USA

weoseek

KrispyKreme,
For my trip in Sept, I book 2 nite MGM for ~USD90 per nite, and 1 nite Monte carlo ~USD70 per nite. (Cos in between I'll go grand canyon) I noticed that Monte carlo is very cheap..u can get room for 60-80 with their internet promotion.

krispy

Hi weoseek,

how are the rooms in monte carlo? wow.. you got mgm for really cheap. i checked yesterday at the official website and the rates were over USD130 per nite at Mgm. horrible horrible. even luxor was super expensive. hubby and i were so looking to staying at luxor. i guess now we'll have to settle for something a lot cheaper.

weoseek

KrispyKreme,
I saw from the website the monte carlo rooms seems not bad, slightly smaller than MGM. But it should be sufficient for 2 person.
Monte carlo is at least 3.5star, while MGM 4star..so i dun think it would be that bad after all.
Maybe u can book first, then wait for my review after i got back from my trip in mid Sept? Cos they hv a 48hour refund policy.

p/s: For San Fran, I used Lissa's recommendation Stratford..thats really cheapest, but still cost 100+ per nite.
By the way, why you dun want to take flight back to LA? Its only 1 hr flight cost <USD50? While coach is 6hr and cost almost same.

krispy

whoa... the flight is that cheap? southwest? including taxes? wow.... i'll definitely go check it out and take a flight back if it's that price. thanks thanks.

krispy

hi hi weoseek... i got the tics from southwest. you're right. it's cheap. thanks so much.

but i checked out monte carlo and it was usd 400 over while circus circus was only usd 230 or so. still going for the cheaper one lar. haha.. save more to buy souvenirs back. haha

weoseek

Krispykream,

Wow…I always thought monte carlo is lauyar hotel judging from the rate they give for sept..i think circus circus is fine too..all the hotel along the strip are not bad one I guess.

Why u dun wanna make your trip SF->LV-> LA? More on the way. Buy a domestic flight from SF->LV (USD100) then either drives from LV->LA(4hr drive, or flight USD50)?

krispy

hi weoseek,

we're taking a bus from SF to LA cos it's an overnite bus. in this way, can sleep along the way and save on 1 nite's accom. we're still trying to keep the costs to a minimum.

i just researched the air tickets online and it's so so expensive now. the travel agent told me there are no promotions now and asked me to wait till mid to end sept to buy. do you think it's safe? cos i'll be booking my hotels, car rental and misc items within the next few weeks to get the special rates. and with special rates, the costs are charged to my credit card immediately upon booking. what should i do? the air tickets are around S$2k per person now.

ginn

hi krispykreme,

i'll be renting car from SF and drive thruout all the places and return car at LAX.
circuscircus at usd230?? that's ex, you sure? for my dates currently on expedia it's only usd49! But i havent started booking anything yet except air tics! :p

Hey, i just checked NW web... www.nwa.com.sg think they may have promo for your dates. I just tried depart on 8 oct (SFO) and back on 22 oct(LAX), Fare for 2 pax including tax is $2648!!!! Go check it out!!!!!!!

weoseek

krispykreme,
Hmmm..i had bad experience with air ticket. Its so hard to get ticket to US. I had to go with United, and my tic include tax cost $2.3k for 1 person..cost is more than SQ..just cos I book late. So pls get a hold of the tics fast.
If i'm not wrong, SQ flight also had promotion now..$2.8k for 2pax.

I also dun think its wise idea to take overnite coach leh, unless u can sleep very well..else u'll get too tired to do anything the next day.

krispy

hi weoseek. i called up the travel agents yesterday and the sq flight of S$2.8k for 2pax does not include taxes. with taxes, it came up to around S$3.4k for 2.

ginn, i've heard horror stories of northwest. anyone who has taken nw? could anyone let me know how's the service and seats. it's a >14 hr flight... wouldn't wanna be with a horrible airline.

natas fair is in end sept.... do you think they'd have cheaper air tics? air tics are the main expense right now actually. so so expensive. i'm so torn. dunno whether to pay more and buy now or take the risk and buy it later and probably get it for 1k cheaper.

weoseek

KrispyKreme,
I think u can reserve the tics..issue and pay for the air ticket only need to be done 2-3wk before actual departure if the tics are not under promotion. So keep look around in btw loh.

krispy

the northwest deal i got is from the website and got to book online. none of the agents i called have this deal. if i book now, i'll have to give my credit card and pay for it.

i'll still look around lar. thanks a lot for the help.

ginn

hi krispykreme,

i got a friend who is a frequent flyer with NW to US, dont hear of horror stories leh.. in fact it was UA that my hubby got a bad experience with. And i think NW has upgraded some of the planes, so they have newer planes for certain flts now.

Today i saw newspapers seem like a lot of promos rite...

