if you're a shopaholic, it's less tiring to carry your purchases down the slope than up the slope!!!... there's Victoria's Secret, Williams Sonoma, Border's Books(gd range of romance novels), Levi's, GAP, Banana Republic. All shops are 1 to a building so it means 2-3 floors of the same brand.

Eating at SF's Union Square :
Must try www.searsfinefoods.com for their pancakes.. Breakfast!! Diner style. If u dine alone, eat at the counter -it's faster. Be prepared to queue in the morning. They just underwent reno so when i went, dinner atmosphere was more expensive and romantic but not sure abt now.
http://www.lorisdiner.com/ Lori's Diner (the branch opp Crowne Plaza Union Sq) is also gd for bkfst.
http://www.bubbagump.com/ at Pier 39 near the carousel is one of the better branches due to the fresher seafood avail. Very fun dining experience.

If you stay outskirts such as at a hotel near SFO, you can save money but very difficult to get food and groceries. I stayed near SFO because I had early morning domestic departure and believe me when i say i'm hungry and had to call in for pizza. Looking out of the hotel gives me a lonely, untouristy feeling.

Do visit Sausalito http://www.sausalito.org/ I usually take ferry but make sure you catch the ferry timings. It's a romantic picturesque place. Don't shop there though. It's more arty and expensive. I just go for the view.. Only if you've three days there and wanna secnic spot! Love the Scoma's restaurant for the calamari. Expensive hor. http://www.scomassausalito.com/

Las Vgs
Got to http://v*gas4visitors.com/column/index.htm it's very up-to date ... almost weekly. Better than other websites.

LV airport:
Go to http://www.mccarran.com/ for airport info. If you're staying along the Strip (something like Orchard Rd), it's very fast and convenient to take shuttles from the airport). Abt 10-15 min depending on hotel.
TIP: The LV Area Map & Visitor's Guide is usually avail at the airport BEFORE customs. Get it. It's free.

LV Hotels:
I've stayed at Paris Hotel and Caesar's Palace (shopping!!). Locations are very good. My friend stayed at Venetian and loved it! Tried the waffle at Bellagio for lunch.

If you stay on the side of Bellagio,Caesar's Mirage, Treasure Island.. this stretch is pretty safe to roam till abt 11pm. Yes, even alone
Do avoid the flyers-giving male touts of course (women available for lonely/horny men)

For those of you who have prob getting gd rates for hotels at LV (eg, Cat). Try checking http://www.v*gasrooms.com/las-v*gas-conventions.html to see which dates clash with your arrival. It's super important because it also means that if more than 10,000 folks are gonna be in LV with you for conventions, Mccarran International Airport will be jammed. There was once when the queue stretched to the parking lot for checking in at airport departures!!! I prefer taking early departures from Mccarran cos it's faster. The airport can get very busy because of strict rules at custom checking.
Try not to stay near the Las V*gas Convention Center, eg. Hilton. Hotels near there are usually more biz-oriented and packed when conventions are held.

Fremont at Downtown LV http://www.v*gasexperience.com/ :
It's more famous for the Light Show at night. Not my cuppa tea because staying there gets crowded in the evenings due to pple going for the free light show (Imagine Bugis Junctions Overhead Glass Ceiling but no glass, i think solid ceiling, and there's a laser show beamed towards it) every night.

Two days 1 night is not enuf for LV because you may wanna catch some live stand up shows, magic shows or big-name singing performances. Visit http://www.v*gasrooms.com/las-v*gas-shows-tickets.html and key in your dates. If you don't gamble (er... IT IS LV after all?!!), just wanna see free lights, the Bellagio musical fountain or sit gondola at Venetian... i guess 2 days is more than sufficient but PLEASE remember to queue early for lunch/dinner. It can be chaotic sometimes. The biggest hotels with most rooms in the world are mostly in Las V*gas.
For 4-5 days, you shd be going to Grand Canyon and/or Red Rock Canyon. I preferred Red Rock in Sept. Not so desert hot. http://www.redrockcanyonlv.org/
TIP: Bring a good camera for night visual shots along the Strip.

