USA

sam

Hmm...

how come nobody talk about honeymoon in States.

Thot of going to the West Coast for honeymoon in March.

appreciate suggestions and feedback : )

beverly

Hi Sam,

I think Europe is a more scenic alternative compared to US.

March is the tail end of Winter; so it will be chilly anywhere you go.

What are you going for - scenery or ???

blee

Hi Sam,

San Francisco is quite ok. Went there many years ago in March, weather is ok not too cold. Same for LA.

San Francisco is a nice place, warm and beautiful. Don't miss the cable car and Victorian Houses. If you like the bridge, don't forget to go to Golden Gate Bridge. And the Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown.

LA is very different from San Francisco. Disney Land and Universal Studio are the must.

Where do you plan to go? Plan to go to the National Parks?

chin leng

Hi Sam,

don't forget the Broadway shows, the Grand Canyon and Las Vegas too!

Anyone can provide more info on the above? I personally have not been to these places but was told that they are the 'must go'.

sam

Beverly, I have been to Europe once altho my hubby has not been there. Love Europe but thot States would be fun as well.

didn't expect planning for wedding involve so much "hunting". Finished my bridal package and banquet hunting .... now to honeymoon and bedroom furniture hunting %P

honey

Hey Sam, I'm going to LA for my honeymoon. The package incl. Disneyland, Universal studio and Knotts berry farm. Anyone knows where nice to go since i still have 1 day free and easy in LA.

I've also been to England a few yrs back w/o my husband. Really miss him when i was there. So really glad i can go somewhere far with him now :-D

beverly

Just a personal thought.

Europe - London has more galleries and cultural programs eg. plays, musical etc..

Shopping is fun too. Then a Euro train in 3 hours you are in Paris that is absolutely romantic.

Its relatively easy to get around both London and Paris unlike US eg. LA and San Francisco where public transport is not so accessible.

Do consider all these as you don't want to spend too much time travelling.

In the end, what is more important is being with the love one; location is an added bonus...

kurious

anyone can suggest where to go in the States for free and easy honeymoon, in August? My budget is about $4k.

anna

Hi kurious,

If you are looking for places with fantastic scenery...try Aspen, Colorado. It's nicest during Spring and winter. A good place for skiing too!

kurious

hi Anna,
Yap, I'm thinking precisely anywhere with great scenic views. I also don't mind driving around from state to state, anywhere that provides a nice view while driving too. Can you recommend anywhere to stay too?

och

hi antares,

the attraction of lv is the bright lights of the casinos. if those bore u, there r many tours out of lv to grand canyon n hoover dam. u can also go to death valley national park if u drive. it's like a desert, with dunes n trials that u can follow.

hi cody, nice to see u back. how was ur trip?

cody

hello och!

it was FANTASTIC! I can't wait to go back again!
Shopped like mad, between hubby and i we checked in 120kg of luggage!!! 6 days at each place was too rush i say. Got pickpocketed at San Francisco when i left my handbag unattended for a split second, lost my digital cam but luckily travel insurance is compensating 70% of the cost price. Still heartache that i lost my pictures; luckily got conventional camera to fall back on. Encountered a blizzard in Yosemite ... stuck in bus for 8hours at -5 degrees celsius (the bus ride would normally take only 45mins!).

How abt yours? Did u shop?

I'm now saving up to go to US again in 2005/2006, before i start a family!

shrinkyin

Hi white_wine,

Nigara Fall is defintely a place to visit. Spent at least two days there so that u can enjoy both sides of the fall. Namely the American Falls & Canadian Falls.

Personally, I think the Canadian Falls, that shape like a horseshoe, is the best view of the fall. When i was there in dec 2002, (dunno if it's still on)there's fire-works on weekends too, so if u r going, try to arrange the visit on weekends.

Also, there's nightly light-up of the fall, be sure to be there early, so u can chop a good view.

