This is for Powder!

finfin78

Hey, just to let u noe i always feel better after reading some of ur replies to the questions post by some of the members especially towards ur views on career n wat we pursue in life. Of cse, there are times where ur replies seems too much for one to handle. I wld think u have the traits of a counsellor man! Ever consider taking up dis occupation?

hi hi finfin78,

actually since young, i've wanted to go into catholic monkhood... that's embracing poverty and giving out of Nothingness... to achieve what is called 'Perfect Joy'. unfortunately never had my 'calling'... just let u in abit of the influence i grew up with. but to be honest, now i feel there's more to be done as a person who is part of society.

counsellor as an occupation? personally i like it, but to be really honest... my strongest interest is always in the poor, the young, and then the old... in particular - the underpriviledged. counselling can't pay, can't make me a millionaire nor multi-millionaire. u influence individuals and solve problems person-by-person... but u are unlikely to make wholesale changes nor tackle the root of problems. currently from wat i'm doing, it shuldn't be long for me to reachout thru funds/charities/sponsorships with financial aid from the pple/organizations i work with. i dun think i can do the same being a single counsellor. in the meantime, it's good to share our thoughts on a few forums... sgbrides is a great platform to foresee problems, gauge directions, and to know the the general problems our young couples face. and i can still pursue my career and build finances... i just sleep less.

and financially, there's more pple u can help with financial power, than without. humans are such that they dun listen unless u're an authority, or conferred with particular powers... to influence pple in general, u need to prove alot to them. i would think the younger the generation u reach out to... the better your chances of sharing with them the potentials they hold, the wonders they can do in the future... ie, if i sponsor 10 underpriviledged kids thru school today, my only condition for them is to do the same when they have made their mark in life... and they can do so on and so forth for the future generations... If i am able to convince 20pple to do it with me starting today... can u imagine the network it can produce? something like MLM, or remember the show "Pass It Forward"? we are only limited by how much we wanna do...

thanks for the kind words, and yeah, it can be confusing sometimes cos i tend to type very long as well...

guess i need to put a sort of disclaimer - tat 'Powder' is just a registered nick. and there's absolutely no value to this nick, except a consistency in principles, thoughts and thus, a form of credibility. as to whether the real person behind this nick is truly someone worth communicating with, it's up to our personal discretion.

jewel_1

hey powder.. hope u are feeling great as usual.. need some advice here..

knew a guy from online.. after few days he started talking/asking me Qs about RA stuffs.. he claimed cos he did not do it for long time.. that's why he reacted this way.. guess i was wrong in a way too cos i responded to his Qs.. my close friends told me he's only out for one thing, but i am still not totally convinced till now.. he asked if we can try to be together.. i declined cos i was uncertain of his motives.. yet i was afraid that i'll 'lose' him cos i kinda like him too.. what should i do?

hi lost,

do u expect powder to possess some magical gift to read minds that he doesn't even know but thr such a brief description as yours?

Maybe you can elaborate more. But someone that wanted to get sexual with you this fast is truly risky. If a man can only be kept by having casual sex with, what good is he? How sincere is he only? What do you want in a man?

If you choose not to protect yourself and be so naive and childish in thinking of giving in to not 'lose' him, then how to advise you? you need to be totally convinced.

I don't think anyone can do that. But do you need to be totally convinced that you will 100% not win a completely risky bet before you risk your entire fortune on? Weight your odds. What are you risking it all for? For someone that asks you for sex days shortly after meet up?

Pardon me, but you appear really desperate to have this man you meet just days ago. Everyone knows of the online wolves out there preying and you are wide open as an easy prey.

Also, what impression and respect do you want to protray to him. That you are in for casual sex? If yes, then go ahead, whatever happens, don't complain or regret. Its your life your call. A mature thinking adult, fully responsible for your own life.

powderful

Lost, I dont think you have even met this guy yet rite?

As Milo have said, how long have you know this person? Few days and over the internet? GET REAL! WAKE UP! Things like falling in love over the internet within a few days are MOVIE stuff. Not real life and especially not in SG.

How old are you really? Are you so naive that you cant even detect that it's some guy looking for a cheap fling??? I'm really puzzled at the lack of awareness from certain people in this forum.

Why the heck are you afraid of "losing" him cos you kinda like him too? What's there to like about a person that you have chatted with a couple of days online? The fact that he asked about RA stuff only knowing you for a couple of days?!

Really arh...sometimes, I really feel like asking you people to go ahead and try it...kana one time one good one then you people will wake up...

