The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

lovely_33

Hi Daisygal, if you just want a simple sitting set-up at Ginger Terrance, if I am not wrong, it can accomodate up to 80 chairs facing the green. I had mine with chairs as my dinner was at Grand Salon.
Hope the info helps.

fel_pony

Hi, anyone did your solemnisation dinner at Ginger Room? How is the room? Is the decor nice? What about the western food?

midori

Hi Stickymouse,

nice pictures! thanks for the sharing!

Is your gown from Divine?

Anyway, can i know is the car that you used yours or rented? Lovely!

violac

hi midori/sailor,

thanks! yes my gowns are from Divine, i simply love them!!

the car was rented by my husband. it's a Nissan 350Z. the rental rate is $400 per day. it was a surprise item by my husband when he came to pick me up in the morning

midori

Hi Stickymouse,

I love the car! Can you please please share with me the contact for the car rental?

Btw, which florist did you choose?

violac

hi midori, the car is definitely a head-turner. while we were on the expressway, we even had a friendly race with a stranger in his Honda Euro R.

i'll wait for my husband to email me the contacts. i used Audrey's as my florist

summerpeach

hope some of you can give me advice...

Beaufort is actually one of the venues i am considering..
But i am concern with the quality & portion of the food.
There are 3 menus.
My parents said the 1st menu is too lacking in terms of the quality of ingredients.
So the least they can accept is the 2nd.
I am also wondering if corkage can be waived.
Hiaz.. really love the place but a bit tight on budget..
I am dealing with a new planner now.. she is Cathy.
Wonder if any have her? hope she is generous with perks...

violac

peachy, The Sentosa is not generally known to be generous with perks....

food wise... i took the serenity package, i got to say the menu allowed us to tweak between A & B to have a different sort of banquet menu (compared to the usual we always have at others' weddings).

my relatives and friends told me the food was good. i myself thought the food was good. you never have to worry about portions... after 9 courses, can still be hungry?? a special gluten-free menu we catered for our aunt was so well received, even her husband ate off her plate!

all in all... The Sentosa can create beautiful weddings.... i do have some gripes about the way beer (billed by the barrel) was pushed out to my guests (when we have so many crates of fine wine) ended up our bill for beer was higher than expected, i dun even think the second barrel was served very much so end up wasted. the banquet staff didn't initiate to offer wine instead of beer to our guests... and

but you know... no wedding is perfect. as you start your wedding plans, do have fun and enjoy the process!

bruce

Hi peachy and violac, im still in the midst of planning my wedding in jan. We're taking the sweet serenity package. Like violac, we are taking dishes from other packages too. It's still going to be a 9 course dinner. But we havent got the outdoor solemnization settled yet. My planner's Cathy too. She's new.. but not new in the bussiness.

But yeah, i feel they're not generous with th perks. I'm not even sure what to ask for, to begin with. Somehow, everything seems proper. Maybe the only things to tweak are the menu, the florist, the stage decorations. maybe can ask for corkage waiver. I'm not sure whether 20l beer is enough as i'll be having hard liqour on my own.

summerpeach

Violac: thanks for your advice! :p
Actually my main concern is that if they can waive off all my wine corkage as i intend to get fine wines like what you did. Somemore i predict my guests to drink a lot and most consume wines. i estimate about 2.5-3 bottles per table on average. Since i have 25 tables i think i will bring in about 65? what do u suggest?
ps: i saw your wedding pics from the earlier link. you look great!

Bruce: do you mean you took the sweet serenity but you took some dishes from royal romance? do u have to top up? Let me know your outcome for corkage waiver? so i know what to expect. hahah!

violac

peachy, thanks!

it's highly unlikely they will waive off the entire wine corkage. 1 bottle of wine serves 6 glasses, you're predicting each person drinks 1.5 glasses, you got to assess if that is the consumption rate of your guests. of course you got to take into consideration some of your guests who don't drink, or drink other types of alcohol. if you intend to start serving wines from the cocktail (compared to when seated at banquet) then you got to budget for more.

lgirl

I got married at the Grand Salon in Sep. But I did international buffet style dinner, Royal Romance package. Joyce did the co-ordination. I had a dessert bar filled with dark, white and milk fondue, multi-coloured macaroons and desserts in glasses. There is a live bbq station too where the chefs prepared steak, slippery lobsters etc. Not to mention fresh oysters and prawns and cocktails. The flowers are from Secret Garden and Jane is great! I had a post dinner party at the Lawn and my friends enjoyed it. I had 3 harpists for entertainment. One adult and 2 girls played.For pictures ps email me at [email protected]

bruce

Hi peachy,

I got the sweet serenity chinese set menu. I didnt get dishes from royal romance cos the top up was like 50sgd per dish. LOL. might as well settle for royal romance package.