Also, take one of the tour like Journey Behind the Falls (i took this), Maid of the Mist, it will bring u closer to the fall.

och

hey cody,

glad to hear u enjoyed the trip.
but i'm sorry u lost ur handbag. i think stealing n pickpocketing is v. common overseas. sg is probably one of the safest places in the world where we can leave our bags to chop seats n still return to find the bags there.

my trip was v. enjoyable too. there r so many things to do in orlando. i particularly liked the kennedy space centre. we also visited disney n shopped like mad there.

banff in the canadian rockies was beautiful. i went skiing in sunshine mountains n i love the view n the snow. the crowds there were significantly less than lake tahoe i think, so a beginner like me dun feel too embarrassed abt being road hogs.
oh my gosh, i wish i could go back there again. the only thing i dun miss was the cold. a cold front was passing by the mountains when we visited. so we had clear skies but -20 deg c temperatures. brr.... it got so cold that every time we took a new lift or gondola higher up the mountains, we could feel the temperature difference.

hi white_wine,

niagara falls is quite nice, but pls dun visit it on those 1 or 2-day tours fr us east coast. u dun get to spend enough time at niagara falls i think. try to visit in between march to october, cos in winter, a lot of activities shut down n the water flow is reduced. the canadian side has better views of the falls.

aloevera

hi all, thks for sharing yr experience. It's gg to be great help to me since I'm planning to go West coast of USA in early April. Btw, does any one of u have any gd tour agency to recommend. We prefer package tour. Any feedback is much appreciated. THanks.

crayon2512

Is there any cheap airline that I can take from SFO to LV? Seems like there are two airports at LV..which is the nearest? Any hotel to recommend there?

For those who drove from SFO to LV, how long and is the road difficult to drive? Is it essential to drive in LV? I am not sure how many days I should spend in LV? Is 3 days enough?

Appreciate your help.

silvery

Hi crayon2512
Can try southwest, usually their tickets are quite reaspnable. AS for hotels, just go to the casino wedsite, sometimes they have promotions for weekdays stay (usually cheaper to stay in weekdays than weekend), recommend to stay at the strip cos thats the most "happening" place. so far i have stay in MGM (around USD 50+) excalibur, rio and monte carlos,they are generally ok (cant recall the rates) just check out their website.
Driving in states is relatively quite easy, they are straight road, maybe becos is long and easy to drive u can get pretty sleepy. If u are planning to drive up during the weekends, traffic jam and pple will be speeding to LV to gamble). I have not tried driving from SFO to LV but i guess is abt 7 to 10 hours of driving. It is better to drive cos u may want to shop the factory outlet which is about 40 mins drive from the strip.
Think 3 days is good enough.

daphne

hi crayon2512,

not sure what is your budget but there are cheap hotels in lv ie sahara, circus circus etc. they are usually located at the far end of the strip (lv). the entire lv is like orchard road, very easy to walk and drive. if u want to take the bus, it cost US$2 regardless of the distance.
like i mentioned, it all depends on your budget on how long u want to stay. lv is good for shopping, mega shows (but expensive) and playing at casino otherwise there is not much stuff to do. personally i dun really like lv, a bit too fake and after a bit, it does get very boring.

cody

crayon, the LV airport nearest to the strip is McCarran airport, just 30mins fr the strip.

no need car in LV, everything is walking distance. Sometimes it takes a longer time to dry from one hotel to another because of the traffic!

not to mention that the hotel's self-park car park is a good 5-10 mins walk from the lobby, and its another 5mins walk to the main road.

parking in LV hotels are free, but like most other visitors would tell you, leave the car in the carpark!

IF you DO decide to drive, try to take the roads parallel to the Strip. It can take up to 45mins to get from one end to another end becuase of the jam!

I flew Southwest from LV to SFO. The flight was only 1.5hours, and i paid US$130 per person. Driving takes 8-10hours. Its a long drive, unless you intend to stop at Yosemite which is mid-way to SFO.

There are also 2 airports at SFO. Just stick to San Francisco International Airport, which is near town.

Oh yes! Shopping at LV is good! Go to Barstow (enroute fr LA to LV) and Primm (30mins fr LV strip).

Other than shopping, 3 days is more than enough to check out all the LV hotels.

och

hi crayon,

it took me 9 hours to drive fr sf to lv. i took highway 101 southwards n cut across death valley national park. u can probably find a highway that bypasses death valley if u want to get to lv faster. 3 days in lv is good enough in my opinion.

crayon2512

Thanks all for the advice.
Beside LV, any area that would be near to SFO. We wil be in SFO and would like to go nearby places. It would be a waste to go SFO only after a long flight there.