Risk of booking during Natas fair is that there may not be available seats for cheaper fares for your travel dates. Cos i tried to book during Natas fair before for Dec period, and the tickets were like super ex!!

If you can find a good price which costs less than 1.5k with taxes per person, then think you shouldn't wait till later...

krispy

hey everyone. we found tics for china airlines (which i read pretty good reviews of online) for only S$1317 pax inc tax. gonna go collect it from the travel agent tomorrow cos she says the promotion is gonna end soon.

now searching for directions to drive to grand canyon from LA. hahaha.... got it into our minds to stay there for 1 nite. i feel so 'ulu' when i look at their highway maps. it's like all over the place.. like playing snakes and ladders. hahahahaha. anyone has stayed over at grand canyon before? can recommend a place to stay?

ginn

hi krispykreme,

Ya i read china airlines having promo too. Good that you found your ideal air fares.

If you wanna stay inside Grand CAnyon, then you better start booking early. The lodging inside get sold out months in advance if your dates is popular www.grandcanyonlodges.com.

Alternatively, the next nearest town will be Tuscany then followed by flagstaff or williams for cheaper alternatives but it's probably an hour drive to grand canyon.

weoseek

KrispyKreme,
I book holiday inn express recommeded by Och for grand canyon..cost around 128 before tax. Approx 2 miles to grand canyon.

ginn/KrispyKreme
Anyone of you plan to book any show for cirque du soleil?? I'm wondering which one is better? O or mystere? During my stay at LV, KA is not showing, too bad. I plan to book first before leave for LV.

krispy

hmmz... i'm not too sure which cirque show is better? think they have another one which is the cirque beatles tribute rite? called love i think.

you can read up on the reviews online if you want but the type of cirque show to go to really depends on your preferences. i saw the cirque show when they came down to singapore the other time. forgot the name... about some invisible guy and a girl's fantasy. not bad lar. but for me, i'd much rather see the beatles tribute cos i'm a huge beatles fan.

why don't you see what 'o' and mystere is all about and see which you prefer?

krispy

hey... someone mentioned earlier in this thread about being unable to purchase the 6 flags tics online rite? has it been resolved?

i tried buying the universal studios tics and 6 flags tics online yesterday but no success. for universal, the website kept on bringing me back to the same page even after i clicked on the checkout icon. so irritating.

btw, i'm staying at best western stovall's inn at anaheim. any comments? heard it's within walking distance to disneyland. wonder if it's true. :p

krispy

also, is it better to visit disneyland on a saturday or on a weekday? we were thinking of going on saturday cos it's open till midnite whereas on weekdays, the closing hours are at 6pm. will the lines be very very long? we're going in october. with the closing hours at 6pm, we won't be able to watch the parade and fireworks rite?

weoseek

KrispyKreme,
Actually I no fan of acrobatic shows, or any shows. But everybody says must watch a show in LV…I must make sure I do watch one..hehe..U r not bad, at least when they come to Sg u’ve watch already..so dun need to squeeze this in your schedule.

I may be watching Phantom of Opera at The Venetian..Hubby felt if we can’t see clearly at least we can “listen†to the songs..cos all the cheaper tics sit soooo far. Doubt we could see the stunts in cirque show clearly haha.

krispy

hey weoseek,

we're also gonna watch phantom at the venetian. it has long been a favourite of mine. actually, i made a vow to myself a long time ago that i would watch the 3 great musicals, miss saigon, phantom of the opera and les miserables. i grew up with these 3 musicals. listened to it so much till i know almost all the words and have played it in my mind so many times.

i've watched miss saigon when they came to singapore but i missed les miserables. so so sad. now going to lv will get to watch phantom. yay!! hehe

btw, you might want to consider watching circue in singapore. they come down all the time anyway and you might be able to get cheaper tics in singapore. the show in singapore is held in a not too big tent top and think everyone gets a really good view. i bought a quite expensive ticket, about 4 rows from the front, but still less than S$100 i think. can see everything and got the characters walking around us as well. quite fun. but i wouldn't wanna watch it again lar. acrobats are not my cup of tea.

ginn

hi ladies!

krispykreme, i shortlisted Best Stovall's Inn too but havent book yet. I read reviews that it's 10min walk to Disney. Did u book thru expedia? I saw it was usd65 rite?
Huh, Disney close at 6pm??!! I tot i read it's 11pm? Wkday shld have shorter queues i believe.

Are you gals planning to stay at Hollywood area to go universal studios? Which hotel/motel did u gals choose? So many, dunno which is better.

Weoseek, i havent look at any plays in LV yet, how much are they usually?
Btw where u gals intend to stay at LV? Me trying to budget, guess cant stay at the good hotels, cos my dates is really ex!!!