Tell you what...if you really interested in him. Reject his proposal, see how he react. If he's really your prince charming (*roll eyes*) then we talk about it more...

hi powderful,

i think she meant she met up with him few days ago. She probably have chatted with him for sometime and is basically 'blinded' by his sweet words and 'manly' good advises online. Players on the field are very good in those 'brotherly advises' making the gal trust and believe them.

"I'm really puzzled at the lack of awareness from certain people in this forum"...
do u need a new supplier as a 2nd source for tofu? It seem that you will be running out of tofu real soon.

salsa_babe

hahahaa.........I am trying to speak like the one in LOTR

actually hor, lost .... how much do u know this guy? And you are oredi interested in this guy? Actually if someone u dunno started talking abt RA stuffs, man! My guard will be up man...

powderful

Master your head lah, salsa...
So late then come...almost an hour late...

Rara not free now...she have to stir something up in another thread.

hi lost,

i was abit blur to see this thread...

honestly me thinks u've gotta target yourself first... u need to buildup your self-esteem, meet more pple, get out more. in fact u can join the singles for the next gathering... meet some normal guys and gals with normal interaction...

honestly i have never been on IRC before, or any of these stuff... i only yahoo/msn for work and sometimes with frens... so i dun really know how the younger generation interact and find out about each other's sexual/personal details before they even meet and develop a frenship strong enough to be comfortable enough - to share such details...

and to "try to be together"? i guess there are cases where pple fall in love and fly halfway around the globe... but these pple seek Romance, they seek Love & Companionship... but they normally get to know each other over time thru a normal sequence of 'getting to know each other'.

sad to say, a number of local guys seek sex... free convenient sex... so much so tat Straits Times has investigated and reported on the rise of such incidents.

if u really wanna meet the right pple... to be frens, to be your frens for Life... to be with u thru good times and bad as u grow older... dun seek it on those dating internet services...

i personally have no respect for men who need to go on the internet to hook up with girls sexually... so i dun know how to help u address your problem with him... can only tell u how best to approach yourself.

nikita

hello!

Saw this thread, have a problem that doesn't belong to this category but oh well, just hope that there will be people who can help answer.

Husband and i just submitted a 1% downpayment for a condo we saw. The trouble is, right at the negotiation stage, we feel that the agent is not trustworthy. To name 1 example, agent initially told us that his last offer was 50k above our offer to pay, and told us to up our offer. we did not, because we did not want to burst our budget. However, miraculously, somehow, the agent called after a few hours and said the buyer "kind of" accepted our offer and agent asked for cheque for buyer to consider.

now that we have submitted our cheque (seller has 3 days to consider), the agent then told us that the seller is requesting for the 4% remaining cash down payment to be paid directly to him, instead of the lawyer. he only told us that after we passed him the cheque and told us to tell him tomorrow so that the seller has the remaining 2 days to decide if he wants to sell.

Here are our questions:

1) as 1st time buyer, what is the procedure for the condo?

2) what are the implications of giving cheque directly to seller?

3) should we take the risk (since this, we understand, is not a normal procedure?) since we already feel that the agent is not trust-worthy and we have never met the buyer before?

At this point i'm not sure what to ask. We just submitted the cheque today. Please advice! Thanks in advance.

nikita

1 more question..

Can we get our own agent who we trust (but did not show us the condo in the 1st place) to handle our documents with the seller's agent? does that mean that our agent can get 0.5% from the seller? or do we have to pay our own agent 0.5%?

TIA!

shucks, this such an old thread being raked up...

anyway how much do u really want this particular condo? if the seller is ok, then u should get a 'letter of offer' from the seller in 3 days' time. the remaining 4% should be made to the lawyer stated in the letter of offer. at least tat's what happened in my case.

in the first place, the lawyers are there to ensure there's no foul play cos it's better to put a large sum of money with a company than with any individual. so i guess your best answer is No, u will not pay directly to the seller. Also get doumentation to confirm the identity of the seller, cos some 'sellers' could just be Proxies.

on the back of every cheque that u write, always make sure u write the purpose, ie "1% downpayment for puchase of The Caribbean Blk A unit #88-88", then subsequent will be "4% for remaining....".

agent-wise u have his namecard, so do some checks with the company. there's not much u can do and for 1 of mu purchases last year, i never met the seller nor did i meet the proxy (condo was held by a proxy) but the transaction went thru. for myself i always ensure that for any property i buy - i bring along my own agent. if the other agent wants the full commission then either i dun buy, or if i really like the unit, then i will cover my own agent - which i did for another place. when dealing with large sums of money - we should always ensure we have Agents and Lawyers who will act for our interest, they may not seem to do alot, but their presence is no doubt reassuring and crucial for me.

else u have your agent frens, so do call in a favour to check on your same questions. my views purely as a recent buyer and may not be critically accurate for u to gauge.