Any suggestions?

Am interested to go to the US west coast this Dec. Does anyone know of any tour packages (either local or otherwise) that includes Six Flags Magic Mountain? I've been to Anaheim Disneyland & Universal when I was a kid, but nvr managed to go to Six Flags. Heard it has really good thrill rides. I'm hearing great things abt Orlando as the theme park destination, but since its my hubby's first trip to the USA, I tot it wld be great to start w California..from LA to LasVegas to San Francisco.

I'm actually more keen of going F&E than following a tour, but am not very confidant of driving long distance, plus its right hand drive there. (I'd be the only driver since hubby doesn't drive) Is it easy to get ard w/o a car, like to take the Greyhound? Or would it be more advisable to book land tours like those offered by Contiki/Insight. Any suggestions, advise wld be appreciated!

och

hi alhana,

if u like trill rides, i think la is still better than orlando. but if u like theme parks, then orlando is more interesting.

i'm not familiar with tour packages. but i do hv some suggestions abt f&e. u can do away with long distance driving by taking flights in between cities. southwest offers v. good rates n i feel it offers a better price-time combination than greyhound does.

i will suggest that u rent a car at airports to get around la n sf. the problem with these cities, la especially, is that most sights r scattered. six flags n the theme parks r quite far away fr la city itself, so it's going to cost quite a bit to take cabs around the sights. plus the food places around theme parks r usually fast food.

as for sf, it really depends on the places u want to visit. fisherman's wharf n alcatraz, castro etc r accessible by public transport. but if u want to visit neighbouring sights, such as the wine vallies, moneterrey/carmel, gilroy, silicon valley etc r much more convenient with a car.

but if u r not comfortable with driving on the opposite side of the road n still want a f&e itinerary, u can take local tours in sf. there r plenty of local tours to napa/sonoma wine valleys n to moneterey/carmel. u won't be able to get to the factory outlets that easily tho.

in la, some motels/hotels hv free shuttles within a certain radius or to certain theme parks. u can try those to cut down on costs.

i think lv is v. easy to get around, even without a car.

crayon2512

Hi Silvery,
Thanks for suggestion on the Yosemite Park but its seems to be a long drive there. I tink 5hrs from SFO?

I am tinking of giving LV a miss since my colleague told me nothin much there except gambling and their performance quite exp abt $50 USD per show. Most probably juz hang around SFO and go to nearby places..

Have you been to Napa/Sonoma wine valley before?
Do we have to sign up for the day tour to go to these winery or can we just drive in?

Anyone had experience with that?

och

hi crayon,

u can just drive to the wineries. that's what i usually do. they r abt an hour to an hour n half north of sf n u get to drive on golden gate bridge. most wineries hv their own tours n wine tasting sessions. if u search on internet, u can probably get the timings.

Hi och,

Yeah, I was in LA in '97 to visit a girlfriend and I could see that it would be very hard to get ard w/o a car. We stayed at her place which was v near LAX, and going to Anaheim to visit Disneyland took us ard an hrs plus drive. I dun think I wld know how to drive there on my own, and I'm already pretty good at following road maps. I have no clue where Six Flags is, as I've nvr been there before. Wonder if there's any local tours which feature all the theme parks in the LA area. Still, ure right abt the places being scattered everywhere..LA alone is huge. I'm fine w not going to factory outlets coz I'm not into shopping, but I do like the lights n colors of LV (plus the sound of the jackpot machines :p) and yeah, its not necessary to drive in LV since most of the attractions are located ard the Strip. San Francisco is ok too...can take the tram ard. And its great for walking. Guess LA & the theme parks are my only problem..unless i take a package tour for that portion, and then make my own way ard LV & SF. Still, most package tours dun seem to cover Six Flags. Anyone know any which do? Altho I like Disneyland, the rides aren't scary at all.

och

hi alhana,

i'm not much of a tour package person, since i find the fixed departure times rather restrictive for theme parks. but i've googled for some tours n i think this one sounds most comprehensive. http://www.hollywoodtours.us/ u probably need to take a new tour for every theme park u wish to go to.

if u want greater convenience, best western is all over the anaheim area n they organise tours to all the major theme parks. i suspect best western is not the only chain offering such convenience.

btw, if u really like six flags, there's one near sf too. in vallejo i think, tho i've sadly never been there.

steff

Hi Crayon2512,

Yosemite seems like a long drive but it's worth a trip there. If possible, stay overnite or 2nites and u wun regret it.

