Treatment for White Hair

tham

I am only 35 yrs old and I already have noticeable white hair. It affects my self-esteem somehow because my hair is also very dry. I have seen alot of gals outside with very nice and shiny looking hair. I wonder if most of them have "beautify" their hair at hair salons?

I do not want to "beautify" mine at hair salon because I heard that the chemicals that they use cause more harm to your hair even though it does make u look prettier.

But I very much would like to get rid of my white hair esp...so any recommendations and suggestions from u ladies?

penn

I have the same problem as you, ice queenie. How often do you color youur hair? I'm afraid of the long-term effects of this, but it seems nothing else can be done... sigh.

ice_queenie

I color once every 3-4 months and have to use dark colors only. I once using henna but my hair stylist discouraged me from doing so as your hair will become dry and brittle in the long run. She also suggests me to do touch up instead of dying the whole head so that it is not too damaging as well. guess this is one of the few ways to salvage the situation.

bellrin8880

I just leave my white hairs and do not colour it. Might consider doing the colour should I get more white hair. It took me 2 years to have a good hair texture. Luckily I used Estebel shampoo to maintain it. Goodness me.

If interested, can email me [email protected]

tham

Thanks for all the replies. At least I saw some responses and glad to know that I am not alone.

Dear Heartbear...i'm also keen to know why Bee Choo can solve this problem. Is she a hair stylist?

Hi ice queenie...i have heard of henna dyeing too. From what i heard of, henna is a safer alternative to dye your hair because it's natural, free of chemical as well as acts as a conditioner to your hair. How come ur hair stylist says it will dry your hair? Sometimes i wonder which is the truth?

Hi Ling, I also leave my white hair alone at this moment...maybe consider dyeing when i get more too. I'm very keen to find out how you maintain your hair to get a good texture. Can share it here? At this moment, I just wash with olive shampoo, condition with olive conditioner, and apply vitamin oil after each wash. I wonder is this sufficient? Where did you buy your Estebel shampoo btw? How much does that cost?

Btw, have u gals heard of Yun Nam? I believe some if not all must have heard of this centre as they are promoting their centre rather aggressively nowadays on tv. I have met up with them who told me they are able to solve my white hair problem. The charges are $13,000 for 52 treatment sessions, or $6,000 for 28 sessions.

bellrin8880

Hi Tham

Well I only have a few strands of white hair in front and I have very thin hair too. But after using the Estebel shampoo the texture have improved a lot.

I'm also dealing with Estebel shampoo and Estebel hair loss serum. You can email me [email protected]

Rgds

bellecityster

Hi Tham,

I have not been to Yun Nam but i have also heard negative comments that it did not work for some. Nevertheless, $13000 is alot of money to part with. With $250 per treatment, i can do it lot more. Just my penny of thought. ;-)

tham

Hi Belle,

Ya..it's really expensive. I got a shock when I heard about the charges too. Alot of my friends also said crazy. I don't think I will go for it lor...and not surprising of some negative remarks too.

tham

ice queenie...u have done henna dyeing before? Where did u do it? I heard that you cannot choose colors as there is only 1, true or not?

Btw, what is the dyeing procedure like? Sorry to ask this question because I have not dyed my hair before u see?

bellecityster

Hi Tham,

Good for you... i will not go too.

As for Henna, i did it once many many years ago. I remember i was not given any colour to choose. But not sure if this is the case now. I remembered they steam my hair first, then applied the henna and wrapped it up with the foil. It stays there for half to one hour then wash off.

tham

Hi Belle,

U did henna dyeing many many years ago? Mind telling how old r u now?

Where did u do the dyeing? Is the color ok? I heard that it will come out reddish brown but it has to depend on ur natural hair color too. Actually I don't really like reddish brown lor. I prefer dark brown. Is the color awful? How long will the color stay?

Btw, can I do touch up only for first time dyeing? Is there such thing as touch up dyeing for henna? What is the procedure for touch up?

bellecityster

Hi Tham,

I am 33 now. I did it about 4 years back.