Congrats!

nikita,

Firstly, for private property, the seller will pay the commission .. from 1% to 2% (normally) negotiated upfront. Buyer pays nothing.

And other than the deposit (normally 1%), you pay nothing until you exercise the option in which case you pay another 4%. By then you would have engaged a lawyer and they will handle this for you - ie pay the 4% to the other party law firm.

Paying 4% directly to the seller is NO NO and is NOT normal. This is definitely fishy. The housing agent should know better. If you complain, I believe his license may be terminated.

As for your agent, I don't think you need to engage them (they did nothing and you don't have to pay your agent commission and I doubt the other agent would agree to co-broke and pay some commission to your agent). You need to engage a lawyer instead and they can tell you exactly what to do.

oh ya, lawyer-wise u might like to choose from the bank with which u are taking a loan with.

sm is right, seller pays the commission. for me i pay an extra set of commission on my own accord becos i want and need my agent/broker to deal with the other broker and cover my interests.

depressed_guy

Hmm.....i'll add a tribute to this thread too.
Admittably i must say powder's advice were too much to handle with a thought clouded too much by emotion.
It certainly too me a while.....cool off.....read a few times before i eventually get enlighten by the words between.
You certainly do played a part in recovery though its just a first step out....for this i thank you.

Powder, you have a dedicated thread!!! I think we can call you "Uncle Powder" and call on you when we run into problems now and then hehe. Good work there!

Personally, what I like about Powder's advice is, he inspires you to do the thinking. He doesn't think for you.

"what I like about Powder's advice is, he inspires you to do the thinking. He doesn't think for you."

Fully agreed.

However, its not always well received as seen in some threads. Even if the intend is totally good, not everyone appreciates it.

Well... be careful with forming such reputation. It normally attracts negative resentments. It could serve more harm than good.

The initial intention might be showing some form of appreciation and recognition of his goodwill.

Next thing you know, there will be individuals that would start accusing powder as a cyber bully pushing his ideas with the support of his 'fan' club. This has happened before and will probably happen again.

Everyone thinks and judge for ourselves on what is relevant and good. Fan club doesn't exist. Powder gained the recognition simply because of his consistency in his sincere advises.

janie_wawa

milo, yes of coz i noe tat...did i sound harsh??? i dont mean anything at all leh...y so sensitive??

i've always tink tat powder always tok sense...no non-sense...was looking forward to him toking kok/joking one day....haha :p

no lah... not being sensitive at all lah. Just pointing out, with the recognition and reputation, sooner or later, the flaming will come too. ;)

In no way saying that you are critising at all. No worries.

janie_wawa

yea i understand wat u meant...there are sure to hv ppl like the DOG who accused him of breaking up her family becoz she heeded his advice...

anyway, powder only advises ppl on his own pov with no other intention...so..lets pray that there wun b anymore DOGS...hehe

milo is rite, he was victimised more than a year back too... can't remember the thread but think abt it liao abit buay tahan... bro u remember? hehe... it was irritating yet at the same time funny. (sori bro)

i guess it's more abt sharing than anything else. we have time we think and we share wat we think...

janie, i'm actually full of crap. oh that Dog thing is a joke, think u realise by now tat it's a fake. and the nick before that actually had an agenda in getting the whole community to start looking at investigating their spouses...

yah bro, it was sure irritating.

as long as everyone is talking sense and rationalizing with reasons, everyone can have a different stand.

Its the most frustrating in threads when there is a troublemaker that would lead you one damn big round only to realize you have taken for a ride with their nonsense and illogical statements that contradict themselves.

nikita

thanks for the notes, advice, etc.

to conclude this, the agent/ seller backed out. not really sure why. they didn't even want to take any counteroffer. in a way, i am kinda relieved.

so the search continues!

did they return your cheque/1%? makes sure tat's cancelled.

u seem more relieved, so hope tat's a good thing. if u have a fren u can trust who's an agent, get him to hunt down your shortlist, tat way someone is there to protect your interest...

nikita

hey powder

yeah, they returned the cheque. i think the sellers in general are changing their minds about selling esp they realise that they are not getting offers that match their asking.. at least that's what i conclude from this deal..

we finally bought a small unit at the same project, about 20k cheaper, but terrible condition. now looking for reno. though our 1st choice was a unit that doesn't require much reno, must say that is quite hard to find with our budget.. good thing is, we have no prob with this agent..

