USA

krispy

good morning ladies,

anyone know where's the nearest factory outlet in LA? hubby and i have 2 free days in LA. still wondering what else there is to do there.

has anyone been to long beach or seal beach before? any recommendations?

hippie

Hi pple,

Desert Hill is abt 1 hr 15 mins to 1.5 hrs drive frm LA downtown. Less time if u speed all the way :p
But i certainly dun encourage tat cos smtimes they hav patrol cars parked alongside the highway shoulders, esp. in LA area.

And ginn is rite, Desert Hill has more branded outlets. Must check out Gucci outlet, their range of bags maybe off season but its def. cheaper. Ferragamo too, smtimes they have promos like their shoes & sunglasses gog for less than US$100, designs are past seasons too but pretty decent. In addition, they hav the usual outlet stores like A/X, DKNY, Guess, Coach, Polo, etc.

Camarillo is abt 45 mins drive frm downtown LA. They have the outlets like Coach, CK, Polo, Guess, etc.

ginn

Hi Hippie,

Do you know how much cheaper are the gucci bags? Pretty tempted to go there! :p Do they have a lot of different ones on sale? hehe..

hippie

hi ginn,
depending on ur luck, sometimes they have bags costing less than US$200 or slightly more. But dun expect the latest designs or a wide range.

I bot a big black monogram hobo for abt US$250, pretty worth it if u ask me cos it very roomy. One thing is tat they will imprint a small hole (using the hole puncher for the belt) in the label inside the bag. They did tis only for stuff bot frm tat outltet, so dun be alarmed when u saw them doing it.

Should die die go to Coach oso, cos smetimes (dependin on ur luck too) they have discounts on certain range of bag which come up to less than US$200. I bot quite a lot of Coach when i was there cos its def. cheaper than SG!

ginn

hi hippie!

Thanks! hmm... shall see if i have enough time or not in the first place, better not tire my hubby too much from driving just for my shopping :p But deals sounds good!

Yup will definitely go to coach outlets, they're located in all outlets everywhere so it's easier...

kean

You can receive a complimentary VIP Coupon Book filled with hundreds of dollars in added savings and special offers at participating Premium Outlet stores. Just visit www.a-fitguide.com, go to the "Contact Us" tab, click on "For queries or information about our services, please email here" to email them and ask about getting the Premium Outlet complementary VIP Coupon Book.

sinkor

I am going to US (LA, LV & SF) on next year Feb. Any hotel (LV & SF) to recommend? Any nice place to go? As I really dunno anything except DIsneyland & Universal Studio :p

Hi Kean,
Thanks for the weblink.... very useful for me as "first-timer" :D

hippie

Hi ginn, u r welcome! happy shoppin!

hi kean, the coupon book can also be collected at the outlet mall customer service counter itself. Personally i find its not much of a great deal to me, cos most of them hav minimum purchase criteria...

hi sinkor, u can read thru' the thread 4 more info..

sinkor

Hi hippie,

Have roughly read thru the thread and still abit blur.... wat is BART in SF? then wat is LV strip? etc....aiyoyo... i really "sua koo"... haha...
any recommendation on hotel in LV and SF and which weblink can offer the best price?

krispy

hi sinkor,

BART is like the mrt in singapore cept that it's in sf.

LV strip is where all the attractions and major hotels and casinos are in LV. however, fremont street where the lights canopy are is north of the strip.

depending on your budget and where you wanna stay, you can try checking out the rates offered by
www.hotels.com
www.travelocity.com
www.expedia.com

these websites are like search engines helping you to search for hotels and stuff.

sinkor

Hi KrispyKreme,

Thanks for your info.... May I know if i want to travel from LA to LV to SF, which transportation is more recommend whereas we intend not to drive in US.

sorry to ask....for LV, what you mean by "light canopy"? and which strip is more interesting??

krispy

LA to LV to SF... hmmz... for myself, i'm taking a flight from LA to LV. it's from a US based budget airline called southwest. you can go check it out at www.southwest.com

from LV to SF.. ermz.. that one.. really not too sure. for our itinerary, we're starting from SIN - SF - LA - LV - LA - SIN. From SF-LA, we're taking the greyhound overnight bus. it's around 8-9 hours journey, www.greyhound.com. and LA - LV - LA, we're taking a return flight. it's around USD100 per person for the flight.

you may want to consider either flying from LV to SF or taking a bus. a bus from LV to SF is around 12 hours if i'm not mistaken. i'm not too sure.

by 'light canopy', i mean there's a sort of sheltered area where there are lights displays on the ceiling area.

i'm not too sure which strip is more interesting. hehe.. i haven't gone for my US trip yet. i heard from my cousin and other forummers here that the interesting parts are where the bellagio and paris hotels are... around center strip. i'll let you know in november after my trip. hehehe. :D

sinkor

Hi KrispyKreme,

Realy thanks for your info.... remember to keep me in post when u are back from your US trip! How long u staying there? for me, in LA, should be no problem for me as relative staying there.... now my concern is LV & SF......