I did it in one of the shop in Orchard Building in an indian shop. I cannot really remember the colour but remember it was nothing i complain about.
The colour stays almost the same as dyeing your hair. I was told difference is it is not drying the hair compared to colour dye.

i know touch up can be done for colour dye but not do think the same will apply for henna as i have never done it before. In fact i did henna only once and did not go back.

Sorry i cannot help much.

bellecityster

Hi Tham,

I did not go back because the place, the whole building does not makes me feel comfortable. The service is not really fantastic so i gave up the idea.

tham

Hi Belle,

I see. Ya...indian shop right? If it was me, I guess I also won't feel comfortable. You know...I find a hair care centre at the internet which also provide henna dyeing service. I called up to make enquiries before. The lady who answered my queries sounded like a Chinese but I have not been to the place before so do not know the atmosphere. If it's like those Indian style...maybe I will think twice. Is it only Indians do henna dyeing?

Btw, when you are doing hair dyeing, will any stuff be spilled on your face accidentally? I have very sensitive skin so that's my other concern too. Have heard some scary remarks before...like some people got swollen face after doing hair dyeing.

bellecityster

Hi Tham,

Yes, Indian shop. I was told last time that Indian are more specialised in Henna. Not sure how true.. hahha.

You made hair dyeing sound so scary. I did hair dye once every half year last time but now i stopped too because my hair is very dry. I have not got any bad reaction of the dye failing on my face and have negative reaction. Normally should they accidently spill a drop on my face, they will quickly wiped it off, so it did not caused any swelling on me.

Since you are sensitive, i suggest you look for those recommended stylist...safer that way.

tham

Hi Belle,

What do u mean by recommended stylist? Will the charges be higher? Normally what is the charge?

My hair is also very dry...even without dyeing. Don't know what will happen after dyeing?

Headache lah...seems like the only alternative is henna or just leave it white.

Btw, I'm now taking a chinese herb called "He Shou Wu" which is said to prevent white hair. I wonder whether that works.

bellecityster

Hi Tham,

"Recommended Stylist" means some stylist that had been recommended by someone. I am sure you can find some under another thread... i saw it before. At least you know they are good.

Oh dear.. if your hair is dry, dyeing will definitely make them dryer.

Chinese herbs? must be bitter... let me know if it helps. ;-)

tham

Hi Belle

Can you pls let me know which thread have you seen any recommended stylist before?

Ya lor...my hair is natural curl and dry. Those white ones look even dryer and more curly. I wonder why? I guess it's somehow genetic.... Actually I ever think of rebonding and dyeing my hair, but I guess that will cause alot of damamge although it looks good temporary.

Ask you something...I saw some people have different colour on different section of their hair. Did they purposely dye it that way or some other reasons?

The "He Shou Wu" that i am taking is not bitter at all. It tastes like chinese herb with a slight sweetness because honey is one of the ingredient. I just started it one month ago. Guess I won't see any results right now...but honestly speaking...I doubt its effectiveness...

bellecityster

Hi Tham,

Some one recommended...
Colours Salon.
Blk 539, Bedok North Street 3,
#01-605 (S) 460539
Tel: 6449 0282

Another thread is : Any Good Salon at Toa Payoh
Hope you find someone good there.

As for your query, i believe those people purposely dye their hair in different colour on different section of their hair. Fashion i guess..

Keep me posted if you find anyone good.

tham

Hi Heartbear,

Oh I see...so this is the Bee Choo u r referring to.

R u her customer too? Please tell me more if u r.. I mean the hair problem that u r facing...how long do u see results and how much u r paying...Thanks.

keely

Hi Tham,

pls dun go Yun Nam. my hubby spent more than S$15k there. nothing happen.

May i know u like DIY hair colour? It's organic, safe to use.

most important non drippy and super fast, 7 mins can wash off. I help my aunty, dad do. very natural. They liked the color too cos able to cover white hair yet fashionable.
As the colour will not fade off, everytime only need to do touch up. a tube can use up to 5 times for short hair. cost around S$60.
Hair feel soft after colouring too.

highly recommended.

tham

Hi Keely,

$15k is indeed alot of money to part with esp nothing happen somemore. So how...ur hubby just let it be? Wonder how come they still able to survive despite negative feedback. Nobody complained about them? Or results depend on each individual's luck?

