Turkey

milo_chia

hi I'm bookded on Chan Brothers for 10Day special dep on 1 May..now only 8 pax. Hopefully got enough pax to move off. Any review for those rtn recently with Chan Brothers. Which hotel did they stay at Istanbul, is it easy to walk around on your own in Istanbul and is the optional tour worth the value?

icebaby0

Milo,

I just came back from this particular tour last monday. However, hotel might change.

Also Summer and Winter itinerary is different for the first 2-3 days. So hotels will be different.

Day 2 - Kervansaray Termal Hotel
Day 3 - Tatlises Hotel
Day 4 - Lycus River
Day 5 & 6 - Dinler Hotel
Day 7 - Koru Hotel
Day 8 - WOW Hotels & Convention Centre

They will send u the hotel list 3-4 days before departure.

Best hotel we stayed was WOW. Big rooms, bf was very good.

Belly dancing and the dinner was terrible.
The cruise isn't worth it. But u probably will sign up cos everyone on the group will sign up.

I didn't go hotair balloon.

milo_chia

Thanks icebaby. Read yr hotel comments in tripadvisor. I'm at least mentally prepared for it. Now chanbros transfer us to join another grp to dep on 30apr with 23pax size. So its now 10 + 1 day. Hotel similar to yrs except in istanbul and Day 5 & 6 one TBA. More likely to do hotair ballon but not sign for the cruise. Maybe we try to navigate there on our own since already read some info online and we got 2 free day.

Thanks for your information.

icebaby0

Hi Milo,

Welcome. Enjoy the trip.

For the time frame that you are going, don't think the weather will be bad. So enjoy.

Our first day, when we landed there. They first brought us to a hotel for breakfast.

Impt:
- bring ur own kettle if you wish to make hot drinks
- bring instant cup noodles if you think you will get sick of the food.
- Bring toothbrush (none provide toothbrush), shampoo, conditioner,etc
- if there is free thermal bath, bring swim suit. It's enjoyable...warm, shiok. But note, clothes will turn muddy colour.
- buy ur own big bottle water (1.5litre or 2litre) and keep in coach. They do not provide water (FOC, i mean) for MOST meals. Buying at restaurant is more than 3X the price. Dun waste ur money.
- most meals serve with fruit (desert not our cup of tea...trust me)...my trip was oranges, oranges and more oranges (but only 1 orange)

Erm...can't remember now what other tips. Oh, remember to change ur money at airport (inside before u walk out of the baggage collection, outside of baggage collection). You will not have much chance to change ur money from USD to Lira.

icebaby0

we changed around S$1k to USD700+. Out of USD700+, we changed around USD500. You can pay in US for ur cruise or lira or even S$. Our tour guide allow us to pay like that.

But seriously all depends how much things u buying.

**If they bring u "shopping" to those leather outlets, do not buy from there. It's more ex. If they bring you go to this particular turkish delight factory, it's reasonable price. It's slightly cheaper than buying at the bazzaar. But bazzar has more selections.

teacup

hi bery, we booked with dynasty. 13D10N turkey & riviera.

not sure if the group will fly yet. hopefully 4 more pax sign up.

milo_chia

Thanks Icebaby. I'm back from Turkey for almost a month liao. The place is really quite exotic, rather different from what i'm expecting or maybe i didn't try to find out abt the plac much before my trip. The place is very rich in their history & culture. Feel more like in Europe or Italy when we visited those ruins in Ephesus. Only upon return, I start to read up more abt Turkey! hee. Ya the standard of living is like SG,, that's not cheap....Hope the rest of u who r going there soon..will also enjoy yr holiday!

bomohpang

yes...turkey is rich of history & culture.
I suggest to those who are going please read some information before going.

shoppingq123

Hi I am gg Turkey in 5days time! Any one gg around that period of time?

janisuhoshi

Anyone travelled with CTC for 10D Bests of Turkey? I will be going with my fiancé this december (dep: 11 Dec till 20 Dec). Anyone in the same group?

I noticed that CTC 10D Bests of Turkey does not have trip to TROY and Acropolis, which many other packages offer. I find it quite weird, because TROY and Acropolis seem to be the highlights of Turkey. Instead they brought us to Bursa. Is there anything to see in Bursa?

lovelee

This thread seemed silent in 2011..

Anyone planning or had taken up tour package to Turkey recently? Pls reply. Thanks!

ginko59

I took up a 12D trip to Turkey include mediterrean coast. Will be flying in June via SQ. Hope the weather wont be too hot! looking forward =)

lovelee

Ladies, thanks for ur speedy reply

Hi MeiKuan, can u pls PM me intead? I cant send private message to u

Hi Grace, can u pls PM me too
Like to know if u gg F&E or with tour group.. Thanks!

hi_hazel

Anyone travelled with Five stars or Chan brothers for their 10D turkey trip?

Can share with me on their services?

Many Thanks!