As for the strip in LV, if not wrong, it is one whole road stretching with colourful hotels? I heard from my friends that he took hours in the night to walk from one end to another end....

krispy

haha... you're welcome. i'll be staying for 2 weeks. it's really far to walk everywhere on the strip plus it'll be hot to walk everywhere. from what i saw, there seems to be a monorail which you can take from one end to the other end. hubby and i are thinking to sleep the day away and start walking from evening throughout the nite. hehehe... might as well start tuning my clock back to singapore time since we'll be taking the flight back to singapore after lv. :D

sinkor

yaya...my friend, who is a guy, went to walk from 12midnite till 3am plus leh..... somemore he is alone and that y he took alot of beautiful pics w/o anyone blocking the view.... maybe I should try that too :p

ginn

hi gals!

Just wondering have you gals heard anything abt Locks has to be TSA locks for our luggages to go US? Do we really need to buy such locks? Thanks!

krispy

sure we have to buy locks for our luggages? i'm not too sure about that. what if the customs officer die die wanna take a look inside? would they cut our straps or bust our locks then?

my friend just went to US and she said her luggage was clearly opened cos her stuff was all over the place.

why don't we hear from those who has more experience in going to the states?

hippie

hi pple, the LV strip is really very long, it takes at least 1 day just to walk from 1 end to the end with minimal stopping. So be prepared & wear comfy shoes 4 walking if u intend to conquer the entire strip. ANd yeah there are monorail from certain hotels to another but if u really wan to experience all the hotels, its better to walk.

There is another old LV strip, its at Fremont St, its where the old 'Shuang tian zhi zhun' is flimed (the ZOe Tay & Li Nan xing gambling show). I dun really noe how to describe it but its worth to go there & take a look. More info - http://www.vegasexperience.com/

its abt 15 mins drive frm downtown LV.

Freebie alert: Go to every casino hotel to apply for the members card, just produce ur passport. MGM Grand give out a nice metal keychain wif every membership application. Some others have coupons for playin at the tables. Every casino have diff. vibrantly designed cards & the quality of the card is like credit card. So its like a little souvenir to bring home other than the mandatory magnets.

Lastly, u can't lock ur luggage since after the sep 11 incident. Best to carry any exp. stuff wif u on board. Wat they do is do random checking so ur luggage may or may not be opened. I lost my spoilt sony ericsson hp when i came back. Kinda regretted it putting inside the luggage.

anyway hopes the abv info help...

och

u r not allowed lock ur check-in lugguage when u go to the us. if the lugguage is locked, the lock is likely to be cracked open at customs, especially after the london bomb scare. if customs officials crack ur lugguage open bcos it was locked, u r not likely to be compensated by the airlines for the lugguage. i'm not sure if insurance will pay. that's what happened to my mum when the built in locks in her lugguage-securing strap accidentally shifted. customs tore off the handle for her lugguage, n we had to find a new piece of lugguage for her.

krispy

with the london scare and such, are we allowed to carry our electronic items with us as hand carry, e.g. cameras, handphones etc. ?

ginn

Yes i heard abt the issue of locking luggages. But i understand we can only use TSA (Transportation Security Administration) approved locks as they're able to open it, saw it thru the the web below and also from sales girl at the Robinsons luggage dept, these locks shld be used when going to US.

It's only if u use the other locks, they'll break it open.... The cheapest lock i found is ard $16.

Check this weblink: http://www.planettraveller.com/news/SealLuggagetoUSAwithTSA.pdf#search='tsa%20locks'

I think camera shld be fine. Think safest maybe we have check with the airline direct before we depart.

Hippie, thanks for the freebie advise!

weoseek

I’m back from US already.

Just some comment:

If you r taking United/Ted for internal flights within US. Take note that they allow only 50 pound each bag. So if you bringing a big luggage bag for 2person, and over 50pounds..u’ll be charge $50usd. So make sure u divide out carefully. Its quite a stupid system, but no choice leh..They allow each pax 2 luggage, each 50 pounds.