Anaheim (Orange County Disneyland):

Hotels:
If you stay in LA and your hotel is not in Anaheim, you will miss out some fun. Why?
Because if you spend 2 nights and 1 day (eg, arrive in hotel at Anaheim abt late afternoon) , you can go to Downtown Disney District (just in between the main gates of Disneyland and California Adventure), you can have dinner and also buy your Disney Park ticket for the next day. Beat the queue/rush.
For hotel reviews, try http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g29092-Anaheim_California-Hotels.html for up-to-date reviews of hotels around Disneyland. I've stayed at Howard Johnson twice and it's walking distance.
For a MAP of ANAHEIM HOTELS near Disneyland:
You can TRY to open this file which i believe is from 2005 Dec but don't ask me if you CAN'T open it. http://anaheimoc.org/pdf/hot_1205.pdf

Disneyland Opening Hours:
http://disneyland.disney.go.com/disneyland/en_US/calendar/monthly/monthly?name=CalendarMonthlyPage&bhcp=1
For your info, Disneyland has different opening hours for Park safety. Open longer during summer. In 2008 - May 26 thru Sep 1 - weekends will be crowded due to summer vacation.

In Anaheim, Knott's Berry Farm is kiddyish fun too! Home of Camp Snoopy!

LASTLY, sales tax in USA varies so if you don't bother how soon you wanna start carrying your honeymoon presents in your luggage, check out http://www.miketodd.net/encyc/salestax.htm cos it's like our GST. LV is under Nevada. SF and Anaheim/Orange County are under California.
Sales tax is NOT the same amount as Hotel tax hor!!

Hope all the above benefits you all!! And hope my info is appreciated;)

foodietravel

To Add On:
I'm not sure if the sales tax listed on http://www.miketodd.net/encyc/salestax.htm are still valid or whether they've been increased as it's dated Jan 2007.

To save $$:
Eat at diners instead of restaurants because you must tip your personal server abt 15% at the restaurant.
There's Mel's Diner at Universal Studios, In-and-Out Burger at Fisherman's Wharf, several Krispy Creme donuts shoppes in LV.
But you must eat at Cheesecake Factory, esp the one atop Macy's at SF's Union Square (opens till very late). Worth the visit and portion sizes are gd for two. Have to give tip though.
Hot dog stands are available in SF.

If u plan to drive (i don't like driving in US even though i've driven for 20+ yrs in Singapore), try not to drive in SF because the some slopes are really steep and going downhill can get freaky.

Driving out of LV is pretty staightforward when not in winter.

Los Angeles peak hour driving is bad esp if foggy but w/o a car, kinda expensive to take taxis.

Some of the hotels i stayed in are slightly more expensive because I save on transport and being alone, I can get back late abt 11pm-12midnight w/o worrying abt safety.

Luggage:
Bring hard luggage if possible esp if travelling in winter because luggages are out in the cold before going into the planes. DO NOT lock your hard luggage!! Leave your 3 or 4 digit codes as they are. Simply CLOSE the luggage. Then....
Buy luggage straps with TSA (Travel Sentry Authority) approved locks. Use these to strap around your hard luggage. These straps can be locked. The US airport authorities have generic keys to open the locks. Even if they don't bother to use their keys, they only damage your strap, not your main luggage.
THEN.... When in hotel/motel room, always lock your main luggage. Chambermaids can't steal anything. But remember to GET RID of your airline bar-coded label that was stuck on during check-in departure.

Any other questions? ;)

ec8

Thanks M for the information you hve shared with us! Gonna check out some of your recommendations for my honeymoon in Dec 07. And thank you for the info abt UAL! I booked all my Int'l and domestic airline tickets with UAL & I'm surprised to learn that they do cancel flights!

foodietravel

My pleasure, ec8.

If you nd any other info, just lemme know. I'll see if i can answer asap cos your honeymoon is drawing nearer. If you don't mind sharing the dates you're in US, which part & when, i'll try my best to advise if you're interested.

ec8

Hi M

Thanks vry much for your offer. Here's my draft itinerary:

06Dec - Arrive Tokyo ard 3pm. Stay 3 nights.

09Dec - Arrive San Francisco on morning flight. Stay 4 nights; accomodation tentatively Omni San Francisco; Places to visit: Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach & Union Square

13Dec - Depart SF & arrive LA ard 2pm. Stay 3 nights; accomodation still searching; Intend to spend 2 more nights in Las Veg*s; accomodation tentatively Four Seasons Las Veg*s. Still researching on how to get from LA to LV & back, also considering flying from SF to LV then one way transpo from LV to LA. Any suggestions?

18Dec - Depart LA for Honolulu. Stay 4 nights. If anybody has good hotel recommendations in Hawaii, do share with me please!

We don't intend to rent a car so any tips on getting around would be good.