U can visit Grand Canyon in LV. Think it's worth a stop too. Stay a nite at LV too. They have quite a few shopping malls along the Strip for shopping.

You can drive to Monterey & Carmel when u leave Yosemite to go to SFO. From SFO, u can drive over to Sausilito.

Hope I' not confusing u further.

Hi och,

Same here, I hate taking tours. We liked Europe, coz its so easy to get ard using their public transport system..but some US states seem more car-friendly than pubic transport friendly. I did consider taking day tours booked at hotels, or via the web. Guess I'd hafta do alot of research if I wanna do F&E. But I like travel planning so its ok.

cody

i just got back fr LA not long ago.
Its true that its alot more convenient to drive ard on your own. left hand drive is really not difficult, just get yourself oriented before you hit the highway.

FYI there are MANY yours bringing you to 6 flags. If you intend to stay in Anaheim, the tourism office there has many tours that bring you to 6 flags, including transportation to & fro.

Driving to these places is not difficult at all, in fact there are many road signs along the way. Only thing is for you to know where u want to go!

6 flags is abot 1 hour drive from town. If you're going from Anaheim, maybe abt 1.5hours (highway).

Crayon:
it takes abt 4hours to get to Yosemite fr SFO.
Like what steff says, its well worth the trip!!!
Actually if transportation time is your concern, you can actually drive becoz yosemite is mid-way between LV and SFO.

arghhhhhhhhhh, the travel bug is biting me. Wish i can go again!

Hi cody,

Thanks for the info. Ure right, driving on the right will probably take a little way to orientate oneself. In fact, during my last visit, I was so used to getting into the right side passenger seat and watching cars drive on the right that when I got home to SG, i had to orientate back :p Honestly, I'm more afraid of getting lost (my friend, who used to live there, told me horror stories of her gfs getting lost in LA City and driving to the wrong (ie bad) side of the neighbourhood)..plus the 2 of us know nuts abt cars..so if anything were to breakdown, it wld irritate me no end. Hence I'd rather just take public transport. Well, we'll keep our options opened. How much did it cost to rent a car on a daily basis?

cody

hi alhana

ahhh, i had the same worries like you ie turing into a bad neighbourhood. In fact it was och who convinced me that its ok. (tks och!

well, i went to only the tourist areas. The maps and road signs were all very good, so no worries. PLus it guess it doesn help to do a bit of homework before you set off, ie find where you are on the map and find your destination. Stick to the major roads and highways and you won't go wrong.

FYI the maps i got were from the AA equivalent in the states, but those from AA Singapore were also good.

If you're worried abt car breakdowns, then rent a car from a large and reliable company. I chose to rent from BUDGET (slightly cheaper than hertz); they offer a 24-hour vehicle assistance in case of breakdowns.

Pardon me for saying this, but i think the public transport in the states esp in LA isn't so good. Everyone there drives!

Sure you can rely on public transport in SFO (bus and trams), LV just rely on your legs or taxi but pls get a car in LA. The frequency of the public transport in LA is also very spaced out!

FYI there is only 1 public transport bus service serving most of the hotels in anaheim. If you miss the bus, chances r that you will have to walk back to your hotel. There is hardly a single public bus or taxi in sight!!!

Getting to six flags fr anaheim will also be a problem if you want to rely on public transportation coz there is none available!
Therefore i suggest you rent a car ... parking in disneyland is expensive, so rent a car only AFTER you have finsihed with your disney experience. (No point leaving a rented car in your hotel carpark all day long also right?)