Alcratraz pre paid ferry tics: Somehow I think the prepaid queue is longer than buy tics at the normal queue. So pls be there earlier to collect your tics.

Re: Locking bag
All bags to US should not be locked. They will open up our luggage to check. So if its locked I think they will use pen knife to cut your luggage leh.

Phantom
Its very nice show with good effects. So if you r a fan of it, more worth to buy the most ex tics. I got the usd100 one. Cannot even see the face. But I enjoy it though.

weoseek

LV transportation:
Bus $2 per trip or $5 unlimited for whole day.
Monorail: $5

I find that really need a car in LV. I walked from MGM to Venetian need 45mins..really painful for my legs ! hehe. So never walked further anymore.
Finally manage to go to the fashion show mall only when we got a car after back from Grand Canyon.

For SF transportation:
There’s cable car $5 one way or MUNI(similar to bus/some are older version of cable car) $1.50 per trip but ticket can be used for transfer into another MUNI within 90mins. So I took MUNI most of time in SF.

Bart only when tranfer from airport to hotel.

Sinkor,
I took flight from SF to LV from united by Ted. Quite convenient, as its only 1hr flight.

sinkor

Hi Weoseek,

Thanks for your advices!!! Really appreciate it! between, do you have any itinerary to share with? can PM me? Thanks!

Although my US trip is on Feb, abit kiasu to research now but still have to do it as my hubby simple "bo chap"...haiz.....

ginn

hi weoseek!!
welcome back!! How's the weather there?
ok guess i better lock my luggages then....

Care to share what hotels you stayed and how were they?

weoseek

SF was around 60F ( ~15C-20C) while LV 100F (~38C) when I visited in first week of September. Too cold for me at SF, too hot at LV. Hehe.

My accommodation:

SF:
Stratford Hotel (~usd370 for 3 nite include tax)
Room as expected from lissa’s feedback is small. But is clean with good location and breakfast provided. I find it a bit noisy also. Overall ok just that I felt I paid too much for this hotel liao.

LV:
MGM (usd90 per nite for 2 nite)
Hotel is very big, room is also big. But not as good as I expected. I thought it should come with plasma tv&free internet from website. But no leh. Good thing is they offer free ride to Primm Outlet for hotel guest which normally cost usd15.

Monte Carlo (usd70 per nite)
This is my fav. Cheap and nice room. Also come with 1for1 Breakfast. But car park no good. Theirs is open area parking, and very little parking space. While the rest of hotels has multi level parking.

Grand Canyon:
Holiday Inn Express (usd130+ include tax)
Although it says 2mile away from GC, I felt the car ride takes forever. Breakfast provided. So I recommend those lodges which is just right beside the canyon like Bright Angel Lodge & etc, except Yayapai I think…which need to walk across few streets to see the canyon.
The entry to GC is usd25 valid for 7 days and you can enter at any time to the park.

My itnery
Day 1: Reach SF hotel around 3pm noon. Visited area around hotel, Chinatown, Fisherman Wharf
Day 2: Alcratraz, Fisherman Wharf
Day 3: Sausalito (Supposed to go Gilroy shopping, but cannot find transport)
Day 4: Fly to LV. Explore LV hotels + Phantom
Day 5: Shopping at Primm and explore nite of LV
Day 6: Drive to GC passed by Hoover Dam
Day 7: Back to LV in evening (Used the 66 historical route) + visit Fashion Show mall + LV Downtown
Day 8: Flight back home
Some notes:
SF: Try their sourdough+clam chowder, Ghiradelli fudge choc drink, shrimp/crab
Take Muni no. 28 to Golden gate bridge ( I took the wrong muni, make me walked 2hrs+ to reach the bridge..hehe)
Parking in SF is really expensive, so plan well – can cost up to usd 20-30 per day.

LV: Dun forget the Fremont street experience, quite special. I find Luxor, Paris, NYNY very very nice to stay as compared to MGM (But not sure of their rates)

Hope this helps…

krispy

thanks weoseek for the itinerary. i'm so so excited now.

btw, what's at sausalito? hubby and i are planning to spend some time at haight-ashbury. would love your feedback.

Dear Weoseek,
Thanks for sharing so much information! I also made bookings for Stratford hotel.. but at a lower rate though.. Guess i can't expect much since the hotel is at a good location.