For Grand Canyon, i've booked Kachina Lodge within GC itself, it was 125 before tax... was lucky managed to get a room inside, all other lodges inside are fully booked for my date already.

krispy

i booked best western stovall's inn thru diners cos i had a voucher which i had to use. it wasn't bad. i got the rooms for only usd68 or sgd111 per nite including tax. was quite surprised.

btw, disney closes at 6pm on weekdays in october but opens till midnite on saturdays. i'm not staying in the hollywood area cos hubby and i don't wanna keep on moving. we'll be staying at best western stovalls for the entire LA trip and driving to universal/hollywood.

the plays in LV are from usd 30 to usd150 depending on what kind of plays/shows you plan to watch. the phantom is going from usd50 to usd150 i think. i'm staying at circus circus in LV. for my dates, it's only about usd52 per nite. for a hotel on the strip, think it's a good deal. might not be super luxurious, but for us, as long as the hotel is clean it's good enough.

weoseek

KrispyKreme,
Wow..u sound like Phantom is a must watch..I’ll try to book the tics before I leave. The rest of the not so popular show,I’ll try to queue for the half price one.

Ginn,
For LV, I stay in MGM for first 2 days, then check out for Grand Canyon, after that come back again to LV to stay in MonteCarlo. It happens that my stay are their low period..so a lot of cheap hotels available..I saw that Circus Circus which you all recommended only around USD30+ during why stay plus free USD25 gas voucher…real tempting!..hehe

krispy

we're not driving to grand canyon. in the end, we rented a car from www.dollar.com and it's really cheaper than budget and hertz. the total rental for a week only came up to usd90 or so... not including insurance. with insurance, it should be less than usd200. we didn't wanna drive to LV in the end cos most companies impose a drop off fee which comes up to more than the rental of the car. also, thought i'd give hubby a break. hahaha... he drives me around in singapore all the time. :p

hi KrispyKreme,
Thanks! I also rented a car from dollar. Its really much cheaper than budget.

Hi Weoseek,
Thanks for the links! i will check tat out. I will be staying at Sahara Hotel in LV. Cost me S$75 (incl tax) per night. Not sure if Sahara has any entertainment though. I gotta check it out. Thanks again!

weoseek

I actually book my car from budget.

Just went to dollar, and its really cheaper..But I'm wondering how come the reservation procedure is so simple and I dun see any option to buy insurance?
Budget allows us to buy 4-5 items, which i forgot wat's that already.

Any idea?

Wat car you ladies book? Compact or intermediate? For Budget, I book the intermediate car (2L) since its only $2 extra as compared to compact (1.6L)

krispy

we booked the compact car... or was it economy. can't remember. from the reviews i read on dollar, they'll ask you to buy the insurance when you collect the car. just know what you wanna buy before you collect the car. at least you'll know what you want and not be forced to take up what you don't think you need.

i'm in a dilemma now. i read a lot of reviews that circus circus is a horrible hotel to stay in. has anyone stayed there before? would really use some personal experience on the cleanliness of the rooms, staff and general environment of the place. is it within walking distance of the strip?

my cousin from LA is encouraging me to stay somewhere else cos she said that circus circus is one place she'll never stay in. i'm considering excalibur now... but it's usd120 more for the 4 nights i'm staying there. if there's not much diff between circus circus and excalibur since both are at the end of the strip, i'd definitely go for the cheaper one.

help please......

ginn

hi gals!!

In LV, i may be choosing Excalibur, yes krispykreme, this is the other cheaper option other than circuscircus. Think excalibur has got slightly better reviews. And cos it's nearer to the other happening hotels like NYNY etc etc, so guess this end of the strip sounds good too.

And then i'll probably book circuscircus for 1 nite after my Grand Canyon trip. Wanna try the other end of the strip. Krispykreme, i have friends who stayed there before, circuscircus is ok if you wanna budget.
Weoseek, ur LV hotels really very good deal!! So lucky, my dates are all like usd200+ for those good hotels!!!

I may be booking Budget car. U gals tried Thrifty? It's also reasonably priced. I need to return at another location, so some car rental companies not so flexi on that. I may book a bigger car too cos long distance drive it's always better to drive a bigger car though more petrol consuming but it's worth it lah!
If i'm not wrong, there's a certain insurance which is compulsory there rite?

adelene

I have not booked my flight yet.
May I know you gals booked online or throught agency? Which agency? Which airline cheapest?