Hi Lgirl, you had Joyce for co-ordination? I think she's the director. Not sure why, but Cathy seems busy.. Everything about Beaufort seems like so business like. If I need something extra, top up. never hear them say got rebate or throwing in waivers out of goodwill. Its like... "here is our package.. take it or leave it..." :x

summerpeach

yes i agree.
but for me, the required tables is 22-25.
Beaufort is still an ideal venue since my capacity is hard to source else where.
i will be signing the agreement this sat.
i am worried that after i sign i have no more 'attention' since i am at their 'mercy'. haha. do u think i should ask for something before signing? but then again i dunno what to ask..

pynk

If you're thinking Beaufort is the ideal venue, then forget abt bargaining for perks. The package is standard and no amt of haggling will get you anything extra. Which in a way is good too, cos you know that what you're getting is fair and the same as the next couple, and is not dependent on your bargaining skills or which coordinator you are assigned. The only things you can offset in the package are 1) the flowers 2) spa voucher 3) wedding favours.

Having said that, service is good, and our coordinator went out of her way to accomodate our requests, within reasonable limits.

I have 2 standard unused guestbooks in burgundy and ivory. Please leave a PM if you would like to have them.

putti

Hi all.

Read from other forums horror stories about amara sanctuary. I am now trying to decide whether i should have wedding banquet at sentosa spa or amara sanctuary.

From this thread.. sentosa spa seems good. I met Cathy. Any feedback on her to share ?

Met Irene from Amara Sanctuary. Did Cathy use to work at Amara Sanctuary ? I found a job ad looking for wedding planner for Amara Sanc published on 15 Jan 08... quite worried if i select amara, Irene will pass over to new person, which according to job specs.. require only 2 years' experience...

milkyway18

I'm keen on having my wedding there.... any couples who had their wedding at beaufort and willing to share their wedding photos, esp the decor of the ballroom? can PM me?

any comments on food as well??

jmi

I held my wedding lunch at The Sentosa last December and despite not getting freebies thrown in; the folks there were great!

We had a international buffet spread and most of the food were finished. Generally everyone commented the food was good.

They had 2 florists which you can choose from Audrey's from HarbourFront or Secret Garden by Jane from The Central. We chose Jane.

Hope the info helps

midori

Hi Jmi,

Where did u hold your wedding lunch? At the ginger room or?

Also, just curious, why did you choose Jane frm Secret Garden? I am quite torn between both of them. Jane from Secret Garden is good but she charges for every extra request. As for the florist at Habourfront, their skills might not be as upmarket. but they are more accomodating.

Any pictures to share? :p

TIA!

mic_hoe

Hi Midori,
Sorry, i think you cant view my album unless u are my friend. What is your email? I send my photos to you?

violac

wah! your diamond so big and flashy!! sorry just being very outspoken here. tee hee

very pretty bride! lemme guess... gowns from silverlining? i like your hairdo for the solemnization

were you wearing anything underneath your EG at all? hahaha very nice, sexy in a tasteful manner. *thumbs*

was it raining during the solemnization? it looked a little dark outside... anywayz, congrats and thanks for sharing!!!

Midori -- when is your wedding?

midori

Hi Mic!

Finally saw ur pictures! Lovely!

Are your gowns from silverlining?
I'm from silverlining as well! =P
Who did your makeup?

Which florists did you choose?
Is the service at Beaufort good? =P

milkyway18

wow.. Mic, u look great... thanks for sharing..
Which florist did you use??

Btw can i also ask which photographer/videographer did u use? can leave name, contact and website if possible??

others, if you have recommendation for PG and VG, pls let me know too... thanks!

mic_hoe

Hi Stickymouse,

I saw your wedding album sometimes ago b4 my wedding. You look great in your wedding gown!

Yup! My gowns are from Silverlining! I simply love them when i went for my 1st try out with Jit. hehee.

As for my EG i am wearing G-string. Can dun wear lah but i feel weird leh! HAha!

Erm, yes it was raining that evening
actually wanna have my solemnization to be at the garden juz like yours, so beautiful! Unfortunatly, it rains b4 my solemnization so gonna shift up to the floyer. Luckily, the result turn out to be beautiful also cos my guests can see the seaview. Am very happy with most of my guests feedback to me the place was lovely and the food was nice! hehee..

I wanna put up my Wedding Express Video in youtube but not sure how to post it. the video have to be in what format?