U managed to get a real gd rate for MGM. I checked the rates for dec and it cost USD160 per night. So expensive.

chickensoup

i'm also planning to go in mid dec and bringing along my girl who will be 18mths old by then. Anyone brought kids along to LV? How's the weather like during dec?

Can anyone share with me which domestic flight is better to take? is it ok if i take any of them provided by the agent?

hi alien,
How many days will u be there?
For us, we will be driving there. I will be there from 13 dec till 4 jan.
Have made all my bookings, amounting to abt S$3k per pax for airtickets, hotels & car rental. The most expensive hotel is the one at yosemite. cost me S$250 per night as i will be there during the new year.

Any idea if there are fireworks in the states for festive season like new year on 1 Jan?

Hi LV,
i have no idea on the weather in LV. I only know that it will be winter time. Hmm.. i better do some research on the exact weather condition.

weoseek

Krispy,
I go sausalito cos its very easily accessible since i hv no car in SF. Just take a ferry from pier 41. Surprisingly, it's very beatiful there.

LV,
Wow..impressed with you dare to bring bb to US. I dunno when ever will i dare to bring my bb to US, cos even i myself could not stand the long distance flight.

U can try United by Ted(www.united.com.sg). The seats can be chosen at the point of booking. The only drawback is sometimes the flight will delay by 30mins loh and luggage is strictly 50pounds per bag. But as compared to those southwest flight which is open seating..i think united is more suitable for family with kids.

yewkim77

hi irene,

we will be staying in LV for 5 days, and 3 days in SFO. we have made all our booking too. airfares, domestic flight, hotels. each pax at S$2.3k. consider cheap compared to last trip we booked thru chanbrothers (Jan06).

weather at LV is kinda cold during winter. 2-10 degree. i wonder am i need long john? i scare cold.

yewkim77

i am TTC now. but scare i am not able to fly in dec once i striked. shall i stop TTC until dec? any advise?

miso_888

Hello Sinkor

I am going in mid feb 2007. Have you book your flight yet. I hv booked our flight on SQ to L.A. & trasfer to UA direct to L.V.. I going on free & easy. How about you, what is your plan ?

sinkor

Hi mimi,

I have booked my flight (but havent pay yet). I am taking Asiana Air bcos i need to stop over at Korea to visit my in-law....
ya. me going F & E too. I also plan to go LV first, then LA and last is SF and fly back to Korea. how about u?

miso_888

Hi Sinkor

As hb need to work unable to go long holidays..only can spent max.8days, 5days
thru-out in LV. Not forgetting the flying time we actually wasted 3 days.

I leaving on 16Feb night flight via Taipei. How about you? Asiana Air via korea (SEL) will you be stopping in SEL first for a few days then continue flying to LA or SF or LV ?
How many days will you be spending ? As for hotel in LV have you decide ?

Hi alien77

May i know what is TTC ?

weoseek

Hi alien,
I think if u really wanna enjoy your trip and go without any worries, you may wanna consider one “made in USA†rather than TTC now. During early stage of pregnancy, some ppl may hv very bad morning sickness/bleeding etc. So really not advisable leh. Just my opinion, though, I dun encounter any problem during my 1st trimester.

sinkor

Hi mimi,

so u only purely going to LV? My current planning is leaving on 11 Feb, stay 3 nite in LV (1 whole day is for the Grand Canyon tour). then the rest of the day in LA/SF...
as for hotel, i have no idea yet..... maybe aiming circus circus as recommended here :p
I will go USA first then back to Korea (so that I can adjust back the "timing" gap in Korea) haha....

miso_888

Hi Weoseek, Thanks for explaining i "sua koo" pai seh...but i agreed with you "made in USA" better. As for me, i had morning sickness...and never enjoy going out. Just want to sleep during 1-2 trimester. BTW, is it worth going to Primm Outlet ? As for hotel, which hotel will you recommend beside MGM along the strip.
Hi Sinkor

If you go USA first then you have to transit 10.5hrs at the SEL airport. Wow! very stressful waiting time.
Circus Circus in the LV strip. I maybe booking this hotel too for 1st two nights due is weekend hotel very expensive. For the rest weekday may stay at a better ones but still have not decide yet.

Hi Alien,

The cost of ur trip is v reasonable. My whole trip cost me abt S$3k per pax incl air tickets, hotel & car rental throughout the 23 days. I am going with another couple, so we split the cost of the car rental.
Wow! LV is so cold in dec?? I might need Long John cos i am scared of cold too. I dun wana fall sick there.