I tried thrify in Australia, their cars are new, less than 3 months. Not sure if it is the same in US. They are cheaper than budget an hertz.
Insurance can buy upon car collection. Better that way cos you might wanna change your car after viewing it.

krispy

hi ginger,

i booked thru agency cos i need an open jaw tic.... arriving sfo, departing lax. most websites i know don't offer this option when i wanna book. we booked thru p2p. i wouldn't really recommend them tho cos the service wasn't great. they didn't tell us a lot of the information and ended up with a lot of calls to and fro. but ok lar i guess. they made up for it by sending a courier to my office foc. the courier is supposed to come by this afternoon.

to elaborate, they didn't tell hubby and me we had to pay up in full for the tics to secure the price they quoted. so we happily went over a few days back and only wanted to pay a deposit. only when we asked if the price was confirmed, then they told us the price might still go up due to increasing taxes and this increase will be passed to us if we don't pay up in full. imagine our shock. especially when taxes are bound to go up. our tax is very low now. only S$307 per ticket.

well, we negotiated, she asked us to prepare the cash asap and she'll send a courier to me foc to collect the money and pass us the tics. then when i called her yesterday, she told me the taxes have now increased and asked me to pay the diff. only 2 days from when we paid her the deposit. we refused to pay lar and asked her to give us the same price she quoted. in the end she agreed. it's just a lot more time spent negotiating, so would recommend you gals to find another agent. as it is, i don't think i'd buy from p2p again. just that they were the first to offer this price. my friend found another agent that offered this price too and the agent could hold the price for them till end of next week without a deposit and full payment.

krispy

btw, anyone know if we can leave our bags with the porter at circus circus and excalibur hotels in LV? we're arriving LV early morning and only leaving late at nite. can't check in then and will don't wanna incur extra costs for late check out.

hippie

hi krispykreme,

dun worry abt circus circus, i stayed there couple of times b4. Wat u wanna do is to book the main tower (where the casino is) cos they have tis other few blocks of rooms where u hav to walk a certain distance to get to the casino, which i find it rather incovenient. I always stay at the main tower &amp; their rms are pretty decent. OF cos, the rms at the main tower cost slightly more than the other blocks.

Another thing is circus circus has ALOT of tourists &amp; is usually pretty crowded. I dun really like to stay there cos the dealers (mostly asians) are oso not that friendly. Anyway i usually stays at Sam's Town (off the strip). THey have this yummy steak with 3 eggs meal tat cost oni USD$3.99, available 24 hrs ard the clock. Steak size is pretty decent, but dun expect a prime cut 4 tat price. Try to go to off strip hotels where they have better dining deals.

krispy

uh oh.. i already booked the circus circus rooms and i don't think i booked the main tower ones. nvm... we're only staying there for 2 nites before going over to excalibur for 2 nites. hehe. i'll remember your advice about eating off the strip. would certainly be cheaper. is Sam's Town very far from circus circus / excalibur?

does anyone have any recommendations on where to eat? good and cheap food please.

hi krispykreme,
I heard from my cousin that circus circus is pretty old.. Why don't you try Flamingo? The price is also very reasonable?

Hi Ginn,
Both Dollar and Thrifty cost the same. I book dollar car through www.carrentals.com as the Collision damage waiver is cheaper. The CDW from dollar.com cost USD14.99 for a full size car. The cheapest offer on CDW is www.orbitz.com, cost USD9 per day for full size car. however, payment requires a credit card with usa billing address.

krispy

hippie, are we allowed to leave our luggage with the front desk of circus circus if we arrive before the check in time?

adelene

hi krispykreme,
in that case, where did your friend book it the?
Interested to know the agency.
I'm laving around the Hari Raya holiday period. Heard it will b super hot for vacation, dun think I can wait til Natas fair, right?

krispy

hi ginger, my friend is overseas rite now and her bf was the one who booked. i asked her already but she didn't know where he bought from. so sorry i can't help.

krispy

btw, if you don't mind, you can try giving p2p a call. their number is 62260660.

other than that, there was another agency which gave me the same quote the other time. not sure now but you can give it a try. Asia Euro Holidays at 6338 5566.

all the best.

hippie

hi krispykreme,
Sam's Town is abt 10 mins drive from the STrip, faster if the traffic is gd. U can oso go to Chinatown &amp; eat if u crave for chinese food, abt 10 mins drive frm the strip too. They hav a wide variety of eateries, chinese, viet, thai etc.

As for the luggage thing, I m nt sure whether u can put it at the front desk. Maybe u can check when u r there?

Hi Irene, Circus cirus looks old frm the outside. But in fact, its quite ok. I'm tokin abt the main tower rms. Its very clean &amp; decent. In fact I stayed at Excalibur b4 &amp; i tink the rm lose to Circus. I was pretty much disappointed at Excalibur.

ginn

hippie, how abt the other 2 towers at circuscircus? are they as good? The main tower seems to be usd10 more rite?

weoseek

I've just booked my Alcrataz and Phantom tics. Heard that Alcrataz ferry tics is limited &amp; popular. Do remember to book the tics first before you leave for the trip.

I got them from Blue &amp; Gold Fleet