What is organic hair color? I only know that most DIY hair color contains chemical. Pardon me if I am ignorant because I don't really find out more. Non drippy...how come? Where can I buy it? Or you are selling it yourself? Hehehe...

Pls tell me more...thanks.

tham

Today I went to Bee Choo Herbal Hair Treatment. I am satisfied with the result. My white hair turns brown immediately and I paid $36 for my shoulder length hair.

tham

Ya...just 1 treatment only and I see result. They started by applying something to your scalp (but not sure what is that)...heard that it is meant to open up the pores.

Then apply herbs to your whole head, steam for 45 minutes and wash off. The whole treatment process takes about 1.5hrs. The herb has a pleasant smell...at least to me....

tham

ice queenie...it depends on what kind of hair problem u have. For me...I only have white hair and slight dandruff problem...no hair loss problem...so not too serious. I will take it as a maintenance to keep my scalp clean...also depends on how long the color stays on my hair...

tham

Need advice from you all...

My hair is very coarse...looks like "broom". I would like it to look softer and have more shine. What are the kinds of hair treatment available? I have heard of rebonding...which makes your hair very flat and soft...but then heard that they use chemical and the process actual damages your hair in the long run. So I'm having second thoughts. Would like to hear your views. Anybody has the same problem as me and had your problem solved without much damage to your hair?

tham

One of my colleagues had her hair straightened and there is more shine too, but she said she didn't go for rebonding...just some kind of treatment whereby they apply cream and wrap up her hair to steam. Wonder what is that?

tham

ice queenie,

Ya lor...I feel the same too the first few days after I did the treatment. My hair seems to be drier although they claimed that the treatment is supposed to make your hair softer. I guess you have to moisturise your hair more just like what I am doing now.

How much did you pay for it and will u be going back again?

ice_queenie

I dropped lots of hair after my bath on the day itself. subsequently still drop quite a lot as compared to last time. but not sure is the after effect or not. now im showering lots of tender care to my hair.. heh. heart pain when i see bunches of hair dropping....

i paid 36 bucks as well cos of the hair length and the thickness. my white hair is now covered which i am pleased so i don mind going over again for a few more times before deciding if it is damaging my hair or not. somemore it is less than half the amount i paid for normal dyeing. =)

when they talk about natural treatment, im not sure if henna is one of the ingredients. i havent tried henna dying before, just heard from my regular stylist that it is drying in the long term.

tham

ice queenie,

I don't have serious hair dropping though...just as per normal.

You r right...I am also pleased that it can cover white hair, so I will most probably be going back again.

I heard from them is not henna...as they also said that some people thought it's henna but not. Do you smell something like tea leaves? I thought I ever heard before some people use tea to wash their hair which is good.

Btw, is your hair naturally coarse...like me?

tham

hi ice queenie,

Oh really? So did you ever try any other treatment which makes your hair softer? I have the temptation to try but not sure what are the options? I have only heard of rebonding and soft rebonding.

ice_queenie

i usually go for hair treatment once a month and wear hair mask at home once a week... back then, my hair was softer and manageable.. nowadays i was too busy so my hair isnt in a good condition. rebonding only helps your hair look softer but it damages your hair. likewise for perming but we are vain creatures who always look out for new styles... haha..

tham

Hahaha...well it's nothing wrong to want to look good mah... I believe everybody wants to look good. Nowadays even men are vain.

What kind of hair treatment do u usually do once a month? I mean besides the herbal treatment which u have recently tried out...

What about hair mask? What is that? Care to tell me more because I have never heard of that.

ice_queenie

you can go any hair salons for hair treatment... i usually go to the neighbourhood ones since the same treatments tend to be cheaper as compared to those in town. and also convenient.

hair mask products are getting more common such as sunsilk, dove, loreal are offering hair mask as well. cos hair mask is richer, i use them as conditioners sometimes. =)

tham

ok, thanks. I guess all hair treatments are basically the same. Wash your hair, put something on it and steam.

penn

For those who went to beechoo, how often do you go to cover your gray hairs? is it safe? tks.