saving $$$ for reno.. freakishly expensive!

to me, unless i'm renting out the unit, the interior not as important as all other factors like layout, facing, unit number etc... if renting out then of cos minimal reno is wanted, but if own stay, it's always nice to redo everything... then at least u get wat u really really want.

i got a unit last year which is really nice lor... everything swee swee cos in french-influence, but then i have a kid and nomatter how nice, it's gonna be killed by my kid... so end up tearing down some expensive wallpapers and feature wall. dun dare to invite the previous owners to my place for x'mas cos scared they sad to see their efforts all gone...

well have fun with the reno... prices abit more steep liao. my advice is to go for pple with good track record and not place too much emphasis on prices... give or take 5-10k, it could mean a difference in how prompt they can do it and the quality of materials...

congrats and have fun!

ps: avoid too many built-in stuff...

lostinlife

Just wanna add something here.

Have been reading some threads here these few days. Realised Milo and Powder have been actively contributing to the forum. Kudos to both of u!

nikita

well.. this unit is for home stay. layout, facing are impt to us, but not the unit #. :p if it was for investment, i would probably have waited. then again, i don't have enough $$ to do investment at this point.. definitely not this type of low-end condo proj.

just to share abit more (since we seem to be able to chat), we bought this project because:

1) old condos have far better layout. no bay windows so the area is fully utilised and wastage cut to minimum. (Bay windows take up so much space in new condos!!!)
2)no stupid 3 bathrooms design in 1 unit (why need so many toilets?!)
3) low maintenance at $150 for 2 cars, sinking fund is only $20!!! so even though it was 12 yrs old, we still bought it.

happy happy! will keep in mind ur advice about "give or take 5-10k" but 5-10k is quite a bit to us at this point.. we are trying to get by with no loan, bearing in mind that hubby and i only worked for 3 and 4 years respectively (cos he guy got ns)

do you have any good id/ contractors to suggest?

nope i dun have anyone i feel is worth recommending... i think it really depends on the work required and budget. but renovate within means and i think that savings can be made in electricals, rather than interior furnishings.

i agree, actually old developments have far better layout which u'll need to pay for in modern days. Bay windows are a ripoff... it's mostly unusable tat's been counted to your area, yet doesn't cost the developers any extra charge.

well your maintenance is really good... unbeatable but i guess there's a large number of units? mines less than 50 and we decided to raise it recently in preparation for future works. hehe i have 3 bathrooms... but it has its reasons... 1 typically for the maid, 1 general and 1 in the mbr. quite norm... i dun have a maid so the 3rd one abit wasted i must admit...

have fun shopping, and it's really a matter or luyck and persistence in finding cheaper alternatives... Lightings and Electricals are the key to savings! but beware the cheats... thing there's very good recommendations in the other topic discussions...

ivy_tan77

powder your post number is hitting 10k... i wonder why u have so much time to post this many message (no offence intended, just curious)

time-management n multi-tasking... we get the same 24hrs in a day... we both spend equal amounts o 8-10hrs in the offices. for me i sleep little and late.

kennyg7

Wow 10k post, if 1 post take 10 minutes, it will be abt 70 days non-stop writing! It maybe able to be publish as a book already, so when will it be published

Like that also envy?

There are times that you just cannot sleep. And it gives me lots of serious headches.

btw I doubt 1 post will take 10 mins eh? unless u r typing to type with ur tongue or toes perhaps? even so it will be faster than 10 mins i guess..

in case if u were to compare about the no of posts I have... I only take an average of 5 secs per post.

damnit! there should be an T1 race here for us!

m28

From Lost : "Admittably i must say powder's advice were too much to handle with a thought clouded too much by emotion." i shd know ya? Powder.. ;p

not just to Powder perhaps Doll remembers me too.. also thanks to all that hv contributed and chipped in with advice.. u hv no idea, in weaker stages of our lives...how much difference one inspiring or consolation word here can do..

i hv received help and i supposed its nice to come back and say i've fallen flat on my face in life but some ppl i hv not even met, helped me realise tat i can still stand back on my feet. Even if im not running yet, at least im standing up... thanks all!

Dolp, I remember you of course! You were the one who said that women get turned on by their men doing housework haha. Just kidding. I remember how you have shared your struggling. Glad that the sky has cleared up for you. Cheers!

mark78

"You were the one who said that women get turned on by their men doing housework "

as usual. Doll get turn on by something very kinky thus her memory tend to remember this triggering factor damn well..

tsk tsk