I can't remember exactly how much it is, but i think it was in the region of US$300 per week (7 days) for a 2 litre car excluding all tax and insurance. Look out for their offers at www.budget.com

Happy planning!

och

hi alhana,

i agree with u, it's much easier to get around with public transport in europe. but hving been in the us so often, i think driving in us is really a mental barrier more than anything else. roads in us r quite dummy proof, especially if u r visiting touristy places.

i agree with cody. la is a city where a car will give u much greater flexibility in ur itinerary. so do reconsider renting a car. at least u wun be restricted to visiting only theme parks.

budget is a good rental company. i find that it consistently gives me good rates so long as i plan in advance. n touch wood, but of all the times where i rent a car in the us, i hvn't had a breakdown yet.

la is kind of a special case. amongst the us cities, it seems to hv more bad areas at highway exits. but if u do get off at the wrong exit, u will know it's a bad neighbourhood immediately. so there's no worries about not recognising a bad neighbourhood. if u find out u r in the wrong neighbourhood, just get back onto the highway. us highways r dummy-proof enough that it's easy to get back on the opposite direction of the highway. u r in no great danger if u simply return to the highway. n i guess, the rule of thumb when driving in foreign cities is to lock the doors when u get on the car.

hey cody, u r welcome.
i'm thinking of visiting banff again. i still cannot get the gorgeous scenery n fresh mountain air out of my mind.

cody

och, where's banff?
i'm going to UK next, but i'm not half as excited abt uk than i was for US !!
I'm dying to go back again !

Hi cody & och,

Thanks for the advice. Yeah, LA is hell to get ard w/o public transport. I was looking out for buses and cabs and hardly saw any (save for airport n touristy places). How's parking charges in the US? Places like malls, parks (like Six Flags etc) Do any local tour agencies offer F&E with key attractions like Disney & Universal thrown in as options? I can do that, and then rent a car to explore other places. I wld love to go to Venice Beach again, and visit this Jap restaurant along the Pacific Coast Highway. Definitely wun be able to do all this w/o a car. Will most certainly consider driving now
Thanks ladies.

Cody,

Ure going to the UK? I'm envious! I love the UK, more so than the US actually. I'm a history buff, esp that of English/Scottish history, so being able to visit all the historical locales was fantastic. I wld love to go back again, but the sterling pound wld kill me. The one other thing I hated (besides the strong currency)..the weather. I was there in June and it was still dark n gloomy most of the time. No wonder europeans flock to SEA beach resorts :p

steff

Great! U r influencing me to go for hols in US/Canada & UK again.

I must say I enjoyed these places very much. Driving in US is more convenient. The public system (Britrail & Underground) is a good choice to consider to travel ard UK. It's convenient and reliable.

Hi Cody, Need help with UK. I can rcommend some place to visit. Been there 3 times...fortunately before the pound shot up to it's present value

cody

ooooh steff, thanks for the offer!
will def need it but not so soon. i'm only going in Aug!

it's my first trip to UK, but i'm not particularly enthusiatic becoz (a) i am not a history buff, (b) the weather is trecherous and (c) the sterling is sooo expensive!

Somehow UK esp London comes across to me as a very dark gloomy and wet place. I'm there to visit my sis, if not i will certainly channel the money back to visiting the States!

och

hey cody,

banff is in the canadian rockies. it's a small town of 8000 and it's at a short distance to 3 ski resorts: sunshine, lake louise and banff.

actually, i quite like the uk too, even tho i'm not a total history buff n i've only been to london.
i went in sept, but the weather was pretty kind to us when we went. it didn't rain for the 5 days we were there. i hope u will hv the same luck.

hi alhana,

most malls do not hv parking charges, especially if the parking is outdoors. theme parks will hv parking charges. but i'm not sure of the rates. cody probably hv more updated info.

cody

parking at theme parks is $8 per entry.
within anaheim, there is a shuttle service that serves 90% of the hotels / motels bringing you to disneyland all throughout the day, only $3 per person.

Only disadv of this shuttle service is that the bus service ends shortly after disneyland is closed. if you wish to go pubbing at downtown disney, you'll have to walk back to your hotel.

Parking rates are the same at 6 flags and universal studios.

Och: you know, canada is my #2 holiday spot! i want to go skiing at Mt Whistler!!! PLus i have relatives in Vancouver, so i'll save some on accommodation. Europe has never been my cuppa tea .... hiaz.

Did u say sept? i hope i will have the same good luck. Was it warm enough to warren bermudas? Or still stick to jeans? no need for thermal underwear right? i know the windchill is what makes it so darn cold. tks again och!

och

hi cody,

london wasn't warm enuf for bermudas, but jeans n a wind-proof jacket will do. i never wear thermal underwear, not even in cold wintry places, so i dun think i'm a good person to ask abt that.

wow u hv a lot of relatives all over the world. i'm so envious, knowing pple in those cities saves a lot on accomodations.

skiing is so fun! my husband who's been to whistler was all praise for the powdery snow at whistler.

but i hv never been to whistler. skipped whistler in my trip, cos accomodations r just too ex n it's difficult to get to the resort if i din drive. i din want to drive, in case there's a snow storm. i wasn't confident of putting on snow chains all by myself. so i went with banff, which had double rooms in hostels for only CAD60 a nite n a good public transportation system. hee hee. but it was really cold, -20 C. i was there around xmas n that's not supposed to be cold at all. my ski instructor was telling me that the cold weather is really abnormal, it's supposed to be -5. guess i was super unlucky then.
let me know if u want to visit banff.

cody

oh good, thank goodness u told me!
i was going to bring only bermudas & 1 pair of jeans!!!

yep, me too, NEVER wore thermal underwear in my life. I would rather pile on more layers of cotton / fleece shirts! I find woolen thermals soooo itchy!

No lah, not many but i DO make it a point to go to those countries where they are located in to save money on accommodation! Hee hee, it saves me lotsa money!!

Banff? Maybe i will want to go there after i finish with whistler. Lesser known ski resorts are def cheaper! But the typical tourist bug in me MUST see whistler at least once in my life!

Oh tell me abt snow chains! I ended up lugging my snow chains all the way home to SIN from Yosemite becoz of a snow storm!

Sounds to me like you're also an avid traveller and skiier. Me too! I wonder how i am going to quell this thirst when i'm pregnant or with kids next time ... hiaz. Esp long trips to US, i doubt infants / kids can tahan the long flight.

och

no, no, dun bring infants/kids on long flights. even if u can tahan, i think ur fellow travellow cannot tahan too. i once sat next to a pair of siblings that kicked me throughout the nite.

u lugged ur snow chains back?

yah, do visit banff. summer is peak season for banff, so their winter rates r so much cheaper. as compared to whistler, whose peak season is definitely in winter. actually, if u like skiing, u should go to aspen too. it's v. pretty as well.

yes, i'm an avid traveller. not so sure abt skiing, but i like going places where there is good scenery n plenty for me to do. so ski mountains fall under that category. but i'm game to try just abt anything. hiking, white water rafting etc. the only thing i wun try is anythign that involves me going on free fall.

cody

oh yeah! my 16.5hours flight from HK to LAX ... i had 2 young kids sitting behind me, kicking both mine and my hubby's chairs!!!

yep, my snow chains were a long story. I rented them on the way up to Yosemite, intending to return them on my way down. Who knows, the snow storm caused a massive rock slide on that highway forcing me to leave yosemite by a diff highway. Driving back to return the chains would mean a 2-3 hour detour, so i forfeited my US$50 deposit. Ouch!

Tried selling them to motor shops / petrol stations along the way for as low as US$10 but nobody wanted it! So frustrating!

Wahhh, you're very adventurous indeed! I love travelling but no rugged activities for the chicken in me!

Aspen? oh yes! i've heard of that too! I wanna go!!! Hmmm, how to satisfy my travel bug? I keep wanting to travel! Maybe i should have a career switch, go become a tour guide!

steff

Hi och,

Where else did u go other than Banff? Visited Banff too. Did u go Sulphur Mtn? I spent a month in US/Canada during that trip when I visited the Rockies too. Scenic and beautiful

Hi Cody,

To this day, I have my snow chains packed up in my storeroom. Bought it during the first tip to US as well. It's been travelling with me for the winter hols.

There are scenic places to visit in UK as well. Not all abt history so quite okie. Went there in Aug before. When I was there, London/England cities were warm enuff for bermudas/capris/tees, even sleeveless tees.

BUT not Scotland! There, u gotta at least wear jeans and a long sleeve tee. If near coastal areas, bring along a wind breaker or sweater.
Wales was okie too. I was in capris and tees during that trip.

Overall, they do have scenic places to visit, esp thoe towns near the coast.